X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1367 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was a really amazing vacation in Amsterdam, and the hostel added to it also :-) really nice, professional staff, good breakfast and perfect location :-)

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you loved your stay in Amsterdam. We really appreciate all the kind words. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

74%

Very nice hostel but quite expensive. Good facilities and security

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you had a good stay with us. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

69%

Great location, staff extremely helpful and pretty friendly. Facilities were decent. Breakfast was good, exactly what you need. Dorms were very large and very uncomfortable for the price I paid. Bathrooms were disgusting, and there didn't seem to be a women's only washroom in the area I was in although there was a men's. Amsterdam is an awesome city and the Netherlands is a wonderful country and this hostel was great for a bed to quickly lie down on and a breakfast to quickly inhale!!


83%

I really liked the stay at the hostel. It is very well located, with places to eat nearby and within walking distance from most tourist attractions. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was simply amazing. The toilets and showers were always clean too. The only thing I would complain about was the number of socket plugs available - in my room, with 20 beds, there was only 1 plug. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff, breakfast and other facilities. We know that there are only a few outlets in the rooms. Therefore, you can charge them for free at the front desk. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

60%

Nothing fancy. Outdated facilities, nothing to dry your hands in the toilet, stagnant water in the showers, some hot water in the showers didn't work. Breakfast and beds were pretty good. Although the radiator next to my bed sounded like a waterfall. Staff was a mixed bag, some were kind and helpful, while some were straight up rude to myself and other guests. Biggest downside: NO WALL OUTLETS IN THE ROOMS. Extremely inconvenient. Your stay will certainly be just as advertised: Okay.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and comfy beds. We are aware of the fact that there are no outlets in the rooms, for this reason you can charge your device for free at the reception, or in the bar. We will also take an extra look in what happened in the bathrooms and with the staff, as we take cleanliness and hospitality very seriously at Stayokay. We do hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

66%

The location was great, but the bathrooms should be cleaned more. There was also no good place to change - the only options were the shower stalls, which were obviously all wet, or the bathroom stalls, which are quite gross. It would've been nice to have more more power sockets in the room and to have lockers in the room. However, the breakfast was amazing - way more than I could've asked for! The reception staff were mostly ok, but bar staff are all really friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our location, breakfast and staff. We are aware of the limited sockets in the rooms, therefore we offer to charge your device for free at the reception. The lockers are located just outside the room so that people don't wake up when people use them late at night or early in the morning. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

77%

Good location, great breakfast. However, the bathrooms were not very clean most of the time. Also, PLEASE PROVIDE POWER OUTLETS TO ALL BEDS. People have no place do charge their electronic devices and that's ridiculous.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. The bathrooms should be cleaned twice a day, so we will definitely look into this as we consider cleanliness as very important. About the outlets, we are aware of the limited outlets in the rooms. Therefore, we offer to charge your device for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

100%

Perfectly placed just outside the red light and cannabis districts, but a 5-10min walk to everything including Central station! A very clean hostel and mostly quiet. Good showers, huge lockers in rooms, comfy beds, and great breakfast! Staff were awesome - very helpful! Would be nice to have wifi in rooms, but at least we had it in the hostel. We had a really great time at this hostel and will absolutely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and facilities. We do not offer wifi in the rooms, as we want to encourage people to meet fellow travels and share stories and experiences. Therefore we only offer wifi in our common areas. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

89%

We booked this hostel last minute, but couldn't have found a better place. It's in a great location; quiet but a 5 minute walk from the centre of town, 1 minute from bars/coffeeshops. Although the room was a 20 person dorm, the way it is laid out into banks of 4 beds gives you more privacy, and the showers were good and clean. Great value for money and a great place to stay!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

94%

Great staff. Lockers were outside the room and big enough to fit my things comfortably. Breakfast was pretty good - cereals, Nutella, toast, jam, and I think I remember deli meat or cheese. Ate a nice panini from the bar one afternoon. Only thing I wasn't a fan of was that the bathroom tended to have random puddles of water, typical of a gym locker room. However, never had to wait for a shower. It was an excellent place to stay. P.s. Must have earplugs... There's always someone who snores.


100%

Breakfast was lovely, the larger dorms were set up well to maintain as much privacy as possible, there were plenty of facilities available and the staff was incredibly helpful. One in particular, I believe his name was Kris, was amazing in answering all our questions and making the stay the best experience it could be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will definitely let Chris know that you appreciated his help and advice! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

The concierge named Chris is incredibly helpful! He sat down with us to work out every little detail of our travel situation and was funny, kind, and efficient. Also, showers could be cleaned a bit more often... there were hairballs sitting in some for days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that Chris was of such good help to you, we will definiley let him know! As for the showers, we will look into what happened as they should be cleaned twice a day. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

91%

For this price, you won´t find a better place. It has everything you need and the breaktfast ist really good (though only until 9.30) but it is a bit of a commercial hostel, I thought, because it has a lot of beds (almost 200), so it doesn´t feel as homy and cozy as other hostels. But that´s okay, I would go there again any time.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

For the most part, our stay was great! Hostel was nice, okay breakfast. Most of the staff was really nice and super friendly, except for one man who was extremely rude. Was not helpful at all and actually made our stay much more complicated than it needed to be. But over all I would totally recommend staying at this hostel!!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Nice beds, pretty clean but no kitchen and some members of staff were very rude to us especially about stuff we hadn't been told so it all felt a bit unfair. Awesome breakfast.


97%

Great location and a nice view from the room. Nice breakfast. Toilets were clean. The staff was very helpful. I recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Everything was lower than the average quality apart from breakfast.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you had good expectation of us. But we are sorry that we didn't really live up to them. I'm sure though, that we could have done something for you to make your stay more enjoyable. We always want our guest to have the best time possible. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast and we hope that you had fun in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

74%

Great location, great breakfast, facilities are a bit worn out. Staff are very helpful and friendly. A big group of middle aged women made loads of noise in the room (there is always someone being inconsiderate in a hostel). Doesn't really matter that the hostel lacks atmosphere – it is in Amsterdam and people don’t go there to sit around a hostel (at least I hope they don’t, if they do, they shouldn't travel).


54%

place is very dirty, especially the lockers! Rooms shall be aired everyday.


91%

A+ location. Breakfast was amazing.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear you loved our location and breakfast. Enjoy your travels! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

(841 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback