X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Oasis Reviews

59 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1358 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The Oasis doesn´t live up to how it is described on the internet site. The text says that since the Oasis is only for women it`s clean and nice. I´m afraid I found the Oasis house quite worn and a bit dirty. The Village on the contrary was cleaner and nicer than I expected. It has got potential but The Oasis is in need of both tidying and a lot of nice, light paint .

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location across from Borough Market and just down the street from the Tube stop and London Bridge. Wi-fi in the room can be spotty from time to time, and the password to log on is a bit of a nightmare to figure out the first time. Staff is very helpful, they know the city well, and were even kind enough to make a reservation at a local Indian restaurant when we inquired about good places to eat. The in-room lockers are large enough to fit just about any suitcase.


94%

Almost Excellent:)Thx

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros: great location. Busy hostel, great for meeting people. Seemed to be lots of single travelers. Bfast was good. Cons. Showers were busy and reception about a 5 to ten minute walk from the rooms. Would stay again!


51%

There was no kitchen. The room was hot. The shower room was dirty. The social area was boring and stuffy. There were signs here and there to warn guests there would be fine for things not properly done according to their rules, such as leaving the towel on the floor when leaving and using the extinguisher properly. Seriously? If there was a fire and I tried to save people but used the extinguisher inappropriately, you wouldn't have the heart to charge me 50 pounds, would you? That's just stingy!


63%

Locker is not free


51%

They never seemed to clean the room between check-outs and rarely if ever changed the sheets promptly. The system of assigning beds resulted in multiple instances of someone getting locked out of the room because the staff had assigned more than one person to the same bed. People often needed to switch beds after their first night; sheets would not be changed during this time. The rubbish bins in the toilets were overflowing with used pads and tampons and were not emptied upon complaint.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Quite a decent place to stay in London. A stone's throw from the London Bridge underground station. The main hostel is a great place to hang out/eat/drink.


91%

Loud at night because its right on a busy street. Only one shower stall per floor so you have to wait a while.


100%

Grate place to stay in London!


89%

Very good for the price. Clean, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. I would stay there again.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Is a good Hostel, roommates very respectful, very quiet zone, towells free, good bed, the bathrooms was very clean and have hairdrier, you can´t regulate the hot water in the showers, for me was very hot water, was a little unconfortable take a shower. I stayed in two hostel during the wekeend and I'll choose this to stay again...

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I had 2 probems in the 1st day: showers and wifi not working. In the 2nd day, shower was ok but wifi was still not working for 2-3 days. We could use wifi in another St Chritopher hostel in the same street, but still it is not practical. Both were quite good when started working. Great location, close to train stations (connecting to Gatwick), subway, etc. Absolutely clean! A very complete breakfast. They ask for the number of your credit card during check-in and I do not like it very much...


69%

The wi-fi was broke and even after 4 days they didn't fix it. That's a shame! But overall our stay was good

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is in a great location. It is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. They give you free toiletries, a towel, and use of a hair dryer.


89%

Staff extremely friendly and welcoming


77%

great hostel, cool ppl!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

it was very noisy at night time, hard to get a good sleep the bathroom was old the water flow was short and the water not even hot

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Reception's about 200yds along the road. OK (ish) for check-in and -out, but not when the key doesn't work late at night and you have to trek down Borough High St. The shower wasn't clean and didn't work. No towel, tho promised. Bed-side lamps are plugged in to adapters - not sure how safe that is long term. Breakfast in the bar nr reception, but I wanted to get to work to use the shower, so was fed up by then, so didn't try breakfast. (Hot breakfast not available til after 9am) :(

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed in the 8 bed female dorm at Oasis. Overall a very good experience. Was a bit pricey but for London that's to be expected! Our key cards both stopped working on our second to last day, and still wouldn't work after we walked down the road to the reception and back to the room which was frustrating. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about but it was free which is always the main thing hey! The hostel was clean and staff were very friendly and the location was simply unbeatable.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Apologies for the key cards, we do have the free phone for guests use in Oasis which connects straight to reception. The staff would have been happy to come to you with new key cards. We are lucky to be situated in a fantastic location! We hope to see you in the future Happy Travels The team at St Chris Village

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(993 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback