X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7646 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Fantastic hostel close to all the nightlife of the red light district yet the rooms were nice and quiet. Good atmosphere downstairs with the bar

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see how much you enjoyed yourself with us! We hope you'll stay again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great staff very friendly great food but! Room was sweltering hot, no sleep for two days it was like an oven. Also in my dorm 5 out of 6 ppl were in bed by midnight and as the bar closes at the same time I was left with no where to hang out or smoke and had to basically wander the streets till 3am just to have a smoke. Seems weird that in Amsterdam of all places there was no where for residents to sit, smoke and talk. It Felt like staying at a parents house tbh sneaking out in the rain 2 smoke!

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you appreciated our staff and our food. We're sorry to read that the warmth in your room was a bit too much to bear and we'll look into that. We're sorry that our smoking area has to close when our bar does, this is required by law. If you'd prefer a place with a 24 hour smoking room, we'd recommend one of the Flying Pig hostels. They have the same character, but have longer hours on their smoking room.- St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Alittle confusing to find( you enter through the bar. Annoying that you can only use cash at the bar for food and drinks but they do cash back which is nice. Rooms are standard but the locks on the lockers are annoying to use a lock with. The bar is great though and always busy at night. The hostel is close to everything. Everyone says to bike around but I was easily able to walk. Staff was pretty friendly but not much atmosphere within the hostel and hard to meet people outside of your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! Your comments are very useful to improve our standards, we will take them on board going forward. It's good to see that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. In regard to paying on the bar with card, we feel that often it can take too long, which might not benefit the efficiency of our bar. We will look into the lockers in the rooms you stayed in, to see if that's an easy fix. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Perfect location. Clean hotstel. No hair dryer in the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that you appreciated our location, and thank you for your feedback. We do indeed not have a hair dryer in every one of our rooms, but we do borrow them out at reception for a 10 euro deposit, which you will get back when you hand in the hair dryer again. Sorry that you weren't made aware of that, we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Amazing hostel, amazing location!!! Staff was super nice. Definitely a party hostel so wouldn't recommend staying here if you like to stay in and sleep. The location was so perfect as well, it was just me and my friend and it felt super safe even with just the two of us. I would stay here again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the compliments! We are happy to read that you enjoyed yourself and that you felt so safe. We would be happy to accommodate you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great location, in the center of everything. Awsome atmosphere, a lot young cool people having a great time. Theres a bar downstairs that people from all over come to. Its a fun way to meet people. The reception and the workers are always helpful and kind. Highly recommended !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're pleased to see that you had such a good time staying with us and that you met some great people! We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

It was in the middle of the action. I loved the smoke room and the music they played. It was a perfect atmosphere for people who like marajuana. I felt a little disconnected from the rest of Amsterdam. But I did make it to the Vangogh museum eventually! The staff was excellent! Rooms weren't too bad.. for a hostel it was above average.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself so much, and it's nice that you got to see a bit of Amsterdam as well. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Excelent location. The room was good, although the bathroom sink was tiny (kind of hard to wash you face without droping water on the floor). Nevertheless, very clean and tidy when we got back at the end of each day. The pub and the adjacent club make it kind of hard to sleep at night, since sometimes it gets loud until 5am. Good breakfast. AMAZING food at the bar (I seriously had the best burger of my life) and pretty cool pub with awesome music. Reception staff very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed almost everything about us, and we hope that the size of the bathroom hasn't affected your stay too much. Because we're right next to the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club, we know it can be loud til late at times. Sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at the Winston

100%

Great location near the metro station with friendly staff. Lockers provided beneath the beds with shared bathrooms ensuite.


89%

A great place to stay in the heart of amsterdam. Just a 30 minute walk max to any place worth visiting in Amsterdam. Friendly staff that offer great advice and service for any first timers. Loved the bar attached to hostel with a great atmosphere and brilliant value food and drink. A must for a guaranteed good time.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be even happier to welcome you back some other time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Wonderfully located hostel and surprisingly quiet at night. The bar downstairs was great and the free breakfast was as good if not better than some of the breakfasts I've paid for. Funky art everywhere and super easy to meet people and stumble back to after a night out.


91%

The location is awesome and the showers are amazing too.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very glad you liked it! See you next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Overall a good hostel and would stay again. The 8 person rooms can get a bit hectic but you also don't worry about coming in late. Staff were really helpful in making plans for the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to read that you enjoyed us overall and that you would stay with us again. We understand that the 8p dorm can be a bit hectic at times, and we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks for your compliment about our staff, we would be happy to welcome you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

I have only good things to say about this hostel, and my stay there. It's in a great location, and is super central and everything is easy to get to, the train station included. Although it's in an area with a lot of nightlife, the front desk gives out free earplugs which is an added bonus. The staff were all also super helpful and very friendly, and I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your positive feedback! We're happy to read that you appreciate what we do here at The Winston, and will continue doing so. We hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great area to stay in! Close to the Damrak, Dam Square, Centraal Station and the Red Light District. The hostel is divided into two separate areas and our room was next door. Great bar/restaurant area to hang out in, a wide range of food and breakfast items. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.


100%

Our stay at the Winston was unbelievable. Staff was incredible, very easy to talk with and super friendly. Location was awesome and just a great experience. The bar in the hostel was very nice, always packed with other travellers, bartenders were superb. It made our experience in Amsterdam a very enjoyable one and will definitely not be the last trip there.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see that everything was to your liking! We would be happy to welcome you on your next trip to Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Excellecent hostel, good food at the bar. Smoking room for the 'jokers', night club adjacent for the ravers. Ear plugs offered to mitigate any noise. Location, location, location. 5 minutes away from the coffee shops, 10 minutes away from the train station, 10 minutes away from the cinema. Perfect hostel.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself so much! See you next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Nice place with a really social bar!! Great coffee and food!!! I'll will be staying there again!!!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself so much, and that you'll be back! See you soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Throughly enjoyed our stay at the winston, would 100% come back and stay again. Facilities were great, food was amazing, location is brill. Couldn't be happier with our stay, only put an average of cleanliness for stuff like old stained bed sheets, nothing major. Otherwise we loved it, would like to thank the staff for all their help and we will be back soon!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself so much and that you will definitely be back! We will look into your comment about our cleanliness, and will follow up on that. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Great location. Fantastic party atmosphere and in the heart of the action


(118 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback