X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7658 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The hostel was good for what it was, which is a party hostel, but it wasn't a comfortable place to stay. The rooms are barren... Just beds and lockers that slide out from under the bottom bunk. The beds are pretty uncomfortable, as the mattress is about 4-5 inches thick. Our room had a bathroom and shower, which was nice to have. They should put some hooks in the bathroom to hang your towel and things. There isn't anywhere to sit down and socialize but the bar, which is loud and smoky.


94%

Absolutely wonderful stay. No complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you had no complaints. Thank you for sharing! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

54%

Location is inside the red light district. It is very noise during the nigth, you can hear the streets noise all night long, as well the people going to the rooms talking very lound. Atmosphere was much likely the red light district, the hostel is very dark, weed smoke all over and lound. Cleanliness and facilities is not good. Shower towels are very small, thin and very very old, with a dark white of so old, spots of dust and blood on it! Bed matres are very thin, you can fell the iron bars!


100%

Great food and drink deals at the bar. Awesome place to stay, not too far from anything and certainly worth the money

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you appreciated our deals at the bar, and that you enjoyed the place to stay. We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

Great location in the midst of the action, clean and nice beds, and friendly reception. But bathroom could do with a few hooks, really need some bed side lamps as the ceiling ones are too dim, and being a good hostel it is starting to look a little tired because it has been so well used.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate your comments. We will look into your remarks in regards to our bathrooms, as it is an ongoing process to keep everything up to date. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Thank you for everything! It was much better than i expected! :)

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are very welcome! And thank you for staying with us and for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

I highly recommend this hostel, we had a brillant mini holiday thanks to the friendly staff and great location of this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! See you soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Staff was very friendly, location is amazing right on the red light district, having the bar downstairs was very convenient! Will recommend it to our friends!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you appreciated our staff and our location, and thank you for recommending us to your friends! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Nice place, nice staff, nice time :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the compliments! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel, location was fantastic. Being so close to the action does mean that it can be noisy but as long as you are prepared for this then you should have no problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for leaving a review, and for your advice for our future guests. We are indeed right next to all the action Amsterdam has to offer, so it can be a bit loud at times. We do offer free ear plugs in reception as well. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Loud at night, but only because you are in the red light district. Loved the separate smoking room to keep away any unwanted smoke when you are in the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are indeed right in the Red Light District, and we have a popular bar and a night club in our building as well, so we understand that it can be a bit loud at times. We're sorry about that! Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help you sleep a bit better. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Dorm room was quite small. Low ceilings & no air con made it pretty hot. However bathroom was very modern & nice. Unfortunately my 6ft 4 boyfriend didnt fit in the bunk beds but we were able to switch to a double room which was great! Double room not as mordern but we were greatful for a double bed!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback, which will help us to develop and improve our services and facilities for the benefit of our future guests. We're sorry that your first night was not as comfortable, and we hope that because of the switch your stay overall will be remembered as a good one. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

One of the best hostels I've been to in Europe, right in the middle of Amsterdam, 2 min to Dam square, coffeshops and red lights are near, most cafe's, shops, bars, it is like 5 min from central station, I highly recommend it. Rooms are also good, towels are free, shower had good water pressure, stayed in a awesome 4-bed on the 5th floor, something like 505/506 and it had The Joker on the wall, for DC fans like us that was a really nice surprise. Thanks guys, see you again :)

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for such a positive review! It's great to read that there were so many things you appreciated about your stay here, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Wifi didn't work in my room. Connected to a bar with cheap drinks and cheap food. Location was perfect. Beds were comfy but bathrooms didn't exactly get cleaned. The floors were sticky the whole time I was there... But the atmosphere was awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your feedback a lot, because it gives us information we may not be aware about just yet, and we use it to improve our services! We're sorry to read that you experienced a lower standard of cleanliness than we commit ourselves to, and we will pass on your comment to our external housekeeping company. We will also look into the Wi-Fi, as it should work everywhere in the building. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Really good hostel, location in the centre. Free breakfast and the good for purchase at the bar was good. I stayed in the female form which was completely separate so you only meet those ladies staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review! We're pleased to read that you thought we are a really good hostel. We do purposely keep our female dorm separately from the other rooms, in order to provide a bit more privacy for our female guests that choose to stay there. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Really great location! Wifi access was perfect. The bar attached gives you awesome drink deals and provides a fun experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you're happy with our free Wi-Fi and our drink deals. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Overall a pretty decent place. Relatively clean, in a fantastic location, and a decent bar. This was the last hostel I stayed at on a two month RTW trip, and I don't regret it. Met some fantastic people, and had a good time. The WiFi could use an extra router or two down at the end of the halls. Poor (though quick) coverage in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! It's good to see our hostel was a good destination as last stop on a long trip! We are sorry to read that our Wi-Fi was acting up during your stay. We generally have a very strong and fast connection, so we have asked our maintenance guys to run some tests in order to get back on this high level. Thank you for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

I had an amazing time, the staff there are amazing, the nicest hhostel staff I've ever met.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review! It's great to see that you value our staff as the nicest hostel staff you've ever met, and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words. We hope you'll stay again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great staff, lovely breakfast, fab location.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see how much you appreciated your stay with us! We'll look forward to welcoming you again some other day! - St. Christopher's at The WInston

69%

Some of the staff at this hostel are not friendly at all. It seems to me they don't really care about customer service since they have so many guest losing one is not a big deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for making us aware of your experience. We are really sorry that you have found the staff to not be as friendly as you would've hoped and expected. We sent you an e-mail in order to get a bit more information and to resolve the issue. We hope you'll be so kind as to send us your response. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback