Hostelworld.com

Station Hostel for Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
Station Hostel for Backpackers Located at Marzellenstr 44-56, , Cologne.
Station Hostel for Backpackers
Germany
Cologne NRW 50668 Marzellenstr 44-56
75% 2523
50.9430093 6.9561481
Station Hostel for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
9.7

The newly remodeled Station Hostel is a great value. Just steps from the main station and the Cologne Dom Cathedral, you can't find a better deal. I've stayed there before but the new restaurant and reception areas blew my mind! Very, very nice!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Had a great two day stay at the station. The only hang up I would have is that they permanently closed their kitchen in an effort to get guests to eat and drink at their bar/cafe next door. Also I was able to access the bar's wifi in the room rather than the wifi in the lobby, so keep that in mind. Great stay though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
5.7

Mice. There were mice in the kitchen. Also, the bathrooms were weird and tiny. Staff wasn't terribly friendly, but they did there jobs. Other than that, it was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.0

No wifi in rooms, common area was downstairs and awkward, bed made me itch like crazy. Nice open room though and no bunk beds which was a nice change.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
8.0

Convenient location, nice staff. Booked last minute and it was still so cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
8.0

+Hostel did not charge for renting locks/towels/etc. Instead they required only a security deposit that was returned when I returned the rented items +Very central, and very easy to find from the train station +Staff were all friendly, then even let use use their printer -bathrooms were slightly unclean by the end of the day (not a big issue) but showers were nice and clean. ----WIFI only available in lobby. I would completely recommend this hostel except for the lack of wifi in rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.1

It is very well located Hostel, it has all that you need during your stay. The staff is very kind and they will help you without doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
9.1

Time for a quick, short stay in Cologne after many years. The Station Hostel for Backpackers was exactly what I needed. An inexpensive place to lay my head at night and feel safe about leaving my backpack behind while I traipsed through the city once again during the daytime. The staff was exceptionally helpful and the rooms, showers, and toilets were agreeably clean and always readily available for use. All in all, I can only say that it was a fine stopover. - JH

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2016
6.3

The hostel has a great central location, next to the central station and the Dom. The rooms offer no privacy whatsoever, you have to practically sleep face to face with other guests. The toilets are very scarse, only one women's toilet per floor. Also the showers are in poor condition, they smell and are not very clean. The kitchen is also very small and the refrigerators are not enough for all the guests, also not very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Mar 2016
7.7

The hostel looks pretty plain, but the rooms are clean, the bar/ restaurant is definitely not bad, and it's located pretty much next to the railway station - which means, it's also close to some of the main attractions and the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.