X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1216 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent location on the canal, just a short walk into Dam Sqaure and away from the hustle and bustle. Decent breakfast and the dorms were nice, everyone was nice. Showers were hot :D!! Only issue is 1 plug in the dorm but there are more just outside by the lockers.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating. We love the term "hustle and bustle" you are absolutely right about that ;) Sorry to hear that the showers were hot. Did you tell our reception? They can change the tempature. We also charge our guests electonics in the backoffice, since Stadsdoelen is an monumental building and doesn't have many power plugs. Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

86%

My friend and I stayed here for our first trip to Amsterdam, we really enjoyed our stay and met some great people in the hostel room we were in. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone going to Amsterdam.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear you met some nice people in the room! Thank you for the recommanding us!! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

86%

Most of staffs are very friendly but some are not really supportive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good to hear that most of the staff is very friendly :) We are wondering what you mean with "not really supportive"? You can always contact us by email directly Kind Regards, Stayokay Team

97%

Great location, very clean and excellent breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your response and rating! Great to hear that you liked the cleanliness and breakfast! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

91%

For a first time trip to Amsterdam, its very easy to find the location. It's in a lovely place, very close to several attractions. The tram stop is only a 5 min. walk, or most other locations (like Dam Square or the Museum District) are a 10-15 min. walk. I originally was only going to stay at the Stayokay for the first part or my trip, but I enjoyed it so much, I cancelled my other hostel and extended my stay. It can be a little pricey, esp on the weekends, but I feel the location is worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review!! And recommandation! Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

94%

Everything just perfect, nothing to say.

  • 22nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such a great response! Thank you and see you hopefully soon! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

97%

Very clean and safe atmosphere.

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment and rating! Great to hear that liked our atmosphere and that you felt safe! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

100%

I will always go back there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We see you soon then :) Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

86%

Very flexible, nice staff. Excellent location. The hall locker idea is wonderful, greatly reduces the noise in the room. There is luggage storage after you check out for 0.20€ an hour. This is a large facility, so expect to bring shower shoes, a towel, earplugs, etc if you're sensitive to environmental changes. There are soap and toilet paper in the bathrooms. This is a great place if you are in town for just a couple days and need a safe place to stash your stuff/lay your head.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words! Good to know that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

Free breakfast was pretty substantial. Bathrooms were large and clean. Security was excellent - lockers were safe and the front desk always checked for room keys when we entered the building. Walking distance to the main train station, Red Light District and Museumplatz.


83%

The location is perfect, very close to the main atracctions in Amsterdam. Staff was very nice. We stayed in a room for 20 persons, very clean and comfortable beds. The lockers outside the room is a very good idea to keep silence in the room. We only have 2 plugs in a bedroom for 20 people :( Breakfast is included but I think it is pretty expensive because they don`t have a kitchen! So you have to think not only in how much money do you need for the hostel but also for eating outside.

  • 10th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your response and rating! Good to hear that you liked our staff, location and rooms :) Since Stayokay Stadsdoelen is a older building we can not add more plugs, however our guests can leave the electonics at our reception 24/7, we will charge it for you. We provide a microwave to heat up meals for our guests, a kitchen is against the health and safety regulations and there for not allowed. We hope to see you again some day! Kind Regard, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

The bunk beds were really close together which made it hard to climb to the top bunk. There was only 1 plug in our room which was really frustrating. It didn't seem like there was a light switch to turn on the main lights in the room so when the sun went down, that was that. The cost of using the computers for internet was ridiculously high - 3 euros for 1 hr or 1.50 for 15 minutes. But the location is wonderful - everything is within walking distance. And breakfast is delicious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good to see that you liked the location, breakfast and staff. Sorry to hear that it was hard to climb in the top bunk. Did you see the smaller lights in the room? You can use them all day/night. We offer free WiFi in our hostel lobby. The internet rates are similar to the rates in internet cafe's. Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

66%

Location is great, security is great, facilities lacking needs a kitchen all they have is a microwave behind the counter, pretty expensive for not offering much other than a bed and showers which reminds me of days at camp. Had a good time here though definitely needs a kitchen and a bigger area to socialise. Staff where very friendly and helpful. It was an okay hostel better ones around in Amsterdam wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your response. Good to hear that our location and staff were to your liking! It is against health and safety regulations that the hostel doesn't have a kitchen. To compensate we do have a microwave were the reception staff can heat up meals for the guests, this is for free. The place were people meet and hang-out is the lobby and our tv-room. Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

94%

It was a pleasant surprise when we got to the Hostel. My brothers and I were very well received and treated there. Even with a delay on our part we got the rooms, after calling telling them so. But it was a nice stay, the hostel is comfy, very good atmosphere and they deliver as promised through the site. Excelent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rating and response! we are glad that you enjoyed the stay and service! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen team

94%

Best hostel I have stayed in, in terms of what you get for for your money. Perfect location, decent breakfast, beds were comfortable and solid (no squeaking) with good bed linen. All round very happy. Was perfectly happy in the 20 bed dorm.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you had a great stay in our dorm! Kind Regards, Stayokay Vondelpark

80%

The location is very good and the breakfast a very nice surprise with and absolutly great. The staff was very nice and helpfull. The biggest desapointment were the showers and toilets that are very small,and also very dirty and smelly. Also having only one plug in a 20 bed bedroom it's something they really should work on!


89%

the only thing I may complain about is the almost total absence of plugs in the rooms. I was in a 20 beds room and there were only two. As I guess it is not that straightforward to add more plugs, maybe you can provide rooms with some extension cords with multiple plugs :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your response and rating! You are right, since Stadsdoelen is a monument building it is not possible to have more plugs. We offer our guests to charge there phone at the reception for free! Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

Stayed at the 20 bed female dorm. The lockers outside is a great idea because people don't disturb each other while packing and unpacking their stuff. Thought it was a little on the expensive side, but the building was easy to find, and is a safe neighborhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great response and rating! We hope to see you again :) Kind Regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

Pros:Good beds, big lockers, great breakfast, very kind staff, convinient location very central but still in a pretty mellow street. Cons:very dirty showers and toilets, you can't check in before 2(we knew this) and they charge to store your luggage, wifi was very poor and there were very few power outlets, or you could pay to charge your gadgets. You get your money's worth it's a good place to explore Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good to hear that the location, beds, breakfast and staff were to your liking! It is correct that we provide lockers for 0,20 cents per hour, this is more secure for your luggage. Sorry to hear that the showers and toilets were dirty..this is not acceptable. Did you tell our staff about it? They could send someone to the room to clean it. We know there are not al lot power outlets, we offer to load your electronics for free at our 24/7 reception. Kind regards, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

86%

This is one of those huge hostels with tons of people staying at once. The dorms are pretty cramped, and the common area is small and not the best place to meet people. However, the location is great and the place has what you need.


(773 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback