Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 6.5
Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus Located at Moenchsberg 19c, , Salzburg.
Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus
Austria
Salzburg Salzburg 5020 Moenchsberg 19c
81% 258
47.7995497 13.0361366
Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

Pros: Incredible view (like really awesome). Travelled in off-season and had a hostel room to ourselves which was fabulous. Good safety lockers in room. Cozy atmosphere. Comfortable bunk beds with windows and heating to control temperature. Cons: Reviews are right, the hike is tiring and challenging, lots of stairs but view is worth it. Bring snacks (kitchen timing is short). Showers have see-through doors. Staff was a bit dismissive, but info centre in town is helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.4

Was such a lovely and cute hostel! The view was amazing from here and it was perfectly located. It's a bit of a walk up but it's no big deal if you don't mind the stairs, or you can drive or get the elevator from the museum. I highly recommend it. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2016
6.9

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL location! The view of Salzburg was great, just be prepared to take a taxi, pay for the elevator or hike up 400 stairs. The rooms were decent. Security I found to be lacking as the front door was unlocked when we got in and i found that the back door was held ajar with a book. Its a small hostel above a restaurant that closes at 6. Has some nice character and overall is a comfortable unique place to stay (on a cliff)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chunterhall8111
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

This is a great choice if you enjoy sitting on a terrace in a park looking down on the city. Wow! It is a bit of a walk up to the hostel and we had a little trouble finding the steps up to it. There are also steep steps up to the attic rooms where we stayed. Also, there is not really an indoor common room or area for use by guests. Luckily the weather was great while we were there and we spent all our time there in our room or on the terrace. Other downside is that wifi was very spotty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • May11
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.0

Perfect location. On a hill with amazing view. A bit of a walk to get there buts it's a walk I would take anytime for the view and once you get down you're right in the middle of old town. The free breakfast was great everything was clean and cosy. Had a good vibe. Only downside is the rooms were small and there's no kitchen. I enjoyed my stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.6

Incredible view. After reading reviews I knew to expect a restaurant staff instead of a dedicated hostel desk. While we waited out front for the server to have a spare minute, he did ask us if we were there for the hostel which was nice, acknowledging us. He was very busy, but when finally did talk to us he was very nice and helpful. Spaces are clean. The open windows at night let in some restaurant noise from outside, but the view is definitely worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.1

I booked a second night after my first because this place is fantastic! The staff was so friendly and helpful; it's smartly decorated and warm, the view is unmatched. The restaurant downstairs is a little pricey. It's a bit of a trek up the hill to get to it, but when you're tired or you have big bags you can pay 2.5 euro to take an elevator. Free lockers! Downsides: breakfast is bread, cheese, ham--not great for vegetarians or carb-watchers. no kitchen. Best simple stay for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
8.3

Great Hostel if you don't mind to walk everytime on top of the hill (you will get rewarded with the amazing view) and don't need to cook anything (cause there is no kitchen). The wifi was only accessible in the first floor and there should be a common room. But I still enjoyed staying there. Especially the free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Very small hostel, difficult to find at first. Above a nice Austrian restaurant with great views, not many plug sockets in the room, but still I enjoyed my stay here and although I won't rush back to Salzburg i would happily stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CamilleBenslimane
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2016
5.1

The staff were very unhelpful when I rang for directions, it was very unclear where to go and where to check in. We had dinner there and found the staff quite rude. For the location and the staff I feel like I paid too much

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.