X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5384 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The village was nice and convenient.. In between two tube stations and walking distance from London Bridge. The party was always rocking and the food was amazing. Ribs were my favorite. The New Year's Eve Full Moon Party!! Good prices at Belushi's made it easy to grab a drink or bite. The front desk staff could have been more helpful but the staff at the bar generally made up for it. The 22 bed room was freezing.. So have warm pjs in case. Breakfast could have been better but hey it was free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the different events that we organized. Sorry about the inconvenience in your room we will fix it. See you soon in London ;)))

74%

There was a huge leakage problem during the time we were there. Part of the reception ceiling felt. It smelled like toilet. During that most of the toilets could not be used and we could not even have shower. The girl from reception was REALLY impolite and rude when I asked what were the options. Room was REALLY small for 6 Bed and only one outlet to charge the mobiles. Toilets were dirty. The only good thing was the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to the fact our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. During your stay unfortunately we had an unforeseeable plumbing emergency which did cause us to have to close reception and all hostels toilets for just a bit but we can assure you it as since been repaired. Also we must apologize if you found our staff during this time to rude but can assure you this was not their intention.

100%

Great hostel, stuff and space. Loved it. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again in the future :) Also thank you kind words about the staff and hostel itself, we will make sure they get passed on! Please take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

Wifi was poor reception and dropped out at times.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry for the wifi but we are working on it . Take care ;)

80%

Clean Beds/ Rooms. Clean common areas. Location is good. Staff is poor (they didn't seem to care about much of what you asked, no effort in giving indications). Nice bar area (linked to a pub) so great ambience without getting noise in the dorms. Good breakfast. Would recommend if staff was better.


91%

Clean, nice location. The only issue is having only two electricity outlets for a whole room of many people. No outlets in bathroom either. No wifi anywhere except for reception. Overall a great place though with a lot of great people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again! It also sounds like you made good use of our central location and our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As for the wifi and powerpoints we are currently undergoing with those two points being at the top of our list so if you ever find yoruself back at the village we think you'll be pleasantly surprised :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

91%

I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm and was impressed by how spacious and comfortable the room was. The individual beds have their own power points and curtains for privacy. The heating was very good for winter (my bed was right next to a heater and I found it slightly too warm at times). There is a cage drawer for each person to store their bags/valuables (buy a lock from reception or provide your own). The staff were very friendly and were constantly enthusiastic and helpful.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they get passed on! We're so glad to hear you found our facilities to be generous and accommodating, we are so pleased to read this :) If you ever find yourself in London again please stop by, if even just for a drink ;)

83%

Clean and friendly hostel with great staff who were always happy to help!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will be sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

91%

Fantastic location, low price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much, all the best on your onward travels!

77%

It was a nice hostel. The hostel was a little older but it was fine. We stayed in a 14 person room and the room was pretty big but it did get stuffy at night with the windows closed. There was a bar downstairs which was nice, there you would get 25% off if you are a guest in the hostel. Food was good but not much a variety. For breakfast it was toast cheese ham and cereals. Overall I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took full advantage of our bar next door with discounts for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) If you ever find yourself back in London please drop by, if even just for a drink.

91%

Staff were very friendly and helped out whenever they could.. The hostel is in a great location for sightseeing, whether by public transport or on foot. The bar downstairs is great, packed out every night. Wifi doesn't reach most of the rooms though, so be prepared to camp out in the reception if you need it. Overall a great stay, would definitely reccommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are very happy to hear that you liked your stay. Unfortunatly the wifi doesnt reach the 2nd and 3rd floor at the moment due to refurbishment but we are working on it. We hope to see you again in the futur, take care ;)) !!!

86%

Fix the wifi and you will be perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the internet connection but we are working on it at the moment. We hope to see you in the futur in London.;)

94%

The hostel is very comfortable, the only problem I had was with the internet conection the Wifi doesn't reach the room you have to stay close to the reception. Besides that everything was excellent, the breakfast is nice and the hostel is close to everything you want to see as a tourist.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our central location complimentary breakfast for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Also we are currently undergoing hostelwide refurb which priority #1 being updating the wi-fi so we guarantee next time you find yourself at the village, you'll like what you see :) Thanks again for the review and all the best on your onward travels.

63%

Wifi was terrible! The showers were sometimes hot, sometimes cold. If you want to see all the main attractions, be prepared to plan additional transportation!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read that the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. As for the shower temperature, at times, it can fluctuate when we have a large number of guests using it, such as in the mornings. However this is a issue that is easily resolved if you just let our 24 hour reception desk know ;) As for our location we are only steps away from such landmaks as The Tate & Shakespeare's Globe just to name a few, we're sorry if you didn't a chance to take advantage of this.

74%

I had a really great stay here in London at Saint Christophers Village! The staff were amazing and were helpful whenver we needed anything, including multiple pages printed! I wasn't impressed with the breakfast at all. It consisted of instant coffee and toast, so if that satisfies you than you will be fine but i think that for the amount of money that they charge it could be a little better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! As well thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure they are passed on ;) As for the breakfast we offer a wide variety of items such as toast, ham, cheese, cereal, coffee, tea, yogurt and fruit just to name a few. We're sorry if your didn't get a chance to take full advantage of this. And if instant coffee doesn't tickle your fancy we provide a wide selection of filter coffees in our bar next door ;) Thanks again!

86%

I've only stayed two night in a 22 beds dorm, but i really enjoyed my stay. The staff is great, kind and always ready to help. WiFi doesn't work in dorm, but I didn't need it...Breakfast is ok.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime :) Also thanks so much for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on! We are also currently undergoing renovations and one thing that is being done at the moment is updating our wi-fi so if you ever find yourself back at The Village, we think you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

Pretty average hostel experience. A decent stay but not as nice as other st Christopher's. Location isn't horrible but not very close to the major sites. It's in a good location for accessing londons best night clubs, however. Atmosphere in the hostel is a little bit overrated, but it still isn't too bad. london's hostels aren't the best, so I'd recommend a stay here, but it won't be one of the better ones you'll have stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review but we're sorry the read the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. As our hostel is located just down the street from London bridge we only moments away from such attractions such as Tower Bridge, Tower of London, The Shard, The Tate & Shakespeare's Globe just to name a few. We are also located between 2 underground stations so you have all of London just at your door step, we're sorry if you didn't get a chance to enjoy this.Take care and all the best.

97%

You can meet other travellers at the bar and join activities provided by the hostel – pub crawl(superb experience), walking tour. You won’t be bored if you do not want to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, we're glad you had a nice stay. It also sounds like you took full advantage of our activities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

74%

Average hostel. It's a big comfortable place to stay, nothing more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Average hostel you say? Big comfortable place nothing more you think? Well we say challenge accepted my friend ;)

80%

Solid hostel. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, easy to meet people. Was very frustrating though - took an hour to check - in because the system wasn't working. Then ended up having to check out since they had to switch my bed the next day, and then was given the same bed. Also there were 2 outlets for a room of 14 people which made keeping my phone charged difficult. Wifi could rarely be accessed in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! We must apologize though about the lengthy check-in process but we can assure you this is not not the normal way we do things. Unfortunately, as you said, we were having issues with our system but can assure you it has since been repaired. As for the unnecessary room change that was, as well, due to the issue that we were having with the system during your visit. We do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused.

(72 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback