X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7843 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

the location was the best possible for Amsterdam ! facility was spotless and staff were always friendly and helpful .

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic! We had a 5 bed private room and a double private. We have no complaints! It was amazing value for more. Super friendly staff. Extremely clean room (with fresh towels every day!) Locations is superb! We cannot praise this hostel and staff enough - we would definitely stay again and recommend to all our friends!!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your positive comments! We look forward to having you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Once again we were very happy with our stay at the hostel, we will defo b staying again on our next visit and highly recommending St Christophers to n e one who's looking for gd and cheap accomodation. Thankyou for a pleasurable and comfortable stay .

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending us to other people! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

The location is top notch, they give you a 25% discount on food and the bar has great happy hours. But I wish the hostel had activities or a separate common area to chill and mingle in. Great hostel, stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you appreciated our location and enjoyed your time in our bar. We are currently working on ideas for some more activities that can be done in order for our guests to mingle a bit more than just in our bar, so we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry we aren't quite there yet, but we will be soon. We hope to see you again some other time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

When I booked the hostel, I thought it was rather expensive, but after I went there and checked in and saw my room, I was definitely satisfied. This should be called a hotel and not a hostel. Everything is so clean, no bunk beds in dorms and much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Safe and clean hostel, very convenient locker to fit 80L bags under your bed - dont forget your lock. Dont stay in room 301 if you plan on sleeping, Extremely loud from the street and bass from club downstairs not to mention the bell tower going off on the hour. Very conveniently located in the heart of amsterdam walking distance to everything.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Wanderlustloz
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see how much you appreciated our location. The location, as well as our bar and club, do make that it can be a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help you sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

I had a fantastic stay. I would recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

there was a bad smell in the room, we couldn't get rid of it even if we left the window open during the day

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We're very sorry to read that you experienced a lower level of cleanliness than we commit ourselves to, and we have passed on your comment to the manager of our external housekeeping company. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm everything was as I expected it, beds clean and changed each day. Would recommend this hostel to any body.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words and your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Really well situated and the best breakfast we had!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you appreciated our location and that you enjoyed our breakfast so much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Excellent hostel, relaxed and friendly atmosphere and staff. Funky rooms, amazing artwork , clean and in a great location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

The staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean. The breakfast wasn't the greatest because it was very limited in options. The location was very good!! Very close to the train and right next to restaurants, bars and shops.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! It's good to see that you appreciated our staff, our cleanliness and our location. Our breakfast consists of 3 types of cereal, 3 types of bread, ham, salami, cheese, several types of spreads, coffee, tea, 2 juices, milk, yoghurt, soy milk, cucumber and tomatoes. We are always open to feedback, so would be interested to know what else you would've liked for breakfast. Please feel free to get in touch! Thanks again for your review. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

A great hostel with really comfy beds and a cool atmosphere. It's pretty expensive for what you get but its in a really central location and the beds are super comfy and clean. There's no common area or kitchen - just a bar which is a bit annoying, but as a solo traveller I still met people and had a really good time here :) one downside is that the shower in our room flooded the whole bathroom floor and seeped out onto the carpet of our room :/ other than that though I had an awesome stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We were informed about the shower in your room, and got it fixed very shortly after your check-out. Thanks for letting us know though, it's very helpful to be informed about these things that we don't always see ourselves. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Had a great stay even though it was just for one night it was comfy and in a great place the only down fall was group of drunk boys outside our door but the bloke who worked there told them to be quiet and they did. I also think maybe have a later check out time maybe 12 as if you've had a heavy night before then atleast you have more hours to sleep it off to enjoy the rest of the next day. Will defiantly stay here again

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, be it for one night, and that you'll definitely stay with us again. We're sorry you had some loud boys next door to you, but it's good to see that our staff reacted appropriately. We're afraid we can't go with a later check-out time, as the time-frame between check-out and check-in is already narrow as it is. We will take your comment on board though. Thanks for all your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Excellent, very fun and well located. Too pricey because of the summer season. The staff could be more helpfull and proactive, willing to help you plan your acivities.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself with us and that you appreciated our location. We're sorry to read that you thought we were a bit pricey. Amsterdam does have very high operation costs, much higher than other big cities in Europe, but we will certainly take your comment on board going forward. We will also gather with the staff in order to improve our pro-activeness a bit more. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

The rooms are really retro and nice and the location is pretty sweet, as you are literally basically close to everything However, I was quite upset, as I had paid for the extra breakfast before my stay, and when I had went to the counter to ask about it the next day, I was not given my coupons,and they told me I couldn't get my tokens because I didnt tell them about it in the beginning.... which was really annoying, as I basically wasted 7.5*2 Euros on nothing. T

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're really sorry to hear about something that must have been a miscommunication. We're going to get in touch with you personally to find out a bit more about the situation, and to resolve this with you. Let it be clear that you should have gotten the vouchers upon check-in, but when that was forgotten by us you should have gotten them the next day. Please expect a personal e-mail from us today. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

The fact that they allow anyone to enter the bar area makes the hostel very commercial. Other hostels have a more exclusive setting. With random people entering the lounge/bar area its difficult to interact with other people living in the hostel - which is pretty much what hostels are about.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Part of the reason for us to have an open bar is to cater for interaction between Dutch people, expats and hostel guests. If you'd like to have a bar that's exclusive for the hostel guests we would highly recommend staying at one of the Flying Pig Hostels. They have a bar that's closed to the public, and have the same high standards on other aspects. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great atmosphere and location. Has everything I wanted in hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

This place was wicked. Highly recommend it. I stayed three days and did not have anything to complain about! It is in top of a club. So you can down down stairs and drink or you can chill in your room! I will be staying there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had such a good time with us! We'll look forward to having you again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Stayed in a private twin room. En-suite was super small, but hey it was our own bathroom. Still, smelt a bit of damp/mould, and shower tray didn't drain particularly well so halfway through shower you were standing in a bath full of water. Room was ok, but very dated and in need of a paint & modernisation. Staff were fine, and bar staff were chatty and helpful. Breakfast was ok too and plenty on offer. Location is great if you want to be right in the heard of red-light district.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. As soon as we read your review we asked our maintenance guys to take a look at the drain, and it's running through nicely again now. We will go through the room with your assessment to see what needs paint or modernisation. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback