X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's at The Palace Hotel Reviews

10/12 Grand Junction Road, BN1 1PN, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1833 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Despite there was a loud karaoke in the pub, I could sleep since I was very tired, but this place isn´t the best to stay if you are not looking for party everyday. For 3 days max is fine. Besides that, the place is ok, the bed was comfortable, well located, and seemed clean to me. There are details which can make the place better, like the fact that the key given when checking in doesn´t work (normal issue, apparently), too many deposits, a bath mat for the shower will be very convenient, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as you'd have liked. We do have loud music in the bar at the weekends, and recommend that guests wishing to avoid this book rooms on the higher floors. We understand the inconvenience of having to reset the card keys, and are happy to do so as often as necessary while we explore a more long-term solution. We do advise guests to keep their card keys away from phones and credit cards as this can reset them. Regards Ash

89%

major issues with the door card readers, card had to be reset around 5 or 6 times during my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're sorry to hear about your frustration with the card keys not working, we do advise guests to keep their card keys away from phones and credit cards as this sometimes resets them. We understand the inconvenience of having to reset the keys, and are happy to reset the keys as often as necessary while we explore a more long-term solution. We hope the rest of your stay was pleasant apart from this. Regards Ash

71%

Hostel was alright.. since it was super duper cheap ! staffs were nice, bed was clean, not so clean bathroom but OMG, dont stay here if u want to sleep ! On the ground floor at a bar, they always host karaoke night till 2 am and my whole bed was vibrating because of that. U cant escape it if u r sleeping on the 1st floor.. and since there are multiple clubs around the hostel, u will hear people shouting, screaming, laughing outside...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We do apologise for the noise keeping you awake at night. The 1st floor, being close to the bar area, does suffer from loud noise at the weekend; the higher floors are much quieter. We only have loud music until 2am from Thursday until Saturday, and Brighton's reputation as a party town does lead to late night noise at the weekends. We're glad that the rest of your stay was good, and do hope to see you again soon. Regards Ash

66%

Excellent location right on the waterfront next to the Brighton Pier. Staff were friendly. Heater in dorm didn't work, so was a bit cold. Bathroom in dorm needs attention... shower drained so slowly that you had to keep turning the water off in case it over flowed. Breakfast was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're sorry to hear that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory. All our rooms get cleaned daily but we do rely on guests to respect each other in the larger dorms when sharing. We periodically clean out the drains, but during peak times we do experience some blockages, which cause the shower drainage problems. We have recently unblocked all pipes to avoid this. Heating is also on now in all rooms. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Ash

100%

The hostel was GREAT!!! Staff are really nice especially Joe the manager she was really cool! thanks for being so helpful Joe :) rooms are really nice and big with nice bathrooms - I will 100% stay at this hostel again!! Kind regards Tom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review; it's always great for us to get a full score! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here, and we definitely hope to see you again in the future! Regards Ash

94%

Loved this hostel! i was traveling alone there over christmas and the staff there put a dinner on for everyone who worked there and were staying there. It was so much fun!! absolutely loved it, the other travelers and the staff were amazing! Really had a great time. I want to go back now and see Brighton during the summer! If i make it i'll definitely stay at this hostel again! Thanks everyone who works there for a great time! Cheers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thank you for this amazing review, we're delighted you had such a good time with us. Christmas is one of our favourite times of the year, and we like to make sure our guests feel at home with us during the festive season. We would be more than happy to have you back in summer, we do say that it's the best time to be in Brighton (being so close to the beach is a bonus!). We hope you had a safe trip back home. Regards Ash

83%

Pretty awesome hostel :) very comfy beds

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're glad you had such a good time with us here, and we do hope to be seeing you again soon. Regards Ash

86%

We only stayed in the hostel for one night and it was fine. Perfect location, opposite the pier. Staff were very helpful and there is a bar downstairs which does really nice burgers and reasonably priced drinks. Overall a good hostel and would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us, and are thrilled that you would recommend us to others. Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review, and we hope to be seeing you again soon. Regards Ash

51%

Terribly dirty bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We do apologise for the unacceptable state of the bathroom during your visit with us. The rooms are cleaned daily between the hours of 10am and 2pm, but the larger dormitory rooms do suffer a little more than other rooms due to the large number of people sharing them. We do our best to keep on top of cleanliness at all times, but also rely on guests to respect others they are sharing with. We do hope your next visit with us is much more pleasant. Regards Ash

77%

Not much happening, need to work to make it easier to meet people.. Ie hostel activities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, During the day we have no activities however at night we have a DJ from 10pm everyday except karaoke thursday and pub quiz sunday. I think it is just the season you came in is very quiet. Hopefully next time you visit you will enjoy it more, summer is amazing. Kind Regards Viki

83%

Best location by far, I could see the pier from the room. Rooms and beds okay like normal, bar was fantastic and so easy to meet people and there are people there almost every night! Drinks are cheap, I had a lot of fun. Bathrooms are a bit dirty is the only bad thing. Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you liked the bar set up and socialized with our other guests in our events at night. We will look into the bathrooms and try find a solution. Please feel free to come again and stay with us anytime. Kind Regards Viki

91%

Stayed in a private twin room. Very spacious with amazing sea/pier views-in a hotel you would pay extra for these thinbs. Staff very friendly and helpful, would visit again! Thanks!

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your lovely comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come again very soon. If you do send a quick email to brighton1@bedsandbars.com and the receptionist will see if she can get you a sea view again. Thanks again. Kind Regards Viki

89%

Cheap and confortable. Safe, great location right in the seafront next to the pier.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for letting us know you had a comfortable and pleasant stay. If you ever pass Brighton again you are more than welcome to come for a drink and say hello. Kind Regards Viki

80%

The hostel was in such a great location right near the pier, St Christopher's always has a good food menu and the breakfast is good for a continental one. Staff were helpful and rooms were clean, the noise from the downstairs bar was loud but for a light sleeper it wasn't as bad as every one is saying it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for commenting on our website particularly sticking up for the noise issues as I agree with you and I live in the hostel too. Glad you enjoyed the food and your stay was pleasant. Don't hesitate to come by anytime for a drink or two :). Kind Regards Viki

91%

Very good location. Nice breakfast if youre awake before 9.30. Noisy at night until 2am because of bar below. A party hostel. Always meet new people here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry about the noise as it is an old building and I think we work it too hard sometimes it's not use to technology. If you give the receptionist a quick request to be put on higher level next time we will do our best to achieve this. Your welcome to stay anytime and we hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Viki

1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback