X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5188 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very nice hostel, I'd definitely stay there again. Rooms are pretty clean, facilities are great and the bar is also nice. The only thing that was annoying was the breakfast system, the line to get food was a mess, and ham was just for the first couple people who can wake up before 7AM.


89%

It was great, central position and nice atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thankyou for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us , we hope to see you again in the future Happy travels St Christopher's team - Village

57%

Ok if you need a place to crash. Had to wait half an hour to check in. Staff were quite rude. My key stopped working numerous times so had to go back downstairs to get the key card re programmed. Very frustrating! Room was not ready when we did finally check in and had to wait for staff to finish making beds/cleaning. Wouldn't stay here long, only if u need a place in emergency.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. I will email you directly to gain some more information with regards to the rude staff. Often the key cards stop working when they are next to oyster or credit cards, and we are currently talking to the key card suppliers to resolve the issue. Thanks again St Chris Team

69%

We have evidence of mice presence at the room chamber. Some of ours bags were bitten and some strange noises were heard at night. Furthermore, at chamber A was very cold at night, as if the windows were opened.


74%

I like this hostel which I think is a bit too expensive for what it gives you. The room are too packed and the place have awful cleaning standards. However, there is an incredible craic around the place. The bar is good fun and staff are nice. Location is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We are usually full booked, and depending on your room mates, the rooms can seem quite full. We clean the bathrooms 3 times a day, and you shouldn't have experienced poor cleaning. Glad you enjoyed the bar, it is great fun :) Many Thanks again St Chris Team

66%

A party hostel, very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for leaving us a review, we pride ourselves on being a party hostel, however that shouldn't stop you from having a great nights sleep. We do offer free ear plugs in reception, and can move you to a higher floor depending on availability, always good to check with reception. We hope to see you again in the future St Chris Team

94%

Great atmosphere within the whole hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to see you again soon :) St Chris Team

80%

The hostel was perfect for staying in London for the weekend! The staff were very helpful and the bar was great! Only downside was the rooms were unbelievably hot and you couldn't open the windows and the toilets weren't cleaned very often.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for the review, all customer comments help us constantly improve, which is why it's great to hear from our guests. We will look at the heating in the rooms, as it has been turned on as a number of guests said they were cold. The toilets are cleaned 3 times daily, but with such heavy traffic it is hard to clean them after every use. Thanks again St Chris Team

94%

Love St Christophers hostels! Great location and good vibes!!


83%

The staff was awesome!! Went out of their way to help you out. Bar was wikid, great party atmosphere. As a guy that is 6'3 the showers are a little tight but thats really my only complaint. Its rite in the heart of london not even a 7 min walk from london bridge train stop. Just awesome, DO IT!!!!

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the staff :) Thanks again St Chris Team

66%

So noisy at night you could hear everything from the corridors. Bathrooms were very average - small and water pressue was horrendous. Stay at the YHA Central - much nicer!

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there We pride ourselves on being a party hostel, however you should still be able to have a great nights sleep. We provide ear plugs in reception, and the team work 24 hours, so if there are any issues you can pop to reception at they can talk to any other noisy guests :) Thanks again

51%

NOT REALLY CLEAN AND VERY NOISY. PARTIES COMING HOME STARTING AT 1 A.M. AND ENDING AT 5. MAKE A LOT OF NOISE BY TALKING AT THE HALLWAY INSTEAD OF GOING STRAIGHT BACK TO THE ROOMS.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We clean the bathrooms 3 times per day, so we are sorry you didn't find them as clean as they should be. We are a party hostel, however other guest should be considerate. If there ever any issues, reception can ask people to be quiet if you let them know. Thanks St Chris Team

83%

Its a really nice place if you are looking for good accomodation and good price in the centre... :) the bathrooms were not really clean, but what are you expacting ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. The bathrooms should be cleaned to a high standard, and we are sorry you didn't find the bathrooms as they should be. Thanks again St Chris Team

94%

Excelent hostel. Well located, clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon, safe travels :) St Chris Team

86%

Great hostel with a wonderful bar! Love the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon, safe travels :) St Chris Team

86%

Can't go wrong with a St. Christophers! Good location near the Borough Market and metro. Bar was pretty fun at night. Good for meeting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for leaving a great review, Borough Market is amazing! Best coffee in London :) Hope to see you again in the future St Chris Team

77%

Staff was veru friendly and helpfull, rooms are good, breakfast was good but it ended at 9 sharp, which is quite early. The batheroomswere quite diry in my opinion... But other than that a great hostel to stay at. Great value for money and they serv cheap dinners.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We do serve a delicious hot breakfast, which guests receive 25% off from, and is served until midday :) We clean the bathrooms 3 times a day, but we are currently looking at the times we clean them. Thanks again St Chris Team

89%

The location of the hostel is excellent, especially considering the price so anything over and above that is a total bonus...and there´s a lot! All the staff were really nice and helped us out with printing and other questions we had. The rooms were pleasant, clean and light. There is a common room and cinema which is an awesome and cool facility to have but there was a terrible smell which made it difficult to hang out there. Luckily, there´s a bar!

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for the great review, the smell has now gone :) St Chris Team

69%

Cramped dorms. Expect to go several times a day to the reception to have your keycard remagnetized. Zero atmosphere other than the pub.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thankyou for your comments, we learn a lot. Apologies for the trouble you had with your key cards unfortunately we did have an issue when our systems went down which is now resolved. I would be interested in your views on how we could improve on atmosphere, please feel free to email me your response andwe will take them on board Happy travels St Christopher's Village

80%

I have stayed a couple times at this hostel and it really is average. There is usually only one staff member checking people in (no matter how many people are there) then after waiting someone else may come and help but you're usually waiting awhile. Bathrooms were pretty feral and could use a toilet brush in them. The food and drink deals at the bar are great, and 50% off Mexican in the basement between 5:30-7:30pm is amazing. Overall I probably wouldn't stay again.


(3417 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback