X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7354 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

great place but bring earplugs

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, and for your tip to other travelers! Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception as well. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

Enjoyed my stay at this hostel..even they have free breakfast too so its quite worth it but only thing I didn't like was it is difficult to interact with the other people as it was quite a huge hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you made the most out of our free breakfast. We are indeed rather large, but we aim to cater for interaction between fellow travelers as well, since this is in our opinion a vital part of everybody's journey to another country. We are sorry this wasn't your experience of the hostel. We hope you'd give it another try. Thanks again for your feedback. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Great for partying, right next to the Red Light District, has a bar inside it and a smoking area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! St. Christopher's @ The Winston

91%

Definitely would recommend this place if you like being around everything that is happening. It's a great central hostel that's clean and neat. We booked a double room since it was towards the end of our trip. The room was small but clean. You get room service everyday as well as great breakfast. Solid hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate the kind words. We would just like to add that with room service you probably mean that we clean the room daily. We don't offer room service in regards to food or drinks. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

It's a very nice place for young people but if you only need a place to rest I think it isn't good because it's really noise I couldn't sleep until 4 or 5am.... but in general it's good.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to cater to any type of traveler, but because we are in the heart of all the action of Amsterdam and we have a bar and a club ourselves, we can certainly appreciate your comment about the noise in the area. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in our reception. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

The only problem was that the room is noisy because there is a night club next to the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We do understand that we are in a very busy area and that there's also a bit of noise coming from our bar and our club. We are sorry about that, and hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

If I check-in online, I should receive priority at check-in, but it was not the case.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that the process of checking in was not as speedy as you would've expected, seeing that you checked in online and should be able to skip the line. We will revise our procedure in order to have this running more smoothly. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

stunning location in the very hearth of the city, I was in the 8 bed dormitoy, that was more likely a double 4 bed dormitory, so very quiet and neat. Breakfast is good, and also all the services, like the luggage room, you pay for it, but is really well organized and easy to selfmanage when you need it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Definitely one of the better hostels while traveling Europe. There was definitely a party atmosphere due to the hostel bar which contain affordable meals, with the bar staff keen on asking if you're happy with you meal. Staff were very lively and helpful and the location was within walking distance of the Amsterdam Centraal station. Even though there was loud music playing at the hostel bar I could not even hear it in my dorm.


91%

Me and my friend booked a short trip away to the Dam and stayed at The Winston after reading other great reviews on here. Great location, great food, great people and without a doubt a great party! We reccommend Smokeys and Winston Kingdom for a fantastic night. Don't forget to pick up the voucher cards by the desk for ideas/ money off places to go :)

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the detailed and positive review! We hope to have you around some other time! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Great hostel. Right in the middle of everything. Very clean, good beds, good bathroom, great bar. I would definetly go back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! We look forward to you coming back next time! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

86%

the staff is always helpful. the room is clean. nothing to complain, indeed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

This hostel was in a great location (the only downside is if you are trying to sleep, sometimes it is loud outside), really close to attractions and in the middle of everything. Our room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable and clean for the most part - I should add though that I found blood on my blanket that was not mine... Other than that, I had a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's great to see that you made the most out of our central and lively location. We are concerned to read that you found blood on your blanket. We hope this got there after we cleaned the bed, but if you think it didn't we sincerely apologize for that! Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

71%

Well done overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

Party hostel. There is no ac in the rooms which makes it get very hot in the summer. Shower was very poor. Not overall a fun place to stay if you are looking to come to Amsterdam. Many of the pub crawls come to the bar so it's a pretty fun enviornment

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed the fun environment. We are sorry that you didn't quite appreciate all of our facilities. We will assess the situation in the room you stayed in. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Great location, facilities, atmosphere and great staff! Shout out to Kieth, sound as a pound! I felt very welcome. Would recommend you have drinks in the bar and mingle before hit the town. Rooms were very clean and spacious. I did not experience any claustrophobia. Best hostel location in Amsterdam I have visited. Would recommend St Christopher's at The Winston to anyone looking to have the "Amsterdam experience". You will not be disappointed. Also the great breakfast is a nice touch too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the kind words! We hope you'll stay with us again. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

This place was pretty great in retrospect. There were things I didn't care for while I was there like being woken up by your neighbors being loud on the balcony (the balcony is shared among the floor and each room has a door out to it). I ended up switching hostels and immediately regretted it. This place was actually pretty decent. It was in a prime location for anything you'd likely be seeing in Amsterdam and the place was pretty good. Would go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your very honest review! Your words are even more valuable for our future guests, since you tried more than one hostel in Amsterdam. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might just help you with sleeping in an hour or two more. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Stayed in a private room with ensuite. Clean room, lots of space. Location is great can't be beaten really. It is a little bit of a hike from the main station if you are carrying your pack so plan ahead and make sure you know the best route. Great bar (and great food) downstairs. And fabulous staff who will take care of you (thanks for mailing my postcards!) Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see all your positive comments. If you know the best route it's only 5 or 10 minutes walk, We hope you didn't make too much of a detour. We hope you'll stay with us again, next time you know where to go. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

My only advice would be to book a mixed dorm, the female only is in a separate building and isn't as nice as the main hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, and for your advice to our future guests! We appreciate your comment about the different type of rooms. We would just like to add that our female dorms hold only single beds, no bunk beds. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Cool hostel in an awesome location. If you want peace and quiet this is not your option, but if you come to party give it a go. I would definitely recommend the hostel to add some basic simple necessities though, like hooks in the bathrooms or a couple of shelves. I had to figure out where to put my clothes when I was taking a shower. It's not like it's anything costly, so c'mon guys.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! It's great to see that you valued our location so much! We appreciate your comment about the hooks in the bathroom, and will be sure to ask our maintenance boys to assess the situation in all our rooms in regard to the places to hang clothes as soon as possible. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback