X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7780 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Good hostel.. close to amsterdam central.. its a bit noisy because of the bar and my 4 bed room was facing the street but its amsterdam! So fine with me. Hope there was plug/sucket each bed n small light for convenience - anyone who enter must turn on the central light n u cant charge ur mobile close to you. Not all hostel workers are that friendly but i dont mind it. Too huge heavy locker but not an issue. Hope when they change bed they clean the bathroom/wc as well. Small issues only.


86%

A great hotel in the center of Amsterdam, the room was very clean and secure. The hotel staff is very friendly, also the hotel has its own restaurant and bar and the nightclub is right beside, so you go to party and dont have to walk much. I would stay again.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff, and we hope to see you again next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Wicked hostel in wicked location! - right in the center of everything, red light, coffee shops, clubs , bars etc. The only downside is the staff. The male staff are fine, the female staff came across fairly rude. The hostel itself is really good, you can smoke, drink, eat & play pool/snooker all in the same room, YOU CANT DO THIS ANYWHERE ELSE IN AMSTERDAM. I stayed there with one friend but i was with another 9 people. They spent most of their time at our hostel! Would stay again!!


91%

Excellent party hostel cool right in the center of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you enjoyed the party! Come again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Location could be slightly better as things like the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre Museum are a bit far from the hostel. There's also a chance of hearing some music from the adjacent pub late at night on the weekend.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

great hostel! I enjoyed my stay and felt safe and felt that my stuff was safe. It's great location, a little loud at night, but it's in the middle of an active area so I expected it. I would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

57%

I was in one of the top rooms with a toiled you couldnt stand up straight to use and the worlds smallest sink. The room itself was dirty, the sheets did not fit properly and were disgusting with specks of blood and god knows what else on them. I asked for them to be changed and instead the cleaner just made the bed again. The person who booked me in was more interested in eating his food and having a conversation with his friend rather than give me my key. Very poor value as it is very expensive

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I went to the bar and was waiting for ages to be served. The guy behind the bar kept serving people left and right of me. Even new people that came to the bar got served left and right of me. Happens sometimes, I won't think too much of it. Finally get served and instead of giving me my change he puts it straight in the tip jar behind the bar. He did not deserve a tip for his service and shouldn't assume he deserves it after how long it took him to serve me.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are very sorry to read about your experience in our bar. We hope you understand that this is not common practice, and that we would like to follow op on this. We will get in touch with you personally in order to get a bit more information and resolve this with you. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

This hostel was great because it was cheap and it was right in the center of the red light district. If you are in Amsterdam for the party atmosphere then this is the right place for you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, and for recommending us to other people! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

In the red light district, has a bar, has free printing, everything you'd need. Great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

66%

No aircon which made my stay uncomfortable. Bathroom in the room which was great. Breakfast was lovely good variety not enough space to eat it although

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We're sorry to read that it was a bit too warm. You stayed with us during some of the hottest days of the year. Almost all year air con is not quite necessary, but we understand that it's not ideal when it's that hot. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Loved my stay here! The rooms were great, staff were friendly and very helpful! Thanks to the guys on desk who carried our suitcases up and down the stairs haha :). Big help! Would definitely stay here again


66%

Be aware there's a bar on the first floor! and located onon the middle of bars: tons of noise at night! And tons of noise early in the mornings when streets are getting clean and stores refilled. Full of adolescents

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are indeed right next to the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club in our building, so we can certainly understand that you found the area to be a bit loud.. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help sleeping a bit easier. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Overall, our stay was enjoyable! The hostel was large, very clean and in a great location! The vibe was alternative. Due to its great location, it was a bit noisy during the night time (proximity to the Red Light District). Towels, shampoo and soap provided with the rooms was a nice touch! Great experience. One thing to note: lockers available for rent in the event that you arrive before check in, or leave after check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The area can indeed be a bit loud, and we have a bar and a club in the building as well. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might just help with sleeping a bit better. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great trip, great hostel, great location. Only bad thing I have to say is a few times one particular member of staff was quite rude not just to me but to other people staying in the hostel. Otherwise brilliant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had a good time in Amsterdam, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sent you an e-mail hoping to get a bit more information about this member of staff, and we would really appreciate a reply. Thanks in advance! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Good hostel in a great location. Close to the central train station and a number of attractions. Handing the key into reception is a good idea for security however it can be tiresome when there is no one at reception or it's busy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback! it's good to see that you enjoyed our location! We understand that waiting for your key is not what you like to do when you're on holiday. When it's busy, please skip the line showing the orange card to reception, then they can quickly grab the key in between helping other guests. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Lovely friendly staff, great vibe, perfect location - 5 mins from town, 20 mins from vondelpark+amsterdam zoo, and right in the heart of the red light district. Got around easily by foot, and great directions from helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you had such a good time with us! We hope to see you again some day - St. Christopher's at The Winston

74%

An ok hostel. Was clean and in a good location. It was very hard to meet people at thos hostel, the only "common aren" is the bar, where you dont really know if the people sitting there are fellow travellers or not. It was also very hard to try and talk to people since the music was so loud. Would recommend this hostel if you are travelling in a group. The female dorms is also in a seperate building, making it more difficult to meet people.


94%

The hostel is perfect for the experience you want to have in amsterdam. The stay was made easy by the staff, they were very helpful with advice and the free breakfast in the morning was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we'll pass on your kind words to our staff! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Fantastic hostel, returning visitor and would not stay elsewhere, clean & warming Only inconvenience is the beer garden closure in the morning for cleaning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review! Great to see that you are a happy returning guest. On Tuesday mornings we have to clean the garden because everybody is spilling beer and putting their cigarettes out on the ground all week. We want to keep it tidy. We're sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you understand. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(123 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback