Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Station Hostel for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
Station Hostel for Backpackers Located at Marzellenstr 44-56, , Cologne.
Station Hostel for Backpackers
Germany
Cologne NRW 50668 Marzellenstr 44-56
80% 2680
50.9430093 6.9561481
Station Hostel for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Aug 2016
9.1

Everything went well, facilities were great and the bar downstairs was cheap and had a wonderful selection. Beds were comfortable and rooms were well ventilated when the windows were opened. Everything was pretty clean. Only downside was that I had to catch a train out of town right as check-in time arrived but the staff couldn't be bothered to even look at me when I dropped my keycard back off. I'm not worried about the lost €1, just more off-put that they couldn't spare 3 seconds to accept it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Everything was ok, but there was no wifi in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • EliRiquelme
  • Chile, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.3

It was an ok hostal. The place is ok for a night or two. No more. The wifi in the rooms was almost not existing, the halls really unhospitable and the wc was always smelly. The rooms were very noisy so you have to sleep with your window closed and it was kind of hot. The luggage room was awesome. There was one staff member, don't remember the name, but he was very unpolite, he made us wait five minutes to answer us while he played in his phone. The food was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
6.3

Found hostel to be very noisy from hallways no kitchen facilities

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

It's been a long time since I've stayed in a hostel, but this was far better that what I recall hostels beimg like.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Well located Hostel in the centre of Cologne. Rooms were clean tidy and the staff helped to facilitate an enjoyable stay. Lounge area has an outside area which is accommodating for a few beers and some grub. They even had a live hip hop bad on our first night at the hostel which was a pleasant surprise. Neil from Crystal Palace was also very helpful !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.1

Rooms were clean and nice, staff was friendly, and the 24/7 reception was awesome. Despite there being a bar on the main floor, the rooms were still quiet. The location was super convenient for seeing the Cathedral, and in walking distance of everything else I wanted to do. My only complaint is that the bathrooms smelled funny, and had no method for drying hands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
9.4

Station Hostel for Backpackers by far was the best hostel we stayed the duration of our stay abroad. The facilities were spacious, easy to access from the train station, close to the heart of Cologne, everything was perfectly clean and orderly. Germany was our final stop while abroad and we had not yet met many people, but due to the dormitory room sizes we were easily able to connect with our roommates. We would certainly return to Station Hostel in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
7.1

Paper towels were never replenished in the bar bathroom over the 3 days we stayed there. Makes me wonder how the bar personnel were washing their hands? The shower and bath areas could have been cleaned more frequently with some sort of anti-bacterial cleaner. By the afternoon they were cleaned but they did not smell as if any cleaner was used. Using some chlorine or other product would go a long way in making the guests feel like something was cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel had wifi all over, but it wasn't working in all parts of the rooms. Showers were very nice, and bed was comfy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.