X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5157 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

There were leaks coming through the top of the receptions roof for our entire stay. All toilets were not working on the second level. Internet did not work in rooms at all, and down stairs in the lobby was almost unbearable. The stairwell had a weird smell that made you feel super sick. I never saw the showers or room clean at any point. At least it was close to a train station!

Owner Comment (Hide)
During your stay unfortunately we had an unforeseeable plumbing emergency which did cause us to have to close reception and all the second floor toilets for just a bit but we can assure you it as since been repaired. Also, we were in the the process of repainting all of our stairwells which did cause an odor while the paint was drying but is now fine. We're sorry if any of this was an inconvenience to you and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

69%

Great location, some staff great, others not so much. Disgusting showers!


71%

A little farther out from city square and the cool areas, but thats why you are paying less for it. My main concern was that when i was there, showers only had scalding hot water and the 12 person room i was in only had 2 power outlets. Very annoying having 12 people charge their electronics with 2 outlets. Can't retrofit old buildings with new outlets, but please please get some $4 extension cords...


100%

Clean rooms, clean sheets, good breakfast (in spite of the terrible coffee), pleasant staff. YHA please take note

Owner Comment (Hide)
This might be the best review we have ever read :) We're so glad you had a nice stay and do hope to see you again in the future. Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

97%

No complaints whatsoevere, quite busy so book ahead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review! Please stop by if you ever find yourself in London again, even if just for a drink ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels.

91%

Pretty good location near the London Bridge. The staff were really helpful and accommodating. Rooms were quite clean, but the bathrooms were pretty gross. Pretty cool hostel though, with a cinema, a game area, free breakfast, nice dining area, and rooftop parties!


83%

Had very little/no wifi connectivity in my room. Only two power points for a room of fourteen which is not very good. Good atmosphere and easy to meet people though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! It sounds like you took advantage of our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ';) Thank you as well for letting us know about the issue with the WI-fI and power points. We are currently undergoing renovations so I garintee if you find yourself back at The Village, you will be pleasantly surprised :D Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

97%

nice hostel though it is not near from the centre it is from Tower London, it is a nice hostel, the bar at nights gets good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. As London is quite a spread out city, as many European cities are, there are going to be popular touristic attractions scattered throughout the city itself. As for our location we are only steps away from London Bridge, Tower Bridge, Borough Market, The Tate Modern an Millennium Bridge just to name a few. Also as we are located between two underground stations we are quite well connected to the rest of the city.

89%

Don't after use hostels - but was with a group much younger than me - was pleasantly surprised by whole "hostel experience"

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey we're glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again in the future. Take care and safe onward travels ;)

91%

Overall great hostel :-) staff was super nice and the atmosphere was definitely party-like. I never saw one, but ppl were talking about mice in the rooms--easily solved by not bringing food in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took advantage of our party hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on :D Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

The internet is a joke, but otherwise very good. However, no kitchen!


77%

Not enough plugs in the dorm!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, great price...but mice in my room!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear you might of had some issues during your stay. Unfortunately, since we are located so close to the river thames, at times we do get little visitors but we can assure you this is not a common occurrence. We have since preformed a thorough inspection of your room and are certain there are no more issues of that nature. We hope you have had a pleasant remaining holidays and wish you all the best.

54%

Its simply not acceptable for a hostel in the centre of London to have third world internet speeds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear that our internet might not have lived up to your expectations. As we have recently upgraded our internet itself we must say we are quite surprised that you had an issue with it but this is something we will definitely look into. We hope this was not to much of an inconvenience and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

74%

The continental breakfust was quite generous, though I wish they could serve decent coffee. Staff helpful--not as luxurious as the the one I stayed at in Paris once, but great for youg people in particular


60%

Staff was nice but did not offer any apology or comfort when my readily-packed bag for a 20-hr-journey next day turned into a mess of clothes and breadcrumbs over night. The rule that no food and drink is allowed in the rooms obviously applies not just to consuming these but even to storage due to mice. To avoid this one would have to pay for a locker starting at 2 pounds a day. Also bring a lock if you want to lock your suitcase in the storage cages.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts. As we are located just a few meters from the river thames in one of the most historic parts of London at times, we can have little visitors. We do everything we can to prevent this as we'll as tell all of our guests no food is permitted in the room upon check in. We do apologize for this inconvenience and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

89%

I stayed in a 22 bed dorm here as well as a 12 bed dorm. Overall, I was pleased with my stay here. Despite the being too few outlets in the smaller room, the location was great (very near a tube station and within walking distance of a number of attractions) and the staff was friendly and helpful. It doesn't have a kitchen, but the bar/restaurant connected to the hostel is good and pretty cheap with the discount you get.


94%

The stay was great and location was spot on. The showers were only scorching hot for all the nights we were there though. Also didn't have a kitchen which we usually depend on, but had killer food at the bar! All in all would go back! Good atmosphere and wifi :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you you took advantage of our amenities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Also, thank you for letting us know about the issue with the hot water we will make sure and and get this looked at right away. Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

69%

Definitely had a more strict atmosphere than other hostels I have been at (check in at 2 NO EARLIER which was a massive inconvenience), though this may have been because it was located in a big city. It is constantly loud, and I hung out in the fire escape when I needed some peace and quiet. It has a bar, if that's your thing. The showers were either way too hot or cold. This hostel, as opposed to others I've stayed at, seemed to want to squeeze money out of you for every little thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,unfortunately as on average we have 150+ guests checking in and checking out, it is quite often not possible for an early check in. We do however do our best to get our new arrivals into their room as quickly as possible. Also we're sorry if you found our party hostel atmosphere to be a bit much. As we understand this is not for everyone we do offer a chill out room and rooftop terrace for those looking to get away for a bit, we're sorry if you didn't get a chance to take advantage of these

83%

Was there for one night and came to the hostel at 2 a.m. In the short time there everything was good!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey were glad you enjoyed you short stay with us! Please come back when you get the chance, just stay a little longer next time ;)

(95 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback