X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's at The Palace Hotel Reviews

10/12 Grand Junction Road, BN1 1PN, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1826 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

To wake up in the morning and to watch the sea from the window has no price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your lovely comment, Brighton is a beautiful city with spectacular beaches even in the colder seasons. How wonderful to hear you enjoyed yourself here. Happy travels, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

74%

As noted in other reviews, not the sort of place for someone who wants to sleep before 2am. Staff are friendly. Ensuite bathrooms are okay, but a little congested when in an 8 bed dorm in the morning. Great central location to all things in Brighton.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks a bunch for your review. Sorry about the busy bathrooms, every room does have an en-suite but unfortunately we can't provide any more bathrooms due to the nature of the layout of the building. We hope you had a good time in Brighton. Happy travels, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn brighton

83%

Things I liked: - friendly staff - comfy bed/ensuite dorm - good locker storage - good location - welcoming Things that were less great/could be improved: - our dorm was on the first floor and on the friday and saturday night the beds shook from the vibrations created by the base of the music being played in the bar downstairs. Given we had to be up at 7am for an 8am start for work wasnt great. - breakfast could be better/heathier.

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for leaving us a review, we loved the list of things you liked! I'm really sorry you experienced some noise disturbance in your room. Unfortunately, due to our location above Belushi's bar, some of the rooms on the 1st floor do sometimes receive some noise travel from the dance floor. Be assured we are working on improving our noise barriers. If you do travel to Brighton again for work (or for play) and need somewhere to stay, you're welcome to email us at brighton@bedsandbars.com and we will book you into a quieter room with a 10% Beds and Bars discount. As for the breakfast, we will look into our products and see how we an improve what we offer. We hope to see you soon. All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

80%

Nice staff. Correct conditions

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

97%

The hostel was very tidy and alot more privacy than I had envisaged. We stayed in 4 bed private room with own shower. We had sea veiw and we were right next to brighton peir. The secruity was amazing and vergy ood. would def stay again.

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • goodgalrenae1806
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thanks for your lovely feedback! It's wonderful to hear you had such a good time with us in Brighton. We hope you do come back to stay soon! The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

77%

Averall was a great trip ! apart from someone gaining access to our room and helpng themselfs to my undies and chocolates ! but the staff ! found out who and refunded the price the undies cost me and after that a great time was had

  • 19th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Lovely cross between a hotel and a hostel (we stayed in a private room). Would definitely return. brilliant discounts on food and drinks for guests-and the best plate of nachos I've ever had!

  • 15th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your awesome feedback, it's great to hear! It's fantastic to know you enjoyed your time with us, that your room was pleasant and you took advantage of our Belushi's bar down stairs. Cheers guys, we hope to see you again soon! The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

57%

its like a place to sleep above the club. heavy club music till three and makes you cannot sleep. ok with a lift so i dont need to take my luggage upstairs. location is good coz its near the pier. staff is ok, thats all. luckily i jus stay here for one night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I'm disappointed to hear that you did not have a good sleep. There are occasions where some rooms on the first floor do receive some noise from the bar and I'm sorry that his affected you. I'm very glad you did take advantage of our location and I hope you enjoyed your time in Brighton. I hope the rest of your travels go well, The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

74%

Price and location makes this hostel excellent value for money but karoke til early hours at volume so loud the beds were shaking ruined it. Bad kareoke at that.

  • 13th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I'm really sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed by Thursday's Karaoke goings-on. We're trying to improve our sound barriers from the bar to the 1st floor in the hostel and I'm sorry that we hadn't completed these improvements when you stayed. If you stay with us again, we'd be happy to move you to a quieter room, and maybe by then our karaoke skills will have also developed :) All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

86%

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights while we had a bit of a weekend away in Brighton. The staff were friendly, helpful and advised us of some interesting and cool stuff to do. The dorm was perfectly fine and the people we met their were pretty cool. The bar has cheap drinks and is always busy and the location couldn't have been better. Would recommend to anyone taking a trip to Brighton, maybe not if you don't like fun though.

  • 11th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks a bunch for leaving us a review! It's really great to hear about your weekend away and we're all super happy to hear that we had some part in that. Come back to visit us soon! Cheers! The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

86%

Great location, friendly staff. A lot of (very) young tourists in the hostel though (16-20), who were one night quite noisy untill the small hours. A bit of fruit and cheese for breakfast would be nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the disturbance you experienced from other guests. We have a staff member on duty on site at all times, so you're always welcome to let a staff member know of any trouble and we will sort it out for you. We did have a group of school children on cultural excursion staying while you were here, which is why we had a large number of younger and more excitable guests (normally, we have predominately 18+ guests. The only other times we have guests under the age of 18 is when accompanied by a parent). I hope this didn't disturb your sleep too much on this night. As for the breakfast, your feedback is noted and we are looking into improving what we offer. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Brighton and that you come to visit again soon. All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

89%

Amazing service we felt very welcomed and there was not one point where we felt unsafe or unhappy! I will be back! one thing ill say is bigger mugs for breakfast tea and more toasters other than that I had a fantastic time and can't wait to return!

  • 8th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • epepper2085
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thanks very much for leaving us a review! Your feedback is very highly appreciated and taken on board. It's excellent to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope you return soon! Thanks again, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

94%

I have stayed in many hostels around the world, however, all of the girls who stayed with me were so very nervous of the hostel experience. We spend a weekend in the hostel, in an 8 bed girls dorm. The girls all came away wanting to make this a yearly thing and stay at the same hostel due to there amazing first hostel stay. The staff were very helpful. No issues what so ever. Thank you for converting my girlfriends.

  • 7th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Wow, what an awesome message, thank you so much for sharing your experience! We will be more than happy to have you here next year! When you've got dates and numbers, send us an email at group.bookings@bedsandbars.com. Mention you've stayed here in Brighton before and you'll all get a 10% Beds and Bars Accommodation Discount. We hope to see you next year and that you have just as good (if not a better) time next visit. And if you decide to wander further abroad, you can always check out our other sister hostels all around the UK and Europe. You can find them all here on hostelworld.com. Happy travels, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton.

89%

Great! Great location, good party, very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Awesome to hear had a great time here with us in Brighton. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

83%

Despite a slight delay, due to an issue with the computers to check us in, we enjoyed our stay and will probably return in the future.

  • 6th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey-ya. Sorry about your delayed check-in, I wish we had the power to cease all technical problems but alas, we are mere slaves to a computer crash. I hope the staff member on duty made you feel comfortable and accommodated you while you were waiting. We hope we see you again soon (computer issues not included) ! All the best, The St. Christopher's Inn Brighton Team

83%

the bar on the ground floor is kind of noisy at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're sorry to hear you experienced some noise disturbance from the bar. We're working on improving our sound barriers from the bar to the first floor of the hostel. Of course, we will always try to do our best to improve your stay and if you choose to stay with us again we will do our best to give you a quieter room. We hope you enjoyed your time in Brighton, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

86%

Good overall, except for the wi-fi, which is really weak even at the bar downstairs, and is not available at all in the rooms.

  • 2nd Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're really sorry for the temperamental WiFi you experienced. We have now upgraded our WiFi throughout the entire building so you receive strong signal both in the bar and in the rooms. We're sorry that this was not updated during the time of your stay. It's excellent to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will stay with us next time you're in Brighton. All the best, The Team at St Christopher's Inn Brighton

57%

Great Location. We were on the top floor and the wifi did not working there. When we arrived the room was very dirty we took the photho and we went dowstairs to show them. When we back later in the hostel they cleaned a bit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Firstly, our apologies for the issues with the WiFi. This has now been updated and you can receive signal both in the bar and on all floors of the hostel. We're really sorry this service was not available during the time of your stay, and I hope this didn't cause you too much inconvenience. Our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping error that was made regarding your room. I know that this issue was addressed immediately with yourselves and I truly hope that you were satisfied with our response. If you feel we could do anything more to make up for this mistake, you're more than welcome to email us at brighton@bedsandbars.com and we will discuss it further with you. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Brighton. Many thanks, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

54%

ONLY ADVANTAGE WAS THE LOCATION - ONE BED WAS BROKEN, THERE WAS AN INFESTATION OF FLIES ALL AROUND THE BEDROOM WINDOW, THE LAMINATE FLOORING WAS IN A POOR STATE, ONE SHEET HAD A CIGARETTE BURN. COLLEAGUES FROM ANOTHER DORM HAD HUGE ISSUES WHEN CHECKING-IN,

  • 31st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I'm really disappointed to hear of your unsatisfying stay with us. If you wouldn't mind taking the time to write to us further with some more details of this unpleasantness, we would highly appreciate it so we can fix these things for the future. Please feel free to email us at brighton@bedsandbars.com. We hope to hear from you soon. All the best, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

77%

We paid £60 for a double room... this was a very poor room for the money. The bed wasn't made properly and the room was bare with no character. I've stayed at another hostel in this chain (Newquay) and felt it was brilliant. This one did not compare. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and the location was great.

  • 31st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, I'm surprised to hear of the poor state of your room, and very disappointed to hear our site isn't up to company standards. I'm really glad that you did enjoy some aspects of our hostel, and I would love to hear from you a bit further about your room so we can fix this room for future guests. Please feel free to email us at brighton@bedsandbars.com. We hope to hear from you. Many thanks, The Team at St. Christopher's Inn Brighton

(1288 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback