X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
5877 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good location and vibe. Excellent selection for breakfast each morning. The beds were clean and comfortable and outlets were available at each bunk. Bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner but overall good hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya! Glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. With so many people staying here you can get to the bathrooms before our housekeeping can. we do apologise for this. Take care!

86%

They have use charging points at every bed, every hostel should have this

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Glad you noticed the changes made in the hostel. WE hope to see you soon. Take care and safe travel ;)

83%

Great location being close to borough market (best market in London) and Southbank. I could easily walk to most tourist attractions from the hostel when the weather was nice. The hostel had a great bar area downstairs which had a great atmosphere. The only downfall was no kitchen facilities and the bathroom was old and not clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, tanks for your feedback. We are pleased you liked your stay and the very central location. Unfortunately as said on our website there is no kitchen facilities, just a fridge and microwave. Take care and safe travels :)

100%

Free laundry was AMAZING!!

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you enjoyed it :D Take care and safe travels!

77%

Men's bathroom was quite dirty and in bad shape, also common area could've been fitted with a more proper kitchen area.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that the bathroom did not meet your expectations. We are currently refurbishing all the bathrooms, so if come visit us again I am sure you will not be disappointed. Unfortunately as said on our website we do not have a kitchen area, but just a microwave and fridge. Take care and see you soon

71%

Good value for the prices, amazing for having a free in site washer and dryer, however the bathroom (which wasn't horrible) did have some mold but I think they were working removing it while was there. I didn't get a chance to checkout the breakfast but hey it's free. They have great deals for you with the bar and restaurant attached. If you want to see the main sites of London stay here it's within walking distance of the London bridge (not to be confused with the Tower Bridge, frequently is)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for such an amazing review. It looks like you took advantage of our facilities. Free breakfast is always a plus as well . We hope to see you soon, take care !

89%

The hostel is great, very nice people and the bar downstairs was always filled with people, not a boring moment. The location is also very good, short distance to the tube station. The rooms are good size, could easily fit out big luggage in the room without trouble. Only negative thing was that the beds were not that tall, so you could not sit up straight in them.

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

74%

St Christopher's Village is ok. Localization is very good, rooms are quite clean and cozy. Beds - same. Breakfast is "hostel's breakfast" so I can't complain but showers could be cleaner. If you need a place near the London City it's good option for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed our location. We are alwayd doing our best to keep our facilities clean but we 200 guests on a busy night it can be tricky. We hope to see you again soon

94%

Had a great experience at this hostel. Although I wouldn't do the 22 person room it was spacious and they provided great lockers. Also the bathrooms were big and always clean. Nice bars and food right at the hostel and the location is great. Free Breakfast is also key. Overall great stay for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
H there, thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities.And it sounds that you took great advantage of our bar. See you soon and take care

80%

If they improve on cleaning it can be very good value for money , even if it is not cheap ( comparing to other cities ),then again it is not so expensive comparing to prices in London , which are high in general. Excellent location, good security ( you have a key card for your room and hostel itself. Breakfast can be a bit overcrowded and a bit disorganized but otherwise it is a good added value as not everyone has it included. Next time I am in London I will for sure visit it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we're glad to her you enjoyed your stay! It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and noticed our extra security measures, which is what we like to hear ;) As for the chaos at breakfast we must apologize as this is not the normal state of things. The reason for this being during your stay is we had an unusually large school group staying with us on these days that understandably all ate breakfast together. Thanks again and safe onward travels

80%

Good hostel. Nice bar combined with it. Im not much of a party person and there wasnt much place just to socialize with people. Nice roof tho. Very clean. Wifi very strong any where in the hostel. Staff was really nice. Great stay in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank for such a nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We will pass the kind words to our staff members. See you soon, take care ;)

97%

Everything in this hostel is perf. Staff are super nice(super hot as well), security lockers are massive, great for your backpack, rooms are really big, really easy to make friends, location is amazing, walking distance to all the sightseeing attractions, so clean, showers are amazing, so powerful and private.. GREAT

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff! So glad you had so much fun! Come back again and we'll keep the good times going!

74%

One night in London. It was quit good for a hostel. Typical english breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us; especially the breakfast! Until next time, safe travels!

91%

Great location near Borough Markets. The staff were helpful and friendly and the atmosphere in the bar downstairs is great. For some reason there only seemed to be one girls (actually unisex) shower on my floor which seemed ridiculous.vit also had the most insane water pressure which meant that everything got completely blasted with water including my clean clothes. Oh well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for leaving us your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our on-site bars. We will also be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We are currently in the process of refurbishing so perhaps the female showers on your floor were under renovation, but we do have female showers on every floor that all female guests can use. :) We'll definitely have a look into the water pressure! Until next time, take care!

86%

This place was great and had free laundry, which for a backpacker traveling for 4 months is really great! The location wasn't to bad, only a short walk to the tube.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review! It`s great to hear that you appreciated our location and the facilities here. We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you come back to London!

94%

Staff amazing people amazing definitely recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review. We are so pleased to hear such kind words about our staff and we will be sure to pass them on. We hope to see you back again for another great stay! Take care!

89%

Need to brings your own locks, has two bars connected to it, both are a pretty good time. Breakfast isn't much but it is free so that is always nice. Situated right outside of the london bridge. Would stay there again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, our rockin' bars, as well as our prime location in central London. We're sorry to hear our complimentary breakfast wasn't quite to your liking, but we also offer an upgraded hot breakfast at our Belushi's bar which you may prefer next time. :) Take care!

100%

Wifi was very good! The staff were super friendly and helpful, loved the bar downstairs and free breakfast is always a winner. Would definitely stay here again:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We are so glad you took advantage of our onsite bars and that the free breakfast hit the spot. We'd love to have you back any time! :)

91%

Really friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words--we'll make sure to pass them along to our staff. Take care!

86%

Extended my stay here for 2 weeks, so I got quite familiar with this place! Great facilities, great included brekky, friendly staff. My only issue was that for quite some time during my stay there was a large group of (I assume) underage kids, presumably on some sort of school excursion. Some were in rooms surrounding mine, and they were very loud and either awkward or discourteous around other guests. It would have been a much more pleasant stay if they were grouped away from the other guests.


(122 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback