Hostelworld.com

Stay on Main

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
Stay on Main Located at 640 South Main Street, , Los Angeles.
Stay on Main
USA
Los Angeles 90014 640 South Main Street
81% 457
34.0442769 -118.2506303
Stay on Main
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
6.3

I stayed there just for one night after a concert because it was close. I stayed at a dorm. It was pretty depressing and the bathrooms SO disgusting. The common areas of the hotel are nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

This place has old style glamour and great service! The price was great and my room was super cute! Loved the light fixture, I want something like it at home now haha Thank you so much! I'm am anxious traveler but I felt pretty comfortable for my stay there. 💚

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.4

Great price for bunk; not for pvt room. I missed having a toilet in-room. Breakfast is waffles, cereal, coffee & fake OJ. How about bagels/donuts/muffins? Room was nice, clean w/cute bedding. Lockers don't take small locks - so my TSA luggage locks were useless. Pay parking next door is expensive but friendly. Staff not helpful when I asked for a lower bunk. They said they were all taken, but I was alone the first night and there was only 1 other person the 2nd night in a 6-bed room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • markalan3942708
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2016
10.0

This place was just what I was looking for. Nice, clean rooms. Cheap. Downtown. Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Not one complaint from this traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
7.4

The rooms were cleaned and well tended. The bathrooms left something to be desired. While the property was supposed to be non-smoking, I found cigarette butts in the vents of two of the shower rooms I used. Gross. It was also difficult to keep my clothes from being wet while taking a shower as the shower curtains were thin or nonexistent. It would have been nice to have some trash cans in the toilet areas and some bath mats for traction in the showers. Staff was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
9.7

This is my second stay at Stay on Main. I was only there one night as I flew in from Tucson in the afternoon and left after breakfast on the Coast Starlight train to Seattle. I really like the location as it is a short walk, at least for this 76 year old guy, from the Music Center where I went to see a play at the Mark Taper. I also like that you are in the old part of town and close to "The Last Bookstore." I never saw my room mate and hope that my coming and leaving did not disturb them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2015
7.7

Stay on Main has the feeling more of a hotel than a hostel. It feels upscale, but not really a place to meet other travelers and to swap travel stories. Stay on Main is located in downtown with bars and restaurants nearby, but the hotel/hostel is still something like a 25 minute walk to Union Station (where the trains and metros are). A taxi to Union Station costs approximately $8-12 and you can call one from the hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2015
9.4

I booked it because it was the cheapest and, apparently, the most decent option close to union station. However, it turned to be an excellent option to stay, great entrance, nice rooms. Around the hotel there are some ugly blocks (downtown things) but some other nice blocks. I recomment this place for the people who are looking something located at the downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2015
7.7

The hotel is located in the downtown and there are bus stops nearby. The community. nearby does not seem very secure, but the staff in the lobby are quite friendly and helpful. There is free breakfast provided on the second floor. They provide waffles and cereals, and also hot coffee and orange juice. The room is quite clean and hygienic. However, there are no sinks for washing hands and I have to go back to my room to wash. Overall, this hotel has high quality.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2015
7.7

I stayed in a 6bed female dorm, which was a good size, and clean. Bathrooms/washrooms are plentiful, but not particularly clean or modern. Hostel has an odd atmosphere since most people only stay one night, there's not a lot of socialising, and there's not a bar or social area as you would find in most hostels. Location is great though, close to bus and metro stations to get to Hollywood, santa monica, Beverly Hills etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.