X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4980 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Bathrooms were terrible. Bedrooms smelled terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We apologise if you found the wash rooms to be gross, we do our best to keep them to a high standard, they're cleaned 3 times a day and if any member of staff discovers a problem we do our utmost to fix it as soon as possible. Hopefully you'll come back and we can show you how awesome we can be! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

74%

I liked to stay in this Hostel, It's a place very animated and the staff are friendly.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village, hopefully we'll see you again soon! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

100%

Clean, safe party hostel on the south bank, close to London Bridge and the famous Borough Market. The rooms don't have AC so can be a bit hot in the summer. Great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. It is sometimes a bit hot when London heats up more than usual, however, that's rare. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

83%

Great hostel with the staff making it even better. Really easy to meet people and in a great location near Tower Bridge. In between two tube stations and old London is very close. Definatley recomend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

43%

The heat in the room was unbearable and the entire facility is humid and smells due to a lack of ventilation. I expect if I had stayed a week when it wasn't hot out this facility would have been adequate but given that the power went out, the roof leaked, the residents were waking everyone up at night for hours on end, the staff didn't car, the water machine was sold out, and the room was boiling hot, I was not satisfied despite the fairly low cost.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It's ok, we just stay one night, nothing bad happened to us, but when we arrived a guy was complaining that someone stole his laptop, so just put your stuff in your backpack.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're sorry you had such an unpleasant start to your stay with us, we do have lockable cages in the room and electronic lockers in the chill out room for valuables. Unfortunately you can't trust everyone in the world, but thankfully problems and thefts are few and far between at the Village. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

91%

Great hostel! My stay was better than I could imagine, the atmosphere was awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

91%

Fantastic stay, really enjoyed the place and the people, much including the staff too. Would absolutely love to come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

86%

We were short a locker (cage under the bed) in our dorm. I told the front desk on my first day and again on my third day. Although they said one would come.. when I checked out on day 5 we were still short a locker. Other than that my experience was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry that you had to make do without a locker for the entirely of your stay, we apologise completely. Unfortunately it's sometimes takes a while for new equipment to be delivered. It's awesome that you had fun otherwise though! Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

94%

I had a great time there and met amazing people! For sure i will stay there again :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed our bar! We do our best to make every guests stay as lively and fun as possible. Hopefully you'll be back in the future and you can party with us again! Many Thanks, St Christopher's Village team

71%

I got 2 nights at this hostel. It is good to meet travelers. It has a nice bar with cheap drinks. Very good location with good facilities. I got a problem when I arrived late night at my room there were another person sleeping at my bed. The guy at reception just told me " you have to move to another room". I was really angry and he didnt apologize at all. Maybe is because some problems with the system, but the manager should pay attention at this problem. It is not nice you have to move at 5am


43%

My room did not have a lock on it when I booked a private double room. On top of that, there were mice that came into my suitcase during the night!!

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A standard busy London hostel. No frills, busy with screaming groups and it's one of those places where they would need constant cleaning to keep up with the volume of people. Not special, but not bad either. I suppose it's a typical all emphasis on making as much money as possible, but it wasn't awful. More cleaning needed especially in the evening after heavy use. More sockets needed too. Would be nice to see better/newer facilities to match the increasing prices and hidden costs.


66%

Dusty and dirty. The hostel was never clean and we were only around for a day. One day was enough. We were definitely ready to leave. It's a cheap hostel for a reason. Located near a few neat restaurants and right near a Tube station, so good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your feedback, your comments allow us to make improvements where necessary. Our hostel is cleaned daily by our housekeeping team, apologies if you found it not to your satisfaction. Regards The team at St Christopher's

71%

Staff were awesome... a bit grungy, and not great if you enjoy your sleep haha but it was a great stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve our facilities where necessary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, the staff will look forward to seeing you in the future hopefully Regards The team at the Village

69%

The dorms were really noisy. It was really stuffy in there so we had to leave a window open all night which didn't help, plus there was music blaring out half the night. It's good if you like to party but not if you want a decent nights sleep. The pub is good though and the food's nice. The staff at reception were friendly. The lounge/cinema area was a bit depressing though. It would be better with a TV so you could watch what you want rather than it being off 99% of the time.


77%

there are some garbages under my bed. and the big problem is , somebody bring a mouse into the room. at the begin they find a staff to fix it but the mouse is still there


100%

Everything was fine however check in after 2pm I thought was a little late? 12 is what I expected. So I could not check in and the only option for my bag was to put it in an expensive pay per hour locker.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is easily reachable by tube, so it's not difficult to get there. It has a nice environment, and the roof terrace is really nice. Staff is nice as well!. Bad things: There was a mouse in the room, which we saw on a japanese guy's luggage. Also, there was some police operation in the hostel the night I stayed there, I don't know what happened.


71%

The Location of the Hostel is really good, pretty close from the train station de center of the city and the subway. You meet so many nice people here and the hostel organise some roof party, which are pretty cool. However it doesn't have any kitchen, only a poor microwave in a corner, so be ready to eat frozen food (supermarket just next door) or extend your budget because the restaurents around are'nt really cheap. Don't froget your earplugs and your stay here will be amazing !!!!


(3307 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback