X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
8164 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

great place, just a shame our room mates were absolute slobs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to read that you thought our hostel was a great place. Unfortunately you didn't quite have the roommates you would hope for. We hope you have better luck next time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

We absolutely loved this hostel and would stay at it again or its other branches in another location. We reserved a coed dorm but got upgraded to a private room which was awesome. As long as you go in knowing this hostel is loud and a fun place to party you'll be fine. I loved the bar downstairs even though it was loud, I mean what can you expect from the red light district. Great central location and friendly staff that helped us plan activities and guided us on a map. Free breakfast was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

the location was the best possible for Amsterdam ! facility was spotless and staff were always friendly and helpful .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Fantastic! We had a 5 bed private room and a double private. We have no complaints! It was amazing value for more. Super friendly staff. Extremely clean room (with fresh towels every day!) Locations is superb! We cannot praise this hostel and staff enough - we would definitely stay again and recommend to all our friends!!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all your positive comments! We look forward to having you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Location -> Very Good Staff -> Good Facilities -> Just OK. Lockers are bulky and outdated. Need to drag them out of below the bed everytime. Good for people looking to party. Pub is popular and is a regular of pub crawls as well. Coffesshops and red light district is nearby too. Overall, I had a decent exerience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! We will assess the situation in the room in regards to the lockers, thanks for your comment! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

77%

The hostel was more of a hotel. There were no common areas or even a kitchen, so it got quite expensive eating out. They are joined with a pretty cool bar which had fair prices for drinks. The A/C was blasting the whole time in the rooms so a few of us got sick. Location was right in the centre, two blocks from the redlight district, however it gets quite busy and loud because of that. Overall it's a decent hostel to stay for a day or two.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're glad to see that you had a decent stay overall. We do indeed not have a guest kitchen or common area. We do offer 25 % of our menu, but we can certainly appreciate that cooking yourself makes your trip even cheaper. If you liked the vibe, check out any of the Flying Pig hostels for your next stay, they are equipped with a guest kitchen. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Once again we were very happy with our stay at the hostel, we will defo b staying again on our next visit and highly recommending St Christophers to n e one who's looking for gd and cheap accomodation. Thankyou for a pleasurable and comfortable stay .

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending us to other people! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

The location is top notch, they give you a 25% discount on food and the bar has great happy hours. But I wish the hostel had activities or a separate common area to chill and mingle in. Great hostel, stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you appreciated our location and enjoyed your time in our bar. We are currently working on ideas for some more activities that can be done in order for our guests to mingle a bit more than just in our bar, so we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry we aren't quite there yet, but we will be soon. We hope to see you again some other time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Such great staff. Played pool with one of the guys that works there. Very nice rooms and s great breakfast and bar/Restraunt in the hostel. Great location right by red light district, and the canals.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to hear you had a great time with us and that you found the staff to be friendly, we will be sure to pass this on. We hope to see you again in the future! - St Christopher's at The Winston.

74%

Hostel in good location. Clean and tidy. Nice bar and smoking room. Felt a bit commercial as the bar is open to anyone. Overall good hostel with everything you need

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

When I booked the hostel, I thought it was rather expensive, but after I went there and checked in and saw my room, I was definitely satisfied. This should be called a hotel and not a hostel. Everything is so clean, no bunk beds in dorms and much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Safe and clean hostel, very convenient locker to fit 80L bags under your bed - dont forget your lock. Dont stay in room 301 if you plan on sleeping, Extremely loud from the street and bass from club downstairs not to mention the bell tower going off on the hour. Very conveniently located in the heart of amsterdam walking distance to everything.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Wanderlustloz
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see how much you appreciated our location. The location, as well as our bar and club, do make that it can be a bit loud at times, and we're sorry about that. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just help you sleep a bit easier. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

I had a fantastic stay. I would recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94%

Great location!

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

there was a bad smell in the room, we couldn't get rid of it even if we left the window open during the day

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We're very sorry to read that you experienced a lower level of cleanliness than we commit ourselves to, and we have passed on your comment to the manager of our external housekeeping company. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm everything was as I expected it, beds clean and changed each day. Would recommend this hostel to any body.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words and your recommendation! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97%

Really well situated and the best breakfast we had!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you appreciated our location and that you enjoyed our breakfast so much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

Excellent hostel, relaxed and friendly atmosphere and staff. Funky rooms, amazing artwork , clean and in a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all your kind words! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

The staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean. The breakfast wasn't the greatest because it was very limited in options. The location was very good!! Very close to the train and right next to restaurants, bars and shops.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! It's good to see that you appreciated our staff, our cleanliness and our location. Our breakfast consists of 3 types of cereal, 3 types of bread, ham, salami, cheese, several types of spreads, coffee, tea, 2 juices, milk, yoghurt, soy milk, cucumber and tomatoes. We are always open to feedback, so would be interested to know what else you would've liked for breakfast. Please feel free to get in touch! Thanks again for your review. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

A great hostel with really comfy beds and a cool atmosphere. It's pretty expensive for what you get but its in a really central location and the beds are super comfy and clean. There's no common area or kitchen - just a bar which is a bit annoying, but as a solo traveller I still met people and had a really good time here :) one downside is that the shower in our room flooded the whole bathroom floor and seeped out onto the carpet of our room :/ other than that though I had an awesome stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We were informed about the shower in your room, and got it fixed very shortly after your check-out. Thanks for letting us know though, it's very helpful to be informed about these things that we don't always see ourselves. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

(150 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback