X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5511 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Pretty decent location, only a five minute walk to underground. Good security. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of activities you can do to meet other people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be glad to pass on your sweet comments about our staff. Come stay with us again any time!

100%

Nice place and good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

97%

You MUST go on the pub crawls. They are epic. This is THE hostel to be at in the summertime. You'll meet so many cute ladies.


80%

It's really great that St Christopher's Village offer breakfast for free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Great to see how much you appreciated your stay with us! We'll look forward to welcoming you again some other day!

100%

Great hostel. Everything you need. Facilities could be a little cleaner but it's the guests that are messy. You can see them cleaning often. Location is great, by train stations. Bar is good. There aren't many plugs but it works. Free washer and dryer! Staff is great. Free breakfast was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff! We are in the process of refurbishments which includes adding personal power points to each bunk. Come check them out next time you are in London! safe travels!

86%

Clean beds and spacious room. I liked the underbed storage cages too! Wifi was a but rubbish but for the price and location it was perfect for a night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! As for the WiFi, you are correct, at the moment it only hits our ground floor and lobby area. We hope you did notice during your visit though the several men installing wires all over our building for our brand new building wide fiber-optic WiFi :D As we are quite a large building this does take some time but we think if you ever find yourself back at The Village, you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Safe Travels!

77%

Nice clean hostel in a great location. All staff (especially Peter!) Were super friendly and more than willing to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you thought that this place is brilliant, and we will pass on your nice comment to our staff! See you soon and safe travel !

100%

Perfect location for exploring London, had a fantastic stay! Hostel was clean and the staff were really friendly. Sam on reception was really helpful thanks so much you made my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank your so much for your review. We will tell our staff about your kind words. We hope to see you soon in one of our St Christophers. Take care and safe travel :)

100%

The entire team where great! Especially callen. Facilities where clean and showers where hot. Great environment for young travellers.


74%

Massive hostel with lots of guests and floors. Rooms are very spacious with comfy beds and duvets. Wifi is good but does drop out if your on one of the higher floors. Common areas needs way more couches and there's no kitchen here, and costs you to use a locker to store your luggage if you check out. Really close to the tube which is good. First room I stayed in had awesome powerpoints next to each bed but second only two for the whole room which was annoying. Overall good hostel..quite pricey.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

In room A, desperately in need of a good clean and a lick of paint. Sky light flooded te room with daylight from 4am- needs a blind over it- everyone in top bunks had disturbed sleep due to amount of light being let in. Had an iPhone charger stolen on first morning- could have been an honest mistake, but still affected my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review but we're sorry to hear certain aspects of your stay, this time around, might not have lived up to your expectations. As for the cleanliness of your room we are actually quite surprised to read your comments as we pay special attention to this room as it's one of our largest. In addition to this we have actually just repainted the walls and replaced the floor but this is something we might look into revisiting. Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels.

74%

Great location and staff - but those are the only good things about it. The wifi is so-so and only works downstairs. In a room of 14 there's 2 total outlets! Even in the common room you're fighting to find an outlet. The shower have press-buttons to turn on with only warm water. Breakfast is very basic and could use improvement. If you're looking for anything more than a place to sleep then this place is not for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently refurbishing and putting an outlet for each bed. Next time feel free to ask our friendly reception about all the activities that we provide (pub crawl, movie night, beer pong, walking tours etc...) See you soon and safe travel

100%

Excellent location - so easy to get to from the airport. Breakfast is amazing, so much variety. The cage lockers under the bed are great and the rooms are quiet spacious. Staff are super friendly and lots of actives are organized. Highly recommend the Camden pub crawl especially to solo travelers, met some many wonderful people. Free laundry but no kitchen however super close to a small supermarket buy microwaveable meals to save money - microwave in hang out room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! It sounds like you took advantage of our central location and facilities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks and all the best on your onward travels.

86%

I enjoyed my stay in the hostel. I recommend it for the lovely envinronement

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for such a nice review. Take care !

89%

Amazing first hostel experience here! Great place for backpackers wanting to meet new people!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope that you decide to stay with us again at some point. Safe travel

97%

A great place, super clean even though they were doing some remodeling. The food was a bit pricey but the breakfast was great. The showers were small but super clean. The guys on the desk were very helpful in planning things to do and how to get around. Overall just a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for this amazing review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels !

74%

Unfortunately the staff poorly organised my stay resulting in them moving half my luggage into storage with the other half of my items still been left in the room, including my passport and laptop, without my knowledge. The staff were somewhat assisting with the situation, but it should have never occurred in the first place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review but we're sorry to hear certain aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. As for your luggage being moved from your room this is due to the fact you had made two separate reservations, in two different rooms sizes, and we had the unfortunate circumstance of having to remove your luggage from the first room where it was not removed by checkout time. We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you safe onward travels.

77%

Location right across the Borough Market is prime (I'm a foodie)! We had access to the Tube with less than a 10 minute walk, and the Shard of Glass was very close. The Bellushi's and Dugout's in the hostel are fun and have good food.


80%

First time staying in a hostel and traveling and I loved it here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the chill out room was very nice as well. I stayed in a mixed dorm of 14 and it was great. The only issue was that there was no wifi in the rooms and the plugs were limited. It never got too loud, but I was on the third floor away from the bars. If you're looking to meet great people, in a decent location this is a great hostel.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So glad that you enjoyed your time with us. If you decide to stay with us again at some point, you will be happy to know that we are getting brand new fiber optic wifi throughout the building. Cheers ;)

66%

Nice clean and warm bed. There was free laundry services too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review. Is there anything more important that a clean/warm cosy bed? :) The free laundry is a nice bonus, add to that the amazing staff (and amazing guests!), our cool bars (25% discounts for hostels guests) roof terrace (with amazing views of London), private lockers under every bed. fantastic location (think The shard, London Bridge, Borough Market, South bank, London eye) and more! hope to see you again - happy travels

(103 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback