Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus Reviews
Reviews & Ratings Explained
The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.
All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »
The hostel had a great view, but it was was difficult to find and quite a walk up a lot of steps. I didn't expect much for €20 a night, but the building didn't have a social room or any facilities etc. It was just a room for the night above a very busy restaurant, which meant you could smell the food from the kitchen constantly. Breakfast was simple but nice that it was included. Its fine for the price, but I wouldn't pay more.
The place can be accessed relatively easily via the lift in the Modern Museum. But if you plan on reaching the hostel out-of-hours when the museum is closed, you might have a bit more trouble making the trek up in the dark. Otherwise, location was brilliant with a great view, breakfast included was good.
This hostel isn't a "real hostel" it's more of just a bed above a restaurant so do not have high expectations if you're just looking for a bed then it's perfect. Also not accessible with your suit case, a taxi is required as there are many stairs to climb, although the view is great!
Hide older reviews
if you don't expect a lot, you will get more from this hostel. there's no kitchen or common area, but with 19 euros you get to stay in a 6-bed room and enjoy the breakfast (included) with a hilltop view, man, what more can you complain! we did enjoy our stay here. the staff may not speak much english, and the interaction is minimum, but well, enjoy yourself in the surrounding of this hostel. it's a nice place to spend few nights, and the cheapest we could find in town with breakfast!
- Novice Nomad
- Male, 31-40
- (1 review)
I was treated to a beautiful sunset over the alps! However, night I got there, I arrived at the pre-arranged time (7pm) but no-one was there! I had to book another hostel for that night and had to pay Natursfrundhus as well. What with running the restaurant during the day and dealing with new guests, they definitely need to get another person to help out. That said, they were very friendly and accomodating.
The rooms are pretty small but the view is really really great. Make sure to bring a copy of your booking. I'm not so sure if you get a bed without it. When I arrived at the Stadtalm, there was no booking with my name. In my case the reception replaced two of the names in their list with my name. I don't hope two guests lost their beds this way... best access to the Stadtalm: stairs (start from 47.797520, 13.042604) or elevator (47.800870, 13.038787)
- Novice Nomad
- Male, 25-30
- (1 review)
Amazing location overlooking the town of Salzburg and in the old tower along the wall. A bit of a trek to get there though. Don't expect a cozy common room and kitchen, it's just a place to sleep really and the staff are busy with the restaurant.
Beautiful view centrally located. BUT on top of a hill that is a 20min hike through the woods. No real staff to great you. More of a restaurant with rooms upstairs. Guy in my room was biking across Europe and had his locked bike stolen.
The view from windows is truly marvellous, pretty much the only thing good there. Facilities are limited to toilet and bathroom that lacks some privacy. The breakfast was very poor, particularly for a place that mainly serves as a restaurant. Getting up there was not such a hassle, at least if one comes from the old town up the stairs. Our Hostelworld downpayment was not taken into account by a waitress lacking the knowledge of English.
This is not really a hostel, just a restaurant with some rooms. No Wi-Fi, kitchen, common room or reception. I did not meet any people here.The view is nice though and the walk there is beautiful, but way too hard if you have luggage with you so you have to pay 5e in public transport to get there. The Staff is quite busy serving the "paying customers" in the restaurant, I had to wait for like 15 min for them to answer my questions. They did not offer any city info. Would not stay here again :)
staff had a very freindly. And view is so great.
The location is phenomenal. Everything else was disappointing. No lockers for our luggage, extremely tiny rooms, and terrible breakfast. Too bad, because with the location is could be a fantastic hostel. I guess you get what you pay for.
It would be better to have wifi in the hostel! That is the only demerit of yours.
Thank you for the great time we had and the information we received from you. You have such an awesome location :)
The hostel is on top of a hill so it has a gorgeous view. The facilities are from the 13th century adding a nice historic charm. It was a little difficult to find. It would also help to have some knowledge of German as the staff spoke little English.
The view is fantastic. You can see all of Salzburg from on top of the mountain. It took us a while to find the hostel (signage could have been better) however once we knew the location, the walk to/from the city isn't that bad, As long as you are prepared (25-30 minutes from the station). the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was simple, tasty, filling. We checked in around noon, during lunch, so the woman checking us in seemed a little rude. Great value though if you're willing to walk.
- Novice Nomad
- Couple, 18-24
- (1 review)
The directions were hard to follow and during my stay all of the guests that appeared had the same story - we all got lost in the forest trying to find the hostel. Perhaps put up more signs, given that it is a lot of trails and trees, asking people is not always an option. Also, it was very scary that there appeared to be no staff with us up on that cliff and people kept appearing from the forest lost and afraid in the middle of the night. However, the view from the cliff was indeed spectacular.
The staff didn't speak English or even try. She handed us our key and walked away. No map,no help -nothing. The hostel is literally on a hill, almost impossible to find. If you can find it, you will have a great view but it takes about 45 minutes to get to the city center.
Literally up a cliff, so be warned! Look up good directions first- but the stairs are totally doable and the view is unparalleled! The rooms were very nice, breakfast was really simple but ok.
I recommend this hostel to everyone who wants to have a one of the most beautiful view to Salzburg. Besides, the staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is delicious too. I recommend this hostel also because of its unique location - even if you should make a little effort to get there :).