X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1366 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Overall, okay place. Great location close to the attractions in town. However, not very clean and the toilets always smelled kind of funky. I slept next to the heater (it was literally along my wall) and was burned by it a couple of times. But, room was still cold. Simple but good breakfast. Cleaniness was the only issue - it seemed as thefacilities were never really cleaned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings! We're happy to hear you like our location and breakfast. We are very proud to be located along the canals! We are sorry to hear about the heater. It's an old building so it's hard to keep it warm. But I'm sure we could have given you an other bed not close to the radiator. The facilities should be cleaned twice a day so we'll look into what happened as we consider cleanliness very important! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

LOCATION was the best - canal view right in the middle of the city. STAFF - 2 guys on duty the night I checked in were horrible & rude but the rest were nice and helpful. WIFI - would have been nice to have but is only in the common areas. ROOM was on the top floor-had to lug my luggage up with no help 3 floors-no lift/elevator! Liked all-female dorms. Pretty clean bathrooms and rooms overall. FACILITIES - wish there was at least a kettle to make tea. Nice basic breakfast in pretty room.


86%

i think 20 people for one room is kinda a lot. and maybe plugs for rooms or lockers can be good idea.


74%

It's a nice place to stay but if you're looking to meet some people there to party with, you better stay somewhere else. They don't have a kitchen or microwave; and if you need a place to storage your bags after your check out, they charge you for it.


71%

Stayokay is an ok place. Staff is nice.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location right on the canal, terrific view out the breakfast room window - nice to wakeup to! Free breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but free so - great! Location was the big deal here, the room was fine, wifi was not great at all, pretty slow - but there are lots of places you can get free wifi around the city. Make sure you do the free walking tour, great way to see the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked our location along the canal. Wifi can indeed be a bit slow sometimes, but we are working on it! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

63%

Extremely misleading!!! When we arrived we had booked a 6 bed dormatry, only to find out we were in a 20 bed dormatry with complete strangers very dark an dreary rooms, you weren't even aloud speak in the rooms cos people were sleeping at all different times, The smell in the toilets was terrible all the time!!!! Heavy sewerage smell!! It was €500 euro for 2 nights between 5 NEVER again......

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't like your stay at our hostel. It is a bit strange that you made a booking for a 6 person dorm as we only offer 10+ dorms in our hostel, but I'm sure we could have worked something out. The bathrooms are normally cleaned twice a day, so somethings must have gone wrong. We will definitely look into that. We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

The hostel could be a bit more open for the costumers, has no area to drink or smoke. Once it is a hostel basically for young people, should be consider to have some space for drinking and smoking.


86%

Excellent staff, location and breakfast, but the bathrooms were not very clean, the towels were expensive to hire and I missed a plug near each bed.


77%

The hostel is well located for easy access to most of central Amsterdam. The 10 bed dorm was probably the most private one Ive experienced due to the dividers between the beds, along with the lockers placed outside of the room meant sleep was more likely. The hostel seemed well run and the staff were friendly and engaging. Also, the included breakfast was filling.


83%

Easy access to Amsterdam central station to get to airport - breakfast was excellent


83%

Not the place for party people, very chilled, quiet hostel, good for peeps who want too get a good sleep, up early for sightseeing etc:)

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel. Everything clean, big bathrooms with lots of showers. The free breakfast is a huuuge plus. The bad thing is that there's no atmosphere at all, and the price that during weekends is really high but that seems to be everywhere in Amsterdam.


63%

Well located with a good free breakfast. Could have been a lot cleaner with lots of dust under the beds and in the showers. Lack of a common area or somewhere to meet people was disappointing. Pretty standard, big hostel.


89%

A great place to stay with a group, but not so great if you're on your own. I managed to meet people anyways, but it was more due to chance than to the hostel being conducive to meeting people. Great location, though, and everything was clean.


60%

2 key things that bothered me about this hostel: 1-Lack of power sockets: NONE in the rooms. I wasted a number of hours over the course of my brief stay waiting for things to charge because there was nowhere safe to leave them. A small thing maybe, but more people travel with devices that need charge and it's time to adapt. 2-Showers didn't drain properly, so you end up standing in dirty water an inch deep that has sat for several days as you shower. It was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned.


91%

Could do with a bar, and needs more plug sockets in the dorms. But other than that, it's an amazing hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Good to hear that you find our hostel Amazing ;) We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay Stadsdoelen

91%

A big hostel not a great atmosphere as there were just so many people but it was clean and in an incredible location and the staff were friendly and helpful. I don't know that I would stay there if I was a solo traveler but as a group it would be perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and friendly staff!! I know what you mean when you are a solo traveler, however we do have a cozy lobby where people meet and chat. Also the free walking tour from our hostel is a great way to meet people! Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

29%

Toilets ar very very smelly, locker is outside the room, feeling not safe. Wifi is only availabe at reception. The people outside the hostel are danger, always try to take your things when u leave hostel. Also, the room i hv booked is 20mixed room, but the the staff aranged me to a 16 males room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Fortunately we have solved the bad smell in the toilets. The lockers are on the opposite side off your room, this way you don't have to worry about waking people up. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel safe! Did you tell this to our staff? They could have helped you. The free wifi is in the lobby, TVroom and breakfast room. We try to keep the couples and groups in the mixed rooms. We do hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

91%

The hostel were extremely helpful when there had been a confusion in our booking (my mistake) - they unfortunately had no room at our original hostel but moved us to their sister hostel with no extra charge. Staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Overall we had a really enjoyable stay. Thank you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! We are glad to hear that everything worked out!!! You're very welcome, let us know when you want to come back for a stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen

(839 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback