X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5250 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Overall great hostel :-) staff was super nice and the atmosphere was definitely party-like. I never saw one, but ppl were talking about mice in the rooms--easily solved by not bringing food in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took advantage of our party hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on :D Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

The internet is a joke, but otherwise very good. However, no kitchen!


77%

Not enough plugs in the dorm!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, great price...but mice in my room!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear you might of had some issues during your stay. Unfortunately, since we are located so close to the river thames, at times we do get little visitors but we can assure you this is not a common occurrence. We have since preformed a thorough inspection of your room and are certain there are no more issues of that nature. We hope you have had a pleasant remaining holidays and wish you all the best.

54%

Its simply not acceptable for a hostel in the centre of London to have third world internet speeds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear that our internet might not have lived up to your expectations. As we have recently upgraded our internet itself we must say we are quite surprised that you had an issue with it but this is something we will definitely look into. We hope this was not to much of an inconvenience and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

74%

The continental breakfust was quite generous, though I wish they could serve decent coffee. Staff helpful--not as luxurious as the the one I stayed at in Paris once, but great for youg people in particular


60%

Staff was nice but did not offer any apology or comfort when my readily-packed bag for a 20-hr-journey next day turned into a mess of clothes and breadcrumbs over night. The rule that no food and drink is allowed in the rooms obviously applies not just to consuming these but even to storage due to mice. To avoid this one would have to pay for a locker starting at 2 pounds a day. Also bring a lock if you want to lock your suitcase in the storage cages.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts. As we are located just a few meters from the river thames in one of the most historic parts of London at times, we can have little visitors. We do everything we can to prevent this as we'll as tell all of our guests no food is permitted in the room upon check in. We do apologize for this inconvenience and wish you all the best on your onward travels.

89%

I stayed in a 22 bed dorm here as well as a 12 bed dorm. Overall, I was pleased with my stay here. Despite the being too few outlets in the smaller room, the location was great (very near a tube station and within walking distance of a number of attractions) and the staff was friendly and helpful. It doesn't have a kitchen, but the bar/restaurant connected to the hostel is good and pretty cheap with the discount you get.


94%

The stay was great and location was spot on. The showers were only scorching hot for all the nights we were there though. Also didn't have a kitchen which we usually depend on, but had killer food at the bar! All in all would go back! Good atmosphere and wifi :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you you took advantage of our amenities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Also, thank you for letting us know about the issue with the hot water we will make sure and and get this looked at right away. Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

69%

Definitely had a more strict atmosphere than other hostels I have been at (check in at 2 NO EARLIER which was a massive inconvenience), though this may have been because it was located in a big city. It is constantly loud, and I hung out in the fire escape when I needed some peace and quiet. It has a bar, if that's your thing. The showers were either way too hot or cold. This hostel, as opposed to others I've stayed at, seemed to want to squeeze money out of you for every little thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,unfortunately as on average we have 150+ guests checking in and checking out, it is quite often not possible for an early check in. We do however do our best to get our new arrivals into their room as quickly as possible. Also we're sorry if you found our party hostel atmosphere to be a bit much. As we understand this is not for everyone we do offer a chill out room and rooftop terrace for those looking to get away for a bit, we're sorry if you didn't get a chance to take advantage of these

83%

Was there for one night and came to the hostel at 2 a.m. In the short time there everything was good!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey were glad you enjoyed you short stay with us! Please come back when you get the chance, just stay a little longer next time ;)

74%

Great lockers under the beds, showers left a lot to be desired. But the bar and atmosphere was great :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey were so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back anytime! We are actually in the process of renovating our entire hostel so I guarantee next time you find yourself at The Village, you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Safe travels and don't be a stranger.

71%

Great breakfast, but the hostel is situated near busy street, so you can have problems with sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! It's good to hear you took full advantage of our free breakfast for guests, we will make sure the breakfast staff know you enjoyed it :) Unfortunately, with our central location and the environment surrounding the hostel, sometimes outside noise is unavoidable. As we do understand at times this can happen we offer earplugs at reception free of charge. Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels.

86%

For being a hostel, everything is ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, were glad you had a good stay! Take care and safe travels :)

74%

This has tended to be my default hostel in London, although my expereinces haven't always been great, overall given the value and conveneince, it's amongst the best. Having a cage under the bed should be standard but you do appreciate being able to leave your belongings without being charged. Also lockers for the extra safe. Showers generally ok, no kitchen but a microwave in the chill out room. A pretty safe choice, hassle free and in a great part of town

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey we're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back anytime! We pride ourselves on on being able to offer inexpensive accommodation, comfortable beds, and a central location. We're glad you took full advantage of all of these ;) We're sorry though if you found your bed to be without a storage cage underneath it, I can assure as of now every bed indeed does have a cage. Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

51%

The pub staff is extremely nice. I cannot say the same about the hostel staff though. They were not very helpful at all. Apart from the super nice breakfast and strategic location of the hostel I would't recommend it as the rooms were too small and again the staff seemed to be doing a favour on hosting us.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for leaving you thoughts but we're sorry to hear you may have had an issue with our reception staff. As we are all travelers ourselves we understand how it feels to arrive to a new city so we do our best to make all of our guests feel welcome, we're sorry if you don't receive this treatment. Regardless, thank you for the kind words about the bar staff and the free breakfast, we will make sure and pass them on. Take care and safe travels.

37%

The location of this place is ok but the bathrooms are pretty dirty and the wifi doesn't work in the rooms which is annoying. The staff also didn't seem to know anything about london and can be quite rude sometimes. The bar was often empty as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy time with us. We clean our bathrooms 3 times a day but as I'm sure you can imagine,in a hostel with 220+ beds,they get quite a bit of use.Regardless,we do our best to stay on-top of them.Also I was quite surprised to read that you found our staff rude and unhelpful. As we are all travelers ourselves we understand how it feels to be on the other side of the reception desk so we always try to make our guests feel welcome,we're sorry you didn't feel this way

54%

The bathrooms were really dirty and a couple didn't even have toilet seats. Then common room smelled really weird, like some kind of rotting odor. The beds were clean and comfortable, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear certain aspects of the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations.We diligently clean our showers and toilets three times during the day and once at night but as you can imagine in a hostel with 220+ beds they do get quite a bit of use.Regardless, we do our best to stay on top of it.We do apologize though if you found any toilets without seats or any strange smells in our common room, we can assure you this is not a usually thing. All the best on your onward travels.

77%

My only complaints were that the bathrooms were a bit under par(dirty And broken toilet seats) and that if you happen to get a room facing the street; hope you brought ear plugs and even then it's a long shot to falling asleep. The noise from traffic was so loud (and window was broken) that it was no different than standing on a busy street corner. Other than that; very kind and helpful staff. Also have adaptors for 5£ which was very reasonable and helpful.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you in the future but we're sorry to hear that certain parts of the hostel might not have lived up to your expectations though.We clean our bathrooms 3 times a day but in a hostel with 220+ beds they do quite a bit of use. Regardless, we do our best to stay on top of them.Also, we do apologize if you found one of the toilet seats to be broken, if you report it to reception it will be taken care of right away. All the best on your onward travels

94%

The staff at the village were so nice! They were so welcoming and helpful with everything. They gave us tips on where to go and what to see. Such a great atmosphere for our first stop on our Europe trip. The bar was a great place to hang out and meet new people. Was a bit annoyed that you had to payed extra for a lot of things like weighing your bags or bag storage seeing as how much we had payed already. Definitely stay here again just to hang out and chat to the staff!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on. It sounds like you took advantage of our social atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As far as our lockers the are 4 pounds for 24 hours which we think is quite a reasonable rate and is fairly common practice among hostels, we're sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.Take care and hope to see you soon!

(3434 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback