X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
8167 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Kind of a crazy place being in the red light district but all in all good stay, some odd characters about but what do you expect being 20 seconds from the rld

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comment about having odd characters in the area. We consider the area very safe, but the very busy city center does attract all sorts of people. We hope you enjoyed it rather than that it has disturbed you. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60%

The hotel located very near to the Amsterdam ventral station, so it's very convnient to live here. BUT, the enviroment of both the hotel and room is terrible,. The lousy noise downstaires stayed up to about 4'o clock in the morning,and I had a really bad sleep that night. I won't choose to live here anymore…

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! It's great to see that you appreciated our location, being so close to central station. We are sorry to read that you didn't appreciate the atmosphere. We are in the Red Light District and we have a bar and a club in the building as well, so we appreciate that it can be loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which could help you sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

La ubicación es excelente. Es muy limpio y hospitalario. El hecho de que constantemente tengas medidas de seguridad para ingresar al hotel lo hace mas seguro. La comida del bar es buena y el precio es bueno. The location is excellent. It's very clean and hospitality. The fact that you have a guards in the front door and to show every time your access card it makes it safer. Also the food at the bar is good and the price is relative cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt safe. We hope to see you again next time you're in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

First time I stayed in a hostel bit was traveling alone. Had a private room which was equivalent to a budget hotel and was perfect for my 3 days there.

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

63%

Room with mattress and ensuitebathroom/toilette, always has sour smell when first get in; anyway quickly gone and the rooms seem to be cleaned up everyday which is good. Towel and shampoo/soap are given, a plus. Locker available for reasonable price. Staff friendly, Breakfast very good with fresh fruit. Bed is good, warm blanket. Not too noisy actually though have a bar next by and close to main part of Red Light District, Dam Square. A bit pricey overall. Not all St Christopher has same quality

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your positive comments, and we will take your feedback on board going forward! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

My favourite hostel in Amsterdam due to the great atmosphere here and central location. It's always possible to meet people, the communal areas are really nice with reasonably priced food and drinks and there's always something going on. Staff are really friendly and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Security at night is good. Having stayed at several hostels in Amsterdam and at this one on 3 separate occasions I would say it is consistently the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for coming back every time, and for leaving such a positive review! We hope to accommodate you again and again at our hostel! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Fast/easy to get to from Central train station. Has a bar/restaurant attached, every night the bar was full and they have drink specials for guest. Staff was very nice/helpful, bartenders know how to make a drink. Easy to walk to everything from location and is next to red light district. Recommended for those who love the night life as well as those looking to see museums/historical spots. In room we couldn't hear anything from downstairs. Rooms are basic but your just sleeping so you'll be OK

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the positive review! We hope to see you back some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

63%

The St Christopher's has a great location and is close to Dam Square, Red Light District and Central Station. The breakfast is great too. However the room I stayed smelled bad. The carpet was moldy. The bathroom was dirty and small. There is no kitchen or common area for guests. The price charged is very expensive so I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and also for your constructive criticism. It's good to see how much you appreciated our location. We're sorry that the level of cleanliness in your room was not what you would have expected from it, and we're sorry about that. We try to maintain a high standard consistently, and we're sorry that in your case it wasn't good enough. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60%

I bet this hostel if you are in a group is fantastic, good vibes and right in the centre of Amsterdam short walk from anywhere. I wouldn't come here again if i was on my own, as well as only one member of the staff actually being helpful and not glaring angrily whenever you ask a question. But if your coming for a long weekend and up for a party, come here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry that we weren't quite what you were looking for, and we appreciate your feedback. We would like to follow up on your comment in regards to our staff, so we will get in touch with you personally in order to get a bit more information. Thanks in advance for your reply! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

hotel is near red light district. close to everything. staff especially in the reception was very helpful. rooms have to be more clean. wi-fi was quite good.

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you appreciated our location and our reception staff. We're sorry that the cleanliness was not of the high standard we always try to aim for, and we will try to be even more on top of this. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

This is the second time I have stayed at the hostel. Second time was just as amazing as the first if not better. Everything about the place from the location, to the staff, to the people that stay at the hostel will definitely make it a go to place everytime I come to visit.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for all the kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Much better hostel and service than the St. Christophrer Gard du Nord in París!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are sorry to read that the experience at Gare du Nord wasn't what you expected from it. We're pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us, and hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

The room was clean, warm and the breakfast was awesome! The only negative was that it located over a club that pumps hard bass till the early morning every day of the week. If you are going to Amsterdam to party, this is a good spot, if you are going to relax you might want to look elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! It's great to see that you appreciated most aspects about our hostel. We're sorry about the noise that can be coming from the club. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89%

Very clean room and best location. Not so noisy as I supposed.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

This was my first experience staying at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised with the facility.. I was in a room (5 bed attach bath) and a common balcony.. Sheets, bathroom were clean and the room was cleaned everyday. Roommates do make a difference in how the room is kept after cleaning.. Staff super friendly, especially Ali (front desk guy). Good food, right in the middle of action, pub crawl starts there, easy to meet a lot of people and yes breakfast is great too.. Highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are pleased to read that your first experience in a hostel was such a good one, and we will pass on your compliment to Ali (after he is back from his holiday)! Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Advantages: great location (5 minute walk from the Amsterdam Central Station and 2 minute walk to Red Light District), breakfast included (with a decent spread), knowledgeable staff, great restaurant in the hostel with deals for hostel-stayers, rooms cleaned daily, free wifi that worked. Disadvantages: not that quiet (but it's Amsterdam after all...get a set of ear plugs and you're fine) and not always that cheap depending on the days you're staying (weekends vs. weekdays).

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! It's good to read about all the things you liked about your stay with us. We appreciate that our location, our bar and our club can make it a bit noisy at times, and we're sorry about that. It's good that you were fine with your ear plugs. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

The hostel has a VERY good localization (next of Amsterdam Central Station and Dam's Square), the rooms are very clean, at the hostel's street there are so many restaurants options with good prices, but the only negative point is the noise... At night is almost impossible sleep well. If you want something calm, this is not the place for you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you loved our location so much. Unfortunately the location, as well as the fact that we have a bar and a club, do bring with it that it can be loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which are suited to block out most of the noise. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great hostel! Located in the heart of the Red Light District. Great deals at the bar and restaurant. It is always buzzing with people. Free breakfast is also a great option. Nightclub attached to hostel is also a popular destination and the last stop for one of the pub crawls. Room was also pretty solid with daily cleaning service. Only negative was that my cologne was stolen by most likely the cleaners, not cool.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, your last sentence worries us, and we will take it very seriously. We will get in touch with you personally in order to find out a bit more, and to resolve this with you. Thanks in advance for your response! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Awesome Location. Staff generally pretty good. Really good bar and food. Great beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

Great location, generic big hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

(146 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback