Hostelworld.com

Stay on Main

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
Stay on Main Located at 640 South Main Street, , Los Angeles.
Stay on Main
USA
Los Angeles 90014 640 South Main Street
76% 473
34.0442769 -118.2506303
Stay on Main
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
6.3

Slow internet Slow reception desk Dirty toilet without sink Fine Breakfast

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2016
5.7

Poor bathroom cleanliness maintenance

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
5.7

I wish there had been more context, considering this place's history (of murders, haunting, etc). Honestly, even this could have been played up for amusement. But discovering just as you arrive the history of the "Hotel Cecil" is quite discomfiting. The place was clean enough, but the narrowness of spaces and lack of light in many rooms and other spaces doesn't help with the foreboding past.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
5.1

Not in a nice location, the toilets were not clean , it was part of a hotel so did not have the same vibe as hostels do. Could not accommodate a to go breakfast even though breakfast was included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.6

Overall my stay in the hostel was great; everything was clean and the free computers in the Lobby were a plus. Annoyances: The bathrooms on the 6th floor don´t have a sink so to wash your hands . I was assigned a top bunk, the bed did not have an exit and the ladder was very uncomfortable. The most annoying thing however was the keycard. Everyday it had to be recoded by the receptionist after it failed to open the room door, although I kept it far away from my cell phone/purse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
6.3

I stayed there just for one night after a concert because it was close. I stayed at a dorm. It was pretty depressing and the bathrooms SO disgusting. The common areas of the hotel are nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location to lots of sites in downtown LA. Very convenient to the metro stations to get to other sites. Plenty of free internet computers to use to look up info on restaurants and more. Fun oldies music blaring through the sound system. The breakfast isn't much to get excited about. So-so waffles and cereal, no fruit. It was really nice to have a TV on our 6-bed suite. Definitely will stay here again for the location and price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

This place has old style glamour and great service! The price was great and my room was super cute! Loved the light fixture, I want something like it at home now haha Thank you so much! I'm am anxious traveler but I felt pretty comfortable for my stay there. 💚

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.4

Great price for bunk; not for pvt room. I missed having a toilet in-room. Breakfast is waffles, cereal, coffee & fake OJ. How about bagels/donuts/muffins? Room was nice, clean w/cute bedding. Lockers don't take small locks - so my TSA luggage locks were useless. Pay parking next door is expensive but friendly. Staff not helpful when I asked for a lower bunk. They said they were all taken, but I was alone the first night and there was only 1 other person the 2nd night in a 6-bed room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • markalan3942708
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2016
10.0

This place was just what I was looking for. Nice, clean rooms. Cheap. Downtown. Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Not one complaint from this traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.