X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Oasis Reviews

59 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1405 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

St Christopher's has 3 buildings along the same road. I booked one of the buildings I like (The Oasis) but when I arrived they told me it was closed and I had to stay in another building (The Village). The Village didn't have the same facilities as the Oasis (towels or soap in the showers) which I had planned on. It would have been good if they had told me the Oasis was closed when I was booking. Another thing I don't like about St Christopher's is that you have to pay to leave your bag there.


77%

Nous sommes restées deux nuits dans cette auberge,. Emplacement, idéal pour visiter Londres à pied. Les toilettes sont assez vétuste mais reste correcte. Nous étions dans le dortoir pour fille et c'est très bruyant, les fenêtres sont très mal insonorisées donc on a entendu le bruit des voitures et des passants toute la nuit.


69%

런던브리지역에 나오면 바로 앞에있음( 출구를 잘 찾아야만함...) 단점은 같은 라인에 3개의 크리스토퍼 호스텔이 존재. 북쪽기준으로 첫번째가 Oasis. 두번째가 inn 이라해서 식당처럼 생긴곳. 세번째는 빌리지라고 해서 리셉션. 즉 체크인하는 곳임. 그리고 오아시스는 왼쪽에 스시가게가 있음. 리셉션 갔다가 스시오른쪽골목 가서 노란문 카드찍고 들어가면 됌.(번지수는 북쪽기준으로 왼쪽이 짝수 오른쪽이 홀수) 방은 모두 카드키이며. 2층침대가 있음.(나는 8인실) 대체로 밤에 조용한편이며. 침대 아래에 침대 반만한 철장사물함이 있음 (개인자물쇠 필요) 콘센트는 침대 갯수만큼 있음. 아침에 사이렌소리가 겁나 많이 들림. ㅠㅠ 아침엔 밖이 시끄러워서 깸. 화장실은 복도에 하나. 샤워 부스는 3개였음. 참고로 샤워부스 없는 층도 있는듯... 바디워시는 작은 샘플로 배치되어있음. 수건은 큰거 하나씩 나눠주고 룸내에 음식반입금지. 조식은 Inn으로가서 역시 오른쪽골목으로 들어가면됌


51%

Bathrooms in the Oasis Inn are horribly dirty. The cleaning doesn´t really worked out. The mattresses in the room were disgusting. Huge spots (of blood for example) . They just turned them over. The heating didn´t work. They put an electric heater in the room - although this is not enough for an 8 bed room! There were only about 6 power outlets, those didn´t even really work.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I think they should have a big clean-up in this place. There's mould in the bathrooms and genreally it's a tad messy in there. But overall, a good hostel in great location.


66%

It was a hostel and pretty alright - but a bit expensive, but that probably is due to the pound exchange rate. It would be really helpful if they highlight GO TO THE VILLAGE FIRST TO CHECK IN, - just make it really clear and repeat on emails and confirmation emails becuase it is a fair distance between the Village and the Oasis. the coupon for the breakfast was really great - I would recommend that for those who are staying there, the Belluchi's bar people were frinedly - overall, average.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Die Rezeption und Hauptgebäude waren super. Top W-Lan, super Lage, nette Mitarbeiter und ich konnte sogar problemlos 2 Seiten ausdrucken. Auch das Frühstück war in Ordnung. Leider war das Oasis furchtbar. Da wir nur eine Nacht dort verbracht haben, haben wir die Duschen lieber gar nicht erst benutzt (ohne Flipflops würde ich es auch nicht empfehlen!) und das Zimmer war schimmlig. Die Betten waren aber glücklicherweise sauber und auch warm. W-Lan gab es im Oasis auch nicht.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good location and awesome staffs. However lack of power point in the room and a living or chill out room would be nice.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Cuando llegue al hostel me encontre con que la recepcion era en otra direccion y tuve que ir y regresar cargando las valijas. Al llegar me dijeron que tenia que tomar el desayuno no en el hostel que yo reserve ni en el de la recepcion sino en otro que quedaba a varias calles de mi hostel, una porqueria. En la habitacion al llegar habia mucho olor y encima tenia unas escaleras angostas e interminables motivo x el cual me dañe la rodilla al subir mis valijas. No lo recomiendo a NADIE!


94%

Great hostel - very good location, friendly staff, great breakfast! Recommendable!


54%

The fact that one has to check in at another hostel far away from this one with a good location actually diminishes that perk, especially when you lug heavy luggage around. Plus, the luggage is hard to get upstairs, since the facility is tiny. The coziness would be endearing if the rooms were not overloaded with people so that they end up stuffy and smelly. Half the toilets did not work and the individual bed lights did not work either, thus waking up everybody when leaving early in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry your stay was not all you expected. We understand how difficult it can be to take luggage up and down the stairs, however, at Oasis we try to offer seclusion from the noise and party atmosphere of the Village in order to provide a quieter stay, as well as catering to the preference of a female-only building. We are in the midst of renovating and hope you will give us the chance to pleasantly surprise you. Until then, safe travels!

91%

Hot showers, warm beds, but lots of stairs and no elevator. One toilet (at least) didn't flush. But it was cheap and I felt safe while I was there. Only stayed for one night. The lockers in my room at the Oasis were big enough to fit a carry on suitcase and a backpack. Bring a padlock, but they will rent most anything out to you. I'm not sure if my adaptor didn't work, or if it was the outlets, but be aware. No glaring issues.

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Oasis! Alas, we know all too well the annoyance of not having elevators :( but if you have heavy luggage our staff would be happy to help carry it! We try to keep on top of the maintenance in the hostel as much as possible and hope you weren't inconvenienced by the broken toilet :)

71%

Excellent location and friendly staff, did have ongoing problems with the plumbing which meant we couldn't use the showers several times which was really inconvenient but management was kind enough to offer me a free nights stay in compensation. Free breakfast is good but the hostel doesn't have a kitchen which can be annoying if you're staying awhile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Sorry about the inconvenience we are currently fixing this problem. Great you liked our free breakfast , unfortunately we don't have a kitchen but a microwave is free to use in our common are . Take care ;;))

83%

많은 분들의 이야기처럼 오아시스 입구엔 엄청난 계단이 있고 체크인도 빌리지에서 밥은 인에서 먹어야하는데 ㅋㅋ전 까다로운 편은 아니라 가격대비 괜찮고 좋았어요! 7일정도 머물러서 그정도 계단은 그냥 무난하게 올라갔구 아침에 산책하는 기분으로 인가서 밥먹는것도 괜찮더라구요! 전 사실 외국 사람들이랑 생활하는게 더 편해서 그런지 ㅋㅋㅋ여긴 동양인도 꽤보이고 유랑에서 봐서그런지 한국 사람도 많이 보였어요! 외국인들이랑 생활하고 싶으면 다른 숙소를 추천함ㅋㅋㅋㅋ 여자 호스텔인만큼 조용하고 좋았어요! 근데화장실 관리에 신경쓰시는 뷴들이라면 생각을 해보시는게! 화장실이 더러운건 아닌데 자주 와서 관리하는 시스템은 아니어보였어요 ㅎㅎ 냄새나고 이런건 아닌데! 음 뭐랄까 ㅋㅋㅋ여튼 화장실에 민감한 분들은 알아두시라구...!!!!!


74%

A recepção do hostel fica separada de onde é o hostel. Os funcionários são realmente gentis, mas a limpeza e péssima. Parece que nunca vareram o chão! O metro e perto do hostel e a area e bem agitada, o que é bom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado por tomar o tempo para nos deixar seus comentários , estamos muito em ouvir que a limpeza não foi à altura das expectativas durante a sua recente visita. Esperamos que você se junte a nós novamente no futuro , para que possamos mostrar que nós podemos fazer isso direito. Esta mensagem foi feita com a ajuda de Traduz Google .

74%

The staffs were very helpful and friendly

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review and the kind words about the staf, we will make sure and pass them on ;) Please don't be a stranger, we would love to see you again. Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

89%

merci bcp , j'ai passer trois nuit au top pour une auberge de jeunesse, merci pour le pti dej, les serviettes/gel douche/shampoin/creme hydratante à disposition. merci de nous avoir laisser dormir après 10h du mat ^^. Merci au personnel qui a été très accueillant !! je reviendrai sans hesitation

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nous sommes heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour chez nous et nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir bientôt .

83%

I believe this hostel was the best for its price especially in a city like London where all the hostel prices are ridiculously high! The free breakfast was great, keycard access was needed for every building, but the biggest disappointment was that we had to pay for luggage storage. If a hostel has a check-in time that is 4pm the least they can do is offer a luggage storage room that is not 4 pound a bag or 3 pound for a tiny locker.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! Also thank you for the kind words about the breakfast and the hostel itself, we will make sure and pass them on :) As for the luggauge storage before check-in and after check-out we do offer inexpensive luggage storage in our insured, secured, lockes which on average run £2 for a large locker for 12 hours. But during your reservation we offer lockers for you to use, free of charge, under your bed. Thanks again and dsfe travels.

54%

I was not impressed by this hostel, especially compared to other St. Christopher's locations. The rooms were very run down and bed/storage lockers were very squeaky. Outside the room was very loud. Don't plan on staying here if you want a good rest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya Thank-you for taking the time out to leave us some feedback about your stay. We're sorry to hear that some parts of your time here didn't quite live up to your expectations this time around. Being in such a central location it is sometimes hard to avoid the outside noise that comes with the area, it's a shame to hear that this was a problem for you and we do offer free earplugs at our reception to help anyone looking for rest, sleep a little easier!! We hope you enjoyed London, merry xmas:)

80%

Das Hostel war wirklich super. Wir hatten in einem 8 Bett Zimmer für Mädels übernachtet. Die Leute am Check In waren super nett und das Frühstück war auch klasse. Einziger Minuspunkt war, wir hatten im Zimmer eine Art Generator (glaub ich) der alle paar Minuten anging, das war nicht so super. Aber alles in allem wars ne super Sache.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback