Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Stanley's Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 25 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 25 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • abbyclark29
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Staff were great but the bed was slightly uncomfortable and the noise from outside on the street kept us up most of the night. Good value for money tho

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
2.0

Quite a terrible experience at this place. Nothing seemed right. 1. Property is old and was stinking like old wodden furniture 2. Cleanliness was poor. Mattresses, pillows and bed sheets had marks on them. 3. Door lock jammed and broke. 4. Cockroaches in bathroom 5. Rude staff 6. No room service and no breakfast on Wednesdays! (I was told exactly that!)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
3.4

DON'T STAY HERE: This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The owner is responsive but obviously has no idea whats going at the location. Huge sanitation issues. The blanket had blood splatters on it & the sheet had other stains. I finally got the woman to switch the sheets and blanket and when she removed the sheets there were blood stains all over the mattress and other questionable stains. We stayed only one night because it was 230am and their wifi wasn't working

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • zoe_evans
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2017
6.6

Room was a good size and had ac. Staff spoke broken English and could not help when we wanted to use the safe in our room. Pub area never really busy so little atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • remeddy
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

The place was in a great location, near the night market and about a 10min walk to Bangla. The room was basic with tv, bed, bathroom and fridge but fridge didn't work which wasn't a problem they let me use the down stairs fridge to store my drink. The ladies that run the place are an awesome group of people who can assist you as best they can with what you need. I would definitely come back here for the value and location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel at good price, nice staff and clean rooms in good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.0

Stayed with my boyfriend and thought this was at a perfect location. Quiet area but still within minutes walk to a night street market, Jungceylon Mall and boxing stadium. Walk to the other end of the mall and you'll be at Bangla Walking Street. Room was very basic with air con. The floor didn't feel that clean though. TV wasn't working but doesn't really matter since we're out most of the time. For price paid, can't complain much. Would recommend if you don't mind the small mistakes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
8.9

Stanley's Guesthouse was a cheap and cheerful place, in an excellent spot: walking distance to Bangla Rd and Jungceleon mall; pub/restaurant downstairs and all around. Staff were wonderful, and the rooms were huge. Air con worked, though the bed wasn't wonderful, it did the trick. Made some friends and had a great time. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
8.6

Good budget guest house is what it is Staff are funny and a good laugh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.