NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained


4978 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Nothing in special. There is no kitchen. In the toilets there is no hand dryer or paper towel. But in general it's ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Your feedback is important to us so thankyou for taking the time to do so. We have a microwave in our chill out room for guest use, the chefs as well are happy to heat food up for our guests should they have the time to do so. Happy travels The Village


I really enjoyed my stay here, dint had any probs finding the place and found that all sight seeing places are easy to access from here. I liked the cleanliness, hygiene and security maintained there. I would like to advice them to advance there check in time to abt 12 as 2 pm is quiet late. And yes, please also improve the shower condition, the push knob, though useful for water saving, aint good as i got a gush of cold water everytime i pushed the knob.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thankyou for the feedback, we appreciate it. Unfortunately housekeeping have a busy time in between check out and in times so the hostel is ready for our new arrivals. We do offer an early check in - information online at time of booking. We are in discussions to upgrade our facilities so hopefully we should start our refurb program in the near future Happy travels The team at St Christopher's Village


The hostel is pretty nice. Staff is always helpful and it has a great location as well, really close to the borough market which I'd definitely recommend a visit. The bar at the hostel is always good fun and the beds are comfy! Really liked!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for leaving us a fab review, we learn a lot from them. Really glad you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again at some point in the future Very Happy Travels The team at Village


well, my stay at this hostel had ups and down. Lets start with the good part. It is closely located to a subway station, which means you can easily go around London within a few minutes. It has an Ok breakfast, nothing special. The bad part is that the hostel is not very clean. My first night there we had some visitors during the night (rats), and some girls went crazy about. Anyway, it's a good option to stay in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your feedback it means a lot to us. Our housekeepers clean the hostel daily and the bathrooms 3 times per day. Unfortunately due to high volume of visitors the bathrooms can get messy outwith cleaning times. Staff are always happy to go clean should they not be up to standard. Unfortunately we have the river close by so we occasionally get the odd mouse hence we ask our guests not to bring food into the hostel rooms. St Chris Team Happy Travels


Very filthy toilets and showers. Only two wall sockets for a room with 14 people. Would have been nice with small lamps by the bed as well. The bed were really unstable, if the person above you moved you often woke up.. Breakfast was included which was really nice. Good breakfast such as toast, yoghurt, musli, nuts, juice and coffee.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Your feedback is appreciated so thankyou for taking time to leave us a review. Our housekeeping team clean the bathrooms 3 times per day, we realize that due to heavy use they can get bit messy outwith these times. Reception are always happy to make them look nice again if they are aware of the issue. Glad you enjoyed our new breakfast offerings Happy travels Village team


The toilet and showers wasn't so clean. The location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your reviews, they helps us improve at all times. Apologies if you found the bathrooms not up to standard. I assure you our housekeeping team clean them 3 times per day, we realize that with such heavy use they can get bit messy outwith these times therefore reception are always happy to go and make them nice again if necessary


It was my third stay in the same hostel. Location of the hostel is wonderful and makes it perfect for stay.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future Happy travels The team at Village


Staff was good, we enjoyed the discounts we get at the bar/restaraunt. Excellent location, very close to metro. Our only problem was the showers, there doesn't seem to be enough showers for everyone in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your great feedback, we aim to please! Unfortunately we don't have the space for extra bathrooms which is a shame. We are glad you enjoyed your time her with us and hope to see you again Happy travels The Village team


Not the Best ! Not even the worst!!! a bit too noisy because of the extremely central position right next door to London bridge . But over all an alternatively ..cool hostel if it's only for a couple of nights, really!!!!! Because personally, I am not an "animal Party"!!!! like most those young people to frequent pubs and hostels of that sort! But yes, .... unusual and nice for one night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Your feedback is always appreciated, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, even although you are not such a party animal. We like to think that all of our guests, even those who prefer not to party have a good time here Happy safe travels The team at the Village


Good hostel, great bar, there should be more plugs in the bedrooms. Note one thing: don't keep food in the bedrooms because it will atract rats!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your feedback, we appreciate it. Unfortunately we live in London which is a very old city and near a river so we can be prone to the odd furry friend giving us a visit. We are on to the situation hence our no food in rooms policy. We have designated areas for eating in so we can control the issue Have happy travels The Village team

1 2 3 Next » last »
(50 results)

View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback