Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Kilda Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1,017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1,017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 6.2
St Kilda Hostel Located at 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne.
St Kilda Hostel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda
64% 1017
-37.8670572 144.9820075
St Kilda Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

The staff were very friendly. Although my fiend and I only spent one night there, we met a fun group of people . The atmosphere was great; like one big, happy family! The location to beach, Luna Park and the City is excellent. The public transport system is very convenient. Big kitchen and eating area. Cheap washing machine and drier. Free breakfast and wifi , car parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.9

hi guys after staying at st kilda hostel was very happy especially travelling from overseas only staying in melbourne for a short time forgot to pre book a room found this hostel at last minute was very pleased with reception i think hes name was milorad he was very polite and explained everything in detail especially when my english was not the best so explained everything to me in his lanuage it worked that he is serbian like me it made me feel very comfortable i will be returning to melb

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
9.4

Well after traveling a long trip from overseas booked last minute was very happy with everything at st kilda hostel my room was clean staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was perfect I will be coming back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.0

Great potential but needs some serious work. The staff and the people staying here make it a great hostel but the cleanliness and facilities are pretty run down. A good clean and a bit of a paint would make the place a lot better. Sad to see a good place so run down. Excellent location with a short walk to the beach. Absolutely no security, when I was there backpackers had money and iPads stolen. Bedroom doors constantly left open and many windows and doors are broken so won't open/close.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice place, friendly staff, good location. Will stay again if I have a chance to be back to Australia

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2016
4.3

Bedding was dirty and the bed was unmade. Reception discussed with the cleaner confirming it was still to do. We went out and left our luggage hoping that it would be sorted for when we get back. This was not the case, the bed was stripped single sheets (bed is a double) were folded at the bottom of the bed ready for us to make. I went to reception to express frustrations in having to make the bed and not having the right sheets. Receptionist was lacking customer service skills and we left.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
4.0

only recommend for long- stay backpacker who cannot afford a more expensive hostel. especially the bathroom facilities are really bad, partly broken and dirty. the room i stayed in was not clean at all and next to my bed some food rest stuck to the wall. I ended up changing the hostel and moved into the inner city of melbourne.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Would definitely stay here again! Amazing location, friendly staff and the beds are pretty comfy. The owner seem to really make all the efforts to pleasing everyone who visits the hostel,free breakfast 24/7 friendly staff ,very affordable price to stay in St Kilda .good on you guys ,keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.9

well what can i say after travelling a long trip from sydney to melbourne found st kilda hostel through hostel world very easy at so short notice was very happy with our stay will recommend to come back again and again for sure thank you st kilda hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2016
4.0

filthy dirty, no staff, like a juvenile delinquent centre

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.