X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5308 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

These guys know what they are doing...stayed at the one in bruges too. stay here if you want to have a good time and a nice easy stay in london


97%

Best hostel I've stayed in london , bar staff were awesome especially Callum. Will Definetley stay again

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed at 3 different hostels, this one was by far my favorite. Unbeatable atmosphere. If you are looking to meet people, this is the place. Great walking tour and pub crawl. Lounge always has people in it, bar was lively as well. Only 2 outlets in a room of 14 people, but we made it work, wifi was spotty. Close to London Bridge tube station. Best place to stay on a weekend.


77%

Should have more places do charge inside the room! I stayed in a room for 8 people and it has only 2 points! The wifi doesnt work on the 3rd floor.


83%

It was overall a pleasant stay. I stayed in the 22-bed mixed dorm which made it a little hard to sleep with so many people (alarms, talking, coughing) if I was to come back, I'd stay in a smaller room. Beds were comfortable though. Bathrooms weren't bad, but the 10 sec timer in showers is super annoying. I found it was hard to meet people as a solo traveler because everyone was already in their own groups. Staff was really sweet and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and will be sure to pass them on! We are sorry you felt it was difficult to meet some new friends, but if you do come back and stay with us in a smaller dorm, as you mentioned, we are sure this will allow you to find some new people to have fun with London! Until then, safe travels!

66%

Great location, lovely facilities and the staff downstairs on reception are very nice. However, the cleaning staff were really rude. They woke us and others up every morning on their phones or gossiping outside the rooms, and they also barged into our room a few times without asking. They'd then stand there writing down stuff while we were naked in bed, then storm out and slam the door behind them. It was crazy and I've never dealt with that in any other Hostel. The showers were usually dirty.


100%

Everything was how it should be.Big thanks to the helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we would really like to see you again in your future travels! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

83%

My only complaint was the showers, the girls one you could not regulate the temperature (wwhich was cold) the unisex shower was crazy and only had boiling or cold water. Apart from that super happy! Nice vibe throughout the whole place x

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The Hostel was pretty good but unfortunately the staff were really unhelpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review but we're sorry to read your stay was not as good as it perhaps could have been due to an issue with our reception team. As we are all backpackers here ourselves we understand how it feels to be on the other side of the reception desk and how much a helping-hand can actually help. We're sorry if you didn't receive this type of treatment. We will be looking further into this matter but hope regardless, hope you still had a pleasant stay in London.

80%

Great place to stay, however the wifi is absolutely not what they are advertising. Would have stayed regardless but it was frustrating walking into something you weren't expecting. Wifi only reaches the lobby (not even the common room) so there's constantly a crowd, making check in and out rather difficult. Other then that the breakfast is average, everything's clean and the locations great. Added bonus the amazing tours run through them. Awesome staff, very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we really hope to see you again! As for the wi-fi, you are correct, at the moment it only hits our lobby area. The reason for this being, as we're sure you saw, we are currently undergoing renovations so what this means is shortly our wi-fi will hit every room :) As we have quite a large building this is not something that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

80%

The night bus (stop right outside) was really convenient and helped get me to the airport in the middle of the night, Hostel was close to other metro stops too. The hostel's self-proclaimed party vibe held true for the most part. One thing I think could be better relayed to guests is the relationship guests have with the two attached bars (what can we bring in, what can we take from one location to the other, etc...) Also reception didn't have guides for day trips or attractions


80%

I return to this hostel when coming to London.'Nuff said.


66%

I stayed for a total of three nights. The wifi is the biggest joke on the planet. You have to sit in their lobby for it to work (34 people & 4 chairs). They have a common room across the hall but it doesn't reach. It doesn't reach any room that isn't directly above the lobby. In the reviews people have left they comment back saying it's "fixed" and you will be "pleasantly surprised" when really the staffs attitude and ;) faces they leave as a sassy comment is a surprise. So much for hospitality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read that our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations due to an issue with our wifi. As you are correct, at the moment our wi-fi is only working in our lobby, this is due to the fact we are updating it so it will reach every room in the entire building. As we have qite a large building this is not somthing that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

94%

Great hostel. Staff are helpful and friendly. Bar downstairs is great. Free breakfast is okay but coupons can be used at the restaurant. Definitely a good party hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. Great you liked your stay and the bar atmosphere. We hope to see you soon in London . ;)

74%

The hostel is fine, but there is no wifi in the rooms, only 2 outlets in a room with 10 people and the bathrooms and washrooms should be cleaned more often. Everyday I'd take a shower in a washroom covered with hair on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for leaving us a feedback, we are currently refurbishing so we will have a look at power sockets in the rooms. Sorry about the inconvenience in the bathroom we will be more careful in the further, take care ;)))

94%

We enjoyed our stay in the hostel and couldn't have asked for anything more. Friendly staff, free breakfast and clean facilities.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back any time! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they are passed on :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

Great stay for what you are paying, never once felt unsafe or anything. Only thing I would change is the showers, they get the job done but pressing the button over and over can get tedious, especially when your not getting to hot of water

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks for your feedback, great you liked it. We are currently refurbishing and getting new showers for the whole building. See you soon ;)

40%

Right, do first impressions count? You walk up to the door and there's no buzzer or knocker, I go back to the bouncer at the bar (connected to the hostel) and he says 'you gotta go up to the glass door and bang on it till someone opens it'. .This is how you must gain entry to the hostel to check-in.Check-in then took 25 minutes - 3 staff but 2 said 'we are cashing up, please wait there'. In the end the girl who's enquiry was holding us up allowed me to check in .thankyou to her, not to reception


91%

Standard chain Hostel. Nice and organized. But not homely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, please don't be a stranger.

94%

it was not abad choice everything was just fine i will suggest to everyone if you want save money then its best choice so go on.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time ;))

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback