Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Station Hostel for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2017
7.7

Great place for value, 5 min walking from sentral station, clean and quiet. Stuff wasn't welcomed and cold, don't give help for see Cologne, e.g: I ask for a beer from the bar tender girl and she take glass and put it on water soap bucket and then just put it on water bucket and then fill it with a beer and gave me to drink, don't do it in front of my eyes, it's not clean to do that!! I am sure your mother didn't teach you to wash dishes like that for guest.. All bacterials in the bucket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice hostel in a very strategic place, The rooms are big, and the stuff is lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2017
6.3

Lots of Europeans coming to party in Cologne seem to stay here and tend to make lots of noise throughout the night. Would be nice if there were at least clearly visible signs stating a no noise policy during certain hours with reception highlighting this during checkin to avoid conflicts between guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Mar 2017
6.6

The lack of a kitchen for guests to cook their own food was probably the reason there wasn't much of an atmosphere - the food from the bar/restaurant was decent but it doesn't give you the same experience. Showers were very good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
6.6

Can't beat the location however I was very turned off by the bathrooms on my floor, which were clearly labeled nonsmoking but smelled like someone had just smoked a pack of cigarettes before I got in there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.3

Great location. Less areas to socialize unless you are buying at the cafe or restaurant. Beds comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
3.4

Some of the staff were helpful. Now that's all the nice stuff out of the way. Internet did not work anywhere except the reception, for four days. One day happens, two is unlucky but four is just woeful. Said self catering- no kitchen. Only their bar. One shower on our floor, with about 8 rooms. You work out how that goes down. Also seems to be a part homeless shelter, which is fantastic, but warn people. Am actually going back, and would rather sleep at the train station, working internet

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.0

Not clean. Bedrooms were a little weird though nice that they weren't bunk beds. Good location but a little overpriced for what you get. No lockers in the room, small ones located outside the room. Very bare bones, wouldn't recommend for more than an overnight stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
7.7

Ruhig und ziemlich sauber für die Karneval Zeit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.3

Toilets were pretty filthy but as it was karnaval I suppose it happens. There's no security for the front door anyone can walk in after midnight and there was no one on reception when we returned. Staff were lovely room was nice and bar has a good atmosphere so can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I’m very sorry that we seemingly couldn’t provide a satisfying standard of cleanliness in our bathrooms during Carnival. Sometimes it’s hard to stay clean, especially when the whole city gets drunk. Of course, this is no excuse. I will take this seriously and try to find ways to improve our cleaning service, so that we can guarantee a high standard of cleanliness all the time. I’m also sorry that you didn’t feel safe and that no one was sitting at the reception to say “Hi”, when you arrived at midnight. I can guarantee that there is someone working in the Hostel 24/7. Sometimes our staff from the night shift have to organize something away from the reception, which should never takes more than 5 minutes. You can call our staff with the bell at the reception. For the security in our house, we have installed cameras in all public areas. Of course, our rooms can only be opened by our keycards, which are individually programmed for our guests. Best Regards Your Station Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.