X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5552 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Everything fine. If you don't tolerate any noise at night, it might be a problem for you: there is a night club on the ground floor, which you cannot really hear, but people from there go out and speak loudly outside of the hostel's windows. The toilets could be cleaned slightly earlier than 8-9am, for those who get up early. But overall a pleasant stay, the location was ideal for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! With the hostel being located on a busy High street and right above a bar, we know it can get quite noisy which is why we provide free earplugs at reception for those guests who are lighter sleepers. We do have housekeeping staff that clean our facilities 3 times daily plus once at night, but with so many guests you sometimes make it to the mess before our staff do. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay! Take care!

74%

Good location; close to the tube/buses, next to borough market and a supermarket. Friendly staff. Big spacious rooms. Normal bunks. Light, UK, European and USB outlet per bed. Plenty of bathrooms and always clean. Free laundry facilities! Breakfast was great but they need to invest in either more or a bigger toaster, one is a bit ridiculous. Adding a kitchen would also be a bonus as they currently only have a microwave and kettle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for the great review! We're so glad you had such nice things to say about our fantastic location, new facilities & power-socket upgrades, and our staff. As you mentioned, our toaster had broken and we are currently in the process of finding a replacement. Unfortunately, at this property, is it difficult to maintain a full kitchen, but we do have a microwave and kettle, a supermarket across the road, and a 25% discount at the bar for our guests to enjoy. Until next time, safe travels!

80%

The hostel was easy to find. Just south of the London bridge tube stop. Staff were very friendly and happy to help. The discount on food was also very handy. The housekeeping came fairly early each day and definitely weren't quiet about it either but the room was very clean and the beds fairly comfortable. The only negative was the bathroom and shower facilities. Half the doors didn't close or lock and the showers were a bit grotty. Over all a great place to stay and would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our lovely staff. Concerning the Housekeeping We can learn a lot from your experiences and I will follow this matter up! We hope you will stay with us again next time!

94%

the rooms were spacious, and there were personal lockers in dorms and luggage lockers in the lounge, so I always knew that my stuff was safe. Breakfasts were hearty and kept me full for hours. There was a pretty decent supermarket just across the street, and it took me only about 4 minutes to get to Borough metro station (use London Bridge metro when traveling with suitcases, it is a few minutes away, but it has escalators).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for leaving us a review. It sounds like you took great advantage of our location and facilities. We hope to see again soon. Take care and safe travel ;))

86%

Really nice place actually. Very close to London bridge and tower bridge. Very close to underground station where you can take a train anywhere in the city. A little on the expensive side. Breakfast ok. Not much. Nice overall atmosphere. Most of the halls smell

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad you took advantage of our great central location; so close to many of London's must-sees! We're sorry to hear our complimentary breakfast didn't quite meet your expectations. Perhaps next time you might try upgrading to our hot breakfast at the Belushi's bar upstairs? We'll definitely pass on your comments about the hallways to our housekeeping staff. Until next time, safe travels!

80%

In general it was a pleasant stay. All things are fine just one accident happened: someone got the fire alarm out at 5 in the morning and everyone got up... It was crazy...But in general, the hostel in fine and clean, everything just fine and I regard it a good value for the price in London!!!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the fire alarm incident. Hope to see you again. Take care ;)

69%

I enjoyed my stay at St Christopher's - with the exception of a few of things. Our room had extremely poor ventilation and a window that could only open half an inch. This made it VERY uncomfortable to sleep in. Also, the cleaning staff were very intrusive, barging into our room while we were in it to vacuum and see if we needed clean towels...REALLY? We're there for 3 nights, vacuum when we leave! Lastly the price - its a good, clean and fun hostel, but definitely not worth what we paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank-you for taking the time out to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that your stay here didn't quite live up to your expectations and that you found so many problems during your stay. We promise to look in to the issues you have raised here. Our apologies over this matter, we do hope you stay again. Take care

86%

No lift which sucks when you have 20 kilos on your back on the fourth floor. Good location near London bridge station and pubs. Staff was helpful and they had free breakfast which was just mainly yogurt, toast, fruit but it was free so that makes it good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, Glad to hear you enjoyed our very central location. It is always good to start the day with a free breakfast, our includes, fruits, cereals, toasts, jam, ham, cheese, yoghurt, muesli, coffee and tea. Hope to see you again soon ;)

100%

Perfect location! Nice staff, confie beds. Clean place with nice atmosphere. Nice pub on the ground floor!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you had so much fun! Come back again and we'll keep the good times going!

71%

The good: Great location -- a 5 minute walk to the London Bridge stop. For the budget traveler, there is also a grocery store nearby. The hostel is also pretty secure -- you have to swipe to get in at night, and lockers are large. Friendly staff. Downside: the bathrooms get disgusting very quickly. Bring flip flops. Some of the toilets take a long time to flush, so they were stopped up a lot. Private rooms are VERY tiny. Standing room only. No fans or air conditioning in the room, it got hot.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we would really like to see you again in your future travels! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

89%

Great hostel! The location was the best part! Loved walking to borough market and super easy access to the river. My room was by the street and although I thought it would be noisy it wasn't. Staff was extremely helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for getting back to us with your comments and feedback, we love hearing back from our guests. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

77%

The bathrooms never had soap and lots of the toilets didn't flush properly. Staff was great, rooms were average, but had 2 power points per bed which was a huge plus! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, Glad to hear you enjoyed our staff. We are also very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the facilities, next time ask a staff member . We are always here to help. Take care and safe travel ;)

89%

Overall a good experience at St Christopher's. Excellent helpful staff. Clean rooms. Good size lockable storage-even for big bags. Decent free breakfast. Cleaning staff telling off other cleaning staff while guests present isn't very professional though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey!! Awesome to hear you like it here! We like you too! Especially happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff - it's our favourite part of the job to meet, get to know and give tips to fellow travellers. Hope to see you back with us soon :)

86%

Bar setup is very good. Real close to London and Tower bridges

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for getting back to us with your comments and feedback, we love hearing back from our guests. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

74%

Toilets need improvements. Shower pressure was too powerful. There's not enough electrical points in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review,We do apologize that your stay with us was not that positive. We are currently refurbishing the hostel with power points for each bed. We will also pass the word to our maintenance team for the showers. Happy and safe travels

97%

The staff here make the hostel what it is. Loved it!

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, they mean a great deal to us. Hope see you next time.

77%

We had a good stay but the facilities kept breaking down while we were there. Half of the toilets were out of commission while we were there. Was super clean though and the breakfast was decent. Atmosphere was good but the bar downstairs was never open.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for the review! Our bar downstairs is open everyday from 5 pm to 10 pm. Glad you enjoyed our free breakfast , Hope to see you back with us soon :)

100%

I had a great time while I was staying at this hostel. The workers were very nice and they were always there to lend a helping hand! Great hostel and great location. The restaurant attached is great too! I would definitely stay with them again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! I'm glad you took advantage of all we have! Hope you can come back again soon!

86%

We stayed two separate times and the second time was a lot better the wifi connection was better and the chill room was a fun environment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and review, we really value our guests feedback. It's great to read that you had a good stay with us . Happy travels and we hope to see you again

83%

Good hostel, thyme have done renovations since last I stayed there so the bathrooms are a lot better. The common room could do with some comfy couches rather that just dinning chairs that would also create a more social environment instead it kinda felt like a waiting room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and where able to point me in the right direction with what ever I needed. The East London walking tour was fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time out your day to give us your feedback and comments, we genuinly love to hear back from our guests. We're very pleased to see that you had such a good stay with us. See you soon !

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback