X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5139 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Good Location. The rooms are not bigs but there is place to store bags under the beds. Too much entrances, doors and ways to get the room ... The staff at reception is good, but one security at the laundry room is stupid and so bad. He had no patience with my clothes when I was drying it ... I had to remove they wet. He was screaming like a fool guy !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're glad you got on well with our reception staff, we try our best to make sure every guest enjoys their stay. It's unfortunate that you had such a bad experience with the security, rest assured we'll do our best to do better in the future. Hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

80%

Great location, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Wifi and Internet were quite slow but I believe there were upgrades taking place for this. Rooms were average but a bed is a bed! Would stay here again!

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village! We are constantly trying to come up with ways to improve the facilities and services we provide. Hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

40%

Dirty and disappointing. London was great but I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We apologise if you found the wash rooms to be gross, we do our best to keep them to a high standard, they're cleaned 3 times a day and if any member of staff discovers a problem we do our utmost to fix it as soon as possible. We try our best to make every guests stay as fun as possible. Hopefully you'll give us another chance and we can show you how awesome we can be! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

83%

Had a great time at the hostel. The staff were very helpful and the vibe of the place was great. Only issues were that the water in the showers was very hot and you couldn't control the temperature and the rooms on the higher levels get very hot in summer time!


83%

Enjoyed my time there! The rooftop is great if you want to drink your own alcohol and meet people from all over the world.


74%

Overall, a decent hostel. The only negative comment is that I'm pretty sure there was a mouse/rat in the room at nighttime. I'm not wholly sure if the hostel is to blame (since there are clearly signs that say no food, yet the person across from me decided to bring loads), but... yeah. It is what it is. Breakfast was good though, as was the atmosphere and staff. Each bed also had storage cages underneath to hold valuables (which could be locked)--which was great and much appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village! Mice in the room aren't common but with an old building they will find ways inside if there is food in the room. Our pest control company do regular checks to keep the building as free from critters as possible. hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

94%

The only negative I have is our room was hot and stuffy but everything else was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village, normally London doesn't get that hot which means we were slightly unprepared for it. hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

46%

disgusting facility and bathrooms were the worst. this is definitely a party hostel. extremely loud outside all night. very hot while i was there and not air conditioning or ventilation. staff was nice, but just a dirty, loud, gross place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We apologise if you found the wash rooms to be gross, we do our best to keep them to a high standard, they're cleaned 3 times a day and if any member of staff discovers a problem we do our utmost to fix it as soon as possible. It also is loud at night because of the bar and high street but you can always get free earplugs from reception. Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

51%

Bathrooms were terrible. Bedrooms smelled terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We apologise if you found the wash rooms to be gross, we do our best to keep them to a high standard, they're cleaned 3 times a day and if any member of staff discovers a problem we do our utmost to fix it as soon as possible. Hopefully you'll come back and we can show you how awesome we can be! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

74%

I liked to stay in this Hostel, It's a place very animated and the staff are friendly.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village, hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

100%

Clean, safe party hostel on the south bank, close to London Bridge and the famous Borough Market. The rooms don't have AC so can be a bit hot in the summer. Great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. It is sometimes a bit hot when London heats up more than usual, however, that's rare. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

83%

Great hostel with the staff making it even better. Really easy to meet people and in a great location near Tower Bridge. In between two tube stations and old London is very close. Definatley recomend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

43%

The heat in the room was unbearable and the entire facility is humid and smells due to a lack of ventilation. I expect if I had stayed a week when it wasn't hot out this facility would have been adequate but given that the power went out, the roof leaked, the residents were waking everyone up at night for hours on end, the staff didn't car, the water machine was sold out, and the room was boiling hot, I was not satisfied despite the fairly low cost.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It's ok, we just stay one night, nothing bad happened to us, but when we arrived a guy was complaining that someone stole his laptop, so just put your stuff in your backpack.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're sorry you had such an unpleasant start to your stay with us, we do have lockable cages in the room and electronic lockers in the chill out room for valuables. Unfortunately you can't trust everyone in the world, but thankfully problems and thefts are few and far between at the Village. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

91%

Great hostel! My stay was better than I could imagine, the atmosphere was awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

91%

Fantastic stay, really enjoyed the place and the people, much including the staff too. Would absolutely love to come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

86%

We were short a locker (cage under the bed) in our dorm. I told the front desk on my first day and again on my third day. Although they said one would come.. when I checked out on day 5 we were still short a locker. Other than that my experience was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry that you had to make do without a locker for the entirely of your stay, we apologise completely. Unfortunately it's sometimes takes a while for new equipment to be delivered. It's awesome that you had fun otherwise though! Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

94%

I had a great time there and met amazing people! For sure i will stay there again :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

71%

I got 2 nights at this hostel. It is good to meet travelers. It has a nice bar with cheap drinks. Very good location with good facilities. I got a problem when I arrived late night at my room there were another person sleeping at my bed. The guy at reception just told me " you have to move to another room". I was really angry and he didnt apologize at all. Maybe is because some problems with the system, but the manager should pay attention at this problem. It is not nice you have to move at 5am


43%

My room did not have a lock on it when I booked a private double room. On top of that, there were mice that came into my suitcase during the night!!

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(3395 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback