X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1757 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Location was amazing!! 10-15 min walk away from most everything interesting in AMS. Rooms were large even with 16 people in them, we only had two outlets but made it work. Bathrooms were coed and basic, could have been cleaner but weren't terrible. Vibe from other hostelers was not great though (not that i can blame the hostel). For two girls traveling alone its pretty annoying to be cat-called while going to breakfast in the hostel. Otherwise, it was a good hostel and i recommend it.


77%

Be sure to bring ear plugs!!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was a great place to stay while in Amsterdam staff where friendly and nice and facilities where always clean!


91%

Super friendly staff! Even at late hours of the night!


91%

Loved staying here! Easy access to everything. The bathrooms could be cleaned more but otherwise felt very safe. Stayed in a 20 person room and had no problems sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, It's great you had a good nights rest and felt safe, that's really important to us! We love to see you again! Have a great day!

74%

The lack of sockets was an issue, only two sockets in a room for 20 people and in an awkward position .

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are right about the sockets, that's why we provide a powerplant at the reception. Please bring all you devices for charging to the reception next time, we will help you;) I hope you enjoyed the citycenter! Have a good day!

100%

Excelentes en todo. Lo recomiendo con ojos cerrados.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias. Usted es siempre bienvenido

91%

It was a great stay! Affordable price, close to the main atractions. It was clean and quite. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price! Really liked to be there.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you liked it so much! We look forward to see you a other time! Have a great day!

80%

The beds and pillows were actually very comfy, and they were within walking distance to all the big attractions of Amsterdam! The staff was very helpful with directions and other information about the city. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great that the staff was very helpful and you liked the beds! Thanks for recommending us to others! We would appreciate when you visit us again too!Cheers!

91%

Only other thing I would have liked to see were more chargers in the large dorm rooms. Otherwise staff was very helpful and flexible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to know that the staff was very helpful and flexible! It's also possible to charge your devices at the reception, this is also more safe:). We look forward to see you again! Have a good day!

83%

Amei o hostel! O único problema é que não existe tomadas suficientes no quarto e o banheiro cheio de cabelo no chão!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá. Temos um ponto de carregamento na recepção. Esta solução para o pequeno número de pontos de venda nos quartos. Que bom que você gostou do hostel! Nós esperamos vê-lo novamente em breve! bom dia

100%

Great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this awesome review. You make my day!

60%

The hostel did not have a very friendly atmosphere. It felt as though I had booked in a low-end hotel. While I do understand it is not a party hostel, the older demographic should be taken note of for any young travellers seeking a lively atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, The location of the hostel is in the most lively atmosphere you will find in Amsterdam. You can party everywhere nearby the hostel (redlight district, rembrandtplein you name it). It's a pitty that the atmosphere was not friendly for you. We always try to give you a warm welcome and help you with your needs. I hope we will meet again! Have a great day!

77%

Although we all booked independently, we didn't think it would be hard to put the 5 people in my group all together. The front desk lady said it would take her "way too long" to reconfigure the rooms to make sure this worked out so we were stuck at 3 in one room and 2 in another. The two beds next to me, were left unoccupied each night so I can't imagine it would've taken too long to do. There's no outlets in the room so you have to take your phone and charger downstairs to charge at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We always try to put people together if they want that. Maybe the room was booked by others already and they didn't show up or the hostel was fully booked so we couldn't move you to a other room. We can not know that you are all together when you all have independently bookings without letting us know. Please send us a email next time before arrival so we can fix it on time. Thanks and we see you next time! Have a great day

63%

Los baños estaban casi dos plantas más arriba de la habitación. No hay casi enchufes, prácticamente solo en la recepción. En las camas de arriba de las literas faltaba una barandilla por un lado, con lo cual era peligroso. Los baños estaban sucios en general. Lo bueno es la ubicación. la amabilidad del personal y el desayuno.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola gracias por el comentario! Todo, por supuesto, deben estar limpias y por lo tanto también todos los días todo limpio durante todo el día. Ven junto a la recepción para que podamos resolver el mismo. Me alegro de que el personal era tan bueno como la ubicación;) Esperamos verte de nuevo! buen día

91%

Each bed does NOT have an outlet which I think should be standard at every hostel. There were two outlets in our 20 bed dorm room and I managed to snag one. However, these outlets were located in the middle of the wall, so there was nowhere to rest my phone. I had to leave it hanging. Other than that everything else was fantastic. Free breakfast, nice facilities, clean sheets, and great sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You can also charge your devices at the reception. Because it's a monument building there are just a few plugs in the room. Sorry for the inconvience but we see you next time at the reception;) Have a great day!

54%

The atmosphere was decent, but the rooms and bathrooms were dirty. The staff was nice. The beds were very loud and every time you rolled over it was a huge scene. We stayed in a 20 bed mixed dorm and hated it. We were mixed in with 50 year old men and were very uncomfortable. They shouldn't allow such old people to stay there. The wifi was decent and the free breakfast was pretty good. Good location in the city, but I won't be going back. Very loud outside our windows at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We do not have an age limit in our hostel, and we do not ever intend to deny access to elderly people. We encourage a mix of all ages and backgrounds! Sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable; our staff is always ready to help you out and could have placed you in a different dorm for sure. Hope you enjoyed Amsterdam nevertheless, kind regards!

100%

Everyone was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for this awesome review! We hope to see you next time!

86%

Great location! Was able to walk into the red light district and main centre of town easily enough. The free breakfast was great! Rooms were good, although there was only 2 outlets in the whole room which meant you didn't get much chance to charge things. Over all the hostel was great and was located very near everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are really glad you had a great time over here! We like to see you a other time. Cheers!

86%

More electric point in the bedrooms mirror in the bedroom

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, You are right about the plugs. It's not possible to build more plugs because it's a monument building. As solution we have a powerpoint behind the reception were we can charge everything for you;) Thanks for the rating and review. Have a great day!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback