Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St. Clair Hotel-Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
6.0

You get what you pay for, only stayed 1 night. We had a private 2 twin bed room - the bunk bed had loose screws that we tried to fix since the front desk closes at 6pm & we checked in at 7pm and no one was around for us to get any assistance. Didn't help much. The noise being downtown is also awful - but that's what we get for staying downtown, even wearing ear plugs for sleeping. The building is incredibly old so noise also travels - so you could hear everyone in the morning in the hall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Comfortable, clean and good location. Will definitely come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
3.4

Very unhappy with service three of us put in a pokey room and when the said tea and coffee and breakfast it was literally a kettle outside your door. Probably the worst hostel I have stayed and I would not recommend anybody to stay there. Didn't even have a kitchen or anything. Choose any other hostel in vancouver is my advice to anybody thinking of staying here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
6.9

great staff, nautical theme fine no kitchens to cook meals had miro wave ovens but no stoves , had kitchenettes ! and meals are expensive in vancouver heritage building dont know what they can do with it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Decent hostel if you just want a quiet couple of nights in Vancouver. Nothing exciting going on and reception closes at 5pm! They have a system with the front door key locked in a safe so you can get in after hours, but I couldn't help thinking someone would only need to see you enter the code to be able to get in. Some of the rooms are just off the communal toilets or kitchen, which I would assume is very annoying. We stayed in a double room. Free muffin and coffee in the morning. Clean enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
8.0

I was pleased with my stay at St.Clair Hostel. It was a quiet atmosphere with friendly staff. The amenities were limited, with only a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle on each floor. No stove top. There were only 2 toilets and showers on each floor, which was fine for my duration. Showers were large and clean. Breakfast consisted of coffee and english muffins served after 830, which to me seemed late for any early risers/travellers. Overall happy with the price, location and security.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
10.0

The location is awesome! Parking was a bit tough to figure out, so pay attention to the EasyPark location, it's lot 9, there are many other ones there. For Americans, you can't use your Visa Debit card in the kiosk for EasyPark and we couldn't get the Paypal Pay to work so I recommend bringing a credit card. Parking was expensive, so budget for that. There is a vegan cafe a block away, awesome old book store, great looking Ramen place and few cafes. Super easy walk to the water front!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.7

I was only here for one night but it was a great place to stay. A well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area, comfortable bed and the staff were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.9

The place is very good!!! Near a station, And room,bathroom,staff are well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Great private room stay with 2 kids ages 12& 8 on New Years! Very helpful staff. Great room and value. Internet was awesome for streaming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.