X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1216 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Nothing fancy. Outdated facilities, nothing to dry your hands in the toilet, stagnant water in the showers, some hot water in the showers didn't work. Breakfast and beds were pretty good. Although the radiator next to my bed sounded like a waterfall. Staff was a mixed bag, some were kind and helpful, while some were straight up rude to myself and other guests. Biggest downside: NO WALL OUTLETS IN THE ROOMS. Extremely inconvenient. Your stay will certainly be just as advertised: Okay.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and comfy beds. We are aware of the fact that there are no outlets in the rooms, for this reason you can charge your device for free at the reception, or in the bar. We will also take an extra look in what happened in the bathrooms and with the staff, as we take cleanliness and hospitality very seriously at Stayokay. We do hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

89%

We booked this hostel last minute, but couldn't have found a better place. It's in a great location; quiet but a 5 minute walk from the centre of town, 1 minute from bars/coffeeshops. Although the room was a 20 person dorm, the way it is laid out into banks of 4 beds gives you more privacy, and the showers were good and clean. Great value for money and a great place to stay!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

Foi minha segunda vez nesse Stayokay de Amsterdam, fiquei apenas uma noite e correu tudo bem, como da primeira vez.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Muy buen hostel.


100%

Breakfast was lovely, the larger dorms were set up well to maintain as much privacy as possible, there were plenty of facilities available and the staff was incredibly helpful. One in particular, I believe his name was Kris, was amazing in answering all our questions and making the stay the best experience it could be!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will definitely let Chris know that you appreciated his help and advice! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

The concierge named Chris is incredibly helpful! He sat down with us to work out every little detail of our travel situation and was funny, kind, and efficient. Also, showers could be cleaned a bit more often... there were hairballs sitting in some for days.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that Chris was of such good help to you, we will definiley let him know! As for the showers, we will look into what happened as they should be cleaned twice a day. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80%

Muy contenta con nuestra estancia, camas cómodas, espacio para guardar las maletas, baños y duchas limpios. Sólo una pega... Para ir al baño había que subir una planta, ni un solo baño en toda la planta! Por lo demás genial, ubicación perfecta!

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

For this price, you won´t find a better place. It has everything you need and the breaktfast ist really good (though only until 9.30) but it is a bit of a commercial hostel, I thought, because it has a lot of beds (almost 200), so it doesn´t feel as homy and cozy as other hostels. But that´s okay, I would go there again any time.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Sono stato 3 notti in questo ostello e devo dire che sono stato molto bene, stanze arieggiate e luminose, bagni comodi e soprattuto sempre puliti. Il personale è molto a modo (tranne il vecchio che c'è la sera, che mi ha fatto la paternale e mi ha cacciato, perché mi sono addormentato sul divano una notte prima di partire avendo il volo alle 7) Per il resto la zona è tranquilla e bellissima, ci ho messo 15 minuti a piedi dalla stazione centrale. Colazione variegata e abbondante, lo consiglio!


74%

Si vous ne voulez pas de l'esprit lowcost, fuyez! Faites attention aux "tarifs préférentiels", les mini cartes sont bien plus avantageuses! si vous voulez recharger votre portable, votre appareil ou votre ordinateur : attention dans ma chambre de 16 filles il n'y avait qu'une seule prise! C'est apparemment pareil dans las autres chambres.


83%

Auberge très agréable, bien située, assez authentique, avec une pièce commune très sympa. Petit bémol sur le respect des autres (quand on dort dans des chambres en commun, surtout le soir tard et la nuit, il ne faut pas faire comme si on était tout seul...). Le système des portes est un peu bruyant...


77%

Buen hostal, con excelente atención por parte del personal, aunque poco control con las entradas y salidas. Muy bien ubicado. Recomendable para grupos.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

L'emplacement en plein centre ville est l'énorme avantage de l'auberge. Le petit déjeuner est copieux même si le service fini à 9h30 ce qui fait un peu tôt. L'auberge est parfaite pour un groupe de jeunes qui veut visiter Amsterdam à pied sans se ruiner.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

For the most part, our stay was great! Hostel was nice, okay breakfast. Most of the staff was really nice and super friendly, except for one man who was extremely rude. Was not helpful at all and actually made our stay much more complicated than it needed to be. But over all I would totally recommend staying at this hostel!!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Dortoir très bruyant

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice beds, pretty clean but no kitchen and some members of staff were very rude to us especially about stuff we hadn't been told so it all felt a bit unfair. Awesome breakfast.


91%

El hotel está genial. Ubicación perfecta en pleno barrio rojo, ademas una vez te ubicas es muy fácil acceder y llegar a todas partes. Está todo muy limpio. Las taquillas estan justo afuera de las habitaciones lo cual es ideal para no molestar, pero a su vez para acceder a las taquillas necesitas usar la misma llave que la de la habitacion. Eso si acordaros de llevar vuestro propio candado. el ambiente esta muy bien pero lo mejor sin duda es el DESAYUNOO menudo bufet! Lo malo es de:7.30-9.30

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location and a nice view from the room. Nice breakfast. Toilets were clean. The staff was very helpful. I recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Minha estada no Stayokay Stadsdoelen foi tranquila, exceto pelo fato de não haver tomadas nos quartos! Muitas vezes tive que ficar acordada na área de convivência aguardando meu celular terminar de carregar.


49%

Everything was lower than the average quality apart from breakfast.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you had good expectation of us. But we are sorry that we didn't really live up to them. I'm sure though, that we could have done something for you to make your stay more enjoyable. We always want our guest to have the best time possible. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast and we hope that you had fun in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback