X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2039 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Compartimos cuarto con un grupo de 5 Alemanes que fueron irrespetuosos con las demas personas en el cuarto, al grado de hacer actos morbosos, incomodar y francamente asustar a nuestas compañeras femeninas. Si van a tener cuartos mixtos, deben revisar quien va. Y no es posible que haya baño de solo hombres, pero no de solo mujeres.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Because your group was a mixed group and you wanted to stay together we could only place you in a mixed dorm. When there are problems with other people in the room, the reception is there to help you and if necessary they can give you another room;). I still hope you had a great time here in Amsterdam! Come back soon and we will book you a private room at our location Stayokay Vondelpark;) Have a nice day!

100%

Foi minha segunda vez na Irlanda e segunda vez no mesmo Hostel. Eu recomendo.

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is great, easy access to trams and walking distance to many places. Security is good. Staff was alright, not very warm or welcoming or helpful. Atmosphere was decent. Cleanliness was average. Facilities are basic. We stayed in a private room, and it was cold out and they had no heating. It was freezing at night, and the one comforter provided was not enough. That should be mentioned ahead of time. There are better places and hostels to stay at with better value in Amsterdam.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were immediately greeted by smiley reception staff who made us feel very welcome. Good security - need to use keycard to get into the hostel, into your room lockers and finally to get into the bedrooms. Each had designated lockers that can be padlocked. Fixed a power issue immediately and we were given free drinks for letting them know. Good they had gluten-free bread at breakfast. Environment friendly and clean hostel. Could do with more lights and plugs in rooms but good hostel!!

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • daneeeeks
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your excellent review, we are working on getting more lights and power points, hope to see you back again, have a great day!

71%

Mix bathroom is not very good. Should have more outlets on the rooms. Difficult to share one outlet among 20 people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We also have a bathroom only for females, maybe you missed it:(. You're right about the outlets! As a solution we have a powerplant behind the reception. In the near future we will have enough plugs in to the rooms! Please visit us again and have a nice day. Ciao

69%

It was pretty much what I expected. The location was very good as we were always around the red light district area in the night so it was a comfortable feeling knowing that we could come back at any time via a short walk. Also, I think the shower/toilets area needs renovation. Thanks

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel perfecto para jovenes, bien ubicado, limpio y buenos servicios. El personal muy correcto, la recepción esta abierta 24h. Buena calidad precio, es la segunda vez que he estado en Amsterdam y la verdad es que comparado con el primer Hostel al que fuimos éste es ínfimamente más limpio y tiene mejores servicios por casi el mismo precio. Si tu plan es ir de fin de semana a pasarlo bien y conocer gente lo recomiendo sin ninguna duda.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por la información! Usted es siempre bienvenido;) Que tengas un buen día

83%

Stayed for 3 nights, nice and quiet place. Very close to the Red Light District and pretty central to everything else.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Toilets and showers are great. Rooms are too dark.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Only one power point in a 16 bed room wasn't great, but other than that I enjoyed my stay. The weekend prices are almost double the weekday prices so keep that in mind for budget. Beds and showers were very good and the breakfast was worth getting up for, obviously the earlier you get there the more variety.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and information to others. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time. Come visit us again;) Have a nice day!

86%

Very clean and secure hostel with large bright airy rooms.Lots of large lockers.Friendly staff. No kitchen Only one electrical outlet per room, you can charge your phone downstairs but it's hardly convenient.They claim this is for security but that is bull. Place is a bit sterile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, great you liked the rooms, lockers and staff. Because there are not enough plugs in the room you can charge your phone at the reception. It's also more safe at the reception, but it's not our main reason;). Thanks for your review and rating! Have a nice day and please visit us again

83%

일단 여긴 아침이 좋습니다 공짜에다가 치즈 햄 나오고 커피 각종 음료 공짜고 개인 락커 개커서 좋음 16인실 인가 그래도 넓어서 좋구여 위치가 조금 애매하긴함 그래도 좋음


97%

My stay there was amazing. The hostel is well located and the staff is very helpful. The one thing that I found a bit inconvenient is not having power points in all beds, you can leave you stuff charging at the reception. But in general, the hostel is great and if I ever come back to Amsterdam, I definitely will stay there again. And the breakfast is awesome.


89%

Staff was amazing, Especially Richard who went above and beyond in welcoming us and suggesting spots to go.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I will tell Richard about this review;) You are always welcome in our bar. Have a nice day!!

89%

Great Hostel with walking distance of everything. Also great secuirty because you have to show your room key to get in.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The only criticisms that I would make of dormitory Room 11 is that power sockets in the room would be a great improvement; and the installation of shower and toilet units in the room would be great for guests and very feasible because of large free area around the two wash basins.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating and feedback! Come visit us again;) Have a nice day

91%

Recomendable. Lo mejor sin dudas es la ubicación. Excelente desayuno, aunque termina temprano (09:30hs). Esta bueno el ambiente, buen bar. unico problema son los enchufes: hay poquisimos para la cantidad de personas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias y en la recepción usted puede cargar todo el equipo 24/7 . Venga otro vistazo pronto

86%

Jo jag tyckte det var ett riktigt bra ställe, bra personal och lugnt och sansat


83%

Definitely a good value for money.


71%

Good staff and location but there were some quirks with the hostel. For example, guest's friends could not go to the bar without ID, even when accompanied by hotel customer. Very few plug sockets. I stayed in the 20 bed dorm and the only lights were above people's bunks which made using them a real problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry the access was denied for your friends. Unfortunately we have to follow some rules because of the security of the hostel. However I hope you found a cool bar close to the hostel in the bubbly citycenter of Amsterdam. Thanks for your rating and review! Have a nice day

(108 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback