Hostelworld.com

St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only Located at 163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark, London.
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only
England
London 163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark
86% 100
51.5040011 -0.0908517
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2016
8.6

St. Christopher's Oasis is a very good hostel for single female travelers as I was during that particular stay. A key card had to be swiped in order to get to the Oasis part of the hostel and it felt very secure being with other female travelers. The location is considered a good location for the price. My only issue for the hostel would be the noise level at night. I could tell that the other girls were also having some issue falling asleep due to the noise coming from the pub and bar area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, cheers for this review. We are a party hostel, unfortunatly we are not everyone's taste. Wes till hope you will come visit us again. Safe travel ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location, close to London bridge station & borough market. Rooms & bathrooms are clean, showers are great-good pressure, hot water. Only thing is that the girls bathrooms are sometimes cleaned by men which is fine, just would be nice if they knocked before entering. Wifi works well in the rooms. Great breakfast with lots of options. FREE LAUNDRY! Good common area. 25% off food is appreciated. Bit noisy from the street but they have free earplugs. Highly recommend & would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you in the future! It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location, which is what we like to hear ;) As for male members of staff cleaning our female showers, you are correct, at times this does happen. As for them entering and not knocking, this is inexcusable and we can assure you that we will look further into this matter. Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

16th Apr 2016
7.4

This is a great hostel if you want an awesome location in London, great Wifi, breakfast included and if you choose to stay in the Oasis Female Only part, you also get a towel included. It's obviously not cheap, but nothing in London is. There are places to lock up your stuff in your room and downstairs for the day. Only warning is the place is LOUD on the weekends. It's a full on party. So if that's your scene, all the better, but if not, just take note of that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It also sounds like you enjoyed our amenities and facilities for guests, which is what we liked to hear ;) As for the excessive noise during your stay, we are sorry to say, but during your visit we had a rather large belligerent group that caused several issues during this time but can assure this is not the normal state of things especially in the oasis. We would like to apologize to you on the behalf of this group and inform you, that due to this and several other issues, they are no longer welcome at our hostel. We do hope you give us another try in the future so we can show you this is not how we normally do things. Thanks again and safe onward travels.

14th Apr 2016
6.9

Great location and the staff were nice and helpful. The showers could have been cleaner. At night, it was a total party hostel. I expected it since there's a bar attached. What I didn't expect was to hear something similar to a bowling alley above me. All hours of the night it sounded like drunk teenagers were rearranging furniture on the 3rd floor. Added to the already loud street noise, I didn't sleep hardly at all. If you can sleep through an earthquake, then I highly recommend this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the review but we're sorry if certain aspects of our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. As for our showers and toilets, we diligently clean them 3 times during the day and once at night. Regardless, in a hostel with 200+ beds, they do get quite a bit of use. Nonetheless, we will revisit your concerns with our housekeeping team and see what we could do to improve in this area. As for the noise coming from our 3rd floor, during your time with us, we had a rather large school group staying with us that caused a quite a few issues during their stay. We would like to apologize to you on behalf of this group and let you know, due to not just this issue but several others, they have been now barred from staying with us again. We really would like to see you again in the future so, if nothing else, we can show you this is definitely not the norm. Thanks again for your comments, all the best on your onward travels.

10th Apr 2016
9.7

this place is great! really noisy outside but otherwise great. awesome they lockers are included in the room - bring a pad lock. breakfast is good and so is the staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately being central can bring some noise, free earplugs are available in reception .

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.7

This is a very high quality hostel. The staff are nice, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and appealing, and the location is amazing. It's a very good value for your money. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it. Great for your travellers especially.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, cheers for this review. It sounds like you took plenty advantage of our facilities, we will pass the kind words to our staff members. Take care ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
8.3

Highly recommend the oasis rooms if you're looking for that extra bit of comfort as a female including cleaner amenities and towels/hairdryer. Poor noise insulation in the dorm though, road traffic clearly heard all night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently refurnishing so if you some to visit us in the future, we are sure you will be pleased. Safe travel !

1st Apr 2016
7.7

not bad. beds are comfy, but top bunks are WAY too low -- i'm short but i would constantly hit my head on the bed above me. couldn't sit up at all. nice big lockers for every bed. plenty of bathrooms, showers had hot water and good pressure, very clean. you can rly only socialize at the bar. there's a common room too, but it was always pretty empty and dead (maybe bc it was freezing cold -- i couldn't sit in there for more than a few minutes). great location makes up for the flaws, tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again during your travels.

23rd Mar 2016
9.1

Great place to stay. Really enjoyed how close it was to the metro and even to walk. The walking tour and pub crawl were great. Just wish the breakfast had included more options- the yogurt and bread just didn't cut it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review - it is great to hear good feedback. We hope you do decide to come and stay here again.

17th Mar 2016
9.7

Very close to the bus stop and Tube, but wish the Tube station had more options of lines to travel with instead of needing to switch lines to get to the main sites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for leaving us such an awesome review. We hope to see you during your travels. Take care!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.