Hostelworld.com

Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

The place is quite hard to find and takes a while to get to (it's on top of the mountain), but the view is amazing. There is no kitchen. Overall it's quite good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.4

Literally located on top of a mountain. You would have to ride an elevator or climb up a significant number of steps to get to the property. The staff is very nice, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
5.4

Location is right in the middle of Salzburg, although it can a hike to get there if you're walking as it's on top of a large hill. The place is quite hard to find as there's no sign on the building. There's a restaurant which seems to be the main focus of the hostel wHicham didn't make us feel welcome. The staff were not very helpful and English was limited. We had the 6 bed dorm on the top level which didn't have a great view and was quite dim with a very dangerous staircase to get up there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Best view! Stairs up to the hostel weren't bad, we were expecting worse. Cosy hostel which was lovely and warm in the cold winter months. Free breakfast which was freshly baked buns which were yum. No communal area and see through showers would be the only downsides. Otherwise a very nice stay and would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

Pros: Incredible view (like really awesome). Travelled in off-season and had a hostel room to ourselves which was fabulous. Good safety lockers in room. Cozy atmosphere. Comfortable bunk beds with windows and heating to control temperature. Cons: Reviews are right, the hike is tiring and challenging, lots of stairs but view is worth it. Bring snacks (kitchen timing is short). Showers have see-through doors. Staff was a bit dismissive, but info centre in town is helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.4

Was such a lovely and cute hostel! The view was amazing from here and it was perfectly located. It's a bit of a walk up but it's no big deal if you don't mind the stairs, or you can drive or get the elevator from the museum. I highly recommend it. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2016
6.9

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL location! The view of Salzburg was great, just be prepared to take a taxi, pay for the elevator or hike up 400 stairs. The rooms were decent. Security I found to be lacking as the front door was unlocked when we got in and i found that the back door was held ajar with a book. Its a small hostel above a restaurant that closes at 6. Has some nice character and overall is a comfortable unique place to stay (on a cliff)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chunterhall8111
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

This is a great choice if you enjoy sitting on a terrace in a park looking down on the city. Wow! It is a bit of a walk up to the hostel and we had a little trouble finding the steps up to it. There are also steep steps up to the attic rooms where we stayed. Also, there is not really an indoor common room or area for use by guests. Luckily the weather was great while we were there and we spent all our time there in our room or on the terrace. Other downside is that wifi was very spotty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • May11
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.0

Perfect location. On a hill with amazing view. A bit of a walk to get there buts it's a walk I would take anytime for the view and once you get down you're right in the middle of old town. The free breakfast was great everything was clean and cosy. Had a good vibe. Only downside is the rooms were small and there's no kitchen. I enjoyed my stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.6

Incredible view. After reading reviews I knew to expect a restaurant staff instead of a dedicated hostel desk. While we waited out front for the server to have a spare minute, he did ask us if we were there for the hostel which was nice, acknowledging us. He was very busy, but when finally did talk to us he was very nice and helpful. Spaces are clean. The open windows at night let in some restaurant noise from outside, but the view is definitely worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.