X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2043 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very good hostel! Nice location, only a few blocks to Dam Square or Leidseplein. Was very clean, but not much people on the bar. The staff was nice and told us how to get to different places.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you had such a great time at the hostel and in our beautiful city Amsterdam. Come back soon;)

100%

Muy buena la ubicación, la atención y la calidad. La cerveza del bar es muy buena.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias!

86%

The hostel was very clean and well-organized with great lockers outside the room. It's located in the red light district, within walking distance to everything. The atmosphere was pretty quiet, we were the only guests in our room going out and coming back late at night. Overall, great location, good facilities and very good breakfast.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good hostel, quite large and a quiet location considering it's only 15 minutes walk from Central Station and five minutes from main shopping and sights. Was in a large female dorm and would suggest a dorm with less beds next time, there was a lot of movement of people in and out at all hours. Bathrooms adequate and did not have to wait to use showers etc, a plus. Breakfast was basic and wholesome. The location made it a good choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to read you had such a nice time! Come back soon;) Have a nice day

94%

Adorei!! Sou muito exigente quanto a limpeza e não fico em lugares ruins. Foi minha primeira vez em Hostel e fiquei encantada com tudo, desde limpeza, organização, e até o perfil dos hóspedes! Muito respeitoso, silencioso e tranquilo! Me hospedei no quarto feminino com 20 camas e foi muito tranquilo mesmo! Recomendo de olhos fechados, sem contar que é o melhor custo beneficio!

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Un bon séjour passé au Stayokay Stadsdoelen. L'endroit est relativement calme, situé à quelques minutes du Red Light District et de Dam Square. Les dortoirs et les sanitaires y sont propres et le personnel sympathique. Pensez à prévoir vos boules quies si vous avez le sommeil léger, dormir dans un dortoir de 20 lits possède quelques inconvénients.


71%

If you want to have fun especially if travelling alone DON'T go there. I always easily make friends at hostels but this place just had no atmosphere at all even over the weekend and no-one was socialising. Has a bar there only for guests but no-one was ever there. Would be fine with mates or if you just wanted somewhere to sleep but not to meet people. Good breaky and PERFECT location. Definatly made Amsterdam a bit boring.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that you did not get to meet some fun people during you stay! We will think about getting more activities to improve the social atmosphere here! Have a great trip and kind regards

74%

No habia cocina.


77%

El desayuno muy bueno. No nos gusto que te tengas que agarrar tus sabanas vos mismo.


74%

The swipe lock to the dorms was broken but was quickly fixed. Great location, friendly staff,


80%

They don't have elevator and nobody help us with our luggage. But in general ok. Breakfast is so complete and it's included.


100%

Excellent!


97%

The location is amazingly good!!


89%

Security overall is fine. However a girl managed to sneak a guy in for a all female hostel room.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. things like that can happen but shouldn't happen ofcourse. Maybe this guy was also a guest from the hostel?! When something happens like this please come to the reception so the staff can solve it. I'm glad you liked the rest and had a great time here!

97%

Really great hostel! Don't let the idea of being in a room of 20 people disuade you. The room was really big and fairly spacious. Really close to the main Red Lights District street, and to Niuew Markt.


69%

Didnt like the rooms and too many people inside, But the cafeteria is very nice and the coffe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Nice you liked the food and drinks. We have 2 other locations in Amsterdam and they provide more private rooms that are smaller;) Also have a look over there next time! Have a great 2016! Cheers

77%

Overall, I had a good experience staying at the StayOkay hostel. They provide good breakfast, which is a bonus. However the cards we use to open the room doors aren't sensible enough so it was a painful experience to open the door everytime.


66%

I have stayed here for two nights. Staff is friendly and location is good. However there is no kitchen (they do have 1 but not for us). The light in the room is pretty dark. As in I get a below bed between two beds there is no light beside me. The girls above my bed on first night is pretty rude because she thought that I have threw her toiletries which she put under my bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi And thanks for your review, Glad that you enjoyed tour time here with us. Unfortunately we do not have a kitchen for guests, this is because of food and hygiene legislation. Food is also served in our bar. Sorry to hear that you had a misunderstanding with the girls in the room; such situations are never nice.

80%

It was the best service for the price we paid.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • rajgone90
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks and come back once;) Have a nice day!

100%

Todo muy bien, lugar agradable céntrico y limpio. Recomendado


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback