X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
8166 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Our stay at St Christopher was very enjoyable! The rooms were nice, the food and drink deals at the bar were awesome and the location was ideal! The only down side is since the bar is so popular there was never anywhere to sit. Had a great time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you had a great time, and we will consider adding some seating spaces as well. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

54%

Room bathrooms! Security in rooms as id no safe! Food excellent doe👌

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! It's great that you thought the food was excellent! We will get in touch with you personally in order to find out a bit more about your constructive feedback, as we're always looking to improve ourselves and would like to know what we could have done better in this case. Thanks in advance for your response! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

You couldn't get closer to all the action if you wanted. This place was surprisingly quite for its location. Staff were very nice and helpful. Free breakfast but it only goes until 10 which was too early for Amsterdam!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive review and for your constructive feedback! We understand that you would like for our free breakfast to go later than 10. Since we are an open bar, and are closed for other people as long as our free breakfast is running, we have chosen 10 AM as the time for the changeover. We hope you understand. Please note that you get 25 % discount on our food (breakfast) menu. Thanks again for your thoughts! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

This is the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at. Everything was great from the room I stayed in to the bathroom that looked brand new and the amazing staff and party/chill vibe. It really is a great value for the money and you are literally a three minute walk down the street from Dam Square which is the heart of the city. The only complaint I ever saw about this hostel was that its noisy at night but from my experience if you're staying on a higher floor (i stayed on 6) it is very quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Staff super friendly and helpful, amazing location and you are guaranteed to meet travellers around. Particularly if you attend the free tour (ask at reception).


94%

The location was perfect! It was really clean and the staff was nice all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We will pass on your kind words to our staff! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Everything excellent, except the loud Club-music next to the hostel, difficult to sleep in the night. But no problem with earplugs :)

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We are in the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club in our building, so noise can sometimes be a bit of an issue. We're glad that you got our free ear plugs and that you were fine with those. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

66%

Great location and friendly staff. There is always people at the bar downstairs, and it becomes packed at night. However they do allow smoking inside so be prepared for that. The rooms were average and cleaned daily but not very thoroughly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff. Please note that we only allow smoking in our smoking room and in our garden, and nowhere else in the building. If someone is breaking these rules please feel free to make us aware, and we'll follow up straight away. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Staff is very friendly and the breakfast is awesome and free! Our twin room was super tiny and not that clean. Location is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you appreciated our staff and our breakfast. However, we are sorry to read that you experienced a lower standard of cleanliness than we commit ourselves to. We will pass on your comments to our cleaning team and hope to improve this soon! Thanks for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Awesome place. Would only recommend an area where guests can prepare food with a microwave or something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and your thoughts! It's great to see that you thought we have an awesome place. We don't have an area suited for making your own food at the moment, and unfortunately it will probably take a while before this would change. If you're looking for a place with a similar vibe, but does include those facilities, have a look at any of the Flying Pig hostels. Thanks again for your feedback, and all the best in your onward travels! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Really good hostel, definitely worth the money. Good vives and atmosphere. Didn't have any kind of trouble.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

It is a wonderfull place to stay. The staff is really friendly. Food and drinks really tasty. Breakfast amazing it feed up my group until late lunch time. Really cool atmosphere. We will definetely come here again. Congrats for your team :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great compliments! We are pleased to read that you had such a good time with us! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Can not beat this hostel! The location was perfect, food was delicious, and staff was very helpful. Will be back very soon. Thank you so much for an outstanding weekend!! -Chris

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for leaving such a great review! We would be more than happy to welcome you again next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

paid for a premium room in hopes of a balcony but didn't happen. Which sort of put a downer on the first 2 nights because it was way to busy to even get into the smoking room to have a spliff. But wouldn't count it as a flaw was just busier than expected.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We have checked your booking in our system and in Hostelworld's system, and it turns out that you didn't actually pay for a Premium Double, but just for a Double Room. We're sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. Next time please reserve the Premium/Deluxe room and check with us for the balcony. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Hostel was great but although it was in a location in the centre of the city, this meant that it was very noisy at night

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We are indeed right next to the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club in our building, so we can appreciate that it can get a bit loud at night sometimes, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just aid the sleep an extra few hours. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Its was clean and well situated.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Love the hostel! Would definitely be back! Good was great!

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic, thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

St Chrisopher's at the Winston could not be more conveniently located. The bar next door added to the atmosphere and the free breakfast was great. The rooms were quite spacious and clean and staff were helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind review! We hope to see you again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

We were woken up at 2:30 and 6am on seperate occasions because they had double booked beds in our room or assigned people to beds already taken so this was very annoying. The staff are also not very helpful and breakfast should be served until later than 10. Other than that great location and nice and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you made the most out of our central location. However, we're very sorry to read that you were woken up on 2 occasions, and we sincerely apologize for that. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much, and wish you all the best in your onward travels! - St. Christopher's at the Winston

74%

I would say they also need a lounge/chill out area if you don t necessary want to d d smoke

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We understand that some of our guests would like a separate lounge area, apart from the bar. At the moment we don't have the space for it, but we will take your feedback on board. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(148 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback