X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's at The Palace Hotel Reviews

10/12 Grand Junction Road, BN1 1PN, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1829 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Amazing location and staff, really easygoing, helpful and friendly. Wasn't the cleanest, but not a huge deal. Loved this hostel, would recommend to everyone.


91%

Great place


97%

We spent mostly all our time in England being in London and staying at hostels there so we were suprised at the price and the quality of this hostel in Brighton. Totally cool and chilled place.


83%

Check-out was far too early - 11 o'clock would have been a lot better.


89%

Great atmosphere, excellent staff!


80%

Ok place. Right on the ocean near brighton pier and close to all the shops. Beds where clean and comfortable with a clean bathroom. Only problem was no common room had to sit down in the bar and the music didn't stop till 2 in the morning and the was no chance of sleeping. Just go to bed drunk and you will be fine


100%

Best staff !!!!!!!!! Miss you all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for leaving us a review. It was awesome to have you stay, we were all sad to see you go. We hope you make it back over here again soon! All the best! From all of us at St. Christoher's Inn Brighton

86%

Great staff, fun and full of useful information. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, It's great to hear you had a good stay with us. It sounds like you took full advatage of your time in Brighton and we're glad to have been apart of it! Thanks for leaving us a review. See you next time! The St. Christopher's Inn Team

86%

This hostel is in a awesome spot, had an amazing view from our room!


86%

A great bar and great location. Hostel had a nice relaxed atmosphere


77%

An OK hostel - the girl at reception was really lovely and helpful. It's good to get some vouchers off food and drink when you check in. Beds themselves were average, the bunk bed is so low that if you are in the bottom bunk, you cannot comfortably sit up in bed; I banged my head in the middle of the night. My pillow was also wafer thin! But it was nicely located near the pier and some good shops areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the beds, we are currently updating the dorm rooms and we will look into the height of the bunks. We always want our guest to be comfortable, so you can always come down to reception and ask for more bedding if you need it. It's lovely to hear your feedback about staff and location. We hope you stay with us next time! Happy travels, The St. Christopher's Inn Team

80%

For a night or two in Brighton, this gives you what you need. Great location and bar facilties with surprisingly food. It is a party hostel with the bar buzzing late, so may want to consider. Was staying in a 6 dorm hostel with 6 friends so all went to dorm at same time so noise and partying not an issue. Would stay again.


89%

For the cost great place to stay. A group of eight of us stayed and it was ideal for shopping and clubbing. The beds were comfortable.

  • 20th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thanks for your feedback! It's always great to hear guests taking advantage of everything Brighton has to offer. And it's icing on the cake to hear you had a comfortable stay with us (both in your room and your wallet). We hope you come to stay again soon! All the best, St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

74%

i enjoyed my stay at the hostel and may book again, however i would not use it for families, it could be cleaner and there was no hot water on a morning, but like i say the location was great, the offers in the pub were good so you get what you pay for.

  • 20th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay both in the hostel and our Belushi's Bar downstairs. I'm surprised to hear there was no hot water in the morning, we've had maintenance done on our boilers recently so there shouldn't be any trouble. If you do ever have any problems with anything, you can always come down to reception and we'll do our best to sort it out for you. As for families, we are predominantly a backpackers hostel with the bar downstairs playing music until about 2am every morning. We do however have private rooms on the top floors that families are welcome to stay in, and we hope they would enjoy their stay if they did choose to stay with us. Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope to see you soon. All the best, The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

89%

Had an amazing time in brighton, would stay here again, close to everything good base,we upgraded to privet twin room bunk beds, very comfortable, seen other hostals we concidered as wondering about and this one was best location by far.

  • 18th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, It's great to hear you had such an excellent time and took advantage of all Brighton has to offer. We're very happy to know you had a comfortable stay, both in your room and your wallet. We hope you come back to Brighton soon. Thank you for your review. All the best, The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

89%

Very good hostel, nice location and cleanllness is OK.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you your review! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope you come to visit us again soon. All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

69%

Nothing for a familiy with children (I should have known that). But mildew on the walls an in the bathroom is unacceptable for everyone.

  • 14th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I'm very disappointed to read you were unsatisfied with your stay. We are in the process of repairing damaged parts of the building, but it is an ongoing process, and I'm sorry that your bathroom was not up to standard. I can assure you that this issue was promptly fixed. We are predominantly a backpackers hostel so we do not have many facilities for families, although we would hope that if you do choose to stay with us that you would have an enjoyable time. If there's an issue with your room, we are always more than happy to help. Had we known you were experiencing any trouble, we would have done our best to fix these problems for you and make your stay as comfortable as possible for your family. We are always wanting to improve ourselves, so if there's any further feedback you would like to share with us on this issue please email us at brighton@bedsandbars.com. All the best, The St. Christopher's Inn Team

83%

Love how they have discounts at the bar for drinks and food. Definitely made things easier. Location couldn't be better! next to the coach station and opposite the pier. Mirrors in the actual rooms would be good rather than just the bathrooms. the wifi didnt really work in the rooms but that didn't bother me too much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review! I'm really sorry the internet wasn't working in the rooms, we're trying to improve the strength of the signal in the rooms although it does always work in the bar. Your feedback about mirrors is awesome and I'll have a look at getting mirrors in all the bedrooms as well as bathrooms. Great to hear you took advantage of our location and the deals in our Belushi's bar. Happy travels, we hope you stay again. The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton.

86%

Great girl on the desk when I came in! She was helpful and informative, really nice to see a smiling face when I turned up. I would recommend it to friends for the location, discounts and friendly staff but warn against the noise (on the first floor over the bar) and the lack of facilities, a small kitchen would have been really appreciated. i enjoyed my stay very much. Also thanks for the wifi!

  • 11th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks so much for leaving us such a shining review! Your lovely comments about staff are much appreciated! It's great to hear you really took advantage of your time with us in Brighton. Our apologies for the noise in your room, due to the nature of the building, there is a bit of noise disturbance from the dance-floor to the first floor which we are trying to improve. Unfortunately, we just don't have the room to build a communal kitchen for guests, so we hope the 25% of food discounts make up for that. Come see us again soon! Happy travels! The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

49%

Sketchy wifi, poor attempts at creating a comfortable atmosphere, building in terrible condition- people had punched holes in walls, staff seemed more preoccupied with chatting and cleaning a few smudge marks off the door rather than sweeping filthy floors, shower full of black mould, having a shower flooded the whole room. and to top it off this place takes school bookings and cannot control the juveniles that run riot through the halls at all hours, waking people up. lovely location though!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm terribly disappointed by your experience at St Christopher's. We pride ourselves on happy customers, and I'm sorry that you left us not having had a fantastic time here. I'd like to comment on some of your observations if I may. The wifi should be working throughout the building, but from time to time may need resetting. We are in the process of repairing damaged parts of the building, but it is an ongoing process, and I'm sorry that the parts that you encountered weren't up to scratch. The showers are also being stripped back and being renovated. I'm sorry that you also felt that they were substandard. As for the young students, they are only here for a couple of days at a time, and the vast majority are very well behaved. I'm sorry that you encountered less well behaved ones. Please get in touch with the manager if you would like to discuss this further at brighton@bedsandbars.com. Regards, The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

(1290 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback