X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Shepherds Bush Reviews

Belushis Bar, 13-15 Shepherds Bush Green., London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2592 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Was a very nice hostel to stay in very clean and cosy, would stay again.


69%

Arrived very late due to flight delais and was very tired. The staff was very polite who pointet me to the room, the ocurance during the night, one guy who stayed and slept in the upper bed pissed in his bed and socked the one below. The other room member scewed a girl and demanded we wait outside until he finished. The room smelled worse than a toilet with no fans, or has not been cleaned. But London was great.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back. We appreciate it as it helps us to improve the experience for future guests. I am so sorry to hear about your stay. It sounds like you had the roommates from hell. We understand that this can sometimes happen and if you come see our staff at any time of the day or night we can try and switch you to a different room. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, but like mentioned.. it only takes one smelly guest to ruin it. Again, thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it. Safe and Happy travels from the St Christopher's Team

100%

Awesome place to stay, mostly because of the staff and atmosphere!


80%

Very good hostel, with an excellent location. Shepherds Bush underground station is across the street. Unfortunately toilets are shared by men and women, then they're often busy, and Showers only on second floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back. We appreciate it as it helps us to improve the experience for future guests. Maybe our silly staff forgot to mention that there are additional showers on the first floor. One is a female only shower and is away from the main shower area. Aside from that we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe and Happy travels from the St Christopher's Team

77%

Nice location right next to underground and bus stop but hygiene need to be maintained, bed sheets were not clean and showers were filthy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Our cleaning team strip the beds after guests check out and fresh sheets are used on all beds. Our staff know that sometimes people throw bags or clothes on other peoples beds and if it appears to be dirty, let a staff member know and they will be more than happy to whip some new sheets on the bed for you. Our showers are cleaned daily and the bathroom cleanliness is monitored by staff throughout the day. Sometimes it can get a little messy with so many people leaving empty bottles of soap around. Thanks for the feedback, its little things like this that help us improve. We will review our cleaning schedule and see what changes we can make to prevent this becoming a continuous problem. Thanks again. Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

97%

Friendly staff. brilliant location. atmosphere is great. the only downside to the hostel itself are the showers on the roof; not a good idea especially in freezing weather. also, one problem was one of the room mates had too much to drink, too much to smoke, and rotten socks. please people be considerate to others. St Christopher's please keep the good work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We love to hear that we are doing a good job. Room mates are always a gamble. Some good, some not so good. As travellers we know this all to well. The showers on the second floor can be a bit drafty, this is down to people leaving the door open to the roof top terrace. We have more showers located on the first floor if you find it a bit to cold in the main showers. Regardless of the showers we are glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

57%

This hostel is in a great location (directly across from tube station) the staff are helpful however it is noisy and not the cleanest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Being situated about a busy bar it can sometimes be a bit noisey, that's why we close the bar at 11 on weekdays but if you are after an early night, we offer FREE earplugs at reception for all guests. Our cleaning team work quite hard at keeping the hostel in a good clean condition but being an old building it can sometimes look dirty. We have taken this into consideration and are soon to start repainting and upgrading our rooms. Again, thank you for your feedback. Its always welcome and appreciated! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

63%

DISAPPOINTMENT. The hostel is above a bar and the music is always loud. The location was OK; across the street from the train station but not close to any tourist attraction or nightlife. You have to take the train everywhere. The bathroom & shower was semi clean but small. There is only 1 shower on the entire first floor. Rooms are small and only 1 outlet in a 6 person room. I have stayed at a ton of hostel in Europe and this was the worst. Would not recommend to anyone traveling thru London

  • 22nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here with us, its disappointing. Its very hard to find the perfect balance to keep everyone happy. Our bar shuts quite early during the week at 11pm because we understand that not everyone wants to party. Shepherds Bush in in Zone 2 and whilst it might sound a bit far out it is only a 10minute commute on the tube, which is right across the road into central london. Being such a small hostel we do not have the space that some of the newer hostels have to make our showers bigger. We only have 2 showers on the first floor but we have another 6 on the second floor. Thanks to your feedback We have also began the long process of refitting all our rooms with additional power points because as you say, 1 outlet just is not enough. we agree. Its small things like this that will help us improve our experience for future guest. So once again, thank you for your feedback. Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

94%

Recommended. Next to probably the biggest shopping mall in London. It wasn't very busy when I was there. Not much going on around that area either as far as I know.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. Shepherds Bush can sometimes appear to be a quiet area... But do not underestimate it. All our staff are bursting with crazy information about events and activities to do, next time your about ask one. They are always happy to help! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

I love the staff they are awsome. I can honestly say the hostel was nice but the staff made it.

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback, our staff work hard to make your stay great but play harder to give you the experience. After all, travel is about more than sightseeing! Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

89%

Always nice to stay in St Christopher Inn.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

91%

all ok, nearby tube station and lots of shops

  • 9th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. We love the location. Its not smack bang in the chaos but close enough that a 10min tube ride will throw you in central London and the shops.. did you know that Westfield, right across the road is one of the BIGGEST shopping centres in Europe and the UK! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Absolutely brilliant time I would love to come back!! All the staff were great craic especially Jack behind the bar great banter!! Perfect location right on the central line really clean great place to meet new people!! Thanks so much for a great few days :) Jen

  • 9th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Our staff are always up for a good time, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back any time you feel like visiting! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Nothing bad to say, just that water in the showers was a bit cold in the morning. We realy enjoyed the chillout room in the basement and the lockers there were very useful to us. The location is awesome! Tube station and a 24/7 market both just across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback! Sorry to hear about the cold showers. We use environmentally friendly water saving showers and sometimes the buttons need a few presses in the morning before they heat up. The chill out room and the bar are the two most frequented areas of our hostel. Such a good vibe and great people always about to chat with and the location... Shepherds Bush is a beautiful area. With all the great places to eat, the central line right across the road and not to mention the biggest shopping center in London being just across the road.. yeah it sure is awesome! Glad you enjoyed your stay, feel free to come back and visit any time you like. Safe and happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

83%

The pub in the hostel is a plus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for leaving a review. The pub below the hostel is a BIG plus! The 25% discount on the food menu, not to mention the 2for1 beer and vodka deals for all our hostel guests really do add up when traveling on a budget! It's also a really good place to meet up with friends or meet new ones! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Accidentally was charged £1 for my night stay :)


86%

The wifi was really sporadic and staff didn't really know much how to fix it. Also ran out of hot water on a couple of tr mornings in the shower which wasn't much fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, First of all, thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve our guest experience. Cold showers are always a bummer! We have showers available on both floors to try and combat this. We use environmentally friendly water saving showers and sometimes the buttons need a few pushes before the hot water comes back, especially on days where everyone likes to shower at the same time. Our staff are quite good at dealing with all things bar and hostel, but when it comes to the technical things we call other people to take care of that. This can sometimes take a few hours or a few days.. We are really sorry that it played up during your stay. The best WiFi spots are in the bar and down in the chill out room, they are also the best spots for meeting new people and enjoying the atmosphere. Good luck with the rest of your travels... Stay safe and have fun! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

94%

Really good service, friendly staff and extremely clean and cozy rooms. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for the review. Its always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying with us. Our staff try really hard to make it a unique and exhilarating experience for everyone that visits. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit anytime you like! Cheers. The St Christopher's team

100%

Cleanest hostel ever stayed at. Friendly staff and good value.Perfect location 1 min walk to tube station and lots of good shops nearby.

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the awesome review. Our staff love hearing the good stuff! Come back and visit anytime you like! Cheers, The St Christopher's Team

77%

The bedrooms have a nice look and there's enough space for everybody to move around and store their stuff. There's enough toilets and showers, which are amongst the cleanest I've seen in a hostel. The one thing I don't like about St.Christopher's is that they don't have a kitchen for the guests to use, there's only a microwave in the (quite smelly) "chillout room", which has a really warm and friendly atmosphere, BUT is set in the basement without any windows to let daylight or fresh air in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for your feedback. It helps us improve on our mission from OK, to great! Our cleaning team do a fantastic job. I will be sure to let them know its appreciated! Being such a small building, we do not have the space for a kitchen, its also why we hide the chill out room downstairs... that and it keeps the noise away from the actual bedrooms As you mentioned, we do have a microwave and we also offer 25% discount on food from the bar menu to all our hostel guests along with great drink deals. Thanks to all the feedback from guests like yourself we have just installed a new air venting system to help keep the chill out room well vented and smelling fresh! Good luck on your future adventures and happy traveling! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

(1796 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback