X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5303 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed at 3 different hostels, this one was by far my favorite. Unbeatable atmosphere. If you are looking to meet people, this is the place. Great walking tour and pub crawl. Lounge always has people in it, bar was lively as well. Only 2 outlets in a room of 14 people, but we made it work, wifi was spotty. Close to London Bridge tube station. Best place to stay on a weekend.


83%

It was overall a pleasant stay. I stayed in the 22-bed mixed dorm which made it a little hard to sleep with so many people (alarms, talking, coughing) if I was to come back, I'd stay in a smaller room. Beds were comfortable though. Bathrooms weren't bad, but the 10 sec timer in showers is super annoying. I found it was hard to meet people as a solo traveler because everyone was already in their own groups. Staff was really sweet and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and will be sure to pass them on! We are sorry you felt it was difficult to meet some new friends, but if you do come back and stay with us in a smaller dorm, as you mentioned, we are sure this will allow you to find some new people to have fun with London! Until then, safe travels!

100%

Everything was how it should be.Big thanks to the helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we would really like to see you again in your future travels! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

The Hostel was pretty good but unfortunately the staff were really unhelpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review but we're sorry to read your stay was not as good as it perhaps could have been due to an issue with our reception team. As we are all backpackers here ourselves we understand how it feels to be on the other side of the reception desk and how much a helping-hand can actually help. We're sorry if you didn't receive this type of treatment. We will be looking further into this matter but hope regardless, hope you still had a pleasant stay in London.

80%

Great place to stay, however the wifi is absolutely not what they are advertising. Would have stayed regardless but it was frustrating walking into something you weren't expecting. Wifi only reaches the lobby (not even the common room) so there's constantly a crowd, making check in and out rather difficult. Other then that the breakfast is average, everything's clean and the locations great. Added bonus the amazing tours run through them. Awesome staff, very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we really hope to see you again! As for the wi-fi, you are correct, at the moment it only hits our lobby area. The reason for this being, as we're sure you saw, we are currently undergoing renovations so what this means is shortly our wi-fi will hit every room :) As we have quite a large building this is not something that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

80%

The night bus (stop right outside) was really convenient and helped get me to the airport in the middle of the night, Hostel was close to other metro stops too. The hostel's self-proclaimed party vibe held true for the most part. One thing I think could be better relayed to guests is the relationship guests have with the two attached bars (what can we bring in, what can we take from one location to the other, etc...) Also reception didn't have guides for day trips or attractions


80%

I return to this hostel when coming to London.'Nuff said.


66%

I stayed for a total of three nights. The wifi is the biggest joke on the planet. You have to sit in their lobby for it to work (34 people & 4 chairs). They have a common room across the hall but it doesn't reach. It doesn't reach any room that isn't directly above the lobby. In the reviews people have left they comment back saying it's "fixed" and you will be "pleasantly surprised" when really the staffs attitude and ;) faces they leave as a sassy comment is a surprise. So much for hospitality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read that our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations due to an issue with our wifi. As you are correct, at the moment our wi-fi is only working in our lobby, this is due to the fact we are updating it so it will reach every room in the entire building. As we have qite a large building this is not somthing that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

94%

Great hostel. Staff are helpful and friendly. Bar downstairs is great. Free breakfast is okay but coupons can be used at the restaurant. Definitely a good party hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. Great you liked your stay and the bar atmosphere. We hope to see you soon in London . ;)

74%

The hostel is fine, but there is no wifi in the rooms, only 2 outlets in a room with 10 people and the bathrooms and washrooms should be cleaned more often. Everyday I'd take a shower in a washroom covered with hair on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for leaving us a feedback, we are currently refurbishing so we will have a look at power sockets in the rooms. Sorry about the inconvenience in the bathroom we will be more careful in the further, take care ;)))

94%

We enjoyed our stay in the hostel and couldn't have asked for anything more. Friendly staff, free breakfast and clean facilities.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back any time! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they are passed on :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

Great stay for what you are paying, never once felt unsafe or anything. Only thing I would change is the showers, they get the job done but pressing the button over and over can get tedious, especially when your not getting to hot of water

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks for your feedback, great you liked it. We are currently refurbishing and getting new showers for the whole building. See you soon ;)

40%

Right, do first impressions count? You walk up to the door and there's no buzzer or knocker, I go back to the bouncer at the bar (connected to the hostel) and he says 'you gotta go up to the glass door and bang on it till someone opens it'. .This is how you must gain entry to the hostel to check-in.Check-in then took 25 minutes - 3 staff but 2 said 'we are cashing up, please wait there'. In the end the girl who's enquiry was holding us up allowed me to check in .thankyou to her, not to reception


91%

Standard chain Hostel. Nice and organized. But not homely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, please don't be a stranger.

94%

it was not abad choice everything was just fine i will suggest to everyone if you want save money then its best choice so go on.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time ;))

69%

The village was nice and convenient.. In between two tube stations and walking distance from London Bridge. The party was always rocking and the food was amazing. Ribs were my favorite. The New Year's Eve Full Moon Party!! Good prices at Belushi's made it easy to grab a drink or bite. The front desk staff could have been more helpful but the staff at the bar generally made up for it. The 22 bed room was freezing.. So have warm pjs in case. Breakfast could have been better but hey it was free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the different events that we organized. Sorry about the inconvenience in your room we will fix it. See you soon in London ;)))

74%

There was a huge leakage problem during the time we were there. Part of the reception ceiling felt. It smelled like toilet. During that most of the toilets could not be used and we could not even have shower. The girl from reception was REALLY impolite and rude when I asked what were the options. Room was REALLY small for 6 Bed and only one outlet to charge the mobiles. Toilets were dirty. The only good thing was the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to the fact our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. During your stay unfortunately we had an unforeseeable plumbing emergency which did cause us to have to close reception and all hostels toilets for just a bit but we can assure you it as since been repaired. Also we must apologize if you found our staff during this time to rude but can assure you this was not their intention.

100%

Great hostel, stuff and space. Loved it. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again in the future :) Also thank you kind words about the staff and hostel itself, we will make sure they get passed on! Please take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

Wifi was poor reception and dropped out at times.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry for the wifi but we are working on it . Take care ;)

91%

Clean, nice location. The only issue is having only two electricity outlets for a whole room of many people. No outlets in bathroom either. No wifi anywhere except for reception. Overall a great place though with a lot of great people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again! It also sounds like you made good use of our central location and our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As for the wifi and powerpoints we are currently undergoing with those two points being at the top of our list so if you ever find yoruself back at the village we think you'll be pleasantly surprised :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback