X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7141 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Good modern interior in the room although in our ensuite the shower was pretty rubbish. Pluses include the large lockers under the bed, and individual lights and plugs by each beds. The only criticism I have is the ventilation problem. With 8 people in a room at 32 degrees outside and no windom/fan and very bad air conditioning we were sweating and had difficulty sleeping. We inquired about why next door had 2 fans when we only had one and the receptionist was unable to offer us a solution.


89%

I think it would be a good idea to have a fan or something in every room because it just got too hot when we were there.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi, the hostel is perfect, although it is a bit noisy in the evening. The bar belongs to the younger. Maybe I am too old, so I feel noisy. :)

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to read that you value our hostel as "perfect"! We understand the hostel can be at bit noisy at night, but we like to feel that nobody is too old to enjoy our bar. We hope you'll come back some day. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

Overall the visit was great. We loved the vouchers for the bar (25% off food, 2 for 1 drinks) and the fun atmosphere. Only negative thing we noticed was the music from the club that goes until 4-6 in the morning, which makes it hard to sleep.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to read that you made the most of our guest discounts in the bar! We understand that sometimes the music can be a bit loud, and we are sorry for that! Please note that we have free ear plugs in reception. They might just help you to a few more hours of sleep! Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Great location, very helpful and friendly staff, nice atmosphere. I was travelling solo but met loads of people in the communal areas. Breakfast ok, not wonderful. Luggage storage has to be paid for but is pretty reasonable. Overall good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to read that you met so many people. For us that's the best part of travelling! We feel we have quite a good selection with breakfast, with different types of bread, different types of cereal, ham, cheese, spreads, coffee, tea, juices and boiled eggs, but feel free to send us your comments un how to improve this, and we might add it before your next visit! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Clean. Good atmosphere,great location. Defiantly recommend over other hostels in the area!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

83%

I very much enjoyed staying at The Winston, and would like to return soon. However, one recurring problem that myself and those in my group were unsatisfied with was the length of time it took for the food to arrive after ordering- I'm afraid it was unacceptably long. Other than that it is a fantastic and vibrant place to stay.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We can learn a lot from your experience so we appreciate that you took the time to write. It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself a lot and that you would like to return. We are sorry to read that you found the delivery of food taking too long. In order to get a bit more information about this, we will get in touch with you personally. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

97%

This is the second time I've stayed at the St. Christopher's Inn at the Winston in Amsterdam. As before, the stay was excellent. The staff is friendly and fun. The hostel sits over a bar that serves great food at a very good price - specially if you consider the discount guests receive. The location couldn't be better - you can walk from Centraal station without a problem and, from the hostel, you can explore the city by bike, on foot or using public transportation easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for coming back and for the review! We hope you'll be back with us again some time! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

91%

When I arrived, early that morning, they offered me to help myself to the buffet breakfast which was fantastic! Travel weary, it was lovely to be welcomed so warmly and a great start to Amsterdam. This hostel has a great location, plus a great bar to enjoy before or after going out for the evening (and terrific deals!). It's in the centre of town, so definitely a place for a good night, but has all the comforts you need as a traveler! (Including towels and shampoo on your bed, with a duvet!)

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the review! It's good to read that you enjoyed your welcome and the rest of your stay! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

This hostel is in a fantastic location and was very easy to find using the directions provided. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar downstairs provides good drink and meal specials and the included breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the kind words! See you next time! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

97%

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, and I loved my time there. The bar downstairs is really cool, people are friendly and the rooms are really clean. There is free Wifi on the rooms and breakfast is really good! I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Awesome hostel to stay in Amsterdam, right in the heart of the Red Light district. Very safe, clean. My experience was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

Best bar and hostel in amsterdam, deffinetely worth to stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the review! We are happy to read that you valued your stay with us. We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

46%

The facilities are far below anything I would have expected. There was major mold growing in our room, and a completely substandard shower, and a bathroom too small to turn around in. A sink so small you really can't wash your hands in. The mold is growing in the carpet where the shower area meets the carpet. Completely disgusting smell as well. The bald man is completely rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Your comments will be of great help to improve ourselves! We are very concerned to read about your experience in our hostel. We will get in touch with you personally to find out more about your experience, hoping to resolve the issue. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

74%

I thought this hostel was alright. Has a good bar downstairs and is clean but for some reason lacks atmnosphere.


74%

The hostess is very rude, and the hostal is way too expensive for what they offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We find our customer service and our value for money very important, so we were concerned to read your feedback. We will get in touch with you personally in order to get some more information, and to resolve the issue. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

83%

Party hostel right in town! Location is good and its relatively clean. Can be a bit chaotic but we were there for a good time so didn't bother us. And you get a discount on the bar food if you're staying in the hostel! A good choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you made the most out of our location, and we hope the bit of chaos didn't affect your stay too much. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

83%

Party hostel with nice bar (that has awesome rock music). Rooms themselves were so-so. My room actually smelled kinda bad but I was still able to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed our playlists! We were concerned to read about the smell in your room. We take our cleanliness very seriously and always aim to have the place spotless. We will have an extra thorough look in the room you stayed at. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

Great hostel, good location. The common area/bar closes at 1am so there ends up being a lot of guests hanging around on the road at the front. Would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to the next time you are in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

For sure the best of Amsterdam. A great hostel (clean, secure and with excellent showers, toilet and bed) right in the center of Amsterdam. Third time staying there and it keeps surprising in a good way every time. Besides the hostel itself, the next-door nightclub also owned by the hostel (you get discount), the bar and the smoking area are awesome pluses. Made good friends there in every stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the kind words! We are more than happy to welcome you back every time you stay in Amsterdam! Thanks again! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback