X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7828 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

When I booked the hostel, I thought it was rather expensive, but after I went there and checked in and saw my room, I was definitely satisfied. This should be called a hotel and not a hostel. Everything is so clean, no bunk beds in dorms and much more.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Safe and clean hostel, very convenient locker to fit 80L bags under your bed - dont forget your lock. Dont stay in room 301 if you plan on sleeping, Extremely loud from the street and bass from club downstairs not to mention the bell tower going off on the hour. Very conveniently located in the heart of amsterdam walking distance to everything.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Wanderlustloz
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see how much you appreciated our location. The location, as well as our bar and club, do make that it can be a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help you sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Really well situated and the best breakfast we had!


91%

Excellent hostel, relaxed and friendly atmosphere and staff. Funky rooms, amazing artwork , clean and in a great location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

The staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean. The breakfast wasn't the greatest because it was very limited in options. The location was very good!! Very close to the train and right next to restaurants, bars and shops.


86%

A great hostel with really comfy beds and a cool atmosphere. It's pretty expensive for what you get but its in a really central location and the beds are super comfy and clean. There's no common area or kitchen - just a bar which is a bit annoying, but as a solo traveller I still met people and had a really good time here :) one downside is that the shower in our room flooded the whole bathroom floor and seeped out onto the carpet of our room :/ other than that though I had an awesome stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We were informed about the shower in your room, and got it fixed very shortly after your check-out. Thanks for letting us know though, it's very helpful to be informed about these things that we don't always see ourselves. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Had a great stay even though it was just for one night it was comfy and in a great place the only down fall was group of drunk boys outside our door but the bloke who worked there told them to be quiet and they did. I also think maybe have a later check out time maybe 12 as if you've had a heavy night before then atleast you have more hours to sleep it off to enjoy the rest of the next day. Will defiantly stay here again

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, be it for one night, and that you'll definitely stay with us again. We're sorry you had some loud boys next door to you, but it's good to see that our staff reacted appropriately. We're afraid we can't go with a later check-out time, as the time-frame between check-out and check-in is already narrow as it is. We will take your comment on board though. Thanks for all your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Excellent, very fun and well located. Too pricey because of the summer season. The staff could be more helpfull and proactive, willing to help you plan your acivities.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The rooms are really retro and nice and the location is pretty sweet, as you are literally basically close to everything However, I was quite upset, as I had paid for the extra breakfast before my stay, and when I had went to the counter to ask about it the next day, I was not given my coupons,and they told me I couldn't get my tokens because I didnt tell them about it in the beginning.... which was really annoying, as I basically wasted 7.5*2 Euros on nothing. T

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're really sorry to hear about something that must have been a miscommunication. We're going to get in touch with you personally to find out a bit more about the situation, and to resolve this with you. Let it be clear that you should have gotten the vouchers upon check-in, but when that was forgotten by us you should have gotten them the next day. Please expect a personal e-mail from us today. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

The fact that they allow anyone to enter the bar area makes the hostel very commercial. Other hostels have a more exclusive setting. With random people entering the lounge/bar area its difficult to interact with other people living in the hostel - which is pretty much what hostels are about.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Part of the reason for us to have an open bar is to cater for interaction between Dutch people, expats and hostel guests. If you'd like to have a bar that's exclusive for the hostel guests we would highly recommend staying at one of the Flying Pig Hostels. They have a bar that's closed to the public, and have the same high standards on other aspects. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great atmosphere and location. Has everything I wanted in hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

This place was wicked. Highly recommend it. I stayed three days and did not have anything to complain about! It is in top of a club. So you can down down stairs and drink or you can chill in your room! I will be staying there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had such a good time with us! We'll look forward to having you again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Stayed in a private twin room. En-suite was super small, but hey it was our own bathroom. Still, smelt a bit of damp/mould, and shower tray didn't drain particularly well so halfway through shower you were standing in a bath full of water. Room was ok, but very dated and in need of a paint & modernisation. Staff were fine, and bar staff were chatty and helpful. Breakfast was ok too and plenty on offer. Location is great if you want to be right in the heard of red-light district.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. As soon as we read your review we asked our maintenance guys to take a look at the drain, and it's running through nicely again now. We will go through the room with your assessment to see what needs paint or modernisation. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great location right in the middle of everything, first time in Amsterdam, excellent time, the toilet in the room was noisy filling up alot of the time.Apart from that decent value for money place to stay.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! It's good to see that you had an excellent time in Amsterdam, and that we were able to cater to that. We'll have a look at the toilet to see if there's any way to make it less noisy for the guests in the room. Thanks again, we hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

It's pretty much a hotel. Super comfortable, everyone is very nice. You get accommodations at the pub its attached to which is great. Perfect location. In the heart of everything. Overall amazing experience. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great hostel, not bad value for money considering it is Amsterdam! Great location, not far from the train station at all. We walked everywhere because the city is so lovely and nothing is too far away so there is no need for public transport really either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're happy to read you had a good time in Amsterdam and we could cater to that! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

We had a great time and definitely take their advice and bring ear plugs! Lol Awesome atmosphere and the staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond our expectations! Definitely a great place to have a good time :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review! Please note that we also offer free ear plugs at reception, in case you need them and didn't bring any. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

The private room facilities and quality was much better than I expected from a hostel. Not cheap but it's Amsterdam, difficult to find a better value around this location anyway. And yeah, really can't beat the location. Be warned if you like to go to sleep early this may not be the place for you. Both the street and the hostel bar is pretty loud till late.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! It's good to see that you were positively surprised by our facilities. We agree that we are not cheap when you compare is to hostels in different cities. Amsterdam has some of the highest operation costs, and compared to other hostels in Amsterdam we feel that we are relatively competitive in our pricing. We will, however, take your comment on board going forward. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Had a great time! The room was nice and clean, they gave you a clean towel with shampoo and soap and made your bed every morning. We had lost our luggage and all the staff members were very helpful in trying to retrieve it for us. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very pleased to read that you had such a good time, and that our staff went out of their way for you to retrieve your luggage. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

First night was extremely noisy with a party going on until 4am. Second night was better being quieter after midnight. Rooms could do with a brighter light as it was quite dark. Breakfast was great with a good selection of food and drinks.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to read that you have been inconvenienced by the noise of the party. The area can indeed be a bit loud at times, and we have a bar and a club, so it does occasionally happen that it's a bit too loud, and we apologize for that. Please note, in case you weren't aware, that we offer free ear plugs in our reception. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(123 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback