X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1332 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

place is very dirty, especially the lockers! Rooms shall be aired everyday.


91%

A+ location. Breakfast was amazing.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear you loved our location and breakfast. Enjoy your travels! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

A standard hostel, does everything well. Location is very good. Not enough power outlets in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We are aware of the fact that there are not a lot of outlets in the rooms. Therefore you can charge your device at the reception for free. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

The hostel it's in an amazing location, just 5 mins walk to get to the Red Light District and to the main sites, so it's worthy, the beds were comfortable and we got to meet a lot of cool people. The breakfast as usual, bread, jam, cereal and milk. The toilets weren't the cleanest ones but still good, and with the staff, the guys that work there were really good and nice with us, but the ladies were not that good, they weren't very kind and we event felt they were rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you loved our location and facilities! We are sorry to hear some of our staff members were rude. We will definitly look into this as we consider this very important. We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

77%

Overall, okay place. Great location close to the attractions in town. However, not very clean and the toilets always smelled kind of funky. I slept next to the heater (it was literally along my wall) and was burned by it a couple of times. But, room was still cold. Simple but good breakfast. Cleaniness was the only issue - it seemed as thefacilities were never really cleaned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings! We're happy to hear you like our location and breakfast. We are very proud to be located along the canals! We are sorry to hear about the heater. It's an old building so it's hard to keep it warm. But I'm sure we could have given you an other bed not close to the radiator. The facilities should be cleaned twice a day so we'll look into what happened as we consider cleanliness very important! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

LOCATION was the best - canal view right in the middle of the city. STAFF - 2 guys on duty the night I checked in were horrible & rude but the rest were nice and helpful. WIFI - would have been nice to have but is only in the common areas. ROOM was on the top floor-had to lug my luggage up with no help 3 floors-no lift/elevator! Liked all-female dorms. Pretty clean bathrooms and rooms overall. FACILITIES - wish there was at least a kettle to make tea. Nice basic breakfast in pretty room.


86%

i think 20 people for one room is kinda a lot. and maybe plugs for rooms or lockers can be good idea.


74%

It's a nice place to stay but if you're looking to meet some people there to party with, you better stay somewhere else. They don't have a kitchen or microwave; and if you need a place to storage your bags after your check out, they charge you for it.


71%

Stayokay is an ok place. Staff is nice.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location right on the canal, terrific view out the breakfast room window - nice to wakeup to! Free breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but free so - great! Location was the big deal here, the room was fine, wifi was not great at all, pretty slow - but there are lots of places you can get free wifi around the city. Make sure you do the free walking tour, great way to see the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked our location along the canal. Wifi can indeed be a bit slow sometimes, but we are working on it! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

63%

Extremely misleading!!! When we arrived we had booked a 6 bed dormatry, only to find out we were in a 20 bed dormatry with complete strangers very dark an dreary rooms, you weren't even aloud speak in the rooms cos people were sleeping at all different times, The smell in the toilets was terrible all the time!!!! Heavy sewerage smell!! It was €500 euro for 2 nights between 5 NEVER again......

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't like your stay at our hostel. It is a bit strange that you made a booking for a 6 person dorm as we only offer 10+ dorms in our hostel, but I'm sure we could have worked something out. The bathrooms are normally cleaned twice a day, so somethings must have gone wrong. We will definitely look into that. We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

The hostel could be a bit more open for the costumers, has no area to drink or smoke. Once it is a hostel basically for young people, should be consider to have some space for drinking and smoking.


86%

Excellent staff, location and breakfast, but the bathrooms were not very clean, the towels were expensive to hire and I missed a plug near each bed.


77%

The hostel is well located for easy access to most of central Amsterdam. The 10 bed dorm was probably the most private one Ive experienced due to the dividers between the beds, along with the lockers placed outside of the room meant sleep was more likely. The hostel seemed well run and the staff were friendly and engaging. Also, the included breakfast was filling.


83%

Easy access to Amsterdam central station to get to airport - breakfast was excellent


83%

Not the place for party people, very chilled, quiet hostel, good for peeps who want too get a good sleep, up early for sightseeing etc:)

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel. Everything clean, big bathrooms with lots of showers. The free breakfast is a huuuge plus. The bad thing is that there's no atmosphere at all, and the price that during weekends is really high but that seems to be everywhere in Amsterdam.


63%

Well located with a good free breakfast. Could have been a lot cleaner with lots of dust under the beds and in the showers. Lack of a common area or somewhere to meet people was disappointing. Pretty standard, big hostel.


89%

A great place to stay with a group, but not so great if you're on your own. I managed to meet people anyways, but it was more due to chance than to the hostel being conducive to meeting people. Great location, though, and everything was clean.


60%

2 key things that bothered me about this hostel: 1-Lack of power sockets: NONE in the rooms. I wasted a number of hours over the course of my brief stay waiting for things to charge because there was nowhere safe to leave them. A small thing maybe, but more people travel with devices that need charge and it's time to adapt. 2-Showers didn't drain properly, so you end up standing in dirty water an inch deep that has sat for several days as you shower. It was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned.


(823 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback