Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Kilda Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1,044 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1,044 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.2
St Kilda Hostel Located at 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne.
St Kilda Hostel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda
58% 1044
-37.8670572 144.9820075
St Kilda Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
5.1

Poor facilities, no communal area. People out drinking and making noise on balcony all night long at the weekends so could not sleep

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

The hostel was located at the center of st kilda and it was super convenient for food and shopping. Bathrooms and public areas were clean, nice people stay there ! recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

The location is absolutely amazing. lovely lounge and TV area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Nov 2016
2.9

this is the dirtiest and noisiest hostel - the bathroom light didint work - and it was never replaced - toilet paper was never checked and frequently ran out - the shower wasnt cleaned in the 2 weeks i was there - at one point the room wasnt cleaned for 4 days

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
4.9

Hostel was dirty and very disorganized. I understand hostels are usually home to a rambunctious group of travelling young adults but there was constant noise throughout the entire night. Signs were up asking for quiet after 11pm but they were clearly not enforced. Also, would not feel comfortable leaving my luggage, etc in the dorm if I went out for a day trip into the city. All in all, not worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
6.3

This is the kind of place that's cheap enough to attract transient people to live, while they're waiting to find somewhere more permanent. A travellers/workers mix. The atmosphere could range from nerve-wracking to amazing depending on your social inclinations. Young and sociable? You'll have fun. Cleanliness is acceptable. Facilities are poor with a cap on Wi-Fi usage, which is very slow and regularly needs to be reconnected to. Showers may at times go cold. Location's great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
2.0

This hostel was nothing like the reviews. Hostel was always dirty and full of garbage. The facilities were dirty and the kitchen was not clean and there were only 3 plates for the whole kitchen. Quiet time was non existence, people blasting music till 3 am and running banging on doors. The managers and staff did nothing to stop this behaviour. Overall a terrible experience and would recommend anyone thinking about staying to find somewhere else to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • a_bertossi1351
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
18th Oct 2016
5.7

St Kilda Hostel seems to be a hostel where people live there long term - a type of hostel which I've stayed at before, but never to such an unsavoury degree. We had a difficult time discerning which dorm beds were ours because there were people's belongings everywhere, dirty plates on the 'empty beds,' a missing pillow, etc. That being said, free parking in the city centre and a dirt cheap price for a bed to rest your head are what this place offers, and for one night it could be worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
7.1

My stay here was a times excellent and others horrendous. Some staff were brilliant and the odd one was unreasonable. Overall, I'd say it's ok. The showers would occasionally go cold, the wifi cut out several times. The free BBQ on a Sunday created a great atmosphere. The hostel is fine just maybe a bit overpriced for what you actually get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Oct 2016
4.6

Our room smelled like someone pissed in there or just spilled a lot of beer. The facilities are not something to be excited about, but the people we've met there were great.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Regarding this review the customer did come to see me personally michael the manager regarding the situation and i organized toget the problem solved

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.