Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stargate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
Stargate Hostel Located at Via Palestro 88, , Rome.
Stargate Hostel
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Palestro 88
79% 714
41.9033310 12.5064325
Stargate Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.9

Stargate was good! The room was clean and comfortable, right by some cafes and the central station; which was awesome. Beware, the taxes are not included in the balance owing hostel world gives you- that was a shock for us! And my only complaint about the facilities was that the toilet tank would spray (clean water) everywhere when flushed. The air conditioning and wifi were good. Good stay -you get what you pay for! It was one of the nicer accommodations we've had on our trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.3

It was more like a hotel than a hostel in terms of the way it was set out and did not have a hostel vibe where you find other travellers. However, the place was very good for the money, close to the train station, and not far from most attractions. Would recommend overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location just minutes from Termini, good restaurants, laundromat and walking distance to most major tourist attractions. Wifi in our room, aircon iffy, fridge iffy, warm water in shower but fine for summer holiday. Reception staff friendly and most helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

Pleasantly surprised with this little gem in the heart of Rome! Very easy to find. Initially we were hesitant as the price was so affordable for our own private room in this bustling city, however the room was spacious and spotless and very secure! Wifi worked great, and most importantly the staff was so helpful! Accomodating our very needs! Very helpful and friendliest we've met yet. You will not find a more affordable clean and safe room anywhere else! Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Stargate was a lovely place to stay and actually a lot better than we had expected! The location was good, only 5 minutes from Termini station so ideal for getting the metro but we walked most places. The staff were a family and were all helpful and answered any questions we had and pointed spots out on the map etc. Our room was perfect size and had plenty of room, mirrors and a fridge, plus a unique bricked ceiling. Secure and quiet. Nice bars and restaurants near by. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
3.1

Our arrival time was 1 am. Months prior to check in we had sent out an email to confirm wether we had to book an extra night for the 1am arrival time. We had to pay double the price for the extra night. No credit cards, cash only upon arrival. The room was dark, hot, no ac or fan, very small, and looked very antigenic. The bunk bed didn't have a ladder and looked like it could collapse. At night you cannot open the window because of the mosquitos. Overall would NOT recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
2.9

Pretty sure it's and illegal hotel seeing as how it's in an apartment building with 4-5 other hotels in it. They didn't take card, tried to extort us for more cash and then made us wait for 3 hours after check in time before finally giving us the keys. Our room was weird, every time another room flushed their toilet, ours would overflow all over the floor. Our room smelled like a sewer because of it. I cannot stress the unpleasantness of this place. Will never book there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.6

The staff were very helpful! The owner showed us a great sightseeing route for our two night stay in Rome and gave great suggestions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.9

Awesome location, very nice, welcoming and pleasant staff (I've mostly interacted with just one of them, though). The room was very good value for money in terms of space and comfort. Bidet in the bathroom was a nice unexpected extra. The toilet seat was plastic and very flimsy though, and the shower wasn't properly cleaned when we arrived. Shower also had filth hidden in edges of the plastic screen door and had a fixed head. Parts of the hotel including my room were outside WiFi range.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th May 2016
8.0

We had our own room for very cheap. It was clean and comfy. The hostel is very close to the train station and plenty of shops. It's easy to get the metro into the city. The WiFi only works in the reception area which was in the building across the road for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.