X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7295 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

One of the best hostels I've been (Europe and Australia). Comfortable dorms, WC and shower inside, towel included. Con: has no kitchen, although the bar is cool, great atmosphere. I totally recomend it. But be sure not to stay all your visit in Warmoesstraat, most "touristful" street in ADam. It's such a beautiful city with plenty of things to visit!!


89%

Hostel is in a prime location for coffee shops and bars, but it gets a little sketchy outside at night. Beds were comfy and free breakfast was a major plus. Would definitely stay again


97%

Good hostel and great location would stay again :). Only thing to beware is there is no place to leave your luggage if you ain't got your bed available or after checking out. Around 80¢ per hour for a large locker.


94%

Too big to meet people on your own otherwise great location and great if your with a group of friend. In the heart of red light district as we'll :D


86%

Great time, will be coming back again next year :)

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a great hostel. The nightclub inside is fantastic. Breakfast is really, really good - fresh fruits, all types of hot drinks and juices, bread, cheese - delicious!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I've been in a lot of hostels but this one is by far the best one i've seen. Clean, safe, good price and a proper atmosphere!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location in center of action. But common area is basically a loud bar so it's kind of hard to meet and get to know new people. Room was clean. Bed comfortable. Free breakfast. Staff members weren't exactly friendly, even rude sometimes, but they deal with a bunch of drunk high people all the time so I might be that way too (but I was neither high nor drunk and they were still rude) Shower in female dorm almost boiled my skin off and couldn't be adjusted to be cooler. room can be loud

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're sorry to hear that not everything was exactly to your liking. We will get in touch with you personally to find out what exactly happened in regards to our staff. We had our maintenance team look into the issue with the shower. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

43%

There was NO HEATING AT ALL! Me and my friends felt very bad cause we were freezing daily and nightly, one of my friends got fever. FIX THE HEATING!!!! I liked the location, staff, that the beds were already done when we came and that the breakfast was free. However it was very cold on the whole hostel, breakfast area and especially our room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for making us aware of the issue. As already discussed with you personally, we're sorry there was an issue with the heating whilst you were staying here. We had our maintenance team look into it and it seemed an easy fix, so future guests shouldn't have to experience the same thing. Again, our apologies, we hope you'll allow us to better serve you in the future. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

The friendly staff really make this place. Really relaxed place in great location too. Funny thing was that that the girl on reception told us she was giving us a quite room #306. If the bed vibrated in our room until 4am from the music in the club, what on earth are the noisy rooms like?? We had some laugh trying to figure this one out. Had a good stay thank you.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words, and for taking the mistake of our receptionist in such a sportive way. We are sorry to hear about the noise in the room and will look into it. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Great location. Great deals at the bar. Great smoking room and bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

It's at a higher price point than other hostels in the redlight district but it's a better hostel. St Chris has a reputation to uphold and they do so here. It isn't a fantastic hostel but it's the best I've stayed at in the redlight district. Clean, secure, good breakfast, smoking area, and a bar- no complaints. If you're going to Amsterdam to see the city and just want a clean place to sleep in a good location, there are better (cheaper) choices. If you want a nice stay as well, this is for you


97%

I'm a huge St Christopher's inn fan so I knew that this is where I wanted to stay when in amsterdam. The staff were amazing and so helpful, the rooms were cleaned daily and the breakfast was a great value for the money. You also can't beat the location.. If you're looking for a party hostel close to everything in the red light district this is the place to be! Also, 25% off for meals at belushis you can't beat !


97%

The breakfast was really good and the staff was nice and helpful. I booked extra nights and had to change rooms. The 1st floor was great, but when I moved to the 5th floor it was sweltering hot and the wifi didn't reach up there. It's in a really good good location, and they have a smoking room (which would be the common room I guess). It wasn't the BEST environment for meeting people, but I saw other hostels and this seemed to be the only one with a place to hang out besides your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive and fair review! It's good to see that you enjoyed a lot of things about us, and we're sorry to hear that the room on the 5th floor had some temperature and wi-fi issues whilst you were staying here. If you're looking for a place that's maybe a bit smaller with a bar that's closed for the hostel guests, and still has enough guests to create a good atmosphere, we recommend one of the Flying Pig hostels. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Great hostel in an amazing location. Right in the center of all the action of Amsterdam. Great bar downstairs with really good discounted meals. Free breakfast was very good too. Only downsides were no laundry facilities however the staff were really helpful recommending a place just down the road. Also wifi reception didn't work in the room we were in, had to stand in the hallway or go downstairs. Other than that I would totally recommend this place to stay as it was recommended to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself. We're sorry that the Wi-Fi was acting up whilst you were staying with us, and we'll definitely look into it. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

The bar is really nice and the rooms are ok.. too difficult to meet new people cause it is too big! the location is awesome though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. It's good to read that you thought are bar was really nice, and we appreciate that our size may not be for everyone. If you're going to Amsterdam again and you're looking for something with the same character but smaller, we recommend staying at one of the Flying Pig hostels. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

I love staying at any St Christopher's , you know exactly what you are getting!! Great clean facilities. Breakfast is great! Staff are always fun and friendly!


83%

AMAZING staff. Clean rooms (they even give you little soaps! ^-^)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! We will be sure to pass on your comments to our (cleaning) staff! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Excellent location, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Room was spacious & clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! All the best in your onward travels, and please come again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(122 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback