Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Kilda Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1,014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1,014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.5
St Kilda Hostel Located at 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne.
St Kilda Hostel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda
58% 1014
-37.8670572 144.9820075
St Kilda Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.0

Great potential but needs some serious work. The staff and the people staying here make it a great hostel but the cleanliness and facilities are pretty run down. A good clean and a bit of a paint would make the place a lot better. Sad to see a good place so run down. Excellent location with a short walk to the beach. Absolutely no security, when I was there backpackers had money and iPads stolen. Bedroom doors constantly left open and many windows and doors are broken so won't open/close.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice place, friendly staff, good location. Will stay again if I have a chance to be back to Australia

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2016
4.3

Bedding was dirty and the bed was unmade. Reception discussed with the cleaner confirming it was still to do. We went out and left our luggage hoping that it would be sorted for when we get back. This was not the case, the bed was stripped single sheets (bed is a double) were folded at the bottom of the bed ready for us to make. I went to reception to express frustrations in having to make the bed and not having the right sheets. Receptionist was lacking customer service skills and we left.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
4.0

only recommend for long- stay backpacker who cannot afford a more expensive hostel. especially the bathroom facilities are really bad, partly broken and dirty. the room i stayed in was not clean at all and next to my bed some food rest stuck to the wall. I ended up changing the hostel and moved into the inner city of melbourne.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Would definitely stay here again! Amazing location, friendly staff and the beds are pretty comfy. The owner seem to really make all the efforts to pleasing everyone who visits the hostel,free breakfast 24/7 friendly staff ,very affordable price to stay in St Kilda .good on you guys ,keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.9

well what can i say after travelling a long trip from sydney to melbourne found st kilda hostel through hostel world very easy at so short notice was very happy with our stay will recommend to come back again and again for sure thank you st kilda hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2016
4.0

filthy dirty, no staff, like a juvenile delinquent centre

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
3.7

Worst backpackers ever!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
5.1

I booked a 5 bed dorm but was 'upgraded' to a 10 bed dorm which hadn't been cleaned for a while. They also thought I was staying for a week when I had booked one night so I think the paper based booking system needs improving

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2016
10.0

Michael hope you love Leeds now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.