X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's at The Winston Reviews

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
8164 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Had a great stay even though it was just for one night it was comfy and in a great place the only down fall was group of drunk boys outside our door but the bloke who worked there told them to be quiet and they did. I also think maybe have a later check out time maybe 12 as if you've had a heavy night before then atleast you have more hours to sleep it off to enjoy the rest of the next day. Will defiantly stay here again

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, be it for one night, and that you'll definitely stay with us again. We're sorry you had some loud boys next door to you, but it's good to see that our staff reacted appropriately. We're afraid we can't go with a later check-out time, as the time-frame between check-out and check-in is already narrow as it is. We will take your comment on board though. Thanks for all your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86%

Excellent, very fun and well located. Too pricey because of the summer season. The staff could be more helpfull and proactive, willing to help you plan your acivities.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! It's good to see that you enjoyed yourself with us and that you appreciated our location. We're sorry to read that you thought we were a bit pricey. Amsterdam does have very high operation costs, much higher than other big cities in Europe, but we will certainly take your comment on board going forward. We will also gather with the staff in order to improve our pro-activeness a bit more. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

The rooms are really retro and nice and the location is pretty sweet, as you are literally basically close to everything However, I was quite upset, as I had paid for the extra breakfast before my stay, and when I had went to the counter to ask about it the next day, I was not given my coupons,and they told me I couldn't get my tokens because I didnt tell them about it in the beginning.... which was really annoying, as I basically wasted 7.5*2 Euros on nothing. T

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're really sorry to hear about something that must have been a miscommunication. We're going to get in touch with you personally to find out a bit more about the situation, and to resolve this with you. Let it be clear that you should have gotten the vouchers upon check-in, but when that was forgotten by us you should have gotten them the next day. Please expect a personal e-mail from us today. - St. Christopher's at The Winston

69%

The fact that they allow anyone to enter the bar area makes the hostel very commercial. Other hostels have a more exclusive setting. With random people entering the lounge/bar area its difficult to interact with other people living in the hostel - which is pretty much what hostels are about.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Part of the reason for us to have an open bar is to cater for interaction between Dutch people, expats and hostel guests. If you'd like to have a bar that's exclusive for the hostel guests we would highly recommend staying at one of the Flying Pig Hostels. They have a bar that's closed to the public, and have the same high standards on other aspects. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

Great atmosphere and location. Has everything I wanted in hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

91%

This place was wicked. Highly recommend it. I stayed three days and did not have anything to complain about! It is in top of a club. So you can down down stairs and drink or you can chill in your room! I will be staying there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to see that you had such a good time with us! We'll look forward to having you again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80%

Stayed in a private twin room. En-suite was super small, but hey it was our own bathroom. Still, smelt a bit of damp/mould, and shower tray didn't drain particularly well so halfway through shower you were standing in a bath full of water. Room was ok, but very dated and in need of a paint & modernisation. Staff were fine, and bar staff were chatty and helpful. Breakfast was ok too and plenty on offer. Location is great if you want to be right in the heard of red-light district.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. As soon as we read your review we asked our maintenance guys to take a look at the drain, and it's running through nicely again now. We will go through the room with your assessment to see what needs paint or modernisation. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great location right in the middle of everything, first time in Amsterdam, excellent time, the toilet in the room was noisy filling up alot of the time.Apart from that decent value for money place to stay.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! It's good to see that you had an excellent time in Amsterdam, and that we were able to cater to that. We'll have a look at the toilet to see if there's any way to make it less noisy for the guests in the room. Thanks again, we hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100%

It's pretty much a hotel. Super comfortable, everyone is very nice. You get accommodations at the pub its attached to which is great. Perfect location. In the heart of everything. Overall amazing experience. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83%

Great hostel, not bad value for money considering it is Amsterdam! Great location, not far from the train station at all. We walked everywhere because the city is so lovely and nothing is too far away so there is no need for public transport really either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We're happy to read you had a good time in Amsterdam and we could cater to that! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next » last »
(150 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback