X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3079 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Instalações ótimas, excelente café da manhã, ótima localização. Unica observação seria que o hostel tem horario de silêncio, convenio com escolas, então não é lugar onde possa esperar festas e um bar agitado.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado pelo seu feedback positivo!

77%

Good value for money. Clean and good service. With its large size, though, the hostel loses the personal touch that I like to find when hosteling. Not a bad place though, certainly not when you're with a large group of friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thanks for your comment. We are a pretty large hostel with a great variety of groups and individuals. It's good to hear that you had good value for money and liked the clean hostel that profited a good service. We hope to see you another time! Greets Ruben

89%

Very clean and well situated near vondelpark and Leidseplein!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, a clean hostel is our standard;) We are happy you liked the location and hopefully you enjoyed our great city as well! Have a great day, Ruben

49%

When I checked in the room wasnt cleaned and the cleaner did not even clean it till the end even aftWifi sucks,even at the reception/lounge area & when i complained the girl at the reception told me "pray". Staff interactions whatever i had they were cold & non chalant.Its not a hostel but a huge hotel for school groups,its pretty big with a great bar & location but poorly managed.The lockers are too small without locks and so is the room. You have to buy towels.Breakfast closes early. DONT GO

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your night here was not as expected. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, this is a very important standard for us. Please always notify us if this is not the case; I am sure we could have offered you another room or solved it for you straight away. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam nevertheless!

89%

Excellent hostel for the money. Great location and the facilities are wonderful. The staff is kind and helpful and it's an all around great hostel.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great review, nice to know you had a good time here!

77%

Limpio, bien organizado. El edificio bonito y habitaciones acogedoras. Respecto a la calidad/precio, un poco caro, además, si necesitabas dejar las maletas, tenias que pagar el locker

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Fine se desea, las habitaciones. Utilizamos precios flexibles . A veces los precios son bajos y, a veces más caro ;) Gracias por su opinión y esperamos verte de nuevo ! saludos Ruben

74%

It's location wasn't easy to find as a first time visitor to Amesterdam.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we will keep your comment in mind! Hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam!

91%

Lovely hostel within walking distance of all the tourist attractions. Breakfast included also which was great! Only issue was the poor wifi but this wasn't a huge problem as it was available in reception area. Would 100% recommend!

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! We did improve the WiFi last week. Next time you visit us you're connected everywere;) You make us happy with your comments! Thanks and have a great day! Ruben

46%

So disappointed. Have travelled A LOT all over the world since 2011 and decided to spend 2 nights in Amsterdam in a private room. Walls were made of plastic so you could hear everything. Very old fashioned decor just enough space for 2 single beds a wardrobe and that's it!! No towels no hand soap even. Lights didn't work in shower room and told they wouldn't be fixed til the next day. Shower was cold and powerless. NEVER again. So expensive for poor accom!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you had to have a cold shower, this is something that rarely happens, and if it does we always try to fix that problem straight away. It is true that our standard twin room does not include towels or soap, however this is available at the reception for a small price. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam nevertheless!

91%

Uno de los mejores hostales en los que he estado. Todo muy bien organizado, desayuno genial, limpieza muy bien y el personal era muy eficiente y amable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Siempre es agradable escuchar si alguien piensa que pertenecemos a uno de los mejores albergues;) Muchas gracias por los comentarios! Esperamos volver a verte! saludos Ruben

94%

Hostel muito organizado ! Local super agradável ambiente jovem ! O melhor café da manhã de hostel que eu já vi ! Muitas variedades e tudo ótimo !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Desireé! Uau que ótimo para ler que você esteve tão bem ao seu gosto. Obrigado e até breve! Boa noite Ruben

74%

you need to buy towels. there was another woman using my bed number.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Talita! I can imagine that it is very annoying when someone else uses your bed. You can report it at the reception and you will be helped, so you get the right bed;) It's true about the towels. We try to keep the price as low as possible and you can take the towels back home and enjoy it the rest of your life;) Thanks for your rating and I hope to see you another time! Cheers Ruben

71%

Since the building is a little old, the floor and the beds are really noisy. I stayed in a 12 beds room which was really big, but the worst thing is that they dont have any plugs next to the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The building has a nice atmosphere, but can sometimes be noisy because of the age and other walking people. You are totally right about the plugs and we want to improve this. This spring we will installing more plugs into the rooms, my apologize for not having them sooner. I hope you had a great stay and liked our city. Thanks for the review! Greets Ruben

100%

We were with a group of eight family members, aged between 17 and fifty. We all stayed in one room together. The beds and pillows were comfy. The breakfast was free and very good. The location was perfect and we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this fantastic rating! We are glad that you had a great time here! We love to see you next time. Regards Ruben

97%

Excellent location, close to public transport and main sites. Clean facilities, helpful staff. Room a bit small, but not a big problem.


91%

The hostel was clean and well run. The free breakfast was pretty good. It is located down a long empty street. We arrived at night and it felt a little creepy until we got to the end of the street and saw the well lit hostel. The hostel is very large (over 500 people) and at times it felt like a college student union. There is only wifi in the lobby, so the lobby is often full of college age kids silently typing on their computers. Also, don't forget to bring a towel or it will cost you 4 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review, really clear. I can imagine it was a little creepy at night even though it's a safe place. The Hostel is a bright spot in the darkness;) You are right about the WiFi, sorry for the inconvenience. This spring the WiFi will be available in all the rooms and not only in the lobby and bar. I hope to see you again! Thanks for the tip about the towel, it could be useful for other travelers! Have a great night! Ruben

100%

Gostei muito do hostel. Um dos melhores onde já me hospedei. Os quartos são limpos e espaçosos, os lockers grandes e seguros, o espaço de convivência é bem legal, inclusive com um bar que se integra a recepção. O wi-fi funcionou no meu quarto, mas não sei se funciona em todos. A localização é ótima, do lado da praça dos museus e a uns 10 minutos à pé do centro da cidade. O café da manhã está incluído e é bastante bom!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Bruno! Muito obrigado, eu tenho, portanto, nada a acrescentar;). Até a próxima! Greetings Ruben

63%

No tiene wifi en las habitaciones, en los cuartos faltan enchufes y no hay ascensores lo cual si vas a caminar y venir cansado 4 pisos por escaleras es bastante agotador

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cada vez que el subir y bajar escaleras no es muy divertido. En todos nuestros edificios es un ascensor , probablemente no han visto esto. Es cierto que los medios de WiFi y poder, nuestras disculpas . Esta primavera va a cambiar , así que espero volver a verte ! Gracias y buenas noches. Ruben

80%

O cafe da manha é maravilhoso! vale a pena! Mas não tem tomada suficiente para todo mundo nos quartos. Internet apenas na área comum! precisa melhorar isso ai!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado pelo café foi ótimo! Estamos muito satisfeitos com o seu feedback e também irá melhorar a WiFi então nesta primavera. É também disponível nos quartos e melhorará a ligação! Tenha uma boa noite!

69%

Up charges for everything. I think this place would be cool if I was 16. Not in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that we charge a small fee for some services. We try to keep these costs as low as possible. Please have a look in our location 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen' next time. Perhaps this fits more within your needs;) Have a great day! Ruben

(133 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback