X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7651 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great !!! Is My second time There ... The location is great ... Very close to The train station .. The bar , The people , The músic and The breackfast are amazing!!! Im love amsterdam!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! Please come again, and again.. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

This is a nice hostel in a good location. It's annoying that you have to pay to use lockers to store your luggage if you arrive before check in time or after you check out. Nice breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you enjoyed our location so much, and we thank you for your feedback! We understand that you would've appreciated a free luggage storage. Unfortunately the past has shown us that this has way too many practical issues. We're sorry about that, and we hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

The hair dryer in room 10 didn't work

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel like you got a few hostels mixed up, which is totally understandable if you're traveling around Europe. We don't have a room 10, and the room (#303) in which you stayed doesn't have a hair dryer in it. We borrow them out from reception though. We hope you enjoyed your stay here! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60%

No WiFi in room. No social activities through hostel. Felt really crowded all the time. Decent prices at bar. Free breakfast was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you made the most out of our free breakfast buffet! We are sorry that the Wi-Fi was acting up whilst you were staying here, and we'll look into the matter. We hope you'll give our hostel another try in the future. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Good mellow hostel good for young people. Bar downstairs was not as bustling as I had read it would be but nonetheless great trip.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again some day. We'll try and get our bar even more bustling! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

This place is better than most 1 or even 2 star hotels. The breakfast is really good and solid. Great place!

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's a great compliment, thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

I had a nice stay, the hostel it's great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

71%

The hostel is well located, close to the central station and the Dam square, very clean and with an excellent character and atmosphere. Value for money wise, its an excellent option when visiting Amsterdam. The hostel's staff is quite polite, helpful and attentive but unfortunately this can not be said for the bar's staff. Another minor drawback is that if you are leaving your stuff prior of after you lodging to the hostel, you have to pay for the lockers as there is no storage room available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for your feedback. As already discussed with you personally, we apologize for the fact that things haven't quite gone as they should've in our bar whilst you were staying with us. We are following this up, and hope you'll allow us to better serve you in the future. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

The rooms were good and clean and the location was the best i could get... The staff at the reception were nice but the ones at the bar were very rude and disrespectful to most people! The girl with blue hair does not deserve to work at such a good hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to read that you appreciated our location and the rooms. We are, however, very concerned and sorry to read that our bar staff seemed not to be on their best behaviour whilst you were staying with us. We will get in touch with you personally to find out a bit more about what exactly happened. Thank you for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Best hostel we stayed at on our Eurotrip. The night life rock's with awesome music and a great vibe in the hostel bar. The staff where all very friendly and always willing to help and assist with any queries. Definitely the place to stay at when you are visiting Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you at The Winston again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Nice place, though obviously a party hostel. If I hadn't been hanging out late with roommates I might not have had the best experience with my dorm mates. The hostel itself is really nice though, clean, good facilities, great location and friendly, very helpful staff. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself, and that you valued our location and our staff. We hope to see you back some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

nice location, very clean! Not to many backpackers, during my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you appreciated our location. Hopefully next time you're around, there will be a few more backpackers. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Excellent atmosphere at the hostel with a bar, club and nice social arena on the ground floor. Food in bar is quite reasonably priced, but was not that tasty. Hostel is very central! Note: we had a private room so the comments about noise, cleanliness etc may vary compared to the regular dorm rooms. Room was nice and clean with some special "art" on the wall. Noise not that big of an issue really, would think it would be worse with the bar downstairs and club as a neighbour to the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our hostel, and that you made the most out of our location! We're surprised and concerned to read that you didn't quite enjoy the food. Most people love our food, so we're wondering what happened. We'll get in touch with you personally in order to get a bit more information. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Really nice hostel/hotel in heart of the Red Light district. Felt safe. Excellent, friendly staff. Great free breakfast. Bar is okay but better just down the road. Stayed one night in 8 bed dorm ensuite and two in private. Dorm was nice, with individual lockers, and plugs/lights in each bunk, but room so small, felt on top of each other. Had a great time, would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback! We look forward to next time you're around! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Best hostel in Amsterdam if your goal is to meet friendly young travelers looking for a good time and a lively nightlife. Not the cheapest hostel I've used, but worth the price. Amenities are good for the hostel. Staff takes the job seriously. Well run business. The hostel is fused with a very popular bar and smoking room which provides an unparalleled experience and chill atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come again some time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Everything amazing..I definitely recommend St Christophers. The room is great, clean, tidy, there is a bath and toilet inside, the staffs are kind, location is perfect..I can't complain at all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Well quite simply one of the best..... As far as staying in Hostels, I don't think it will get much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's a great compliment! Thank you very much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Location is within the red light district, but is not dangerous or whatever, just 5-10 min walking to the train central station and the same to Dam Square. You have locker under your bed but you need a padlock to lock it. The first floor is a bar so is not very "homy" hostel and is VERY noisy by night if you want to go party until early morning you will be good, if not, could be annoying. Breakfast (8am-10am) is SO GOOD! very complete with a lot of different things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see that you made the most out of our location and that you enjoyed the breakfast so much! Being in a busy area and having a bar and a club in our building we understand that it can be a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in our reception desk, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(118 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback