Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St. Clair Hotel-Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
8.6

Our first hostel experience - enjoyed meeting the young travellers and the heritage building atmosphere. For downtown Vancouver accommodations you cannot beat it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
7.7

Fridges and microwaves need cleaning. Would add some hot plates to cook/boil food. Other than that really nice hostel/hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
8.9

The place has a great location, near by many restaurants, schools and sightseeing spots. Aidam works at the reception and is an awesome professional and also really friendly! If you have any questions about Van or need help with anything he is the guy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
8.3

Overall very well situated (just outside main downtown area) and affordable. The rooms were small but adequate. The shared facilities were clean enough and didn’t cause any concern. The shared kitchenette was tight and cramped but works out. In all it’s worth a stay for a night or two and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2017
9.1

I actually loved this hostel! The staff were so so friendly and even printed off several bus tickets for me for free :) the location is amazing, literally couldn't be better! Yeah it's not the most modern hostel so it's quite old fashioned with the decor and everything like that but the building is over 100 years old so it can't be helped. Not sure why there's been negative reviews here the staff were amazing and although it's a little basic the location and price make up for it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
5.7

Though the building was interesting and historical, it's clearly very old and run down. We stayed on the third floor in the summer where there was no air conditioning and horrible ventilation. It was incredibly hot in our room. There is a fabulous ramen place down the road, but the park right across the street was obviously run down and did not contribute to the overall atmosphere. The showers, thankfully, functioned well, but they were less clean than other showers I have seen in hostels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
7.4

+) A building with more than 100 years history so no elevator. I need to climb up stairs with my two pieces of heavy luggage but the people and staff here were so helpful. But of course, it's YOUR responsibility to take care of you own luggage. +) The staff who made the notice board was so funny. +) Reasonable price. +) Close to many famous attractions. Close to the train (Canada Line). -) Water after boiling tasted bad. You might want to buy your own water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2017
7.7

Nice to have 3 people in a room so it wasn't too crowded. However one of the showers didn't work for the entire one i was there and it never got fixed so the entire floor of people were left sharing one shower. The main issue with this hostel is that there is no atmosphere. I think the people who I have met have been very friendly and willing to socialise but there just isn't much space to do that. I think the hostel could improve on that. Otherwise everything else was great especially location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
26th Aug 2017
5.4

The only great thing of this place is the location. The building is extremely old, there are not enough plugs in the bedrooms. There are no common areas so there's no atmosphere at all, no kitchen. Sometimes common areas were a bit dirty. Would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2017
5.1

Thank God for the amazing location of this hostel. There is no real common area to meet people and there is no kitchen (just a small overfilled bar fridge and toaster). The sink for the bathroom is the same sink as where you must clean your dishes and it's in the laundry room. The antiseptic dispenser outside the bathroom was empty for all 3 days I was there. Coffee was ready at 9am (late?). Staff misinformed me about several things (new staff?). Hard working laundry woman means poor management.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×