X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2042 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Nice location, staff helpful, relaxed and a in the morning- bonus! Enjoyed my stay, no problems! Will recommend..

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we are happy you had a relaxed stay with us!

89%

I really enjoyed my stay here! The location was wonderful, easy walking access to just about everything. The staff was mostly all very helpful & kind. The hostel bar was a great little area to charge your phone(not a lot of plug ins in the rooms) and meet new people. The free breakfast was pretty good, especially for being free. There was key card access so felt very secure and they had large lockers to keep your backpack in which I really liked. The room was a 20 person dorm, so bring ear plugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Hope to see you again, kind regards

97%

Booked the day before we were due to stay. This was my first experience of a hostel, we were in a 20 bed dorm which was a new experience for me but the place was clean and very secure! There were Lockers for your bags just outside the room. The bar has offers on and the breakfast was lovely - simple continental breakfast but it was good. The staff were extremely helpful, the wifi was a little temperamental but it was the best that we experienced on the trip.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for your great review! We are are very happy to know that you had a good stay with us as a first time hosteller! Nice one! Kind regards

43%

DO NOT stay here if you are a solo traveler, this hostel is not for young people, it has a clinical feel with absolutely no atmosphere. By all means it is clean and the staff is friendly but this hostel is geared for more families and older groups.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff at the desk were friendly helpful and accomadating. They fixed my multiple bookings into one so I didn't have to change my bed when the time came. Too bad the cleaning staff didn't get that memo as they removed my sheets and I had to re-sheet the bed after a day of checking out the cafes. That wasn't fun. Also the dorm needs more outlets. It's nice that they have charging at the desk but sometimes you need it in your bed.


80%

El alojamiento está bien organizado, el personal es agradable y hay buen rollo, el desayuno es bueno;dormitorios y vestuarios limpios.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff. The breakfast was very good and varied. :)

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely great! You need to go there when staying in Amsterdam! The Hostel itself is quite but after a 10 minutes walk you're in the middle of the famous club area. There is a free city tour several times a week so you get a really good view of all the beautiful parts


80%

It was a nice hostel, but 33 euros per night was too much and they didn't had any plugs in the rooms which made the communication horrible.


77%

Good hostel. Many showers, lots of toilets and very nice location. The bad thing is that the for key was low on battery, so struggled alot to get in.


69%

Showers were pretty bad but clean atleast. 20 in a room was a bit much, food at bar was disgusting all microwaved packet food. but on a positive the location is excellent and staff were helpful and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we will pass on your feedback to our F&B manager, glad to know that we made up for the food and that your stay with us was a positive experience!

43%

La ubicación es muy buena. El personal es atento, pero las habitaciones no son buenas, los lockers están fuera de los dormitorios, no hay enchufes, te cobran por absolutamente todo, desde usar las computadores, usar el secador de pelo, todo. No lo recomiendo, ya que por el precio que se paga hay mejores opciones


80%

Richard is a champion. He brought a good vibe to the bar area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there I will tell Richard about this, thanks for the compliment! Have a great day

91%

Good location, helpful staff. Clean and cozy. Nice breakfast. 2 things that i didnt like: 1. No elevator 2. Only one (!!!) Socket per room, and about 10 people per room. Thats unacceptable these days because of the mobile phone use.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You could bring your phone to the helpfull reception. There is a powerpoint to charge everything you want 24/7;) I hope you enjoyed Amsterdam and we would like to see you another time!

97%

Lovely hostel with a wonderful breakfast and lovely and helping staff

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything you need in a hostel in a great location. The only downside is the large rooms made for a lot of snoring. 10 bunk beds in one room is a lot. Also there wasn't much for socializing at the hostel itself. Breakfast is included and was great they also provide a free printing service which is handy.


100%

good hostel with good staff and great facilities. bathrooms are clean and you will never wait for a shower or a toilet. rooms are spacious. there are no outlets in the room but get off your phone...you're in amsterdam!

Owner Comment (Hide)
that's the spirit! We will see you again;) Have a great evening

94%

this place is in such a good location! staff are really friendly and helpful. bar closes super early though. free breakfast is really good! wifi is good. have to leave fones with reception for them to charge as there is only one powerpoint per room.


71%

Great location, the staff at the desk are helpful however the cleaners have an attitude like they don't want to do their jobs. There's a bar upstairs with a pool table and a great bar tender, however the bar is usually empty, not many people want to stay in maybe because the location is close to the bar areas and you can walk 5 mins for a better beer with a view.


77%

Luktade illa på rummet

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(107 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback