X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7543 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

100% encourage you not to stay here if you're looking for a semi-restful night. There is a major dance club attached to the hostel and even on a Sunday night the music was ridiculous. Earplugs will NOT work to drown out the sound. The bass shook the bed until the wee hours of the morning. That said, perfect place if you don't want to sleep and party! But then why would you pay for a bed at a hostel? Just stay awake and put your stuff in a locker.


91%

This place is awesome !! I stayed in 8 mixed room. It's a 24 hours dark room, because everybody in my room were high or drunk i guess. But it's a perfect place in Heart of red light district and have funs.


100%

loved my stay at st christophers will def come back

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great few nights in a private 5 bedroom. Friendly staff and good facilities. Food and drink offers excellent would definitely recommend.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and we will pass on your comments to our staff! We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

A party hostel but very clean.


94%

My stay at St. Christopher's at the Winston was great! It was really easy to find the hostel and the location is perfect. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The overall vibe in the hostel is relaxing yet energizing. And I met really nice people there to share my Amsterdam experience with!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We hope you'll stay with us again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

r306 is way too noisy, should not be rent

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're sorry to read that the room you stayed in was a bit too noisy for your liking. We are right next to the Red Light District and we have a bar and a night club in the building, so we can certainly appreciate that it can be a bit loud at times. We're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Fantastic hostel close to all the nightlife of the red light district yet the rooms were nice and quiet. Good atmosphere downstairs with the bar

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great staff very friendly great food but! Room was sweltering hot, no sleep for two days it was like an oven. Also in my dorm 5 out of 6 ppl were in bed by midnight and as the bar closes at the same time I was left with no where to hang out or smoke and had to basically wander the streets till 3am just to have a smoke. Seems weird that in Amsterdam of all places there was no where for residents to sit, smoke and talk. It Felt like staying at a parents house tbh sneaking out in the rain 2 smoke!

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you appreciated our staff and our food. We're sorry to read that the warmth in your room was a bit too much to bear and we'll look into that. We're sorry that our smoking area has to close when our bar does, this is required by law. If you'd prefer a place with a 24 hour smoking room, we'd recommend one of the Flying Pig hostels. They have the same character, but have longer hours on their smoking room.- St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Alittle confusing to find( you enter through the bar. Annoying that you can only use cash at the bar for food and drinks but they do cash back which is nice. Rooms are standard but the locks on the lockers are annoying to use a lock with. The bar is great though and always busy at night. The hostel is close to everything. Everyone says to bike around but I was easily able to walk. Staff was pretty friendly but not much atmosphere within the hostel and hard to meet people outside of your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! Your comments are very useful to improve our standards, we will take them on board going forward. It's good to see that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. In regard to paying on the bar with card, we feel that often it can take too long, which might not benefit the efficiency of our bar. We will look into the lockers in the rooms you stayed in, to see if that's an easy fix. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Perfect location. Clean hotstel. No hair dryer in the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you appreciated our location, and thank you for your feedback. We do indeed not have a hair dryer in every one of our rooms, but we do borrow them out at reception for a 10 euro deposit, which you will get back when you hand in the hair dryer again. Sorry that you weren't made aware of that, we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Amazing hostel, amazing location!!! Staff was super nice. Definitely a party hostel so wouldn't recommend staying here if you like to stay in and sleep. The location was so perfect as well, it was just me and my friend and it felt super safe even with just the two of us. I would stay here again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the compliments! We are happy to read that you enjoyed yourself and that you felt so safe. We would be happy to accommodate you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great location, in the center of everything. Awsome atmosphere, a lot young cool people having a great time. Theres a bar downstairs that people from all over come to. Its a fun way to meet people. The reception and the workers are always helpful and kind. Highly recommended !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're pleased to see that you had such a good time staying with us and that you met some great people! We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

It was in the middle of the action. I loved the smoke room and the music they played. It was a perfect atmosphere for people who like marajuana. I felt a little disconnected from the rest of Amsterdam. But I did make it to the Vangogh museum eventually! The staff was excellent! Rooms weren't too bad.. for a hostel it was above average.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself so much, and it's nice that you got to see a bit of Amsterdam as well. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Excelent location. The room was good, although the bathroom sink was tiny (kind of hard to wash you face without droping water on the floor). Nevertheless, very clean and tidy when we got back at the end of each day. The pub and the adjacent club make it kind of hard to sleep at night, since sometimes it gets loud until 5am. Good breakfast. AMAZING food at the bar (I seriously had the best burger of my life) and pretty cool pub with awesome music. Reception staff very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed almost everything about us, and we hope that the size of the bathroom hasn't affected your stay too much. Because we're right next to the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club, we know it can be loud til late at times. Sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at the Winston

89%

A great place to stay in the heart of amsterdam. Just a 30 minute walk max to any place worth visiting in Amsterdam. Friendly staff that offer great advice and service for any first timers. Loved the bar attached to hostel with a great atmosphere and brilliant value food and drink. A must for a guaranteed good time.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be even happier to welcome you back some other time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

The location is awesome and the showers are amazing too.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very glad you liked it! See you next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Overall a good hostel and would stay again. The 8 person rooms can get a bit hectic but you also don't worry about coming in late. Staff were really helpful in making plans for the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to read that you enjoyed us overall and that you would stay with us again. We understand that the 8p dorm can be a bit hectic at times, and we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks for your compliment about our staff, we would be happy to welcome you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

I have only good things to say about this hostel, and my stay there. It's in a great location, and is super central and everything is easy to get to, the train station included. Although it's in an area with a lot of nightlife, the front desk gives out free earplugs which is an added bonus. The staff were all also super helpful and very friendly, and I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your positive feedback! We're happy to read that you appreciate what we do here at The Winston, and will continue doing so. We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Our stay at the Winston was unbelievable. Staff was incredible, very easy to talk with and super friendly. Location was awesome and just a great experience. The bar in the hostel was very nice, always packed with other travellers, bartenders were superb. It made our experience in Amsterdam a very enjoyable one and will definitely not be the last trip there.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that everything was to your liking! We would be happy to welcome you on your next trip to Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback