X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Station Hostel for Backpackers Reviews

Marzellenstr 44-56, Cologne, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2079 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Location is amazing, if you fly in to Cologne Bonn airport, just get on the train to the Cathedral (city centre), which won't take long! And the hostels like five mins walk from there. Staff were helpful and upgraded our room on arrival for a little bit more euro (so was like a hotel then, three people in one room). Room was clean, showers were good and bed comfy enough. The hostel also has a bar next door which is always lively, with nice staff and good atmosphere.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is a hot spot and, if you are looking to meet peApple, it is a great place to stay. It could have been cleaner. My entire stay, there was no soap in the women's bathroom on my floor.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I was literally at the hostel for about 8hrs while traveling... So I didn't spend too much time in the hostel at all. But the stuff at reception were fantastic and could answer all of my questions. The dorm was nice and spacious. The only down side was that the dorm window faces out to the street, which is quite loud. Definitely not the hostels fault, but if you are stay there and use the front area to smoke, be considerate for the people trying to sleep and keep the noise down ;)


66%

The Internet at this place needs to be improved. I understand the idea of getting people Out of there rooms but it means then you need Internet that works in the limited area that its in, otherwise you end up with a room full of frustrated people.


51%

If you are a female backpacker travelling alone or with one friend, this is not an ideal place to stay. While the hostel is close to the main station, it is quite far from the cultural centre of the coty and the main places you want to be. Furthermore, the staff were very rude and standoffish. One staff member was rude, snappy and condesending when we tried to query the credit card charges (only to keep organised with our own financial records) The cleanliness of the hostel was appauling.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We arrive during the night and proceed with swift check in. Reception guy also recommended us, where to go for food during the night. Location is perfect, just closeby Hauptbahnhof. Very poor wi-fi


77%

The room itself was excellent, very clean and i loved the single bed and big room. Only downside no lockers in the room. They were in the hall. Which was musty and smelt not great. The kitchen wasn't usable, and the toilet was out of paper. The showers were good, nice pressure and temp, but the stone floor is very slippery.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24


66%

Poor atmosphere in the lounge area with people mostly looking at their phones in silence. Kitchen facilities were good but the area was too small and crowded to be used effectively. Rooms were spacious with large windows but we had two broken light bulbs. We couldn't use the free lockers outside the rooms as none of our luggage could fit in the shape. Very close to the train station and the cathedral. The bar in the next building had good atmosphere and reasonable prices,


94%

Really enjoyed my stay. It is very close to the central station and staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the toilets were well maintained. They have secure lockers and kitchen. they have a communal area as well which does tend to get a bit crowded as people swarm there for the free wifi.


74%

This location can't be beat! You are within walking distance of all of the major sites as well as the bus/train station which connects you easily with the airport. Bonus you are so close to the cathedral it makes navigating the city even easier because you can always orient yourself based on it. Hostel is a bit older in terms of facilities, (the power point by my bed was wrecked so they just left my lamp unplugged) but I would still highly recommend this hostel based on location.


57%

No wifi in rooms, not enough bathrooms and they smell. No atmosphere within the hostel and the staff aren't that helpful but the bar next door is ok. The really good location might make it worth it for a one night stay.


77%

A nice hostel very close to the cathedral and the railway station, so it's easy to get there. I stayed in a six-bed-mixed-dorm, which was clean and spacious. However, you could hear trains coming and going at night. The toilets could have been cleaned more often, but otherwise nothing to complain about.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Right by the hbh and a lot of friendly people!


49%

The bathroom on the third floor was absolutely putrid.


89%

Nice kitchen area where everyone can cook and hangout. The wifi was pretty decent and fast. However, the dryer couldn't work properly and hence we had to stand in front of the machine to restart it every 5mins to ensure that our load dries. The stench from the toilet near our room stinks and could smelt it along the corridor. Would recommend to clean it often. Otherwise, the place is good.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice staff and good dorm and facilities. Might have benefited from some low key activities e.g. pub quiz.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Unbeatable location! Right next to the train station & the cathedral. Most of the staff are very helpful & friendly (the guy with the beard & long hair could learn to smile a bit more) and the wifi is good. If you're arriving late, it's simply ideal.


86%

Very easy to get to from the train station, 4 bed with ensuite was very clean and comfy. Staff were very helpful especially Uls!


86%

Many improvements since my last visit. I like your signage on passageways which really helps, Your new restaurant is a little upscale for my taste. Prefer the old german type which is down the street. Over all, it is a really nice hostel.


91%

The only problem was the wifi signal not being available inside the rooms, just at the hall.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Cologne Hostels

Please give us your feedback