X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7725 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I would like the hostel to try to provide more integration between guests.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. With our bar we try to provide interaction between the guests, and also with all the tours we offer we hope to achieve this. We can, however, certainly appreciate that a bit more can be done to for guest interaction at night, and we will look into our options. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Had a wonderful stay. Loved the vibe of the place. Very helpful people. Great food too. Will definitely stay here again as and when I visit Amsterdam next.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great that you took the time for sharing your good experience with us, and with our future guests. Thank you very much for that! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Great hostel with fantastic food, would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the compliment, we'll look forward to welcoming you again next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

63%

Hostel podría ser mejor por el precio del mismo.


57%

Definitely a frat party of a hostel. The rooms smelled like a freshman dorm and are so loud at night that they offer free ear plugs at the front desk. Would not recommend for anyone over the age of 22, who is not looking to spend their whole time there drunk or stoned. They do make it easy to meet other travelers though with an in house bar. Though like the rest of the joint, it is pretty dingy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is valuable for us in order to improve our services and facilities for our future guests. We try to cater for all sorts of travelers, but we can certainly appreciate that we are especially popular with people who are in Amsterdam for a good party. We're sorry that we weren't quite the thing you were looking for. All the best in your onward travels! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

great location, great staff. only 2 min. walk from Dam Square, 5 min. walk from Central Station, 2-3 min. walk from Tram station. Also, red light district is just back of the hostel. Hostel has it's own pub and club which is great and they give you %25 discount. I stayed at 2 bed private room. It was very clean and tidy. I definetly stay there again next time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next time with us! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Fantastic location, literally in the heart of the city. Nice bar, reasonable price, friendly staff. One of my recommendation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our staff. We will pass on your positive feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Very central hostel to all the action. They have a smoking now area with a pool table and an outdoor terrace which provides a lot of common area space. However it's not a chill out common area; quite loud. There's no kitchen but the bar has very reasonably priced, yummy meals for guests. The rooms were standard in cleanliness and had decent sized lockers. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for recommending us. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

66%

The hostel was good for what it was, which is a party hostel, but it wasn't a comfortable place to stay. The rooms are barren... Just beds and lockers that slide out from under the bottom bunk. The beds are pretty uncomfortable, as the mattress is about 4-5 inches thick. Our room had a bathroom and shower, which was nice to have. They should put some hooks in the bathroom to hang your towel and things. There isn't anywhere to sit down and socialize but the bar, which is loud and smoky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your feedback. Thanks for saying we're good for being a party hostel. We like to cater for all types of travelers, but we can certainly appreciate that people mainly come to us to party. We're sorry to read about your mattresses. We will assess the situation in the room, and replace them if needs be. We will also add some hooks in our newly renovated bathroom. Apologies that they aren't in there yet. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

This is one of my favorite St. Christopher's, as the accommodation, atmosphere, staff, and location are all awesome. I think it helps that this is in Amsterdam, an incredible city. In the morning, breakfast provided is great, and at night, Bellushi's is where my friends and I hung out. So many cool people to meet and nice deals at the bar!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very pleased to read that you had such a good time in Amsterdam, and that we were able to cater to that! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Absolutely wonderful stay. No complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you had no complaints. Thank you for sharing! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

54%

Location is inside the red light district. It is very noise during the nigth, you can hear the streets noise all night long, as well the people going to the rooms talking very lound. Atmosphere was much likely the red light district, the hostel is very dark, weed smoke all over and lound. Cleanliness and facilities is not good. Shower towels are very small, thin and very very old, with a dark white of so old, spots of dust and blood on it! Bed matres are very thin, you can fell the iron bars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're sorry to read that you experienced some noise during the night. We are in a lively area, right next to the Red Light District, and we have a bar and a club in the building, so we can certainly appreciate that it is a bit loud sometimes. We offer free ear plugs in our reception, which might just help blocking out most of the noise. Were you aware of that? We will look into the other issues raised. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great food and drink deals at the bar. Awesome place to stay, not too far from anything and certainly worth the money

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you appreciated our deals at the bar, and that you enjoyed the place to stay. We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

Great location in the midst of the action, clean and nice beds, and friendly reception. But bathroom could do with a few hooks, really need some bed side lamps as the ceiling ones are too dim, and being a good hostel it is starting to look a little tired because it has been so well used.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate your comments. We will look into your remarks in regards to our bathrooms, as it is an ongoing process to keep everything up to date. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great facilities, great staff, big lively bar, apartments buffered from bar to allow for sleeping, ecclectic crowd, very well run, nice breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see how much you enjoyed yourself! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Thank you for everything! It was much better than i expected! :)

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are very welcome! And thank you for staying with us and for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

I highly recommend this hostel, we had a brillant mini holiday thanks to the friendly staff and great location of this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! See you soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Staff was very friendly, location is amazing right on the red light district, having the bar downstairs was very convenient! Will recommend it to our friends!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you appreciated our staff and our location, and thank you for recommending us to your friends! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Nice place, nice staff, nice time :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the compliments! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel, location was fantastic. Being so close to the action does mean that it can be noisy but as long as you are prepared for this then you should have no problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for leaving a review, and for your advice for our future guests. We are indeed right next to all the action Amsterdam has to offer, so it can be a bit loud at times. We do offer free ear plugs in reception as well. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

(120 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback