Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stay on Main

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
Stay on Main Located at 640 South Main Street, , Los Angeles.
Stay on Main
USA
Los Angeles 90014 640 South Main Street
77% 482
34.0442769 -118.2506303
Stay on Main
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2016
6.6

Strange things are hapenning there...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Terrible Wi-Fi, plastic crockery for breakfast (really?), but great staff and great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
5.7

They overcharged me the price that I booked on hostelworld. I showed them my confirmation email and they said that was wrong. After getting in touch with hostelworld they assured me their price was correct and the hotel made a mistake but the hotel wouldnt do anything about it. Poor service from the guy at the front desk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jcvanblake3348
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

Room was clean and bed comfortable. Considerate roommates. Only issue: Had difficulties repeatedly with my room key and had to return to the desk at least four times for it to be reset. Also happened to others in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
7.4

It was overall nice place for a hostel. The entrance was nicer than in most hostels and complimentary breakfast included waffles and oatmeal porridge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
6.3

Slow internet Slow reception desk Dirty toilet without sink Fine Breakfast

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2016
5.7

Poor bathroom cleanliness maintenance

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
5.7

I wish there had been more context, considering this place's history (of murders, haunting, etc). Honestly, even this could have been played up for amusement. But discovering just as you arrive the history of the "Hotel Cecil" is quite discomfiting. The place was clean enough, but the narrowness of spaces and lack of light in many rooms and other spaces doesn't help with the foreboding past.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
5.1

Not in a nice location, the toilets were not clean , it was part of a hotel so did not have the same vibe as hostels do. Could not accommodate a to go breakfast even though breakfast was included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.6

Overall my stay in the hostel was great; everything was clean and the free computers in the Lobby were a plus. Annoyances: The bathrooms on the 6th floor don´t have a sink so to wash your hands . I was assigned a top bunk, the bed did not have an exit and the ladder was very uncomfortable. The most annoying thing however was the keycard. Everyday it had to be recoded by the receptionist after it failed to open the room door, although I kept it far away from my cell phone/purse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.