X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5157 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Big, clean rooms. The 25% discount on food and drinks is great. Common room and top outside deck are fun and the bar next door is awesome. Would definitely stay again, no complaints


63%

Awful wifi. None in rooms and rarely available downstairs. The staff weren't overly friendly and always felt like I was being talked about by them. Awesome location but due to the unpleasantness of staff I would not go back there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Apologies if your stay with us was not what you had anticipated. We have been having issues with the WiFi but we are in process of dealing with this! If you would like to email us information regarding the staff who dealt with you we will look into this. Regards Your team at the Village

86%

I came to London alone and was a bit weary of being by myself and not being able to meet anyone but St. Christopher's was the ideal place to be! I met loads of people and after a long day exploring the city and making use of the super close vicinity to the tube, they provided a great space to rest your head. +great atmosphere +knowledgeable/friendly staff +cheap drinks and good food at the bar (try the vegetarian English breakfast) +excellent location


54%

While I understand that this is a "party hostel" it does not mean that the facilities should not be up to par. I found the cleanliness of the hostel overall to be subpar compared to the others I've been to in Europe. In addition, I found the judgmental attitudes of some of the staff to be irritating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, your comments are greatly appreciated. The hostel is cleaned each day by our housekeeping team and the bathrooms are cleaned 3 times daily. Apologies if you found it not to your satisfaction. If you want to email us more information regarding staff attitudes, i will look into it. Regards Your team at the Village

51%

The bathrooms are very dirty all the time. I didn't see anyone cleaning as much as should be. The rooms were not so clean too.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Well located place. Unfortunately there is no kitchen, but it is not a problem while staying for just a night or two. Convenient lugage cages under beds. Rooms spacious, with windows that you can open. Unfortunately in my dorm there were not enough sockets - and actually none anywhere close to my bed. A lot of stairs to cross when you are accommodated on 2nd or 3rd floor and have a heavy suitcase. But on both occasions when I had to carry my luggage someone kind appeared to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate your taking the time to review us, you comments helps us a lot. We are unable to have a kitchen due to space but we have microwave in the chill out room & the chefs are always happy to warm meals up for guests if they are free to do so. We are very lucky to be situated in such a great location. Regards Your Team at the Village

97%

Definitely a party hostel filled with 20 somethings but it was a great first start to the trip. Didn't find anything particularly lacking.


80%

Great set of facilities. I wish there were more electrical sockets in the rooms though. The one I was staying in had two plugs for 8-10 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, they help us a lot. Really pleased that you were happy with the facilities we have here. We are in process of sorting more electrical points in rooms. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future Regards Your Team at the Village

74%

Awesome location

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I was happy to stay there and I will be happy to stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. We are glad top hear that you had a great time staying with us. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

94%

Great hostel! Staff, atmosphere and the location are great, can't ask more much more, and considering the price... not bad. Needs a kitchen, but with Sainsbury across the road you can definitely live without

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. We are glad top hear that you had a great time staying with us. Unfortunately we don't have enough space for a guest kitchen, but we offer a 25% discount on our Belushi's bar and we also have a microwave in the chill-out room. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

71%

No wifi in the room and have to charge in the corridor. Location is not as good as it is rated. Have to pay 2-3 pounds to store luggage. A bit disappointing but the price is ok.


71%

Where WiFi???????

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your feedback. Sorry for the problems with the wifi during your stay. We had some issues with our internet provider which are now sorted. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

74%

Found this hostel a little disappointing for the extremely expensive price. The bathrooms weren't clean, there was no hand towel or dryer. Breakfast wasn't as good as the Amsterdam St Christopher's. Staff were helpful and bar was cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your feedback. Sorry that you found our bathrooms not as clean as they should be, please always inform our 24hr reception if something is not right, so they can take care of it right away. We match our prices to our great central London location, sorry you felt that it was a bit expensive. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

77%

It would be great to have some hooks on bathrooms and showers.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your feedback, we are in the progress of installing hooks in all bathrooms and rooms. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

63%

It was okay but I wouldn't return. Showers need update and staff was okay too. The atmosphere wasn't great either and the place doesn't feel welcoming. It's an okay place but I'm sure there's better hostels in london


100%

Had a great stay. good party atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again in the future, enjoy the rest of your travels St Chris Team

80%

Nothing super special, but okay. It's very young, fairly noisy, but you can often get a cheap bed here. The staff are nice and the location is great and right opposite a supermarket.


80%

First hostel I've stayed in. Decent location. Just two trains from heathrow and a few mins walk from London bride station. A lil mad about not being about to secure my luggage befor check in. I had to pay 2 euros. I don't see why hey couldn't be free especially for travelers arriving early like myself. Hostel itself was ok. You get what you pay for. Would consider staying here if I come back to London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you had a enjoyable stay and had a good time in London. Unfortunately we don't have space for a free luggage room. We therefore provide safe and insured lockers, which you can rent for as little as £3 for 24hrs (costs you £10 at the train station for a locker half the size). We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you back soon. Thanks, St. Christopher's Team

66%

There was only one socket in my 8 bed room, and this was really unconfortable

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(3404 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback