X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7426 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This was an excellent hostel to stay at. The location was absolutely perfect from arrival from the Centraal Station to everything else you can do in the city. There are good coffee shops near by and everything else is very accessible. There is good food all around the hostel and big shopping areas just one street over. The hostel offers a very chill environment during the day, a great smoking room to meet people and play pool, a great bar and garden, and great food including the free breakfast.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Brilliant hostel , just stayed there for 3 nights with a friend in a twin room and found the whole experience really good . I loved the unique design of the bar and room corridors with all those amazing photo's which really add a funky look to the place . I will be returning there on my next visit 100% , highly recommend the place .

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us, and we're happy that you will be returning here on your next visit. We look forward to it! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Best place I ve been inAmsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Super location, the only bad thing is that the hostel is loud at night and rooms are a little bit old if you compare with the pricing. But really good breakfast in the morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you enjoyed our location as much! The area, plus the fact that we have a bar and a club downstairs, can make it a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that! Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might just see you through a few extra hours of sleep. Thank you for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Most fun I've had a hostel so far. The staff here are a really great group of people and I was lucky enough to be able to hangout with them both at the bar and outside the hostel. Food was great, rooms are fine (can be noisy), and they've got hot water in the shower. I would definitely stay here again.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had such a good time with our staff! Our guys love their jobs and they'll be happy to know they made such a difference! We look forward to next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Staff were very friendly upon arrival. Stayed in a 5 person dorm with bathroom. Room was quite small. Had a top bunk which happened to be the only bed without a power point near it which sucked! Bathroom was pretty clean but shower had some drainage issues. Breakfast was good. Surprised they made the beds every day. Free towels a bonus. Good wifi. Convenient location however print a map because the directions were pretty average!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you appreciated our staff. We are sorry that you had a bed that didn't have a power point near it. We are in the process of providing every bed with a light and a plug socket, which we hope to have completed before summer. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much, and that you'll stay with us again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Definitely a party hostel - every night was super packed and busy. It's in a great location, close to lots of other young travelers, coffee shops, and overlooks the RLD. They tried hard to enforce security but it's hard to make sure random people don't go in and out of the rooms since there are so many people. Definitely one of the cleanest hostels I stayed at in Amsterdam. Great breakfast buffet. Lots of cool, social people to talk to and hang out with. A little loud and crazy but lots of fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had a lot of fun in our hostel, and that you met a lot of great people! We do indeed take our security very seriously, and as long guests don't take random people with them, we feel that we have a good system in place to keep them out. Thank you for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

The hostel`s localization is very close to the central traim station and the atmosphere very nice - great bar and disco at same place. The locker storage from the rooms could be betteer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed our location and our atmosphere. We will look into the locker storage situation in the rooms you stayed at to assess the situation, thank you for the feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Would definitely stay here again

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The only thing that bothered me was that the bed was way too soft. Looks like an old mattress and that is bad for people's back and is not comfortable at all.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for making us aware of this issue, we will assess the situation in the room as soon as possible, and change the mattress when necessary. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Great place to stay if you're in Amsterdam looking to have some fun!!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliment! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Grate location right next to everything, very good atmosphere didn't need to go anywhere els really cheap drinks good food what more can you ask for

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see how much you enjoyed yourself, and we really appreciate that you took the time to leave us such a nice review! Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Good security and the vibes feel so good that you feel like you are staying at the most happening place. Enough smoking areas and nice bar to chill. Thanks to the staff at the reception especially, the lady on the night of 27th Dec 2014 with the American dude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you enjoyed our vibe and our staff! We will pass on your kind words to them! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Great hostel, staff were always helpful, location is in a great street in Amsterdam, bar downstairs serves good drinks and food, breakfast was okay as well. All in all - one of the best hostels i've stayed in over europe.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's a nice compliment, thank you very much! We will pass on your kind words to our staff! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

74%

I have to say it's not a very good experience.The ground floor is noisy and it can still influence the 2nd floor.And the shower in girls' room can only provide hot water somehow.Maybe it's Ok for someone really tired and don't care about all these.Breakfast is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to read that your experience wasn't as good as you would've hoped and expected. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. In regards to the shower, it does actually provide water on a good temperature, but we've come to realize that it's a bit of a trick to work it. We are replacing it very shortly. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

it has everything, bar, restaurant, garden. great location at city centre, everything is easily reached. staffs are friendly and helpful. excellent wifi access.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Amazing service with very helpful reception staff. Hostel in great central location for using as a base, and free breakfast and room services were fantastic.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff will be pleased to read your review, we will be sure to pass on your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

It's a good hostel located right in the center of Amserdam and that has a club integrated. If you wanna ge to Amsterdam to party hard, this is your spot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to read that you enjoyed our location and our party atmosphere! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Great location in the middle of the RLD. It's a very large hotel, the only common area being the bar downstairs, which cmakes meeting other travelers a bit difficult. The free breakfast each morning was good and the bar has special deals for guests of the hostel. Was better than some others I've stayed in whilst in Amsterdam as while there is a smoking room, that's not the main focus of the people there. No kitchen was slightly annoying. But super close to everything you want in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to read that you enjoyed our location so much! We understand that you would've appreciated another common area than our bar and smoking room, and we hope that the lack of one hasn't affected your stay too much. Thank you for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60%

We stayed on St Christopher's in Paris before going to this St Christopher's and we were completely disappointed. The service, staff and food were good but we stayed in a mixed dorm that smelled bad and was really dirty. On our last night we got bed bug bites. I have stayed in better looking hostels for less money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry to read that you weren't as happy with your stay as you would've expected. We will get in touch with you personally to investigate a bit more in regards to your statement about the bites. We haven't had any complaints about your room since you stayed here, but we take issues like that extremely seriously, so we'd like to find out a bit more about it, and take necessary precautions if needs be. We hope you'll take the time to reply to us. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback