X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
8164 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We had a great time. Staff helpful. Great price real value for money.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Its a very good hostel for 2 or 3 nigths. More than that may become unconfortable. The rooms are very small, but the bar downstairs its very handy if you are traveling alone. Location its awsome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Great location near the red light district. Close to the start of the walking tours and pub crawl locations. More of a group hotel than hostel. No communal space outside of the bar and no kitchen 😞.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to read that you appreciated our location. We're indeed not the kind of hostel that has a chill-out room or a communal kitchen. If that's what you're looking for, but want to have a bar in the hostel as well, we'd highly recommend the Flying Pig Downtown hostel as your next hostel in Amsterdam. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

already gave a feedback to hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Loved this hostel, awesome vibes and location. I'll be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! We'll hopefully see you back soon! - St. Christophers at The Winston

74%

I stayed there for just one night and i must say i was kinda disappointed, inspite of being on the 3rd floor, the noise from the nightclub downstairs was enormous, although i did get my sleep. Rooms were a little small which is not a big deal, but the most astonishing for me was the locker arrangement, the small box like cage for our stuff in the rooms is all that was provided however i did like the idea of having better lockers at the reception which means 24/7 surveillance at an extra cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review. Pleased to hear you liked us having lockers at reception. We're sorry for the fact it was a little bit loud at night. In the middle of the red light district it can be hectic at night sometimes. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception. Thanks again for leaving a review. - St. Christophers at The Winston

97%

If you are planning to stay in Amsterdam, stay in this hostel! When I booked, I wondered how they can keep such a high rating with so many reviews, but I definitely found out: the location, staff, room and amenities were excellent. My friend and I stayed in a twin bed en suite room. The hostel is great for both going out and having fun, or just chilling and relaxing in your room. I have stayed in countless hostels over the years and nothing has compared to St Christopher's Amsterdam.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the huge compliment! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Excellent hostel with excellent people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

57%

Honestly the stuff is not really helpful, especially the bar tender who was so tough and unpleasing to most of us during our stay. No one advised us for the city or hostel environment rules, concerning after 1 am you either have to be in your room or outside which was the worst thing ever as we just came back from sant jordi at Barcelona which was totally better experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're sorry to read about your experience with our staff and we would like to get in touch with you to find out about everything you have written. Thanks in advance for your reply. - St. Christophers at The Winston

89%

Overall I enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Winston. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it was spacious with nice lockers under your bed. Great smoking room (cigs and the good stuff), and a garden smoking area outside as well. Food was good and they have great drinks deals, staff was helpful and pleasant. That being said. Kinda dirty, for sure smelled, and the wifi SUCKS!! They don't have a private wifi for guest, open to all the bar people at night couldn't load anything the 3 days there. :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our staff. We always try to maintain a high level of cleanliness, and we're sorry that this was not your experience. We will have an extra thorough look in the room to see what needs improving. We will also look into our Wi-Fi, as it should have high speed through out the whole hostel. Are you sure you logged in correctly? Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Really great location near train station! Easily can walk to all main attractions of Amsterdam. Very secure and clean. Great bar attached to hostel but the rooms were very quite still. Would highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope you'll be staying with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Located right in the heart of the red light district. Great location to walk to many attractions. Delicious free breakfast with your stay. Helpful staff. Great experience here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again some time! - St. Chrisotpher's at The Winston

100%

Great hostel! Super clean room, towel, ensuite bathroom, all good things. The bar gets pretty rowdy most nights (in a good way) and the location is amazing. I love the pub crawl that stops there! Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review and for the recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Clean hostel with comfortable beds, location was really cool- on the outskirts of red light district. Breakfast was better than most places and had meat, cheese and fruit with toast. However as a solo traveler, this place was not good for meeting people and was more of a hotel than a hostel. The common area was a bar, and no real chill out place for meeting people and talking. I would only return if I was in a group and there weren't any better options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your constructive feedback! It's good to see that you appreciated our location and our breakfast so much. We're sorry that you felt that we weren't ideal for meeting other people. We are indeed not the kind of hostel that has a common room other than our bar. Perhaps the Flying Pig Hostels would be a bit more to your liking, so we'd recommend that for a future time in Amsterdam. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

The location is excellent, and the included breakfast is good. However, the room was small and bathroom were really tiny! The pub downstairs is nice, but there is no hostel atmosphere that enables you to meet other travellers in a common room or so. All in all, it wasn't a bad hostel, but it's way overpriced...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving a review! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and our breakfast so much. We're sorry that you felt that we weren't ideal for meeting other people. We are indeed not the kind of hostel that has a common room other than our lively bar. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Amazing!! I stay here everytime! Right in the middle of it all.. highly reccommended 😊😊😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for staying with us every time and for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

It is the top hostel I have ever been, shame that we could only book one night because it was too popular!!!!! However if you want quiet place this place might not be the top option for you - it's a very lively place, but that's the point of staying in Amsterdam!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

good and worthy place. close to all fun-places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Kind of a crazy place being in the red light district but all in all good stay, some odd characters about but what do you expect being 20 seconds from the rld

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comment about having odd characters in the area. We consider the area very safe, but the very busy city center does attract all sorts of people. We hope you enjoyed it rather than that it has disturbed you. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60%

The hotel located very near to the Amsterdam ventral station, so it's very convnient to live here. BUT, the enviroment of both the hotel and room is terrible,. The lousy noise downstaires stayed up to about 4'o clock in the morning,and I had a really bad sleep that night. I won't choose to live here anymore…

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! It's great to see that you appreciated our location, being so close to central station. We are sorry to read that you didn't appreciate the atmosphere. We are in the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club in the building as well, so we appreciate that it can be loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which could help you sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

(150 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback