X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Village Reviews

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5097 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really liked this place!!! Only thing I could say is more plugs are needed in the rooms and bathroom could be a bit cleaner but overall was not effected by either of these things. Bar downstairs

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

위치는 주요 관광지까지는 좀 멀어서 지하철 타고 가야해요 근데 지하철 역이랑은 제법 가깝습니다 걸어서 5분정도 걸려요 그리고 바로 앞에 마트가 있어서 많이 사먹었어요 직원들은 다들 친절한 편이에요 분위기도 정말 좋구요 호스텔 바로 옆에 호스텔에서 운영하는 펍이 딸려있어서 다들 거기서 많이 놀더라구요 ㅋㅋ 전 22인실 썼는데 정말 무슨 수용소같을줄 알았는데 방 정말 넓었어요 가운데서 다같이 댄스파티 해도 되겠던데요 콘센트도 침대마다 있었어요 매일매일 청소 해서 전체적으로 깨끗합니다 조식도 정말 만족스러웠어요 전 조식에 햄도 같이 나오는데는 여기가 처음이자 마지막이었네요 여행 기간 중 가장 푸짐한 조식이었어요 근데 사용하는 사람이 워~낙 많다 보니 가끔 뭐가 부족한것 같아요 제가 수건 빌리러 두번 갔는데 두번 다 떨어져서 못빌렸어요ㅠㅠ 다행히 제꺼 있긴 해서 그거 썼는데ㅠㅠ 근데 정말 미안해하더라구요ㅋㅋ 전체적으로 만족해요 다음에 가면 또 갈것 같아요~


97%

Adorei o hostel.. bem localizado e com um clima astral! Banheiro sempre disponível e limpo! Dois únicos pontos fracos foram: péssimo sinal de internet independente da localização e quartos quentes!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Compared to other hostels it wasn't my favorite. The best part was location and the bar attached, ppl are social always down to chill. However no wifi in the room I was in or at the bar only in the lobby, two outlets for a room of 8 and the showers and bathrooms weren't working half the time. Compared to other hostels I've been to they can def work on fixing up their amenities but had a great time there regardless!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good place, the showers were a bit messy, but otherwise no real complaints. Staff seemed helpful but we didn't really need them. Happy :)

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! Also thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and pass them on. As for the showers we are currently undergoing renovations on most of the hostel itself so I guarantee if you ever find yourself back at The Village, you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels.

60%

Room was not made up when we arrived, water did not run , bathrooms were very dirty.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I think it was bad that I needed my own padlock for the lockers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

people who are smoking in front of the bar,make so much noise,all the front of the building being affected by the bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts but we're sorry to hear though that your stay may not have been as pleasant as it could have been due to external noise. Unfortunately, with our central location and the busy street environment surrounding the hostel itself, at times, this can be unavoidable. Thank you though for informing us about how bad it can be at the front of the building, this is something we will definitely be looking into improving. All the best and safe travels!

77%

water didnt work for a while


83%

Stayed for one night in Jul 2014. This is definitely a party hostel. Not that it's a bad thing, just be aware going in. They have beer pong balls and cups available at the bar if that gives you a frame of reference. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed. Beds were comfortable and clean, downside is that there was only two outlets for the room. There's good security, key cards to access the hostel from the bar and for each room. Staff was friendly and there's easy access to London Bridge tube.


83%

lockers in rooms:) AMAIZING views and atmosphere from roof top! power point at each bunk bed yay! luggage storage is quite expensive and not always available :( - we asked for directions to a certain bus stop for us to get to the airport the man who helped us did so in return for a cig...which is weird however he started telling is he was drunk then pulled his pants down at the bus driver who then refused us, we then had to get a taxi to the airport costing £15 very unprofessional


40%

The worst hostel i have ever been


91%

Fun palace to stay. The common room was not very social but the bar had a good atmosphere. The large dorm had a skylight which made the 4:30am sunrise a pain. The hostel attracts a lot of partiers which was fun.


71%

Me and my girlfriend had a private double. The room was clean, all though the bin was full when we checked in, and there was a pair of shoes there, but the cleaning lady fixed that. It's a 20 min walk to the Thames, staff is friendly and helpful. But as far as value goes, it is so loud there, never a quiet moment all night, and hard to get some sleep, because of guests just walking, or cleaning starting at 7 in the morning. It was loud. Showers was boiling hot without an option to change it.


80%

wifi was pretty bad and the girls showers were disgusting but location is excellent! If you like walking there's heaps to see by foot and saves on the expensive underground tickets. Free breakfast is also good and they provided free walking tours of London. I would stay here again!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Safe and close to the Tube. Tried using their movie theater but projector was broken and staff didn't know when it would be fixed. Computers were down as well. Good quality otherwise


71%

Overall a decent enough hostel, the computers were down during my stay which wasn't great, you also had to pay extra for things such as towel rental which I wasn't aware of. The room itself was comfortable enough, though it got unbearably warm during the night. The attached bar/restaurant was cool with drinks offers and live sport being shown.


54%

Extremely dirty, very few shower for many people and in very bad conditions. They charge you for everything. excellent pub downstairs though and the staff is nice.


94%

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay in bath! The staff was awesome and mark and Blake made us feel really welcome! Would definitely come back again.


83%

The bar in the basement was really fun just to chill out at. The free breakfast was nice, but there was no kitchen to use for lunch or dinner which was a little inconvenient.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback