X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
6985 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Nice hostel in the heart of Amsterdam, easy to get there even on foot from the train station. No problems to check-in at any time of the day and a really good breakfast included the next morning. That's how hostels should be like!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And that's what we like to hear ;)

54%

The bathroom of the dorm i was staying in had a broken shower, and the door did not close unless you slammed it.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that that you had an issue with your room during your visit. These are problems that have been addressed and resolved since your stay so we would love, if you get the chance, to come back and see our improvements!

86%

Really cool hostel!. Great breakfast, clean toilettes and rooms, lockers inside (you need a padlock) and outside (0.80 per hour) the room. They even give you towels and shampoo!. The staff is really nice, the beds are comfortable, the shower is hot and the location is perfect: near the train station, Dam Square, Red Light District.. The only bad thing for us is that they don't have a kitchen, no even a microwave, so we expend a lot of money eating outside (or eat crappy sandwiches everyday).


63%

The wifi was down for a day when I was there. There is a long queue to check in with no order whatsoever. Your return to the hostel is based on this paper card they gave you which doesn't identify you at all. So if that piece of paper was lost or stolen, all the information is there to go into your room by someone else. The staff was nice but this place is way overpriced for what it is.


91%

Amazing hostel, very organised, near from all cool places in Amsterdam.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Awful location in terms of nxt door to a nightclub that blasts music all the way up to the 5th floor until 4am and screaaing people outside in the streets for about an hour afterwards, evidenced by the five of us in the corridors, bleary eyed and bore. Nice bar though - especially if you like UK and US sports. I'd recommend the place for people who didn't want to sleep but not for those who do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Paul. We hope you told our night receptionist about your troubles sleeping. We offer all our guests free earplugs and are always happy to help in whatever way we can. It's a very lively place, as you said, but we always go the extra mile to make sure that our guests are well rested as well : )

80%

The hostel is well organized, every bed had a light and plug in, very comfortable mattraze, pillow and sheets. The shower was good size and super weather pressure. The hostel attracts mostly younger small groups. The bar


83%

Awesome location close to dam square and central station. Clean rooms and bathrooms, bar was lively every night. Wifi was patchy but that is expected in such a huge hostel. As always breakfast was amazing!!


100%

Great location, close enough to everything but not right on the Red Light District. Was a bit annoying to get in late at night (someone has to buzz you in), but it's nice to know everyone just can't just walk in.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Vajira. Thanks for letting us know what you think about our hostel and our security. We think the same as you; better to make sure the door stays closed so that you guys can feel safe throughout the night. Our overnight receptionist is always there to help dont forget.

94%

Staff are superb. Incredible location and bar is always busy with people.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Best location, like you will not beat this location! I was there for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay :) Internet wasn't the greatest but that is the only bad point I can give this place!


83%

Great place to stay jst thought they wud serve alchohal 24hr cause the advertise a 24hr bar

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the confussion, Daniel. We have a 24-hour reception for you, but strict laws in Holland forbid all night liquor licences. We hope you made the most of our club next door, the Winston Kingdom, which is open until 5am on weekends and is often free for hotel guests ; )

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(92 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback