X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5510 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Overall a good experience at St Christopher's. Excellent helpful staff. Clean rooms. Good size lockable storage-even for big bags. Decent free breakfast. Cleaning staff telling off other cleaning staff while guests present isn't very professional though.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Bar setup is very good. Real close to London and Tower bridges


74%

Toilets need improvements. Shower pressure was too powerful. There's not enough electrical points in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review,We do apologize that your stay with us was not that positive. We are currently refurbishing the hostel with power points for each bed. We will also pass the word to our maintenance team for the showers. Happy and safe travels

97%

The staff here make the hostel what it is. Loved it!

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, they mean a great deal to us. Hope see you next time.

83%

Good hostel, thyme have done renovations since last I stayed there so the bathrooms are a lot better. The common room could do with some comfy couches rather that just dinning chairs that would also create a more social environment instead it kinda felt like a waiting room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and where able to point me in the right direction with what ever I needed. The East London walking tour was fantastic!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Was ok to stay just one night - reception staff were great. Cleaning staff told me I couldn't have a shower because they were cleaning the bathrooms and showers (this was at 9am so was ridiculous) Was very cramped in a room - only 1 person could access their lockers if adjacent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you found so many problems during your stay. We promise to look in to the issues you have raised here. Our apologies over this matter, we do hope you stay again. Take care

74%

Very friendly staff. The wifi was changed my second day there, and the new wifi is awesome (works in all of the rooms whereas it didn't reach the rooms before). I wish there was more than the two outlets in the 8 bed room as this was challenging for everyone to share, but otherwise I have no complaints as St. Christopher's met my needs. The location is great, with Borough Market just up the street!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location. Satisfied in general. Not very clean and no lift

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time writing us a review! We are truly sorry to hear that cleanliness was not up to our usual standard, it is a huge disappointment for us. If there ever is any problems we encourage our guests to come down and see us in reception, we are here to help! Please take care and all the best on your onward travels!

89%

This place is a bunch of fun. With the bar down stairs the vibe carried throughout the hostel. Laundry on the roof for free and a cool hang out spot. Wifi was decent but you can't exoect perfect. Highly recommend

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff , clean , comfy.


71%

When we were there, they were reconstructing the lounge area. Wifi did not go up to the rooms. Breakfast was good. There was a power strip for every bed which was nice. Bathrooms included a blow dryer. It is located near a tube station and the Bourough Market. Be mindful that the metro closes at midnight and doesn't open till 5:30. Public transportation that early isn't reliable. Leave lots of time for travel if travels super late or super early.


89%

The price is pretty good for the location, the place is very nice and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Just the bathroom was not very good, but still ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hank you for taking the time leaving us a review. Great to know you had a superb stay with us! We very much look forward having you back soon again!

63%

We had a lot fun, it was easy to meet people, and a fun bar atmosphere with great drink deals! Unfortunately, we got an iPad, some clothes, and bags stolen. The lockers under the bed are not very secure or safe. I recommend using the lockers on the bottom Floor, but that is pretty inconvenient. The wifi does not work at all in the rooms, and isn't great in the lobby. Also, the water was turned off one morning, which sucked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we value our guests comments as it helps us being even better! You will be happy to know that we have brand new fibre optic wifi that works everywhere now !! We are truly sorry to hear about the I pad, If there ever is any problems we encourage our guests to come down and see us in reception, we are here to help!

97%

The hostel is wonderful! The rooms and washrooms were very clean and kept that way daily. The staff were very helpful for a number of requests and the breakfast was awesome for being free! Would definitely stay here again :)

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time writing us a review! Fantastic to hear you had a fabulous stay with us and that we took well care of you! Free breakfast buffet and offers/discounts on food/drinks is always a win!

83%

Plus - Breakfast included - Great Bar - Easy meeting people - Great Staff - Rooms pretty clean Negative: - Wifi only in Lobby - Power sockets very few in the room - Less facilities on each floor

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we value our guests comments as it helps us being even better! We just got brand new wifi that works everywhere in the building and power sockets for each bed . So we certainly do hope to see you here soon again!

54%

It felt like I was living at a frat party. Not quite what I was expecting. People kept running into our door and screaming in the hall. I was very glad to have a private room and didn't attempt to go out once we went to bed. At one point It sounded like there was about to be a fight in our hallway. When we got up in the morning neither of us dared use the bathroom or shower because they were in only ok condition at 22:00 and didn't dare try them after so many drunk people had been in the hall

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear the facilities were not up to your expectations and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.. When any challenges are brought to our staff's attention, they are happy to remedy the situation. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

77%

Good solid place. I liked it overall! The only thing that could use work would be the bathrooms and showers - they were pretty grungy and not appealing in the least. Not renovations - just cleaner!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay . Sorry to hear that our bathroom was not up to our usual standard! We apologize for this, next time you are staying with us it will be all clean! Safe travels!

100%

The staff here are so lovely!!! Any questions ask these guys cause they know their stuff. Beds were very comfortable and all areas including hostel room and bathrooms were clean, constantly saw cleaners around making sure everything was in order! The atmosphere is amazing with the great Belushis Bar attached, where the food is great value and staff were happy to advise on the best food and drinks for your dollar. Love it here will definately be back! Thanks guys :)

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for such an amazing review. We will tell our staff members about your kind words. It looks like you took advantage of our facilities. We hope to see you soon, take care !

86%

Great location, friendly staff , nice room

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time leaving us a review, we really appreciate your feedback! Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and that you would like to come back again, we very much look forward having you back soon again!

97%

Absolutely loved my stay with St Christophers!! Fantastic location and the staff are so amazing. Helped me with directions and gave great deals on tours and travel beyond London. The facilities are so great and having the bar right there is a massive bonus when you are travelling on your own. The only annoying thing was the lack of power points and Wi-Fi in the rooms but that is such a minor criticism, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for such a positive review! It's great to read what a positive influence the staff have had on your stay with us, and we'll pass on your compliments. We will look forward to your next time with us!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(103 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback