X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Enoch Hotel Reviews

42/44 Howard Street, Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
757 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

brilliant stay great time

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

No kitchen, no common room, not very clean, but really good location.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

you get what you pay for. really cheap so we stayed two nights. pretty grim. definitely not the cleanest place. very old & no room to hang. no lobby area & no kitchen. good location tho & fast wifi + you get a discount at pub next door.


43%

Crazy mid 40's scotish guy drinking inside the room till 2 am. That would be fine if the guy wasn't screaming and drawing on the walls and listening to loud music and using empty cans as a drum. He is chef to, so he was with a bag full of knifes on the floor, "playing" with them to. Me and my girlfriend where scared as hell. A true nightmare. The worst night in my life, my security was in danger. Very old bunk begs and the mattresses needed a change years ago. The location was great, but don't!

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

As far as value for money and location are concerned, St Enoch Hotel is perfect, and therefore comes highly recommended for anyone who is in Glasgow for a short period. When I stayed at the hotel, the booking also came with a 15% discount on food and drink at Hootenanys, the already-cheap pub next door, who do a delicious Lasagna and fried bread. One way they could improve is by replacing the wobbly metal bunk beds with more sturdy wooden ones (the bed moved whenever the person above did.)


71%

Quite a bit of mildew in the bathroom (visual and scent)

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was a gem when I really didn't expect it to be. The fact that its a hotel means you get a TV in room, free towel/shampoo. Beyond that however, in our room was a drunk scottish guy telling us about how much he liked vodka and hated his wife. This guy provided us with endless entertainment, so much so that I had to record some of the stuff he was saying it was so funny. Whoever that man is, he should really consider a career as a comedian. Solid 10/10, would definitely stay again.


54%

The value for this hostel is good, but the room I stayed in was dirty and messy. The bathrooms did not look like they have been cleaned in a long time, and the mattress was basically springs and nothing else. The location was ideal but do not expect to get a good night's sleep here,


69%

I did not expect miracles for 8 pounds a night but if I had not been exhausted I would have complained about a lot. Reception desk guy was very friendly and helpful, but the hostel itself is in a very old and degraded building. The carpets clearly have not been cleaned for a very long time. The light in the bathroom did not work. Mold, humidity, dust and spider webs everywhere. If you're only staying one night, you'll be fine, but pick a different place if you can.


71%

Just going to list the issues we had next but bare in mind, we picked this accommodation because it was the cheapest at the time. Bed was broken, shower wouldn't work properly, noise from around was terrible door was not secure enough for safety or sound! Ceiling was unsafe, floor was crooked, only 3 sockets in room and the smell from the takeaway will stay with you forever.


71%

Old building but very the rooms were very clean, inclusing sheets and towels, the location is perfect in front of a tube in the middle of glasgow.


51%

I chose to stay here because of the central location. But it is actually a hotel (not hostel) which means there are no shared facilities such as a kitchen or lounge area. There weren't even any chairs/couches in the lobby. It wasn't clean - the bathroom was one of the worst I have ever seen. You could see and smell the mould. No lockers in the rooms. Beds are comfortable but extremely noisy so every time someone turns over, you wake up. Would only recommend if you just need a place for 1 night.


40%

Terribly dirty and falling apart. Although it was cheap I still expect basic cleanliness when staying somewhere.


60%

No warm water the first of two days, no lobby or anywhere to sit, despite very rigid check-in times, loud doors and beds, and no bedside lights, making it impossible to use facilities without waking up the strangers you share with, hardly any power outlets, very little space for luggage in the rooms. Very friendly staff, fairly comfortable beds, perfect location

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good central location. The corridor smelt of cigarette smoke but the room itself was fine! Working TV and kettle were useful to have. Room was well cleaned. Overall great value for money!


86%

Reasonable price and very good location ,but a little noisy at night until 2am.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Cheap Hostel in a good location. However, beds were uncomfortable, some of the staff was unhelpful and rude, there were no lockers. You can only expect so much wheb paying £9 for a night in Glasgow, but I would not go back.


83%

recommended for everyone who travel together/in group to glasgow.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Good location of hotel and good staff, very helpful. Despite the customer service, room was not clean and also towels were dirty.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Lovely Staff! Very polite and attentive. The hostel itself looks like an old bunker. But well maintained. Very good velue for money, there even is a small coffee/tea making facility within the room with crackers. Cleanliness was good actually. The hostel is not suited in a noisy environment, so you'll get a good nights sleep. I definitely recommend this location!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Glasgow Hotels

Please give us your feedback