X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5094 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Love St Christophers hostels! Great location and good vibes!!


83%

The staff was awesome!! Went out of their way to help you out. Bar was wikid, great party atmosphere. As a guy that is 6'3 the showers are a little tight but thats really my only complaint. Its rite in the heart of london not even a 7 min walk from london bridge train stop. Just awesome, DO IT!!!!

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the staff :) Thanks again St Chris Team

66%

So noisy at night you could hear everything from the corridors. Bathrooms were very average - small and water pressue was horrendous. Stay at the YHA Central - much nicer!

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there We pride ourselves on being a party hostel, however you should still be able to have a great nights sleep. We provide ear plugs in reception, and the team work 24 hours, so if there are any issues you can pop to reception at they can talk to any other noisy guests :) Thanks again

51%

NOT REALLY CLEAN AND VERY NOISY. PARTIES COMING HOME STARTING AT 1 A.M. AND ENDING AT 5. MAKE A LOT OF NOISE BY TALKING AT THE HALLWAY INSTEAD OF GOING STRAIGHT BACK TO THE ROOMS.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We clean the bathrooms 3 times per day, so we are sorry you didn't find them as clean as they should be. We are a party hostel, however other guest should be considerate. If there ever any issues, reception can ask people to be quiet if you let them know. Thanks St Chris Team

83%

Its a really nice place if you are looking for good accomodation and good price in the centre... :) the bathrooms were not really clean, but what are you expacting ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. The bathrooms should be cleaned to a high standard, and we are sorry you didn't find the bathrooms as they should be. Thanks again St Chris Team

94%

Excelent hostel. Well located, clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon, safe travels :) St Chris Team

86%

Great hostel with a wonderful bar! Love the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon, safe travels :) St Chris Team

86%

Can't go wrong with a St. Christophers! Good location near the Borough Market and metro. Bar was pretty fun at night. Good for meeting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for leaving a great review, Borough Market is amazing! Best coffee in London :) Hope to see you again in the future St Chris Team

77%

Staff was veru friendly and helpfull, rooms are good, breakfast was good but it ended at 9 sharp, which is quite early. The batheroomswere quite diry in my opinion... But other than that a great hostel to stay at. Great value for money and they serv cheap dinners.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We do serve a delicious hot breakfast, which guests receive 25% off from, and is served until midday :) We clean the bathrooms 3 times a day, but we are currently looking at the times we clean them. Thanks again St Chris Team

89%

The location of the hostel is excellent, especially considering the price so anything over and above that is a total bonus...and there´s a lot! All the staff were really nice and helped us out with printing and other questions we had. The rooms were pleasant, clean and light. There is a common room and cinema which is an awesome and cool facility to have but there was a terrible smell which made it difficult to hang out there. Luckily, there´s a bar!

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for the great review, the smell has now gone :) St Chris Team

69%

Cramped dorms. Expect to go several times a day to the reception to have your keycard remagnetized. Zero atmosphere other than the pub.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thankyou for your comments, we learn a lot. Apologies for the trouble you had with your key cards unfortunately we did have an issue when our systems went down which is now resolved. I would be interested in your views on how we could improve on atmosphere, please feel free to email me your response andwe will take them on board Happy travels St Christopher's Village

80%

I have stayed a couple times at this hostel and it really is average. There is usually only one staff member checking people in (no matter how many people are there) then after waiting someone else may come and help but you're usually waiting awhile. Bathrooms were pretty feral and could use a toilet brush in them. The food and drink deals at the bar are great, and 50% off Mexican in the basement between 5:30-7:30pm is amazing. Overall I probably wouldn't stay again.


80%

Party hostel. Only stayed for one night but the beds were super comfortable and the was wifi was pretty good. Ended up buying breakfast because their free one wasn't very good. Hostel bar was pretty cheesy but crowded even on a weekday.


60%

Hostel was ok,, showers and toilet were pretty dirty but ok for what you pay. Also remember to bring a lock with u

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We really appreciate your taking time to review us. We have housekeeping clean bathrooms 3 times per day, if outwith these times if they are not up to standard, reception are more than happy to go and make them nice again should it be necessary. We hope we do see you again in the future Happy Travels St Christopher's Village

89%

This hostel is ok if you're a backpacker stopping by for a weekend or a few days. Decently clean, good facilities, good staff, good location. It's good if you're looking for a group to party with.


69%

Mens showers were down for few days. and the cleanliness wasnt the best. the staff was wonderful always willing to help out!!!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, we learn a lot and can make improvements where necessary. Housekeeping clean the bathrooms 3 times per day, we realize with such heavy usage that they can get messy quickly, reception are happy to go and make them nice again should they not be up to standard outwith cleaning times. We hope this does not stop you from coming to St Christopher's in the future Happy Travels St Christopher's Village

89%

Great location, nice staff. Breakfast served in the pub, "continental" but fine.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comments we really appreciate them and learn a lot. Really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future Happy travels The team at St Christopher's - Village

46%

This was almost the worst hostel i have ever seen although i travelled a lot around. The bathrooms were really dirty and ugly. The room was quiet uncomfortable. The windows could not be opened, the sheets were dirty and there was no placement area at all. The breakfast was ok. I tried to leave the hostel after breakfast and come back at night...

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thankyou for your comments, we do appreciate them and we learn a lot. Apologies if your stay with us was not what you had anticipated! Our bathrooms are cleaned 3 times per day, if outwith these times you found they were not up to standard, feel free to inform reception and they will happily make them nice again. Happy travels The team at St Christopher's Village

69%

Building could use a refurbishing. Not quite enough shower rooms. Pretty good free breakfast, friendly staff, lots of common areas. Busy street but it was fairly close to the underground station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We work hard to make improvements where needed and whilst it is an old building we work hard to maintain it. Really happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you at any of our St Christopher's In the future Happy travels The team at St Christopher's- Village

74%

Pretty standard hostel, had a good time at the kareoke night, always fun for a laugh, staff were helpful and it was in a good location, near the thames. I had a good time here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for leaving us your comments, we learn a lot from them. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at The Village. We always enjoy hearing our guests have had a fun time and a good stay. We hope to see you in one of our hostel in the future Happy travels The team at St Christopher's- Village

(3369 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback