X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5616 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I stayed for a total of three nights. The wifi is the biggest joke on the planet. You have to sit in their lobby for it to work (34 people & 4 chairs). They have a common room across the hall but it doesn't reach. It doesn't reach any room that isn't directly above the lobby. In the reviews people have left they comment back saying it's "fixed" and you will be "pleasantly surprised" when really the staffs attitude and ;) faces they leave as a sassy comment is a surprise. So much for hospitality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read that our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations due to an issue with our wifi. As you are correct, at the moment our wi-fi is only working in our lobby, this is due to the fact we are updating it so it will reach every room in the entire building. As we have qite a large building this is not somthing that happens overnight so we do appreciate our guest's patience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

77%

Great location because it was close to a lot of sights. I was a solo traveler and was impressed by the pub crawl in Camden on a Friday night, well worth the 15! The bar and food connected to the hostel was pretty good, WiFi was "under maintenance" the whole weekend so didn't have it at all in room. My two complaints would be that there was only 1 plug in a room with 10 people!! And that the showers were absolutely disgusting. I would only recommend this place for the pub crawl. :/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, and the kind words about the pub crawl, but we're sorry in other aspects our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. As for the showers and power-points we 100% agree with you which is why as I write this our showers are being completely ripped out and replaced with new units and individual power-points are being added for every bed. As we are quite a large building this is not something that happens over night we do appreciate our guests patience.

94%

Great hostel. Staff are helpful and friendly. Bar downstairs is great. Free breakfast is okay but coupons can be used at the restaurant. Definitely a good party hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. Great you liked your stay and the bar atmosphere. We hope to see you soon in London . ;)

74%

The hostel is fine, but there is no wifi in the rooms, only 2 outlets in a room with 10 people and the bathrooms and washrooms should be cleaned more often. Everyday I'd take a shower in a washroom covered with hair on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for leaving us a feedback, we are currently refurbishing so we will have a look at power sockets in the rooms. Sorry about the inconvenience in the bathroom we will be more careful in the further, take care ;)))

94%

We enjoyed our stay in the hostel and couldn't have asked for anything more. Friendly staff, free breakfast and clean facilities.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back any time! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they are passed on :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

86%

Great stay for what you are paying, never once felt unsafe or anything. Only thing I would change is the showers, they get the job done but pressing the button over and over can get tedious, especially when your not getting to hot of water

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks for your feedback, great you liked it. We are currently refurbishing and getting new showers for the whole building. See you soon ;)

40%

Right, do first impressions count? You walk up to the door and there's no buzzer or knocker, I go back to the bouncer at the bar (connected to the hostel) and he says 'you gotta go up to the glass door and bang on it till someone opens it'. .This is how you must gain entry to the hostel to check-in.Check-in then took 25 minutes - 3 staff but 2 said 'we are cashing up, please wait there'. In the end the girl who's enquiry was holding us up allowed me to check in .thankyou to her, not to reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review but we're sorry to hear your first impression of our hostel might not have been a great one. You are correct, we do close our front door at night for security reasons. If you are checking in late and have not received a room card yet to access the front door, this is not a problem at all as we have a 24 hour reception desk, but normally our staff is more accommodating in this scenario. We must apologize and are currently looking further into this matter

91%

Standard chain Hostel. Nice and organized. But not homely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks so much, please don't be a stranger.

94%

it was not abad choice everything was just fine i will suggest to everyone if you want save money then its best choice so go on.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time ;))

91%

Cool hostel in a great location, for a chain hostel I'm impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the location. Take care and safe travel ;)

69%

The village was nice and convenient.. In between two tube stations and walking distance from London Bridge. The party was always rocking and the food was amazing. Ribs were my favorite. The New Year's Eve Full Moon Party!! Good prices at Belushi's made it easy to grab a drink or bite. The front desk staff could have been more helpful but the staff at the bar generally made up for it. The 22 bed room was freezing.. So have warm pjs in case. Breakfast could have been better but hey it was free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the different events that we organized. Sorry about the inconvenience in your room we will fix it. See you soon in London ;)))

74%

There was a huge leakage problem during the time we were there. Part of the reception ceiling felt. It smelled like toilet. During that most of the toilets could not be used and we could not even have shower. The girl from reception was REALLY impolite and rude when I asked what were the options. Room was REALLY small for 6 Bed and only one outlet to charge the mobiles. Toilets were dirty. The only good thing was the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to read your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to the fact our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations. During your stay unfortunately we had an unforeseeable plumbing emergency which did cause us to have to close reception and all hostels toilets for just a bit but we can assure you it as since been repaired. Also we must apologize if you found our staff during this time to rude but can assure you this was not their intention.

100%

Great hostel, stuff and space. Loved it. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again in the future :) Also thank you kind words about the staff and hostel itself, we will make sure they get passed on! Please take care and all the best on your onward travels!

71%

Wifi was poor reception and dropped out at times.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry for the wifi but we are working on it . Take care ;)

80%

Clean Beds/ Rooms. Clean common areas. Location is good. Staff is poor (they didn't seem to care about much of what you asked, no effort in giving indications). Nice bar area (linked to a pub) so great ambience without getting noise in the dorms. Good breakfast. Would recommend if staff was better.


91%

Clean, nice location. The only issue is having only two electricity outlets for a whole room of many people. No outlets in bathroom either. No wifi anywhere except for reception. Overall a great place though with a lot of great people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again! It also sounds like you made good use of our central location and our social hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As for the wifi and powerpoints we are currently undergoing with those two points being at the top of our list so if you ever find yoruself back at the village we think you'll be pleasantly surprised :) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels!

91%

I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm and was impressed by how spacious and comfortable the room was. The individual beds have their own power points and curtains for privacy. The heating was very good for winter (my bed was right next to a heater and I found it slightly too warm at times). There is a cage drawer for each person to store their bags/valuables (buy a lock from reception or provide your own). The staff were very friendly and were constantly enthusiastic and helpful.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the kind words about the staff and the hostel itself, we will make sure they get passed on! We're so glad to hear you found our facilities to be generous and accommodating, we are so pleased to read this :) If you ever find yourself in London again please stop by, if even just for a drink ;)

83%

Clean and friendly hostel with great staff who were always happy to help!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will be sure and pass them on ;) Take care and all the best on your onward travels!

91%

Fantastic location, low price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much, all the best on your onward travels!

77%

It was a nice hostel. The hostel was a little older but it was fine. We stayed in a 14 person room and the room was pretty big but it did get stuffy at night with the windows closed. There was a bar downstairs which was nice, there you would get 25% off if you are a guest in the hostel. Food was good but not much a variety. For breakfast it was toast cheese ham and cereals. Overall I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you took full advantage of our bar next door with discounts for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) If you ever find yourself back in London please drop by, if even just for a drink.

(3603 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback