X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
7434 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This hostel was in a great location (the only downside is if you are trying to sleep, sometimes it is loud outside), really close to attractions and in the middle of everything. Our room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable and clean for the most part - I should add though that I found blood on my blanket that was not mine... Other than that, I had a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's great to see that you made the most out of our central and lively location. We are concerned to read that you found blood on your blanket. We hope this got there after we cleaned the bed, but if you think it didn't we sincerely apologize for that! Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you'll stay with us again! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

71%

Well done overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

77%

Party hostel. There is no ac in the rooms which makes it get very hot in the summer. Shower was very poor. Not overall a fun place to stay if you are looking to come to Amsterdam. Many of the pub crawls come to the bar so it's a pretty fun enviornment

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed the fun environment. We are sorry that you didn't quite appreciate all of our facilities. We will assess the situation in the room you stayed in. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Great location, facilities, atmosphere and great staff! Shout out to Kieth, sound as a pound! I felt very welcome. Would recommend you have drinks in the bar and mingle before hit the town. Rooms were very clean and spacious. I did not experience any claustrophobia. Best hostel location in Amsterdam I have visited. Would recommend St Christopher's at The Winston to anyone looking to have the "Amsterdam experience". You will not be disappointed. Also the great breakfast is a nice touch too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for all the kind words! We hope you'll stay with us again. - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

89%

This place was pretty great in retrospect. There were things I didn't care for while I was there like being woken up by your neighbors being loud on the balcony (the balcony is shared among the floor and each room has a door out to it). I ended up switching hostels and immediately regretted it. This place was actually pretty decent. It was in a prime location for anything you'd likely be seeing in Amsterdam and the place was pretty good. Would go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your very honest review! Your words are even more valuable for our future guests, since you tried more than one hostel in Amsterdam. Please note that we offer free ear plugs in reception, which might just help you with sleeping in an hour or two more. Thanks again for your comments! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

Stayed in a private room with ensuite. Clean room, lots of space. Location is great can't be beaten really. It is a little bit of a hike from the main station if you are carrying your pack so plan ahead and make sure you know the best route. Great bar (and great food) downstairs. And fabulous staff who will take care of you (thanks for mailing my postcards!) Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see all your positive comments. If you know the best route it's only 5 or 10 minutes walk, We hope you didn't make too much of a detour. We hope you'll stay with us again, next time you know where to go. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

100%

My only advice would be to book a mixed dorm, the female only is in a separate building and isn't as nice as the main hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, and for your advice to our future guests! We appreciate your comment about the different type of rooms. We would just like to add that our female dorms hold only single beds, no bunk beds. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're around! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

94%

Cool hostel in an awesome location. If you want peace and quiet this is not your option, but if you come to party give it a go. I would definitely recommend the hostel to add some basic simple necessities though, like hooks in the bathrooms or a couple of shelves. I had to figure out where to put my clothes when I was taking a shower. It's not like it's anything costly, so c'mon guys.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! It's great to see that you valued our location so much! We appreciate your comment about the hooks in the bathroom, and will be sure to ask our maintenance boys to assess the situation in all our rooms in regard to the places to hang clothes as soon as possible. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » last »
(128 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback