X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1824 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Super clean! Awesome location! Wish the lockers would have been in the same room but everything else was awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We clean everyday so it's great to hear everything was super clean. To have more space in the room we placed the big lockers in the hallway next to the room, sorry for the inconvenience. We're glad you had a good time! Cheers

89%

I liked the location, which is about 15 minutes brisk walk from the Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are close

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, You're right about the location. It's in the middle of the center and close to many attractions. I hope to see you next time.

77%

Good hostel. bar is nice, lots of space to relax. brekky was really good. lots of showers and toilets. 10-15 minute walk to the station. just one canal away from the red light district. no complaints and no issues.


80%

괜찮앗음

Owner Comment (Hide)
당신이 그것을 잘 했다 기 뻐 ! 희망 다음 시간 까지

89%

Staff was great. The lockers are big enough to put a large pack or luggage in. There's several cafes within a block or two away. Breakfast was better than what I see at most hostels, with juice, cereals, coffee, fruit, and an assortment of meats and cheeses. Bathrooms were ok. A lot of the time the toilets were clogged or didn't flush, and it smells a bit like urine. I was also in a 20 mixed room but it was all guys. Definitely walked in on a guy wanking it while people were sleeping :l

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry to hear that one of your dorm mates was enjoying himself a little too much...how awkward! See you next time regards!

94%

Ótimo hostel, muito bem localizado e com staffs muito simpáticos. Os lockers são bem grandes e ficam na parte de fora dos quartos, o que facilita e não incomoda quando se está em um quarto com mais pessoas. Tem incluso o café da manha, que foi um dos melhores que ja vi em hostel. Único problema é que quase não tem tomadas nos quartos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Obrigado pela avaliação ! Bom que o café da manhã era bom e esperamos que você pode muito bem desfrutar da nossa bela cidade ;) Até a próxima vez Ruben

83%

Good hostel , good location.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, very positive;) See you next year;) Greets Ruben

89%

I stayed here over easter weekend. What you are paying when you stay here is for the absolutely perfect location right in Amsterdam. They had big lockers (Don't forget to bring a lock!) but they only had one power outlet for a dorm room of 20 people. Maybe put a few power strips in the upper dorm rooms? Breakfast was good, and in the end I can put up with rotating chargers just to have a 5-minute walk to the hostel when out and about in Amsterdam. Thanks for an all around enjoyable stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great review! See you next time...regards!

83%

Break fast is very good, Staff are very supportive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thanks for letting us know that you had a great stay. And it's super that you mentioned our great staff;)! We hope we'll see you very soon! Have a great evening! Ruben

86%

Great location in the heart of Amsterdam. The reason I gave 3 stars for facilities is due to the lack of charging ports in the rooms and limited access in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! You're right about the plugs. We are thinking about a solution for this;) For now you can charge all your devices at the reception, this is also more safe;) I'm happy that you had a great stay and had fun in Amsterdam! See you next time!

86%

I really had a nice stay in this hostel. The location is perfect, central, close to the station and other places. The staff were really nice and welcoming, they helped me translating ducth into english and printed off my boarding pass. Both the dormitory and the bathroom were really clean every day. The sheets given were clean and the dormitory really warm. In the bathrooms there are lots of toilets and showers. Overall I really enjoyed my stay there and would absolutely recommend it to friends

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! Thanks for giving other people a lot of information about the hostel and your experience. We love to see you and maybe some friends of you in the future! Thanks again! Have a great evening. Ruben

74%

Las piezas para 20 personas un desastre. Ruidosas, camas malas que suenan al menor movimiento, además de la nula privacidad entre algunas de esas camas. El resto muy bien, excelente ubicación, seguro, excelente desayuno, baños ok. Recomendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! Superfino que la mayor parte de su estancia eran buenos . Esperamos verle de nuevo pronto! buenas noches

71%

The hostel location was great. You can walk from the train station (easier than public transit) and to all the attractions. We stayed in a 20 bed mix dorm and the beds were clean but it felt a bit like a hospital wing. Definitely bring ear plugs and an eye mask because there doesn't seem to be an enforced "quiet time". That would have been our only complaint. A lot of loud kids even at 3am but it is a hostel. The breakfast was nice. Having breakfast included was why we choice this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, It's nice to read that you liked the breakfast especially because this was the reason that you booked it. The rooms are compared to our other StayOkay hostels in Amsterdam pretty big. Maybe you can also have a look at StayOkay Vondelpark;) See you soon, thanks for the review! Ruben

83%

Muy bueno en general...desayuno bueno pero es lo minimo si pagas sobre 30 euros la noche.No tiene enchufes en la pieza lo cual lo hace muy incómodo.Internet a veces tiene problemas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola ! El Internet ha mejorado , y debe ser bueno , lo siento por las molestias ! Está bien que la mayoría era de planificar y espero que usted puede disfrutar de nuestra hermosa ciudad de Amsterdam! Hasta pronto! Ruben

89%

Nice, bright room and clean bathrooms. Wi-Fi would only work in the lobby at night, which was quite frustrating. Bar closes early and the staff serving drinks and food are slow, but it's fine for having a couple drinks before going out. Good location, i could walk to everything. Really good breakfast selection in the mornings. I would stay here again.


69%

Decent all around and staff was pleasant but lacked little amenities like shelves& hooks in dorms and shower stalls. To get out of the shower once dressed, one had to step back into the pool of water. I was initially given a locker way over my head.. I would prefer to rent not buy a towel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'm also not the tallest of the world so for people like us we have a stool in every floor to help us reaching the top locker;). More shelves & hooks are maybe a good idea, thanks for that suggestion! We hope you liked our city and we hope you will visit us again next time. Have a great evening! Regards, Ruben

74%

I had a great time. Thanks


91%

muy buena onda los chicos de la recepción siempre atentos y nos re ayudaron con todo!super limpio, amplio y cerca del centro, nos manejamos a pie siempre, excelente hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Gracias por sus comentarios positivos!!! Hasta proxima!

100%

Somente wifi e café da manhã disponíveis gratuitamente todo restante é pago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado pelo seu feedback super positivo!

94%

Excellent hostel, well located, lovely staff, delicious breakfast and great atmosphere. When in Amsterdam again, I'd definitely stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's nice to read that you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam! Thanks for the review and we look forward to see you! Greets Ruben

(133 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback