X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7769 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I stayed here for a few nights to end my Eurotrip and really enjoyed it. He reception and bar staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and only a 5 min walk to Centraal Station. This place has a cool atmosphere and not filled with pot heads like other popular places. I will stay again next time I'm in town :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic to see that you enjoyed the end of your Eurotrip with us so much, and that you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

Your staff were appeared to really enjoy what they were doing. They were pleasant, accommodating, and patient. For me this goes a long way - well done. It was a little noisy - not so much the bar below but the crew cleaning it up between 3 and 4am. There was no place to prepare a meal. I prefer this option when I travel.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you noticed that our staff enjoy their job, and we'll pass on your comments! We're sorry that the noise from downstairs has inconvenienced you between those times, and we'll investigate what happened. Next time you're in Amsterdam, we'd suggest having a look at one of the Flying Pig Hostels. They have a similar atmosphere, and also a guest kitchen. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Good place to stay if you're looking for somewhere convenient, affordable and with a party atmosphere. Close to coffeeshops and with the bar and nightclub downstairs a night out is just downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you appreciated your stay with us, and we hope you'll stay with us again next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

The location is perfect. The hostel has a bar and a club. Its totally fun there. The doors etc. have a good isolation. The noice from the bar and club didn't disturb me. However all the voice from the streets could be loud even until 4 5 oclock. I found bad that the hostel doesnt have a common facility except the bar which is not a common facility because you cannot take your own food and drink or just sit. In the bar its expected that you buy sth. Discounts were good though

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you had fun in our hostel, and that you appreciated our location. Please note in regards to the street noise that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help with sleeping a bit better. We are sorry that you weren't allowed your own food. We do actually allow our hostel guests to eat their own food in our bar, and we're sorry that some staff were not aware of that. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Excellent vibe! This is a great party hostel, the bar is always bustling with people no matter what the time or the day is! It's a great place to meet people as well.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you enjoyed the party! Thanks for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

The Hostel is located in the very center of amsterdam, great location, in no time you may walk to the main areas and visit tourist areas. WiFi is good, and the room you get to share the bathroom only with the guys in your room. Bring a padlock, its needed for your locker, unless it will cost you around 3 euros. Brakefast not an international one, only boiled eggs, no option for scramble. But overall its good. Its a little loud at night beacause of its location, a lot of parties all around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our free continental breakfast does indeed not contain scrambled eggs. We do, however, have a breakfast menu if you'd prefer a cooked breakfast over our free breakfast. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

The main door to the corridor where my room was located had a sensor lock on it, but the door would push open so it wasn't secure. But the main room door worked well. The shower was not the cleanest but not bad. This hostel is in a wonderful location!! It's a loud party hostel so if you are a light sleeper bring eat plugs. I'm not and was too drunk to care about noise. The breakfast was also wonderful and free! I would stay here again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! The sensor locks on the corridor doors are new, because we want to make the place extra safe. The software has yet to be installed, which is why for now it is still the way it was. We do, however, have a reception that maintains your safety, and the room doors are securely locked. We're glad to read that you slept well and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

74%

Good location...just 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

had a great stay and your staff made the experience for us so nice, all we came in contact with were so lovely. We were disappointed we didn't book a longer stay here but would return,

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read what a positive influence the staff have had on your stay with us, and we'll pass on your compliments. We will look forward to your next time with us! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

It is located in the middle of the red light district. So if you like party it is the right place for you. But if you want to relax you should look for another place. Rooms are standars, and bathroom not very big. Not enough plugs in the room. Does not have a common area and no kitchen for guest. To go inside the hostel you have to cross a big Pub. Which has a very good atmosphera and at nigh is full of people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate that you liked the location and the atmosphere, but that we might not be the best place to relax. It seems from your review that one of the Flying Pig hostels would suit your needs more, so we'd recommend checking them out next time you'll come to Amsterdam. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Nice place with very good location. Good breakfast and clean and nicer room and restroom. Good hot shower. Downstairs is really pleasant place with pool table, somking room separate and a bar with guinness on tap and a loto of promotions of drinks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive review! We'll look forward to welcoming you again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and it was super clean!! No complaints and great that there was a bathroom in the room itself. Beer garden and smoking room were both great and the elevator was perfect. There was a blonde dude at the front reception who was super friendly and helpful. Location is right in the middle of red light district so very touristy. Avoid the Winston Kingdom...music was pretty brutal. Probably one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in so thanks yall!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you appreciated the level of cleanliness in our hostel, and that you enjoyed the helpfulness of our staff. We hope you'll stay again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Good hostel, amazing location! Beds are pretty comfy and the bathrooms are pretty decent. Atmosphere not bad for a rather large hostel, and the drink deals at the bar were good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great place to stay, amazing location


100%

This is hands down the best hostel in Amsterdam. Great staff, in the heart of all the action. Secure lockers with key code entry nd security at the door. The bar is fun and the free breakfast was very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the huge compliment! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

If I will go back again...definitely I will book this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Then we'll look forward to your return! Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Overall great hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Down stairs rooms can get pretty stuffy as the windows are tiny due to backing onto an alley. Still would highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

74%

I stay in mixed dorm, the shower is dirty. The rest are just fine and staff are all friendly!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are sorry to read that you experienced a lower standard of cleanliness than we commit ourselves to everyday, and we hope that the friendliness of the staff has made up for that mistake. We hope you'll try our hostel out again some time in the future! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

I would like the hostel to try to provide more integration between guests.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. With our bar we try to provide interaction between the guests, and also with all the tours we offer we hope to achieve this. We can, however, certainly appreciate that a bit more can be done to for guest interaction at night, and we will look into our options. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Had a wonderful stay. Loved the vibe of the place. Very helpful people. Great food too. Will definitely stay here again as and when I visit Amsterdam next.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great that you took the time for sharing your good experience with us, and with our future guests. Thank you very much for that! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

(122 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback