X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Shepherds Bush Reviews

Belushis Bar, 13-15 Shepherds Bush Green., London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2572 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I love the staff they are awsome. I can honestly say the hostel was nice but the staff made it.

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback, our staff work hard to make your stay great but play harder to give you the experience. After all, travel is about more than sightseeing! Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

89%

Always nice to stay in St Christopher Inn.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit next time your in London! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

91%

all ok, nearby tube station and lots of shops

  • 9th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time from your travels to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us improve the experience for our future guests. We love the location. Its not smack bang in the chaos but close enough that a 10min tube ride will throw you in central London and the shops.. did you know that Westfield, right across the road is one of the BIGGEST shopping centres in Europe and the UK! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Absolutely brilliant time I would love to come back!! All the staff were great craic especially Jack behind the bar great banter!! Perfect location right on the central line really clean great place to meet new people!! Thanks so much for a great few days :) Jen

  • 9th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Our staff are always up for a good time, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back any time you feel like visiting! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Nothing bad to say, just that water in the showers was a bit cold in the morning. We realy enjoyed the chillout room in the basement and the lockers there were very useful to us. The location is awesome! Tube station and a 24/7 market both just across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback! Sorry to hear about the cold showers. We use environmentally friendly water saving showers and sometimes the buttons need a few presses in the morning before they heat up. The chill out room and the bar are the two most frequented areas of our hostel. Such a good vibe and great people always about to chat with and the location... Shepherds Bush is a beautiful area. With all the great places to eat, the central line right across the road and not to mention the biggest shopping center in London being just across the road.. yeah it sure is awesome! Glad you enjoyed your stay, feel free to come back and visit any time you like. Safe and happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

83%

The pub in the hostel is a plus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for leaving a review. The pub below the hostel is a BIG plus! The 25% discount on the food menu, not to mention the 2for1 beer and vodka deals for all our hostel guests really do add up when traveling on a budget! It's also a really good place to meet up with friends or meet new ones! Happy travels! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

100%

Accidentally was charged £1 for my night stay :)


86%

The wifi was really sporadic and staff didn't really know much how to fix it. Also ran out of hot water on a couple of tr mornings in the shower which wasn't much fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, First of all, thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve our guest experience. Cold showers are always a bummer! We have showers available on both floors to try and combat this. We use environmentally friendly water saving showers and sometimes the buttons need a few pushes before the hot water comes back, especially on days where everyone likes to shower at the same time. Our staff are quite good at dealing with all things bar and hostel, but when it comes to the technical things we call other people to take care of that. This can sometimes take a few hours or a few days.. We are really sorry that it played up during your stay. The best WiFi spots are in the bar and down in the chill out room, they are also the best spots for meeting new people and enjoying the atmosphere. Good luck with the rest of your travels... Stay safe and have fun! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

94%

Really good service, friendly staff and extremely clean and cozy rooms. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for the review. Its always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying with us. Our staff try really hard to make it a unique and exhilarating experience for everyone that visits. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit anytime you like! Cheers. The St Christopher's team

100%

Cleanest hostel ever stayed at. Friendly staff and good value.Perfect location 1 min walk to tube station and lots of good shops nearby.

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the awesome review. Our staff love hearing the good stuff! Come back and visit anytime you like! Cheers, The St Christopher's Team

77%

The bedrooms have a nice look and there's enough space for everybody to move around and store their stuff. There's enough toilets and showers, which are amongst the cleanest I've seen in a hostel. The one thing I don't like about St.Christopher's is that they don't have a kitchen for the guests to use, there's only a microwave in the (quite smelly) "chillout room", which has a really warm and friendly atmosphere, BUT is set in the basement without any windows to let daylight or fresh air in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for your feedback. It helps us improve on our mission from OK, to great! Our cleaning team do a fantastic job. I will be sure to let them know its appreciated! Being such a small building, we do not have the space for a kitchen, its also why we hide the chill out room downstairs... that and it keeps the noise away from the actual bedrooms As you mentioned, we do have a microwave and we also offer 25% discount on food from the bar menu to all our hostel guests along with great drink deals. Thanks to all the feedback from guests like yourself we have just installed a new air venting system to help keep the chill out room well vented and smelling fresh! Good luck on your future adventures and happy traveling! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

77%

Good Hostel, very good location, there are Mc Donalds, KFC, Subway, Supermarket, Underground station and a Mall, on the other side of the street ! The bar is great, with some deals for the travelers.

  • 22nd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Located on top of a noisy bar so hard to sleep. No kitchen to use, only 1 microwave. The 'continental' breakfast was toastand cereal - continental breakfast traditionally means eggs, sausage, etc. Staff mixed up my booking and i had to wait 40 minutes for them to clean my bed etc Location is convenient, tube is across the road and shopping centre next door and the upstairs showers were good but thats a small consolation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, First of all, thank you for your feedback. It helps us build on and improve the experience for other guests. Our bar downstairs offers some great drink deals but unfortunately like any bar can get a bit noisy. We close quite early during the week and for nights when you want an early sleep, the hostel reception offers FREE earplugs. Being quite a small hostel we just don't have the space to put self catering kitchen facilities, to compensate for this we have a microwave in the chill out room downstairs with an array of condiments for your use and offer an awesome 25% off our entire food menu at the bar. We are so sorry you had to wait for the bed. Our usual check in time is 2pm, but sometimes with high numbers of check ins and outs our staff just get a little caught in time. Again, very sorry. It's not a usual thing. Our 'included breakfast', is on par with most other UK hostels. If you have some suggestions on how we could improve this, please contact us by email. We are always looking for new ways to keep our guests happy! We wish you safe travels on the rest of your trip. And again thank you for your feedback. Cheers, The St Christopher's team

37%

Worst hostel experience ever. Inpossible to close the window, gap at the door: we had to sleep in noisy ice wind blow (there was -2 Celsius in nights). My card to enter to the hostel and room never worked, but staff not reaaly cared, except the night recepcionist guy, he try to do best - others doesn't care, rather talk and drink with other guests in the bar. Wifi never works properly, 4 continously days absolutaly didn't work. Room7. Vastly overpriced, very poor facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Being a very old building these issues do sometimes occur, Since your stay we have had our maintenance team address this issue. Our staff do the best they can, and are always always happy to help when asked, but they are not very tech savvy. A call was placed to have a technician come to look at the wifi, we apologize that sometimes these things take a few days to sort out. Again, we are very sorry and can re-assure you that all problems mentioned have been addressed. Cheers, The St Christopher's team

94%

This is a really nice hostel, just outside the subway station and there are lots of places nearby where you can eat, drink, etc...If you don't wanna leave it's fine cause there is a nice bar at the hostel! The room I stayed was pretty fine and the bathrooms were always clean. I would stay there again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Shepherds Bush really is a beautiful area hey?! Come back and visit anytime. :) Cheers, The St Christopher's Team

89%

This was my 3rd time at St. Christopher in Shepherds Bush and it was, as usual, great. Great smiling helpful staff and great atmosphere! Highly suggested if you are looking for fun!!!

  • 18th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We appreciate it! Its always good to hear that our guests are not only having a good time but that they recommend it to other as well. Come back and visit us again any time you like! Cheers, The St Christopher's team

77%

Accross Shepherd's Bush station, great stay!


37%

Not a nice place, was in a mixed dorm had inconsiderate roommates and one very weird guy filling me with bad stories about the place. Avoid at all costs!

  • 16th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We are really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time here with us. Staying in a large mixed dorm, its almost inevitable that there is always going to be one or two people who you don't get along with. Our staff know this and where possible we are always happy to try and move you to a new room. Very big apologies to you about the 'weird guy' with lots of bad stories about us. All our staff are actually quite friendly if you take the time to say hi to them, they are all very laid back and easy going which can sometimes cause people to be put off. Thank you for your feedback, good or bad. Every little bit helps us create a better experience for our guests. Aside from your room mates we hope that everything else was OK. Cheers, The st Christopher's team

20%

They cancelled my reservation at the last minute. They did offer to relocate me to another, further away, hostel but this was a pain to deal with at the last minute


86%

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable enough. Also, the location of the hostel is perfect, just next to the Shepherd's Bush tube station. The biggest let-down was the shower (terribly uncomfortable and impractical) and the fact that we would struggle to get in the room as keycards were working sporadically.


(1787 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback