X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7229 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome location! Was woken up early by girls below in the windows, but I think that was part of the experience. I would keep in mind that you are right in the middle of the party in case you do not want that experience. There is a great bar downstairs and club next door. Go on the pub crawl that starts at Players. Great way to meet people. Thanks!


94%

great experience, everything was pristine, excellent location and a very nice bar in the first floor

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

69%

the receptionist was very rood and unplesant! had a really bad start because of him. the room was good, realtivly large, but needed some more cleaning (bathroom...). the location was excellent, but it's too bad there isn't any place to hang out in without having to pay for drinks. not sure we'll be back next time.. probably we would go to Cocomoma instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed the location we were in. We are very concerned and very sorry to read that you didn't quite liked the way you were welcomed, and we will get in touch with you personally to find out what happened. We hope you'll take the time to reply, in order to resolve the issue. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

63%

Staff were very unhelpful and generally unfriendly. People were smoking in the bedrooms but nothing was done about it for the whole time 3 nights I was there. Atmosphere was pretty average, a lot of large groups who didn't really mingle. Breakfast was good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find our staff as helpful and friendly as you would've hoped. Smoking is not allowed in our rooms, and we want to be very strict with that. We will get in touch with you personally, hoping to get a bit more information about your stay, hoping to get a bit more information about what happened in regards to our staff. Thanks again for your feedback. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

Showers get clogged easily and you shower in an inch or two of dirty water. No way of locking very noisy under-bed lockers unless you have a jumbo lock. Some lockers would not even close properly. Our bathroom door didn't close the first couple of days, so no way of locking it while on the toilet or taking a shower. Very noisy. You can feel yourself vibrate in the bed with the club music down stairs until the early morning. However they do give out free ear plugs. Very poor Internet in rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are sorry that the shower was clogged when you stayed here. As soon as we read your review we had our maintenance boys look at it, as well as at the lockers. Our free Wi-Fi should be working fine everywhere in the building, so perhaps it was acting up whilst you were staying here. Our apologies for that. We hope you'd allow us to better serve you during a future trip to Amsterdam. Thanks again for your feedback - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

The hostel is very close to Amsterdam Central Station which is so good. There is bathroom which is working well in the rooms. The internet was not working very well i hope they will fix it. The breakfast was close to perfect for a hostel. (butter, chocolate, milk etc.) There is a club which is next to the hostel. You can go there and listen live music. The hostel is close to the streets which have a lot of fun. So it is loud. But it is normal it is Amsterdam. So it is a good hostel to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and our free breakfast! We are sorry that the Internet was acting up during your stay, and we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

You really can't find a better place to stay in Amsterdam. Very safe, secure and clean. This is my second time at St Chris and if I am ever in Amsterdam again I will absolutely stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for coming back to us! We're happy to read that you enjoyed it at least as much as your first time. We sure hope you'll ever be in Amsterdam again! All the best in your onward travels - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

Great location, great food at a reasonable price on site. Rooms were comfortable enough, the only fault was that the room we were in (7 of us) was like a sauna and only had one fan (no aircon). Would still recommend though.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you made the most of our location and our discounts on food that are for our guests only! The room you stayed in does actually have an air con. We are sorry if it was acting up whilst you were staying here. We will look into the situation. Thanks for making us aware of this! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

The twin room is too small for 2 people. The shower as well.. So tiny! Beside that the place is good.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed most aspects about the place. We are sorry that you felt that the room was a bit small. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Please note that we have rooms in various sizes. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

Fantastic location for anyone wanting to visit amsterdam. Only a 5 minute walk from amsterdam central and located within the red light district. Rooms were air conditioned, had private toilets and showers in the rooms. The bar area was always lively and the food and drink on offer was definitely worth the money with a 25% off resident discount on food.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you enjoyed our location and our bar! Please note that not all of our rooms are equipped with air conditioning. All of our rooms do indeed have a toilet and a shower in the room. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

97%

Good hostel, the bar was always busy at night, rooms were good. Location is incredible, right in the red light district and close to the train station. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the positivity! We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

97%

Great hostel would definitely recommend if you are in Amsterdam looking for a great place at a very reasonable price. Location is in the Red Light district but is perfect because it is about a block over from the main street of the Red Light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the positive words! We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's @ The WInston

97%

I love St Christophers. Great place, really made me feel safe and secure in my belongings while I trawled through the coffee shops of the city. St Chris is part of a chain, and I've never had a problem at any that I've stayed at. The breakfast here is above standards. Stay here. The only problem I had is the showers are lipless so water usually ended up all over the food when other's weren't as considerate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your kind words! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you find yourself in Amsterdam. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

It's a great central hostel that's clean and neat. We booked a double room as it was the last night of our trip.the room was small but clean.Though it was only afterwards I realised its was almost as dear as a hotel room in Amsterdam .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. It's good that you valued our location and appreciated our standard of cleanliness. Amsterdam is an expensive city, but we've taken note of your comment about our price. We hope the extra facilities we offer in comparison to a hotel, like our bar, our club, discounts on food and interesting 2 for 1 drink deals for our guests provided you with some extra value and, more importantly, a good time. Thanks again for your feedback - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

The 8 bed dorm has private showers and toilet, which is great. Easy access from the bar to the rooms and the location is amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again some day! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Good location near the train station, awesome atmosphere at the bar downstairs which is a great way to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review! We hope to welcome you again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

91%

great place but bring earplugs

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, and for your tip to other travelers! Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception as well. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

Enjoyed my stay at this hostel..even they have free breakfast too so its quite worth it but only thing I didn't like was it is difficult to interact with the other people as it was quite a huge hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you made the most out of our free breakfast. We are indeed rather large, but we aim to cater for interaction between fellow travelers as well, since this is in our opinion a vital part of everybody's journey to another country. We are sorry this wasn't your experience of the hostel. We hope you'd give it another try. Thanks again for your feedback. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Great for partying, right next to the Red Light District, has a bar inside it and a smoking area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! St. Christopher's @ The Winston

91%

Definitely would recommend this place if you like being around everything that is happening. It's a great central hostel that's clean and neat. We booked a double room since it was towards the end of our trip. The room was small but clean. You get room service everyday as well as great breakfast. Solid hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate the kind words. We would just like to add that with room service you probably mean that we clean the room daily. We don't offer room service in regards to food or drinks. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback