X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Shepherds Bush Reviews

Belushis Bar, 13-15 Shepherds Bush Green., London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2601 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

No kitchen facilities. Excellent cleanliness and great lounge to hangout in the basement. Staff weren't friendly though.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm surprised you didn't find the staff friendly. They're usually really keen to meet new people and always excited for someone new to hang out with. It is unfortunate that there are no kitchen facilities but I think you'll agree it is handy having the fridge and microwave there and there are lots of options at the supermarket next door that don't require a stove or oven. Even lots of fresh veggie microwave packs if you're trying to stay healthy. :) -Anna

74%

Odd set-up with the hostel being over a bar and reception being at the bar, but a solid place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's actually quite common and we like the idea as it gives guest somewhere to hang out and mingle and even the chance to meet locals in a comfortable environment. Also no one gets lost going home. :) Glad you enjoyed it nonetheless.

100%

Lovely staff, particolary the Australian guy, Tylor, really helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear our staff were helpful and lovely. We all do our best to make everyones stay as great as possible. Anna

51%

The bar was great, and the younger people working the bar and the front desk were great. Unfortunately the "hang out room" and the bathroom were absolutely disgusting. Also when we were checking out, at a very early hour, we were not helped at all and it was really frustrating. I would not recommend this place to my friends nor will I return.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thats really disappointing that your stay had a bad turn. I'm really sorry you didn't find the night staff helpful. I really hope you reconsider. It's usually such a great vibe in the chill out room and we are due for a refurbishment very soon so everything will hopefully be all new and shiny. Anna

94%

This hostel is in an excellent location. It's a bit dated but for the price and accessibility to central London it can't be beat. The staff was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So lovely to hear. That is the problem with a lot of London sites. They often look a little tired but we are still in line for a refurbishment. So that will give it a lovely facelift. You'll have to return in a couple of months and see what you think. Should be all finished by then. As you say location and staff really do make all the difference. Glad you enjoyed it! -Anna

60%

They had lockers and the staff let us leave our luggage at the hostel after we had checked out. Their staff is excellent (very nice people). Standard breakfast was a bit poor, though the menu (4-6 pounds for a full english) was really great. The showers on our floor were out, so we had to share the second floor's shower facilities. Though these were cleaned every day, obviously it's pretty impossible to keep them clean with so many people using them and just one round of cleaning daily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have increased to cleaning the showers 2-3 times a day as we understand that is the most used facility. The first floor shower is due to be removed hence why it's out of order. The space just isn't big enough for someone to shower comfortably. I'm sure you'll agree though there is never a wait to use the showers. Breakfast is great value for money especially with the guest discounts. It makes me very happy to hear you loved the staff. Everyone genuinely enjoys meeting new people. -Anna

71%

No kitchen facilities. Makes it an expensive stay because your constantly eating out. Being able to lock your things away should be standard.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are cages in your room that only require a lock. You can purchase these directly from us or from the pound shop next door. There are lockers in the chill out room as well that come with a £500 insurance. There are plenty of cheap food options around. A full salad bar at the supermarket next door gives you a nice healthy feed for £2 and your discount at the bar is quite decent. There are also plenty of tasty cheap take-away options just outside.

46%

Not much to like about this place, it was loud until day lights ear plugs couldn't help me sleep. The staff did nothing to stop a fight right outside our room door. The rooms were dirty, the 'chill room' was in terrible condition, and the laundry room? Just don't bother.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I apologise that nothing was done about the fight outside your room. If you just let the night porter know there is loud noise or a problem he can put an end to it. Unfortunately he is working either in the chill out room or setting up things in the bar so he's not always aware unless he is notified. The cleaning schedule has been improved and I'm sure you'll find many impressive changes if you return. -Anna

74%

The hostal is a bit far from the center of the city but it´s pretty well connected through buses and metro. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. The comforter for the bed was a bit stained. The room was okay I happened to be there when it was hot and the room at night was just so so warm. Don´t stay if you can´t sleep with noise because of the bar downstairs. Staff was helpful the times I asked about things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel is actually 15 minutes on the tube into the centre of the city. It is a bit further at night when using busses. The noise in the bar stops at 11 on weeknights and 12 on weekends. Glad the staff were able to help you out with all their knowledge. :)

80%

This was a good hostel for the price. Just two things: it was Sunday and really, really loud. People were screaming in the hallways for long periods of time. I know it's a hostel and people have fun, but it would be nice if "party areas" were better regulated so those wanting to sleep are able to do so. Also, the pillows were like rocks. Literally, I don't think a rock would've felt much different. Airplane pillows are better. It was a good hostel overall, and I would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry about the noise. We do let people know that if they want to continue partying they need to do so in the chill out room not in the rooms or corridors. Unfortunately unless the night porter is notified of what is going on upstairs there's a large chance he is monitoring the group that are downstairs in the chill out room.

94%

Very helpful/friendly staff. Nice clean rooms. Great location, underground directly across the street. The only issue I have with st christophers hostels is no kitchen facilities so you're forced to buy food from the bar which is not so good for the travellers on a strict budget. But always have a great stay at st christophers regardless.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Next time you're around just ask the staff for helpful hints on where to get a cheap feed. There are plenty of options and secret places that we're happy to share. We're all in the same situation. Everyone of us is on a travellers budget. Glad to hear everything else was up to standards. -Anna

89%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words. It's always nice to see you back here.

54%

What I really disliked is the male staff. Not helpful and generally interested more in bar activities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that. We do our best to make sure all hostel guests are helped before bar staff. Hope the male staff offer a better experience for you next time you visit. Anna

97%

Thank you for a great stay. Everyone at reception was wonderful and gave us great ideas for activities in London. Even though it was a but outside central London, the tube and overground were right across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There's so much to see and sometimes you do need to venture a little further. The great thing is the central line is so well linked up to all the lines so nothing takes too long. Glad you enjoyed yourself and took everything on board. Anna

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed it!

63%

It wasn't a disaster, but I wouldn't come back to this hostel. The worst thing were unisex showers in one bathroom. Moreover, a member of the staff slept in our room. He was more than 40 y.o. and drunk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't have an age limit here and we don't discriminate against anyone. The showers are unisex but there is a shower that females can use when booked into the female dorm. You can always ask the staff for options if something makes you uncomfortable. Anna

77%

Good hostel, excellent situation in London (1min to shepherds bush station and Westfield ). The rooms and the showers were clean, but not the toilets. The bar at the first floor was very nice, but very noisy when we needed to sleep.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you had a bad sleep. The bar does close at 11 on a weeknight and we don't have dh's until Friday night. We also offer earplugs for free at reception if you do want to get an earlier nights sleep. Anna

80%

- Staff really friendly - Bathroom clean and good quantity of showers available - Beds are ok, no problems at all. - Breakfast ok, with cereal, juice, bread, jam - Location: right in front of Underground Station, so can be easily found and doesn't take too long from the center of London

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had a good stay! Always great to hear positive feedback. Hopefully see you again soon. Anna

97%

The staff are super cool and helpful. Ask them anything ! Much love to the Aussies that are there come rain or shine!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such nice words. Thanks so much!! We're all travellers too and we love meeting new people. We just want everyone to love it here as much as we do. Anna

66%

The hostel is in a somewhat good location, but the staff was very rude, the room noisy and the bathroom not clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm really surprised the staff came across as being rude. We all want everyone to have a great experience here. Hope you return and give everyone a second chance. Anna

(1802 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback