X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5185 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The bathrooms were really dirty and a couple didn't even have toilet seats. Then common room smelled really weird, like some kind of rotting odor. The beds were clean and comfortable, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear certain aspects of the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations.We diligently clean our showers and toilets three times during the day and once at night but as you can imagine in a hostel with 220+ beds they do get quite a bit of use.Regardless, we do our best to stay on top of it.We do apologize though if you found any toilets without seats or any strange smells in our common room, we can assure you this is not a usually thing. All the best on your onward travels.

77%

My only complaints were that the bathrooms were a bit under par(dirty And broken toilet seats) and that if you happen to get a room facing the street; hope you brought ear plugs and even then it's a long shot to falling asleep. The noise from traffic was so loud (and window was broken) that it was no different than standing on a busy street corner. Other than that; very kind and helpful staff. Also have adaptors for 5£ which was very reasonable and helpful.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you in the future but we're sorry to hear that certain parts of the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations though.We clean our bathrooms 3 times a day but in a hostel with 220+ beds they do quite a bit of use. Regardless, we do our best to stay on top of them.Also, we do apologize if you found one of the toilet seats to be broken, if you report it to reception it will be taken care of right away. All the best on your onward travels

94%

The staff at the village were so nice! They were so welcoming and helpful with everything. They gave us tips on where to go and what to see. Such a great atmosphere for our first stop on our Europe trip. The bar was a great place to hang out and meet new people. Was a bit annoyed that you had to payed extra for a lot of things like weighing your bags or bag storage seeing as how much we had payed already. Definitely stay here again just to hang out and chat to the staff!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on. It sounds like you took advantage of our social atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As far as our lockers the are 4 pounds for 24 hours which we think is quite a reasonable rate and is fairly common practice among hostels, we're sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.Take care and hope to see you soon!

40%

There was only two plugs for appliances and a bar below. It was a noisy night, It's not suitable for anyone unless you are a easy sleeper. Also, a pack of bread was stolen by others in the room. The luggage storage and computer facilities charge for usage. It s not friendly to the one who stay there. The toilet and bathroom was horrible. It's really small and dirty. Yet, the price was fair for anyone who look for a bed for sleep only. It is a disappointing hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your your thoughts but we're sorry to hear the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations in certain areas. As we do have quite a lively social bar downstairs, at times, it can get a bit loud. We were not aware though that it could be head from the rooms and will immediately look into improving it. As for the lockers they are £4 for 24 hours and and the computers and 50p for 15 minutes which is quite reasonable and common practice among hostels.

80%

Good hostel, not too expensive, stayed in the 22 bed dorm that had a good party atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're glad you had a nice stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our reasonable priced beds and social atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Take care and don't be a stranger.

77%

unfortunatley there was only one socket in a room for 8 people, kinda pissed me off. but the rest was awesome!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

A lot of things were lacking. They didn't provide free ear plugs (as promised in their welcome package), the room door was creaky and closes with a loud noise not allowing people to sleep at night. Light in one toilet wasn't working in one toilet and that wasn't fixed despite a complaint. Wifi didn't work and the staff, though polite didn't provide any help to resolve it. I reached 2 hours before my check in time and had to wait for the entire two hours before checking in which was unreasonable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear the hostel may not have lived up to your expectations in certain areas. As for the ear plugs we offer them free of charge from behind reception, you just have to let the receptionist you would like a pair. We're sorry if the light in the toilet was not fixed in a timely fashion but at times we do get quite busy in reception so it might take just a bit longer. As for check-in it is stated clearly on our website that it is at 2. We do apologize for any inconvenience.

86%

The rooms here are a lot bigger than at the Village and everything just feels nicer. I think the luggage storage lockers are a complete joke however cause they charge you for it which is so unnecessary.


66%

Good location and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. But the toilet is a bit smelly, and the facilities are so old that the bed sheets are even yellow. But it's still acceptable with such a low price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again soon! Thanks so much for the nice words about the breakfast and the staff, we will make sure and pass them on :D We're sorry to hear though that certain aspects of the hostel may not have lived up to your expectations such as the toilets and some of the other facilities. At the moment we are actually in the process of of renovating the hostel so I guarantee if you find yourself at The Village again, you will be quite pleased ;)

91%

I really enjoyed my stay at St.Cristophers, very nice place. The location is perfect, it's just off the London bridge, 2min from The famous Borough market where you can get some of the, dare I say best food in whole of London. If you are in London It's a must visit. The hostel staff is very nice, hostel is cleaned every day without exceptions. There Is sainsbury's just across the street too. Recommended. I will stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're so glad you had a nice stay and would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took full advantage of our central location, which is what we like to hear ;) Also, thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on! All the best on your onward travels and please stop by if you ever find yourself in London again, even if just for a drink :D

80%

Good stay with nice staff. Arrived jet lagged, but got a very good nights sleep. The only problem is not enough sockets for electronics.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Also thank you for bringing the issue with possibly needing more power sockets in the rooms, this is something we will definitely look into improving! All the best on your onward travels!

80%

It was an okay hostel but very noisy as it was on a main road, closing the windows didn't make a difference. The breakfast was decent, some cold meats, fruit yoghurt cereals and toast. They were happy to let me lurk around the common room after check out while I waited for a bus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review! Unfortunately with our central location, and the environment surrounding the hostel, sometimes street noise can be unavoidable. Thank you for letting us know though about the windows though, this is something we will definitely look into improving. Also, thank you for the nice words about the breakfast we will make sure and pass them on! Take care and safe travels.

71%

The people at the check-in were really friendly and helpful, the staff from the resturant seemed quite annoyed and unfriendly. The room was small and it had only two plugs for six people. The location is excellent if one considers the price. One can walk to the tower in ten Minutes, St. Pauls in 20 and the Parlament in around 30 Minutes. Two tube-stations are with reach of a five minute footwalk. Breakfast is quite miserable but ok and the showers could use some reconstruction.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review. it sounds like you made good use of our central location, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for the nice words about the reception staff, we will make sure and pass them on but we're surprised to hear you found the bar staff unfriendly, this is something we will definitely look further into. We're sorry that you were disappointed by some of the facilities so you will be pleased to here we are currently undergoing hostel-wide renovation. Safe Travels

100%

Very Nice Hostel, in the middle of the city with an awesome staff!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're glad you had a nice stay. It sounds like you took advantage of our central location, which is what we like to hear ;) Don't be a stranger and come back soon!

31%

This was the nastiest hostel I've ever stayed in. Showers were disgusting, only 2 plugs to share between 14 people and the staff wasn't anywhere near helpful. Renting a towel was beyond expensive and the whole place smelled. Never staying at a st Christopher's again.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We diligently clean our showers 3 times a day but, as I'm sure you you can imagine in a hostel with 220+ beds, they do get quite a bit of use. Regardless, we do our best to stay on-top of them. As for the outlets in your room we are currently looking into improving this as the whole hostel is undergoing renovation. Our towels cost just £2 , for a cleaning fee, which is quite common practice among hostels. We do apologize any of this caused you any inconvenience.

97%

High recommended! My stay was great. The hostel is well located, walking distance to many attractions and facilities. There is a nice chilling area and a pub attached to the hostel, I traveled by myself and I was able to make a lot of friends and have a good time at the pub.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're so glad you had a nice stay and would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you made good use of our central location and social atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) If you find yourself back in London please stop by, even if just for a drink :D

74%

I stayed here for 2 nights, the hostel is ok for the price... in London it's a cheap priced and good located hostel. The atmosphere is perfect for meeting people and have a lot of fun with them at the bar. The breakfast is great, the staff is very friendly. The only comply I have is about the security and cleanliness, there was in my room a missed iphone and I thing it was one of the guys who checked out very early at the morning (of course the hostel can't do nothing to control this).


83%

Great location, nice staff and excellent value for the price. I would recommend the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Sounds like you had a good time at the Village. That's awesome! We agree that our staff are pretty nice and we're definitely value for money. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

63%

No problem. Good average hostel :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We're so happy you enjoyed yourself! Hopefully you'll come back and we can make your next stay even better. See you soon hopefully! Many Thanks, The St Christopher's Team

77%

Nice hostel well located near to London Bridge


(3417 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback