Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Kilda Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.7
St Kilda Hostel Located at 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne.
St Kilda Hostel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda
64% 1033
-37.8670572 144.9820075
St Kilda Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
4.9

Hostel was dirty and very disorganized. I understand hostels are usually home to a rambunctious group of travelling young adults but there was constant noise throughout the entire night. Signs were up asking for quiet after 11pm but they were clearly not enforced. Also, would not feel comfortable leaving my luggage, etc in the dorm if I went out for a day trip into the city. All in all, not worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
6.3

This is the kind of place that's cheap enough to attract transient people to live, while they're waiting to find somewhere more permanent. A travellers/workers mix. The atmosphere could range from nerve-wracking to amazing depending on your social inclinations. Young and sociable? You'll have fun. Cleanliness is acceptable. Facilities are poor with a cap on Wi-Fi usage, which is very slow and regularly needs to be reconnected to. Showers may at times go cold. Location's great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
2.0

This hostel was nothing like the reviews. Hostel was always dirty and full of garbage. The facilities were dirty and the kitchen was not clean and there were only 3 plates for the whole kitchen. Quiet time was non existence, people blasting music till 3 am and running banging on doors. The managers and staff did nothing to stop this behaviour. Overall a terrible experience and would recommend anyone thinking about staying to find somewhere else to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • a_bertossi1351
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
18th Oct 2016
5.7

St Kilda Hostel seems to be a hostel where people live there long term - a type of hostel which I've stayed at before, but never to such an unsavoury degree. We had a difficult time discerning which dorm beds were ours because there were people's belongings everywhere, dirty plates on the 'empty beds,' a missing pillow, etc. That being said, free parking in the city centre and a dirt cheap price for a bed to rest your head are what this place offers, and for one night it could be worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
7.1

My stay here was a times excellent and others horrendous. Some staff were brilliant and the odd one was unreasonable. Overall, I'd say it's ok. The showers would occasionally go cold, the wifi cut out several times. The free BBQ on a Sunday created a great atmosphere. The hostel is fine just maybe a bit overpriced for what you actually get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Oct 2016
4.6

Our room smelled like someone pissed in there or just spilled a lot of beer. The facilities are not something to be excited about, but the people we've met there were great.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Regarding this review the customer did come to see me personally michael the manager regarding the situation and i organized toget the problem solved

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Sep 2016
2.0

Felt really unsafed, uncomfortable and no security at all! Plus only one toilet for over 20 people and you always have to wait in line for getting to the toilet. We really never recommend to anyone!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we got shower and toilet en-suit on each room,and maxmuim people room we have is 12 people room, i dont know where you stay in 20 beds dorm room, sorry, you cant lie to others

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
6.9

Average hostel, not terrible not amazing. Most staff were pleasant enough, hostel was kept clean. However, some things are not advertised correctly - wifi is limited daily usage and parking spaces are limited, less than 10 onsite. Atmosphere also seemed to change daily with long term residents being very social one night and unsocial the next.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
8.6

Awesome people awesome hostel. Standard hostel with everything you need as a backpacker. Good vides great location. Room 10 kicks ass! 👌🙈👌

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

The staff were very friendly. Although my fiend and I only spent one night there, we met a fun group of people . The atmosphere was great; like one big, happy family! The location to beach, Luna Park and the City is excellent. The public transport system is very convenient. Big kitchen and eating area. Cheap washing machine and drier. Free breakfast and wifi , car parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.