X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5343 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Needs re-furbishing completely. Very gloomy atmosphere.


89%

Nice place, good location. There was only two plug in our room which is not nearly enough. The windows are really thin so you'll hear car driving outside but it's prety calm during the night. The breackfast is a nice plus.


49%

at 5am in the morning 2 drunk ozzies in their twenties came in and started harassing everyone who was sleeping in the room. a complaint was made downstairs and they did virtually nothing to fix the problem. All they did was come in for 2 seconds and told them to stop and then left. the behaviour continued and again nothing was done. I think the quality of people who come to this place is not very high - you get drunk and jobless bums who are troublemakers. you get what you pay for.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing/friendly staff, great hostel events, location was prime (London Bridge station, close to Borough Market...). The hostel could may be benefit from another microwave and definitely MORE OUTLETS IN THE ROOMS! Stayed in a 14-person dorm with only 2 plugs to share. During prime eating hours, there was often a queue for the 1 microwave that was in the chill-out room.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Conveniently located if you are looking to explore the sites or the London night life on a budget. The downstairs bar is good but is distinctly more enjoyable on a Friday with the contrast with the other days of the week being sharper than you would expect. Overall pretty decent value for money


83%

To bad there were only two power point for fourteen people in one room, and I didn't like there was no kitchen which is normally the place to meet people. But at least you get 25% off the food in the bar downstairs. But because of no kitchen I really missed the sociality.


37%

The bathrooms were shared between the entire floor. They were always dirty, with trash on the floor. The showers were also dirty, with hair in the drain. They were frozen or extremely hot. The rooms had a bad smell and the mattresses were old, was like sleeping on floor. It had no individual lights and outlets. The breakfast had a few options, but had no hot milk. The doors to the corridors of the rooms were always open, without any security. It was terrible to stay there!


66%

Great location, but the feel of the place was not something we really liked. It didn't feel comfortable to hang out in at all. Also, the bar next door was definitely cheap with the 25% discount.... But the food wasn't worth it. We ordered 3 different dishes that we didn't like, and went to bed hungry. The staff weren't extremely friendly either. Probably won't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We will pass your comments on to our staff in hopes of fixing this issue. We try to provide a social atmosphere, being one of the foremost party hostels, and are sorry that was not your experience. We're also currently in the midst of renovating our building to make it more welcoming aesthetically. If you do stay again, feel free to try your discount at The Inn as well for a different style of food. Safe travels!

63%

Excellent location in London City, 1 minute walk away from the Tube´s Northern Line (London Bridge St.) and bus stops.


100%

These guys know what they are doing...stayed at the one in bruges too. stay here if you want to have a good time and a nice easy stay in london

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there - thanks so much for the kind review! So glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

97%

Best hostel I've stayed in london , bar staff were awesome especially Callum. Will Definetley stay again

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thanks so much for the great review! Hope we see you again soon - I'll pass it on to Callan too! :)

94%

Stayed at 3 different hostels, this one was by far my favorite. Unbeatable atmosphere. If you are looking to meet people, this is the place. Great walking tour and pub crawl. Lounge always has people in it, bar was lively as well. Only 2 outlets in a room of 14 people, but we made it work, wifi was spotty. Close to London Bridge tube station. Best place to stay on a weekend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks so much for the kind review! You'll be please to know we'll be upgrading the power point situation in the coming months so that every single guest will have their own power point and USB charge socket. The WiFi will be seeing an upgrade this March as well, so hopefully next time you stay with us it'll be even better ;) Happy travels!

77%

Should have more places do charge inside the room! I stayed in a room for 8 people and it has only 2 points! The wifi doesnt work on the 3rd floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We know, the power point situation is currently not the best (old building..) However, we are currently in the process of renovating the entire hostel so there will be a power point including a USB point for every single guest! The WiFi is also getting a complete upgrade this March, so hopefully your next stay with us will be even better! Happy travels

83%

It was overall a pleasant stay. I stayed in the 22-bed mixed dorm which made it a little hard to sleep with so many people (alarms, talking, coughing) if I was to come back, I'd stay in a smaller room. Beds were comfortable though. Bathrooms weren't bad, but the 10 sec timer in showers is super annoying. I found it was hard to meet people as a solo traveler because everyone was already in their own groups. Staff was really sweet and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and will be sure to pass them on! We are sorry you felt it was difficult to meet some new friends, but if you do come back and stay with us in a smaller dorm, as you mentioned, we are sure this will allow you to find some new people to have fun with London! Until then, safe travels!

66%

Great location, lovely facilities and the staff downstairs on reception are very nice. However, the cleaning staff were really rude. They woke us and others up every morning on their phones or gossiping outside the rooms, and they also barged into our room a few times without asking. They'd then stand there writing down stuff while we were naked in bed, then storm out and slam the door behind them. It was crazy and I've never dealt with that in any other Hostel. The showers were usually dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad you enjoyed the hostel and the reception staff - very sorry to hear about your experience with the cleaning staff. We will look into making changes to be sure guests feel more comfortable and less disturbed by the housekeepers. Happy travels!

100%

Everything was how it should be.Big thanks to the helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we would really like to see you again in your future travels! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

83%

My only complaint was the showers, the girls one you could not regulate the temperature (wwhich was cold) the unisex shower was crazy and only had boiling or cold water. Apart from that super happy! Nice vibe throughout the whole place x

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, and to honest, we could't agree with you more. As we're sure you noticed we are currently undergoing a full hostel refurbishment with our showers being our number one priority. As we too feel these could do with some updating they are being completely ripped out and replaced with brand new units where you can regulate the temperature yourself ;) Other then that we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again!

71%

The Hostel was pretty good but unfortunately the staff were really unhelpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review but we're sorry to read your stay was not as good as it perhaps could have been due to an issue with our reception team. As we are all backpackers here ourselves we understand how it feels to be on the other side of the reception desk and how much a helping-hand can actually help. We're sorry if you didn't receive this type of treatment. We will be looking further into this matter but hope regardless, hope you still had a pleasant stay in London.

80%

Great place to stay, however the wifi is absolutely not what they are advertising. Would have stayed regardless but it was frustrating walking into something you weren't expecting. Wifi only reaches the lobby (not even the common room) so there's constantly a crowd, making check in and out rather difficult. Other then that the breakfast is average, everything's clean and the locations great. Added bonus the amazing tours run through them. Awesome staff, very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we really hope to see you again! As for the wi-fi, you are correct, at the moment it only hits our lobby area. The reason for this being, as we're sure you saw, we are currently undergoing renovations so what this means is shortly our wi-fi will hit every room :) As we have quite a large building this is not something that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

80%

The night bus (stop right outside) was really convenient and helped get me to the airport in the middle of the night, Hostel was close to other metro stops too. The hostel's self-proclaimed party vibe held true for the most part. One thing I think could be better relayed to guests is the relationship guests have with the two attached bars (what can we bring in, what can we take from one location to the other, etc...) Also reception didn't have guides for day trips or attractions

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed the party vibes of the Village and the convenient location. We usually do have printed guides for local attractions in the reception, sorry if they weren't available or offered to you while you were here. Hope to see you again soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback