X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1508 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Direi molto soddisfatto!!!

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

In rooms with 20 girls, there were only two plugs. It is clearly not enough for this amount of people in one room. The breakfast was very good.


74%

Achei muito estranho, toilet masculino e feminino justos e também é também o box de banho era juntos. Os box estavam sempre entupidos .

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a really wonderful place to stay. The staff was helpful with anything needed. It's in a good part of Amsterdam pretty close to everything.


94%

Great location with great staff, however, there's no charging socket in the room I stayed.


83%

Breakfast OK, changing/locker room outside rooms, big mixed clean bathrooms. Showers floors retain lits of water a bit gross but ok if you bring flip-flops. Friendly staff. Great location. Bar doubles as a common room, but it closes as 11.


83%

Richard the bartender is awesome. Went out with us and showed us a good time. Brent the bartender is awesome he looks like he is from Spain. He really cool dude Nourdin works the night shift in the reception desk. One of the coolest dudes I got to meet in Amsterdam. He is very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great too hear all those compliments ! I will forward them to Richard, Brent (=Brand) and Nourdin; awesume guys indeed. Hope to see you again !

43%

Most of the staff wasn't kind, there was no place to eat and drink what we bought outside, not a good atmosphere at all, everything extra is paid and well paid. Didn't like the experience at all and don't want to go back to this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. I'm sorry to hear we did not met your expectations. We get a lot of good reviews on our employees and we find customer service very important. Therefore I’m sorry to hear this was not your experience. Towels and locks are indeed for sale at reception for EUR 4,50. You can always bring your own towel and padlock as we suggested in our information on Hostelworld.com. The price is comparable with shops around the hostel. Its no prob to eat food in lobby. Wifi and breakfast is free of charge.

86%

Hostel é muito bom, bem localizado, quartos limpos e o café da manhã incluído na diária. A única reclamação que tenho foi que a minha chegada ao hostel foi por volta das 7 da manhã e a entrada era somente após as 14 h, eu perguntei se tinha alguma vaga disponível pois eu estava cansada chegando de uma viagem de 14 h e que eu pagava a diferença. Eles disseram que não tinha, achei estranho pois era uma terça e baixa temporada. Depois vi que foi má vontade, em nenhum dia o quarto ficou cheio.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there ! Thanks for your kind words. If I understand right (used google translate) you arrived @ 7am and wanted to book that extra nights so you could have gone straight to the rooms. (Rooms are available @ 14.00). We did have space and this should have been possible. We have discussed this at our receptionmeeting. Happy to hear you like the location, free breakfast and cleanliness.

69%

I'm really not impressed that I can't unsubscribe from these emails. When I click the link to unsubscribe it brings me to the main page of the site. Also, I never gave consent for them to send me any emails.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. I'm not sure which emails you mean. If the mails come from hostelworld you are able to unsubsribe at the bottom of every e-mail; read more @ http://www.hostelworld.com/securityprivacy.php If the email comes from Stayokay (you're also able to unsubsribe at any time) but please send an email to us and we solve the problem. This place is for rating our hostel and we hope you had a good stay.

100%

Très bonne auberge de jeunesse avec super petit déjeuner inclu ! Bien située, à deux pas du quartier rouge, au bord d'un charmant petit canal !

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a million !

100%

Tell them a big thanks. We all had such a good time and I'd definitely go again- staff were really cool as well.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind and great words and hope to see you again.

77%

Das Hostel ist optimal gelegen. Die Übernachtung in 20Bett-Zimmern war in Ordnung. Steckdosen gibt es leider nicht im Zimmer. Locker befinden sich leider auch auf dem Gang. Insgesamt jedoch sehr zu empfehlen. Eine ZeitAusweitung des im Preis inbegriffenen Frühstücks bis 10Uhr wäre toll. Gern wieder!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are aware of the limited plugs in the room. There are more plugs in the bar and in the lobby. Also @ reception we gladly charge all electronic devices for you. Great to hear you had a good overall stay.

91%

Me and a group of six other people stayed in this hostel when we went to Amsterdam. It really was great, we were worried about staying with another 13 people (in the 20 person mixed dorm) but ended up not having any issues with it; it actually worked out great. The staff were really friendly. Just remember to bring shower shoes and you'll be fine!!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for great comments.

49%

1.多人房內僅一個插座 2.廁所沒有很乾淨 3.距離車站要走20分鐘

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, good to read you like our location. After Google Translate I figured out there has been a problem with a toilet? In case of any problems or if case you want something extra cleaned feel free to come down to the reception. I hope you had an overall enjoyable stay.

94%

Best hostel I've stayed at so far. Loved the breakfast buffet in the morning also.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The wifi goes in and out plus there is only one outlet in the room but if you go to the bar it's fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
also down in the lobby and behind the reception you can charge stuff. Thanks for your comments and tips.

89%

Bar is cash only. Rooms are good, but with plug ins were more convenient for upper bunks to charge things. Showers are cooed and clean. Seems to always be very busy. Most people are 18 to 25. Went in November and saw no older people.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Yes overall we get many young young people at this hostel. At Stayokay Vondelpark you will find more a mix of different people and ages. Thans for the compliments and hope to see you again.

91%

I like to stay here cuz it's walkable to go anywhere you like, but there're two things that they need to improve on, more outlets to plug electronic devices in the room and small bathroom in the room as well, but overall is great I like it


97%

We had a wonderful time here! The staff answered all our silly questions with grace, thanks guys! The location was wonderful and we could get anywhere we wanted to go pretty easily on food. I was so impressed by the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the comfort of the beds. The only downside was the lack of outlets, but they did offer charging at the front desk. The community space was welcoming too!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback