Hostelworld.com

St. Vincent's Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.5
St. Vincent's Guesthouse Located at 1507 Magazine St, , New Orleans.
St. Vincent's Guesthouse
USA
New Orleans LA LA, 70130 1507 Magazine St
62% 1028
29.9341900 -90.0725320
St. Vincent's Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.0

Staff were friendly and the location is good with a 30 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter. The building itself is unique and has character, however it could do with a deep clean as there was a general grubbiness to the place. The living room area was nice and the courtyard was pretty. If I was the property, I wouldn't advertise the kitchen as it was barely that - the only usable feature was a microwave and there was no cutlery or plates. Could be really nice - just needs some TLC

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Apr 2016
6.3

First time staying in a hostel in the US. I liked it, but the rating is lower since I have European hostel standards in mind. The staff was amazing!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
5.4

Staff people were very kind, but there is an asian lady who was very rude and doesn't give you any help. The building is old and it has an interesting history, unfortunately it wasn´t well preserved, it´s a shame. There are not cleaning service in the rooms at all. All the furniture inside the rooms are old and/or broken.. The location is perfect !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2016
5.1

The vent in our room was broken and it was not possible to open the windows. Also the kitchen was very dirty and there were absolutely no pots, pans, tools, flatware or cutlery. What a disappointment! They also charge for Wifi $5 per day and device. This place just has no good atmosphere at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
7.4

Cleanliness - This was a big factor. The bathrooms were not functioning very well. On the last day the flush would not work. Also, another day, I had to take a shower in a different dorm as my shower was not functioning. Otherwise, the stay was comfortable and was good value for money. With minimal changes, they can do a great job!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2016
3.1

Do yourself a favour and pay the extra money for a nice place. This was filthy. The bathroom was like a crime scene. No idea when that was last cleaned. I felt like i was walking into a hospital ward when entering the bedroom. Booked for 3 nights and managed 2. Location was ok but no atmosphere in the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2016
6.3

Too old rooms. Great backyard. It does not have the typical atmosphere in a hostel. It is more alike to a hotel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2016
8.3

The staff were amazing and always willing to help!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2016
6.0

Besides the clean of the room made by a nice housekeeper(Kathy) and the nice garden,there s nothing worth to stay in this hostel.Awful and dirty kitchen with nothing,no breakfast, too cold everwhere, corridors and common rooms.All the gates and doors are open,we only have the security of our room key.i don t recommend it....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
2.9

There nothing really good to say about this place. Rooms are super cold (they have no heater), hostel super dirty, staff super weird and not very kind. If you are looking for a simple place, oh for shower and bed... Believe... It's till not the place. They are not ready to be an hostel! Just terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.