Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Stay on Main

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.7
Stay on Main Located at 640 South Main Street, , Los Angeles.
Stay on Main
USA
Los Angeles 90014 640 South Main Street
73% 516
34.0442769 -118.2506303
Stay on Main
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
5.4

The communal bathrooms were always dirty the dorm for 6 didnt have a TV with a arm- therefor only 1 person could even see the TV. I had 2 keep calling 4 toilet tissue on my floor & the downstairs bathroom that was our back up toilet. My sheets were dirty & asked them 2 change it by leaving the marker on my bed. They made my bed with the same sheets becuz I saw the spot from before I left it 2 them. English- Jeezz Security didnt check anyone, didnt even speak 2 U when U spoke 2 them- rude

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
8.9

The rooms and beds are very clean! The bathrooms and hallways could use a little bit more help, but I am overall very pleased with my stay! The building feels very safe, but the neighborhood in the immediate area would not be recommended to wander around alone, especially at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
4.9

Very loud, got our reservations wrong, dirty tub and shower, uncomfortable bed, disappointing breakfast and part of the facilities closed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
8.9

Bathrooms not great, otherwise pretty great. Not super cheap but nothing in LA is. Great location if wanting downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.4

Really bad wi-fi everywhere in the building. Breakfast was okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Check-in software wasn't working so I waited over an hour to get into my room (got in line to check-in around 12 midnight and wasn't able to officially check-in until 1:30 or so.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2016
7.7

A nice building with really nice rooms. Although Downtown LA isn't the best location, it's convenient to get to other areas of LA. Not much social interaction with other guests. The music in the foyer was excellent, decent wifi too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Aug 2016
6.3

Room was clean but limited means to cool it which meant difficulty sleeping. Not in a good location, didn't feel safe. Breakfast was the highlight!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2016
3.1

That was my worst ever experience in a hotel or hostel. The 2-man dorm room- NEVER do it. I arrived to find my cellmate asleep on my bed and the room stank so badly of body odour I nearly gagged. The fan didn't work and the window didn't open so I was stuck in that hell. It was too late to find a different hotel by the time I arrived, and no other rooms were available. No towels, bad bed I could go on.. The $50 arrival deposit I learned only in the morning takes 10 days to be reimbursed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • austen998
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
8.6

We were very happy with the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Loved the old-fashioned ambience, and thought the breakfast was very well organised with lovely waffles!! We didn't pick up our rental car for three days so walked into the city to do some business and took a tour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.