X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Shepherds Bush Reviews

Belushis Bar, 13-15 Shepherds Bush Green., London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2605 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I liked it enough, the only problem I had were the other guest being loud, and the prices of towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your feedback. where possible we always try to ensure our guests behave in a manner that is respectful to other guests. However some people can be a little loud and once informed of this we will always speak to those who are making too much noise. With regard to the towels, we charge £2 to rent one or you can purchase one for £10. Aside from these two issues, we hope you had a good stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

100%

Once again an awesome place to stay, will be and have already recommended to friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for leaving us some great feedback and a recommendation! Hope you guys continue to have amazing adventures wherever you travel to! Stay safe, and once again Thank you from all of us here at St Christopher's.

94%

The staff here go above and beyond to help out with whatever questions you have

Owner Comment (Hide)
Jey there, Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Our staff are mostly travelers just like all our guests and we know what it's like to be in a foreign country. We do our best to share all our knowledge and find the answers to anything we don't know. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again, until then safe and happy travels. The St Christopher's team.

71%

I had a very nice stay. I would have liked for there to have been better showers and for it to be possible to check in before 2:00.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am sorry that you were not able to check in until 2pm. We do maintain this check in time to allow our guests from the night before to check out and our cleaners to be able to get in and out of the rooms quickly and easily without having to dodge around new guests checking into half tidy rooms. It honestly is more for your benefit than ours. Aside form this, we a glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers

71%

A reasonable hostel in a good location directly opposite the tube. The cleaning was average and given the number of people in the hostel the bathrooms could easily have been cleaned twice. Belushis bar below was noisy on a weekend, not that it was an issue to us. The bar was then hang out space as the chill out room was a bit of an airless bunker. Wifi was good. Sheets etc were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Our cleaners work very hard to maintain a clean hostel and with so many guests in and out we think they do a great job but, like everything in life we can always strive to be better... Which is what we will continue to do! Again, thank you for your feedback, it's very helpful to know what we are doing right and what we can improve on. Safe and happy travels. Cheers, The St Christopher's team

91%

Has an awesome/lively bar downstairs, which is a lot of fun, especially if travelling with friends. Bar offers great food at reasonable prices with discounts available. Located across from Shepherds Bush tube station makes getting around town a breeze. Newer/safe neighborhood, stress free environment. Facilities could use a facelift (mainly the bathrooms) but all in all not a bad spot to stay, especially if you are younger or looking to party. Standard security and nice/helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for your feedback . We welcome all feedback given as it helps us improve for future guests. We totally agree, a facelift would do miracles but we work really hard with what we have and so far we appear to be doing a pretty god job, Thank you! If you are ever in London again, pop in and say Hi. We love seeing old guests and hearing all about their adventures. Safe and happy travels. Cheers, The team at St Christopher's

54%

Our private room was in the shower block, could hear people pee through the walls. The smoking balcony was right next to our window and was so loud. Pillows were so hard we had to use jumpers instead. Showers were push taps with only hot water. Baggage storage was just putting all the bags in the unlocked common room. People running and yelling until 4am with no staff to pull them up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for your feedback . We welcome all feedback given as it helps us improve for future guests. I\'m so sorry to hear your stay was not a positive one. I would like to say that we operate a strict NO DRUGS policy & can assure you the drugs from the bar was not purchased at our bar. All our staff are trained to spot & stop any form of drug use in the hostel. We will be implementing changes to deal with the other issues raised. Again, Thank you, The team at St Christopher's

94%

Love this place. Have stayed 4 times and all the staff remember me. Easy to get to and good facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We love hearing good stuff. Gives all the staff little butterflies in their tummys... Actually no they just smile but its a nice thought. Safe travels and do come back and visit again. Cheers, The St Christopher's team.

83%

Really good hostel overall. Good sized rooms with secure luggage baskets below the beds. Clean and tidy. Great location tourist wise! The only complaint I have is how loud it gets as the hostel is above a bar. The window in my first room didn't seal so I could hear the people on the patio and cars driving by(on a very busy road) all the time, quite loudly. And just through the floor of the building. But I moved rooms to the second floor and it was 100% better. Helpful staff! Overall rating 4.5/5


91%

Was a very nice hostel to stay in very clean and cosy, would stay again.


69%

Arrived very late due to flight delais and was very tired. The staff was very polite who pointet me to the room, the ocurance during the night, one guy who stayed and slept in the upper bed pissed in his bed and socked the one below. The other room member scewed a girl and demanded we wait outside until he finished. The room smelled worse than a toilet with no fans, or has not been cleaned. But London was great.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back. We appreciate it as it helps us to improve the experience for future guests. I am so sorry to hear about your stay. It sounds like you had the roommates from hell. We understand that this can sometimes happen and if you come see our staff at any time of the day or night we can try and switch you to a different room. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, but like mentioned.. it only takes one smelly guest to ruin it. Again, thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it. Safe and Happy travels from the St Christopher's Team

100%

Awesome place to stay, mostly because of the staff and atmosphere!


80%

Very good hostel, with an excellent location. Shepherds Bush underground station is across the street. Unfortunately toilets are shared by men and women, then they're often busy, and Showers only on second floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back. We appreciate it as it helps us to improve the experience for future guests. Maybe our silly staff forgot to mention that there are additional showers on the first floor. One is a female only shower and is away from the main shower area. Aside from that we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe and Happy travels from the St Christopher's Team

77%

Nice location right next to underground and bus stop but hygiene need to be maintained, bed sheets were not clean and showers were filthy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Our cleaning team strip the beds after guests check out and fresh sheets are used on all beds. Our staff know that sometimes people throw bags or clothes on other peoples beds and if it appears to be dirty, let a staff member know and they will be more than happy to whip some new sheets on the bed for you. Our showers are cleaned daily and the bathroom cleanliness is monitored by staff throughout the day. Sometimes it can get a little messy with so many people leaving empty bottles of soap around. Thanks for the feedback, its little things like this that help us improve. We will review our cleaning schedule and see what changes we can make to prevent this becoming a continuous problem. Thanks again. Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

97%

Friendly staff. brilliant location. atmosphere is great. the only downside to the hostel itself are the showers on the roof; not a good idea especially in freezing weather. also, one problem was one of the room mates had too much to drink, too much to smoke, and rotten socks. please people be considerate to others. St Christopher's please keep the good work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We love to hear that we are doing a good job. Room mates are always a gamble. Some good, some not so good. As travellers we know this all to well. The showers on the second floor can be a bit drafty, this is down to people leaving the door open to the roof top terrace. We have more showers located on the first floor if you find it a bit to cold in the main showers. Regardless of the showers we are glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

57%

This hostel is in a great location (directly across from tube station) the staff are helpful however it is noisy and not the cleanest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Being situated about a busy bar it can sometimes be a bit noisey, that's why we close the bar at 11 on weekdays but if you are after an early night, we offer FREE earplugs at reception for all guests. Our cleaning team work quite hard at keeping the hostel in a good clean condition but being an old building it can sometimes look dirty. We have taken this into consideration and are soon to start repainting and upgrading our rooms. Again, thank you for your feedback. Its always welcome and appreciated! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

63%

DISAPPOINTMENT. The hostel is above a bar and the music is always loud. The location was OK; across the street from the train station but not close to any tourist attraction or nightlife. You have to take the train everywhere. The bathroom & shower was semi clean but small. There is only 1 shower on the entire first floor. Rooms are small and only 1 outlet in a 6 person room. I have stayed at a ton of hostel in Europe and this was the worst. Would not recommend to anyone traveling thru London

  • 22nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here with us, its disappointing. Its very hard to find the perfect balance to keep everyone happy. Our bar shuts quite early during the week at 11pm because we understand that not everyone wants to party. Shepherds Bush in in Zone 2 and whilst it might sound a bit far out it is only a 10minute commute on the tube, which is right across the road into central london. Being such a small hostel we do not have the space that some of the newer hostels have to make our showers bigger. We only have 2 showers on the first floor but we have another 6 on the second floor. Thanks to your feedback We have also began the long process of refitting all our rooms with additional power points because as you say, 1 outlet just is not enough. we agree. Its small things like this that will help us improve our experience for future guest. So once again, thank you for your feedback. Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

94%

Recommended. Next to probably the biggest shopping mall in London. It wasn't very busy when I was there. Not much going on around that area either as far as I know.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. Shepherds Bush can sometimes appear to be a quiet area... But do not underestimate it. All our staff are bursting with crazy information about events and activities to do, next time your about ask one. They are always happy to help! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

I love the staff they are awsome. I can honestly say the hostel was nice but the staff made it.

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback, our staff work hard to make your stay great but play harder to give you the experience. After all, travel is about more than sightseeing! Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

89%

Always nice to stay in St Christopher Inn.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

(1805 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback