X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5246 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We were pretty unlucky here, as the showers were down whilst we stayed in the hostel, so we shared three showers with all the other hostel guests. This was unfortunate because everything else was fantastic. The bathrooms could have been slightly cleaner but were still good. No internet in the rooms which was a shame but great reception in the bar downstairs. We also loved the rooftop terrace.


49%

The beds were like the size for a toddler and I am not a big girl by any means. The front desk staff were really nice but the cleaners were not. I was walking down the stairs with suitcase in hand and the lady mopping the stairs would not even move to let me by, She just stopped mopping.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear that certain parts of the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations.All of our beds are 39''x 75'' which is the standard size of twin mattress in the U.K.,we're sorry if you found this to be to small but this is the standard size you will find in most hostels around the world. We must apologize though about the cleaning staff, this is something we will be looking further into.Take care and safe onward travels

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

With this hostel based in London, I feel that all staff should speak very good English as it was difficult at times to understand certain staff members

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. At most hostels around the world you will find that the staff will usually be backpackers from various corners of the globe, as well as at times English will not be there first language. As 75% of our staff is from native English speaking countries with the other 25% being fluent in the language we must say we are quite surprised to read this. We do apologize for any inconvenience but we are an equal opportunity employer.

89%

We had a great stay at St. Christopher's. The atmosphere was awesome (met super nice people in our room and in the bar), staff was very nice (esp. the security guy from the bar) and it was overall a great value for our money. Little tip. Of course a direct bus to Liverpool Street Station is perfect. But mentioning the massive traffic could have saved us a lot of stress. (but of course, we could have thought of that ourselves, too) P.S. The One-Person-Bathrooms on 1st floor are perfect!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took advantage of our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on! Take care and all the best on your onward travels.

100%

I visit 14 hostel's in London and St Christopher's Village is the Best one. Trust me !!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad to hear you had a nice stay and hope to see you again in the future! Take care and all the best on your onward travels ;)

80%

The main thing about this hostal is location, it is SO well located that this really adds up to what you pay

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really do pride ourselves on our location and it's really nice to hear you enjoyed it! As we are just a few minutes walk from London Bridge, Tower bridge, Tower of London, Shakespeare's Globe, The Tate Modern, Borough Market, Millennium Bridge, and St. Paul's Cathedral just to name a few, you literally have most of London just at your door step ;)

71%

The atmosphere and the fact that the bar was right there was awesome. The fact that sewage leaked through the ceiling in the reception area our first day there and the bathrooms on our floor were either out of order or very dirty... not so awesome.


94%

Near to the London Bridge Underground and easy to find. Staff was very nice and helpful. Connected to bar where, as a guest at the hostel, you get a discount on food and drinks (same with a bar/restaurant down the road). Under-the-bed lockers (bring your own lock). The only down falls were our room was so hot we had to keep the windows open (didn't help with the heat really) which let in all the night life noise. So sleeping wasn't all that great. Regardless, great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again soon! It sounds like you took full advantage of our deals for guests on food and drink, our central location, and our social atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for bringing up the issue with the rooms becoming quite warm at night, this is something we will definitely look into improving! Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels :D

89%

Very central, rooms clean but wash room not so much. Lots of backpackers, be aware that they party all night and might not be very considered of your need of sleep. Lots of common areas: a patio, chill out area, nice pub. Great deals at Belushi's for hostel guests.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, were so glad you had a nice stay! It also sounds like you made good use of our facilities, which is nice to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels.

49%

There were leaks coming through the top of the receptions roof for our entire stay. All toilets were not working on the second level. Internet did not work in rooms at all, and down stairs in the lobby was almost unbearable. The stairwell had a weird smell that made you feel super sick. I never saw the showers or room clean at any point. At least it was close to a train station!

Owner Comment (Hide)
During your stay unfortunately we had an unforeseeable plumbing emergency which did cause us to have to close reception and all the second floor toilets for just a bit but we can assure you it as since been repaired. Also, we were in the the process of repainting all of our stairwells which did cause an odor while the paint was drying but is now fine. We're sorry if any of this was an inconvenience to you and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

69%

Great location, some staff great, others not so much. Disgusting showers!


71%

A little farther out from city square and the cool areas, but thats why you are paying less for it. My main concern was that when i was there, showers only had scalding hot water and the 12 person room i was in only had 2 power outlets. Very annoying having 12 people charge their electronics with 2 outlets. Can't retrofit old buildings with new outlets, but please please get some $4 extension cords...


100%

Clean rooms, clean sheets, good breakfast (in spite of the terrible coffee), pleasant staff. YHA please take note

Owner Comment (Hide)
This might be the best review we have ever read :) We're so glad you had a nice stay and do hope to see you again in the future. Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

97%

No complaints whatsoevere, quite busy so book ahead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review! Please stop by if you ever find yourself in London again, even if just for a drink ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels.

91%

Pretty good location near the London Bridge. The staff were really helpful and accommodating. Rooms were quite clean, but the bathrooms were pretty gross. Pretty cool hostel though, with a cinema, a game area, free breakfast, nice dining area, and rooftop parties!


83%

Had very little/no wifi connectivity in my room. Only two power points for a room of fourteen which is not very good. Good atmosphere and easy to meet people though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! It sounds like you took advantage of our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ';) Thank you as well for letting us know about the issue with the WI-fI and power points. We are currently undergoing renovations so I garintee if you find yourself back at The Village, you will be pleasantly surprised :D Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

97%

nice hostel though it is not near from the centre it is from Tower London, it is a nice hostel, the bar at nights gets good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. As London is quite a spread out city, as many European cities are, there are going to be popular touristic attractions scattered throughout the city itself. As for our location we are only steps away from London Bridge, Tower Bridge, Borough Market, The Tate Modern an Millennium Bridge just to name a few. Also as we are located between two underground stations we are quite well connected to the rest of the city.

89%

Don't after use hostels - but was with a group much younger than me - was pleasantly surprised by whole "hostel experience"

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey we're glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again in the future. Take care and safe onward travels ;)

91%

Overall great hostel :-) staff was super nice and the atmosphere was definitely party-like. I never saw one, but ppl were talking about mice in the rooms--easily solved by not bringing food in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took advantage of our party hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on :D Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

The internet is a joke, but otherwise very good. However, no kitchen!


(3432 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback