X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus Reviews

Moenchsberg 19c, Salzburg, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
114 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel has best view in the world!

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I was totally shocked by the lack of organisation. When we arrived to the place our room was already occupied for someone else (we already have paid 10% deposit when we booked through the website). The receptionist, who happened to by the cooker too, after calling all the list of hostel in Salzburg, relocated us in a near hotel, so after all they solve the problem but it wasn't the place that we booked. Overall i was really disappointed and i do not recommend this place at all.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

The location is the best for having a panoramic view. Besides that, you have to get a lift which runs til 10pm only or taking the steps over the cliff. They're in a big lack of staff. They're more concerned about the restaurant. But they provide a nice breakfast. There's no commun room so if you don't want to sleep at the same hour as your roomates you're screwed! Only 1 plug per room, as the others are stuck with beds. The plugs of bathrooms don't work. The waiter is rough

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

View was amazing, and it ends there. The hostel was over booked, you need to walk 20 mins or pay 2.1 euros each way to ride an elevator but still need to walk 5 minutes to the hostel. The staff was very rude when I pointed out that I had booked 5 months in advance and they had no rooms available for me, and the restaurant closes very early.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Beautiful view, great restaurant (but not open of an evening). Hostel had great beds, lovely and clean and was very quiet! Would definitely stay here again.


97%

For a traveler looking for a true Salzburg experience then you will not be disappointed. This hostel is cozy and very quaint. Located on a high cliff built into an 800 year old fortress wall. The view from the lovely outdoor patio is amazing day and night. The kitchen menu of local beer and foods are absolutely deliscious! The only way to get to the top of the cliff is by stairs or a lift. The lift is not 24 hours so be prepared to hike. Don't worry, it's an amazing walk thru the forest.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The excellent view of town and the hard working staff who provided the delicious food. I loved the food they made and was really good . No need to go down the hill as the best view is just in front of your eyes , days and nights. My son visited the place few years back and suggested that I should break my German journey just to stay in this hostel. My best wishes for this little, lovely and friendly hostel with the gourmet food. Tali from Australia


23%

Reception barely spoke to us, just enough to charge for the room, early in the morning (7am) there were workers of the hostel cutting metal (pretty noisy) which stopped at 8am... room was VERY VERY small, smallest we been in 40 days travelling, there were bees everywhere at breakfeast, the place is a restaurant, no special prices for guests and hostelling is like just a second way to make money, the place is located very up in a hill, not good if you are backpacking, JUST STAY AWAY


69%

The location is amazing!! It's inside the park, next to the Castle and there's a wonderful panoramic view on Salzburg. The walk from Salburg to the hostel is a bit difficult, especially by night, because there are small paths up and down in the park, and it's a bit dark ; it's an half an hour walk from the hostel to the centre of the town but the location worth it! They also have a little openair restaurant with local dishes! The negative point is the breakfast: very poor and not so good!!!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great staff, wonderfull localization

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

While there is a hike to get here, there is also a lift (2.10 one way; 3.50 round trip) which goes to the modern art museum and is very close to the hostel. The views were excellent and the restaurant downstairs was good. The staff are a bit terse, but it was a good experience.


54%

On the plus side - great location, great views, nice breakfast. On the down side - the most impolite, unpleasant staff imaginable, the rom was a cramped attic fit for rats and a 1.50 city tax was added on for each night. I would not recommend this place


100%

One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at. Can either get the lift up to it or walk up the stairs but either way its worth it. The view from the hostel was amazing and we would definitely love to return to this place!!


91%

The Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus was beautiful. The staff was friendly and hard working, the view was amazing!! I didn't really like Salzburg but the hostel was nice. The one thing was the door didn't latch. We had lockers so it wasn't a big deal but I had to put a sneaker in front of it so that the wind wouldn't bang it open during the night.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful place, amazing view.. if you don't mind the short hike to get up there (lift is available also) this is the place to be for your stay in Salzburg. The food was great, a little too little at breakfast though. The rooms are little, purely designed for a sleepover, but if this is not a problem for you, go for it.


80%

Great, we arrive late but we find someone to open the door. But be careful it's quite difficult to find at night


77%

Naturfreudenhaus is a good hostel lacking a few things to make it a great hostel. Firstly it should say that you can't get there by car. It would have saved me at least two hours driving in the rain. Secondly it doesn't really have a front desk or any common area except the dinning room. The staff was ok, the view of Salzburg is amazing and I liked the breakfast. They washed and dried my clothes free of charge. Wifi would be nice. Other than that I would recommend it.


94%

Magnifiquement placés en surplomb du centre historique, nous avons même pu avoir une chambre double. Tout est très exigu, mais ca fait partie du charme "chalet". Le personnel est sympathique, efficace et... a de l'humour ! Un petit bémol: les sanitaires (partagés) était un peu crados en fin de matinée, après que tout le monde s'est douché.


83%

The hostel is up on a hill--indeed it is quite tiring to climb up with our heavy backpacks, but the view from the dinning room and open-air restaurant hostel is absolutely beautiful. Together with a brilliant breakfast, it is worth our efforts to reach there.


49%

They put breakfast very late...at 9 a..m.; there's no room to stay appart from the room and nobody working at night...so there were some guy starting the washing machine at 23:30...those are not facilities for a traveller who has to wake up at 8:00 a.m. and hasn't anything for breakfast...this way really poor.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Salzburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback