X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7265 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

AMAZING staff. Clean rooms (they even give you little soaps! ^-^)


77%

Good location, right in the red light district. The bar downstairs has some great deals if you're staying at the hotel. Only burdens were outside of hostel control such as street noise at night etc. I recommend staying here!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and your recommendation! In regards to the noise, please note that we offer free ear plugs at our reception desk, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Everything during our stay there was great beside the check in. We had to wait some hours to check in although we have had declared that we will arrive at 11 o clock.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that almost everything was great! We are sorry you felt you had to wait for a few hours. After check-out time (11 AM) we need a few hours to get all the rooms ready for the next guests. Please note that we offer lockers for a small fee in which you can store your luggage for the day, so you can just go sightseeing when we clean your room. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Very nice hotel. Its clean enough, and the staff is very helpful. Sometimes it could get loud outside. There was a club rigth down my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff! We understand that it can be a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that! Please note that we offer free ear plugs at our reception, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Great location for partying and being sociable and still quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. Easy to walk to all of the sights including museums, dam square, canal tour companies. Friendly staff, relaxed attitude but happy to help and easy to approach, good hostel vibe. Great powered hot shower!! Always a huge bonus!! Would recommend to anyone wanting to pack in as much as possible in a short space of time and wanting to be in the midst of all the fun! Great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Always the best hostel. Love the new Lemmy art near the pool table.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review! We hope you'll stay with us a lot more often! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, open-minded lovely people from all over the world

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

The dorm room was good.. apart from not being able to open one of the lockers underneath the bed due to the configuration of the bunks. Moved to a private the second night due to no dorm availability.. The bathroom had a mouldy smell but didn't look unclean. I'd stay again because the location is great, the breakfast is good and the smoking room and outdoor area is good for meeting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! We will assess the locker situation in the dorm you stayed in, and we will also check the bathroom in the private room you stayed in. It's good to see that you'd stay with us again, we'll try to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Walls painted black and graffiti. Great location in red light district. Good food in bar and cheap. Most of the staff were helpful. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed the location we're in. Please note that not almost all of our rooms have a different design. We look forward to the next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

57%

The room is not very good, and some lockers seems unsafe. It's really noisy at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't quite like the room, and we will look into the lockers in there. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at our reception desk, which might just help you sleep through the noise. Thanks again for your time! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

Overall had a great stay here! The location is perfect, walking distance to the majority of attractions such as the centre square and red light district. Free breakfast is awesome!! The rooms were really clean, our bed sheets were changed every day and bathrooms cleaned every day. Belushi's bar has a great atmosphere and is packed every night. Very loud at night in our room but that's what should be expected in Amsterdam! Decent hostel :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your complete and fair review! It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at our reception desk, which might just help you sleep a bit better. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

we had an absolutely amazing time here. Great location right in the middle of it all. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Great vibes at the beer garden, and indoor bar. Overall super satisfied. Highly recommended!!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review! We hope you'll stay with us again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

This hostel was amazing! The staff was so great and welcoming. There was an error with our room and we got split up and they did everything they could to get us in a room together. Breakfast and a towel included is a great perk, not to mention that you are within walking distance to everything! Would stay here again!


91%

The staff at St Christopher's at The Winston were second to none, extremely helpful & informative, we were really impressed. The free breakfast was fantastic ! A good variety and all good quality. We also appreciated the free wifi, drinks offers, and very central location. We'd highly recommend staying here and I'd stay again!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words, and for recommending us to other people. We look forward to the next time you'll stay with us! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Excellent hostel only 2 minute walk away from Dam square. Nicely organized, clean, essential. Recommended!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Awesome location! Was woken up early by girls below in the windows, but I think that was part of the experience. I would keep in mind that you are right in the middle of the party in case you do not want that experience. There is a great bar downstairs and club next door. Go on the pub crawl that starts at Players. Great way to meet people. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for leaving a review! We're glad you enjoyed the experience! Hopefully you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

For what it is and where it is, its pretty good. Well run. I do not like that they charge for bag storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! We understand that you didn't like that we charge for luggage storage. We've tried a free luggage room in the past and that didn't work. There were too many guests storing their luggage, so that we could not manage the amount of luggage, and therefore the safety wasn't guaranteed well enough. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

great experience, everything was pristine, excellent location and a very nice bar in the first floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

69%

the receptionist was very rood and unplesant! had a really bad start because of him. the room was good, realtivly large, but needed some more cleaning (bathroom...). the location was excellent, but it's too bad there isn't any place to hang out in without having to pay for drinks. not sure we'll be back next time.. probably we would go to Cocomoma instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed the location we were in. We are very concerned and very sorry to read that you didn't quite liked the way you were welcomed, and we will get in touch with you personally to find out what happened. We hope you'll take the time to reply, in order to resolve the issue. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

63%

Staff were very unhelpful and generally unfriendly. People were smoking in the bedrooms but nothing was done about it for the whole time 3 nights I was there. Atmosphere was pretty average, a lot of large groups who didn't really mingle. Breakfast was good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find our staff as helpful and friendly as you would've hoped. Smoking is not allowed in our rooms, and we want to be very strict with that. We will get in touch with you personally, hoping to get a bit more information about your stay, hoping to get a bit more information about what happened in regards to our staff. Thanks again for your feedback. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback