Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St. Clair Hotel-Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
6.9

The bed sheets smelt strongly like cigarettes and the duvets appeared unwashed. There was lots of noise outside at night time including construction, and people having fights on the streets. Aside from that it was perfectly reasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • petitesyrah232980
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Nice and quiet for a good night's sleep, very clean, very friendly and genuine staff, and a unique, comfortable atmosphere, with classic wood floors, nice visiting rooms, and great coffee in the morning. Lovely stay! Thank you! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.0

Solid place in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Unfortunately there is not much of a social scene or atmosphere with no bar or restaurant attached to the hostel. However there is plenty to do in VANCITY.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.0

The beds were comfortable but otherwise it was hard to sleep with no AC in the July weather. There was also a lot of noise from the bars at night. The location was absolutely perfect and the staff were nice, but the bathroom and laundry area felt cramped. Not a lot of people talked to each other unless you made an effort to meet people in the small common room. Overall good for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
4.6

The room was very small and much too hot, not up to standard. Staff only did what was necessary and nothing more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.3

The Location could not be better. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our Late Check-in was super handled. They have a lot of booklets prepared: Top Sightseeing, Hot sheet, night Clubs and more. Always with Information about how you get there from the hostel location. We really enjoyed the Hostel beside their Kirchen. They only have a microwave, Heater and a fridge, which would have been ok if it at least would have been clean. And there was a mouse in our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
5.4

If you like a very quiet old hostel, away from the main strip, where no activities are being held and you don't have a large hang out room to meet people in and you don't have any electrical plug sockets near your bed to charge your phone over night, then this is the place for you! For me it was far to quiet & so I checked out after a night & back into Samesun on Granville street where although I'm paying a bit more, I'm having a blast and meeting a ton of cool people!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel was very quaint and my friend and I got our own room, which was nice but also a lot more expensive than we were planning on spending. There were a few nice common areas on each floor with sitting areas and kitchens, so it was easy to meet a few people, but it was overall pretty quiet. The location was nice; right in the middle of a few different fun areas to explore. Definitely made out experience very enjoyable!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
7.7

It was fine....although my room smelt like someone had pissed in the corner :/ didn't have any issues with full bathrooms or anything. Receptionist was very sweet :) it's not in a great neighbourhood though. There's a homeless (aka drug addicts) shelter just across the street and the second the sun starts going down, they come out en masse. I was a female travelling alone so didn't like that, but maybe with a companion it wouldn't have been so intimidating. I felt I couldn't stay out after dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2017
6.0

Ok hostel in downtown Vancouver. Not much atmostphere though and facilities were lacking. Bathrooms were not the nicest and bunk beds were very noisy. Minimal cooking facilities and common areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.