X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
5877 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very cosy hostel with warm staff, know some friends from Spain, the total trip was so exciting and unforgettable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us such a good review. We wish the best on the rest of your travels!

89%

Rooms are great, beds comfortable, great free breakfast and lovely atmosphere. However, cleanliness of bathroom that I used has a lot to be desired. This is unfortunately a deal breaker, and if you can't get this right - then it nullifies everything else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for getting back to us with your feedback and scores, it's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to improve our services. I'm sorry we didn't quite live up to your expectations with regards to cleanliness of the bathrooms. I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping team and improve this going forward. All the best with the rest of your travels!

100%

Very clean. Reasonable size rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we're so happy you enjoyed your time with us :) We're also glad to hear you noticed how hard our housekeepers work to keep our building clean. We'll make sure and pass on the kind words! Thanks again and safe travels.

80%

A decent hostel in a good location, i only have 2 complaints and they are not having caution tape across the lower parts of the roof and bathrooms! I hit my head twice just turning around to walk out of the room. Also the smell down the hallways and toilets wasn't at all pleasant. But overall was a pretty good place to stay and fairly central to the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you found these problems during your stay. We promise to look in to the issues you have raised here. Our apologies over this matter, we do hope you stay again. Take care

89%

Great hostel, definitely recommend it!

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, hello. Thank you for your feedback, lets hope you keep visiting us. You rock ;)

80%

Nice shampoo

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, great you enjoyed the shampoo. ;)

89%

Overall a great hostel but what's up with the showers? Can control temperature but not really pressure and its either crazy hard or nothing, and not really any room for clothes- everything gets soaked if not from the water then steam because there's no ventilation. The tiny little shower rooms are the worst I've experienced I think. I had a bad experience of someone vomiting in the room as well and me stepping in it but can't blame the staff. Charging for lockers is a rip of as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're sorry to hear that you had some problems with our showers - we will be sure to have our Maintenance team look in to this issue. If you ever have any problems with your stay just let our reception staff know and they will be happy to help. With 200+ guests we unfortunately cannot accommodate free storage for all. Our lockers at a minimal fee ensure safe storage of your bags for as long or little as you like. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Safe travels!

94%

Great hostel, great staff helpful with everything that you need. Bathrooms very good and clean, good location 5 minutes to tower bridge, great room. Mine had 10 persons and each bed had things do plug in the phone, usb and a switch for the light, really nice great price for the conditions

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're glad you took advantage of our great location and that our new upgrades - like the personal power points - fit the bill! We will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. Until next time, safe travels!

94%

Only stayed one night and it was good. They wouldn't let me check out 30 mins late which was annoying but not a big deal. I also didn't think it was great for meeting people but maybe that was just the night. Otherwise it was very clean and comfortable and a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we're so glad you had a nice stay :) About our checkout time, we're sorry if you found this to bit early. Unfortunately, as we are a rather large hostel, at times due to a large numbers of people checking out on the same day we're a bit more strict with this in-order to make sure everyone can check-in on-time :) Thanks again for your comments and all the best on your onward travels.

77%

The hostel rooms were fairly spacious and the bathrooms were clean. It was a bit annoying that I had to switch rooms during my stay, but the staff were typically helpful with concerns. The bar/ restaurant downstairs was convenient for nightlife. A good place to stay if you're looking to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review - it is great to hear good feedback. We will pass the kind words to our staff members, See you soon ;)

60%

The bathrooms were so dirty!! It was unfortunate and a bad start to the stay. It was also annoying to live on the 2nd floor with one toilet and one shower for all the females. Mostly it was just dirty which made it so much worse: the toilet was clogged, there was stuff on the toilet, hair on the sink, paper towels on the floor, smelt bad, etc.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts but we're sorry to hear our shower facilities might not have lived up to your expectations. As we do completely agree with you, they could do with a little face-lift, we're happy to inform you that these showers are scheduled to be ripped out and replaced in the upcoming weeks. We're also happy to tell you that this is the last set of showers in our entire building to be completed :) Thanks again and safe travels!

100%

We stayed at St. Christophers at the end of our 3 week trip through Europe. I can say this was one of the best places we stayed! It was fun, clean, and in a great location. I can't say enough about two staff members Sophie and Jen. They made our stay EXTRAORDINARY! Made us stay out all night :) - Lu Lu

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made your stay that much more awesome! We will be sure to pass on your kind word. Take care!

80%

Overall a good Hostel. great location comfortable beds free laundry free breakfast. The toilet area had a bad smell even though the place itself was clean . The maids are really loud with their conversations when they come in to clean the rooms. The showers are the smallest I've seen but at least the water pressure was good and its was hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed our little extras like complimentary breakfast and free laundry, and that our cozy showers hit the spot. ;) We have addressed the issues you have mentioned regarding the housekeeping and hope this problem is now rectified. We hope to see you back soon. Take care!

94%

I loved this hostel and would recommend it to everyone. The location is amazing, so it the of this hostel. The cleanest one I've been to so far. The shower was good and warm. The breakfast was free, simple but good. They had fruit, bread, ham, and some other stuff but don't expect a 3 star breakfast (and how can you since it's free?). So no complaints there either. They have arranged something for every evening in the bar or a tour or something. In one word: Great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! We're so glad that you took advantage our of central location and that our amenities and breakfast hit the spot for you. We are also pleased that you joined in on some of our hostel events. Come back and join us any time. Safe travels!

74%

Pretty good location and the staff at the desk were very friendly. The pub crawl was awesome. Our leader Danny from Sydney was an aweosme guy and really know His stuff. The Cons. The hot water simply wasnt working in a couple showers on my floor one morning so I had to hop between them in the nude. Also the maids. They were pretty obnoxious and loud when they come into the rooms. They made plenty of noise when I was in bed Sunday morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed our pub crawl and will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We are sorry to hear about your misadventures in the shower - the problem has now been resolved and our housekeeping staff have been addressed on this issue you have mentioned. We hope to see you back at the Village again soon!

89%

Loved everything about this hostel besides the cleaning crew. The supply closet was located right across from our room and they were not only incredibly loud very early in the morning but also so rude. In the mornings I constantly felt as though I was in their way and very unwelcome. However, the rest of the hostel was absolutely top notch. Great staff, great beds and utilities. Also cannot beat the location for site seeing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're glad you had a nice stay but sorry if our cleaning crew had this type of impact on your visit. We will admit, they are a lively bunch, but we can promise it was not their intention to make you feel as though you were imposing. As we do everything we can to try and make our hostel as tidy as possible, step 1 is to find people that are enthusiastic about what they do ;) Regardless, if you find yourself in this situation again please let our reception team know :)

91%

All around great hostel in a good location - close to tube stops. Their Camden pub craw is a ton of fun. Great bar downstairs with food discounts and specials. Friendly staff too. Highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay :) It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and nightly hostel events, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best of your onward travels!

83%

Love the renovation look. The guy in the dorm smelt a lot from body odour. I wished the window could open more or there was some way of ventilating the room.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for your review. It really matters to us that you like our new look. Unfortunately due to security reasons we have to put windows locks... See you soon, take care

100%

Fantastic hostel everywhere you go Christopher's are amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, hello. Thank you for your feedback, lets hope you keep visiting us. You rock ;)

69%

The room with 22 beth was very cold.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are very sorry to hear that. Our radiator have now been turned on, we hope that you still enjoyed the rest of your stay. Don't hesitate to ask a member of staff for extra blanket. See you soon ;)

(122 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback