X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5389 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Reichhaltiges Frühstücksbuffet. Unkomplizierte Änderung des Raumes, als sich herausstellte, dass auf der einen Ebene noch Bauarbeiter tätig waren, während ich ein Nachmittagsnickerchen halten wollte.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, lovely spacious rooms with the view of The Shard. Minus points for claustrophobic plastic showers (for some reason very popular in London hostels), lack of sockets in rooms and margarine (instead of real butter) for breakfast. Also the pub could do with better choice of food although there are plenty of options once you step outside the hostel. I would not mind coming back if the price is favourable.


83%

Not everybody owns a Smartphone. It's great that there's free wifi, however, if there was something I'd love to Change, I'd offer proper Computers with Internet Access for those who didn't bring a Smartphone or just in General for everyone. apart from that I found the hostel pretty good!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Banheiros da parte do bar todos com a descarga estragada, cama um pouco desconfortável, wifi só pega na recepção


77%

Good hostel, I think bathroom have to be cleaned more often.


91%

The WiFi service did not work properly all the time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay! As for the wifi you are correct, during your visit we did have somewhat limited access. The reason for this being is we are in the process of upgrading our wifi so it hits ever room. As we are quite a large building though this does take some time so we very much appreciate our guests patience. We can assure you though since your visit we have been able to recommission a large majority of it though. Safe travels!

74%

The staff were kind and very polite. Breakfast was good. So is the environment, which allowed me to blend in with another guests. The security was good (but too many doors in the building). But the building by the inside looks a bit old, the wi fi signal barely reaches to the rooms, the showers work with a button which makes the water flow only for a few seconds (making it really annoying!) & the beds make excessive noise while getting on top of them... I'm not sure if I would stay there again.


77%

O St. Christopher Village é um bom hostel e de grande dimensão. Porém deveria apostar numa melhor manutenção das infra-estruturas e na criação de um melhor ambiente nos quartos.


100%

Great location, friendly atmosphere and great staff. Would Defintely stay here again. Cheers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would absolutely love to see you again! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure they are passed on ;) Please don't be a stranger and all the best on your onward travels!

100%

Excellent stay! Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! All the best on your onward travels :)

83%

Does the basics well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Cheers for taking the time to leave us a rating - always appreciated :) Happy travels

77%

The building could do with a little modernisation but other that its fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are currently refurbishing our building, we are following your advice, CHEERS ;)

71%

They need more plugs specilly in the rooms and restrooms. The showers could all be updated.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again! As we couldn't agree with you more about the showers and power-points, as I type this, all of our showers and toilet areas are being completely refurbished and we are adding an individual power-point for every bed in the hostel which includes UK and EU sockets, USB plug in and a light :) Unfortunately though, due to UK law, we are not permitted to have power-points in the shower rooms but hope these updates will suffice :D

86%

Staff was very polite and nice. Though the cleaning and weed smell in the hostel wasnt that cool.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to see you again ;) As for the cleaning we clean our entire hostel, including showers and toilets, 3 times a day and once at night but as we're sure you can imagine, in a hostel with 224 beds, they do get quite a bit of use. Regardless we do our best to stay on top of it. As for the, "weed smell" we can promise you we are currently looking into this matter but can assure you this is not a usual circumstance. All the best on your onward travels!

63%

Needs re-furbishing completely. Very gloomy atmosphere.


89%

Nice place, good location. There was only two plug in our room which is not nearly enough. The windows are really thin so you'll hear car driving outside but it's prety calm during the night. The breackfast is a nice plus.


49%

at 5am in the morning 2 drunk ozzies in their twenties came in and started harassing everyone who was sleeping in the room. a complaint was made downstairs and they did virtually nothing to fix the problem. All they did was come in for 2 seconds and told them to stop and then left. the behaviour continued and again nothing was done. I think the quality of people who come to this place is not very high - you get drunk and jobless bums who are troublemakers. you get what you pay for.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing/friendly staff, great hostel events, location was prime (London Bridge station, close to Borough Market...). The hostel could may be benefit from another microwave and definitely MORE OUTLETS IN THE ROOMS! Stayed in a 14-person dorm with only 2 plugs to share. During prime eating hours, there was often a queue for the 1 microwave that was in the chill-out room.


80%

Conveniently located if you are looking to explore the sites or the London night life on a budget. The downstairs bar is good but is distinctly more enjoyable on a Friday with the contrast with the other days of the week being sharper than you would expect. Overall pretty decent value for money


91%

L'auberge se situe au centre de la ville tout près du métro donc l'accessibilité est parfaite. Très bon rapport qualité prix et un personnel super sympa. Beaucoup de positif pour cette auberge ! Le breakfast super bon que l'on prend plaisir à manger avant une grosse journée. En revanche, a revoir les chasses d'eau de chaque toilette qui nous font quelques surprises et une très mauvaise insonorisation dans la chambre 17, la ville est dans la pièce.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour prennez le temp pour nous laisser une commentaire! Nous sommes vraiement heureux que vous avez aimer notre petit déjeuner, et aussi notre locale très proche à les attractions iconique de Londres. Merci pour les mots gentils à propos de notre personnel, nous serons les communiquer pour eux. Nous faisons maintenant les rénovations qui inclus les toilettes et voulons l'opportunité de vous surprendre agréablement la prochaine fois!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(100 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback