X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5248 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm and was impressed by how spacious and comfortable the room was. The individual beds have their own power points and curtains for privacy. The heating was very good for winter (my bed was right next to a heater and I found it slightly too warm at times). There is a cage drawer for each person to store their bags/valuables (buy a lock from reception or provide your own). The staff were very friendly and were constantly enthusiastic and helpful.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is very comfortable, the only problem I had was with the internet conection the Wifi doesn't reach the room you have to stay close to the reception. Besides that everything was excellent, the breakfast is nice and the hostel is close to everything you want to see as a tourist.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our central location complimentary breakfast for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Also we are currently undergoing hostelwide refurb which priority #1 being updating the wi-fi so we guarantee next time you find yourself at the village, you'll like what you see :) Thanks again for the review and all the best on your onward travels.

63%

Wifi was terrible! The showers were sometimes hot, sometimes cold. If you want to see all the main attractions, be prepared to plan additional transportation!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read that the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. As for the shower temperature, at times, it can fluctuate when we have a large number of guests using it, such as in the mornings. However this is a issue that is easily resolved if you just let our 24 hour reception desk know ;) As for our location we are only steps away from such landmaks as The Tate & Shakespeare's Globe just to name a few, we're sorry if you didn't a chance to take advantage of this.

74%

I had a really great stay here in London at Saint Christophers Village! The staff were amazing and were helpful whenver we needed anything, including multiple pages printed! I wasn't impressed with the breakfast at all. It consisted of instant coffee and toast, so if that satisfies you than you will be fine but i think that for the amount of money that they charge it could be a little better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! As well thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure they are passed on ;) As for the breakfast we offer a wide variety of items such as toast, ham, cheese, cereal, coffee, tea, yogurt and fruit just to name a few. We're sorry if your didn't get a chance to take full advantage of this. And if instant coffee doesn't tickle your fancy we provide a wide selection of filter coffees in our bar next door ;) Thanks again!

86%

I've only stayed two night in a 22 beds dorm, but i really enjoyed my stay. The staff is great, kind and always ready to help. WiFi doesn't work in dorm, but I didn't need it...Breakfast is ok.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime :) Also thanks so much for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on! We are also currently undergoing renovations and one thing that is being done at the moment is updating our wi-fi so if you ever find yourself back at The Village, we think you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

Pretty average hostel experience. A decent stay but not as nice as other st Christopher's. Location isn't horrible but not very close to the major sites. It's in a good location for accessing londons best night clubs, however. Atmosphere in the hostel is a little bit overrated, but it still isn't too bad. london's hostels aren't the best, so I'd recommend a stay here, but it won't be one of the better ones you'll have stayed at.


97%

You can meet other travellers at the bar and join activities provided by the hostel – pub crawl(superb experience), walking tour. You won’t be bored if you do not want to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we're glad you had a nice stay. It also sounds like you took full advantage of our activities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

74%

Average hostel. It's a big comfortable place to stay, nothing more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Average hostel you say? Big comfortable place nothing more you think? Well we say challenge accepted my friend ;)

80%

Solid hostel. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, easy to meet people. Was very frustrating though - took an hour to check - in because the system wasn't working. Then ended up having to check out since they had to switch my bed the next day, and then was given the same bed. Also there were 2 outlets for a room of 14 people which made keeping my phone charged difficult. Wifi could rarely be accessed in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! We must apologize though about the lengthy check-in process but we can assure you this is not not the normal way we do things. Unfortunately, as you said, we were having issues with our system but can assure you it has since been repaired. As for the unnecessary room change that was, as well, due to the issue that we were having with the system during your visit. We do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused.

83%

Aside from a mess from redoing the floors and a fight while we were there, our stay was pretty good. The beds were clean so usually the bathrooms too. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great location and attached bar.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again :) Also thanks for the kind words about the staff and hostel hostel itself, we will make sure they are passed on! Also, as we're sure you saw, we are currently undergoing renovations so if you ever find yourself back at St. Christopher's Village we're sure you'll like what you see ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

94%

St Christopher is a great hostel, has good showers, comfortable beds, nice staff and a nice pub. The breakfast is good, but it takes a long time for the staff to replace the food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they are passed on ;) As well thanks for letting us know about the wait time on restocking things for breakfast, this is something we will definitely look into! Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

66%

I personally would not stay here again. They changed our room in the middle of our stay, and the only way we knew about it is we asked them a question about our current room-very unprofessional. If you plan on getting a good nights sleep, do not stay here. It's very loud, especially on weekends, so I barely slept. It's in a good location though, very close to the tube and walking distance to Tower of London.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear you stay was not as pleasant as it perhaps could have been due to some issues that seem to have come up during your stay. Unfortunately, at times, even if the same room type is reserved it is not possible to stay in the same bed for the duration of your stay. As we understand this is not idle we try our best to avoid it but regardless inform the guests on checkin. We do apolgise if this was not discussed with you upon arrival.We wish you all the best on your onward travels

77%

The best laundry facilities of any hostel in the world and they are free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we're so glad you enjoyed our brand new washers and dryers! As backpackers ourselves, we understand how the dirty laundry can pile up after a few months of living out of a bag and trying to travel europe on a shoe string. It makes us happy to be able to do our part to help out that little bit more ;) All the best and safe onward travels!

86%

Almost everything about this hostel was great. The actual hostel is amazing because of the attached pub and restaurant located under the hostel. We had a blast staying here. The only complaints I have: 1) wifi is horrendous. Spotty service (barely any in the room) and constantly kicking you off. 2) Don't expect to be able to sleep in (even after a hostel hosted pub crawl that ended after 3am) - the cleaning staff ripped open the curtains and started singing before noon.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime :) As I'm sure you saw during your visit with us we are currently undergoing renovations and wi-fi is priority #1. So if you ever find yourself back at The Village, we're sure you'll be pleasantly surprised :) As for the cleaners we can assure you that's not the norm so will follow up on that for you. Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

91%

Good hostel. Good location because of metro but far away from Coach station and takes a while to walk to it from main attractions. Maybe if you're without a bag it's not that bad though :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts, we would love to have you back anytime! It also sounds like you made good use of our central location, which is what we like to hear ;) Also next time you come, don't worry about walking as you can grab the bus C10 just outside the coach station and it will drop you off just up the street from our hostel :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels.

91%

Close to the tube, easy to get to wherever you need to go. Clean bathrooms, clean rooms. Cage underneath each bed so plenty of space to lock everything up. Cheap food and drinks at Belushi's bar and plenty of pub crawls etc. Walking tours depart from the hostel each day as well. Great wifi. Only downside is there's no kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you had a nice stay and would love to have you back anytime! It also sounds like you made good use of our central location and activities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again for the review and please stop by if you ever find yourself back in London, even if just for a drink.

86%

Amazing staff, they were very fun and friendly! Lots of events going on and people everywhere. The rooms were mostly quiet and clean and bathrooms were pretty clean as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again :) Also thanks so much for the kind words about the hostel, we will make sure they are passed on! It also sounds like you took advantage of our nightly events, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

80%

Right place for backpackers, ideal for staying shorter than 7 days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay :) Take care and safe onward travels!

83%

Really enjoyed my stay at St. Christopher' Village. The only thing I can criticise is that there were only 2 plugs for a room of 8 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we hope you find yourself back at the village soon! As for power-points in the rooms this is something we are actually looking into improving in the next few weeks as we are currently undergoing a hostel-wide referb :D In the meantime if you find all the power-points to be occupied in your room you are for the welcome to leave your electronic devices to charge at our 24 hour reception desk or to use one of the many outlets in our large common room. Thanks again!

91%

Amazing staff!!!!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amazing Guest!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback