X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2890 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great place, very close to everything. Could do with a bit more sign posting, got a bit lost trying to find it. Also, may be a few more plugs in the rooms. But, overall, a lovely, comfy place with excellent facilities. May

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your very much for the compliments. Re the plugs, you can always charge stuff @ reception.

77%

Pros: Location is good - very close to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Sheets come in sealed plastic. Showers and bathrooms in dorm room. Breakfast is a bit above average: they provide a couple cereal and bread options along with the usual stuff. Cons: It's enormous, making it difficult to connect with people. WAY TOO expensive on the weekends, 40-plus euro. Rooms are a bit dark and many are at ground level. If you're a traveling college kid, this is the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks about location. We are a large hostel but luckily divided into three buildings so it feels less big. We got rooms located on three different levels. In building A even four levels. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and facilities. We regret that this was not your impression.

83%

localização e staff ótimos. quarto um tanto apertado para 6 pessoas, banheiro pouco confortavel e chuveiro frio no inverno

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for mostly compliments. Showers are hot (especially in winter ;-) in case you do have a cold shower let us know @ reception and we will fix it or change your room.

83%

very nice place


100%

I really liked the place. Definitely, I will go back!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great we look forward to see you again !

100%

Perfecta ubicación y servicios. Esta ha sido la segunda vez que me hospedo en este hostel y lo volvería a repetir. Realmente, de los mejores hostels en los que he estado. El personal es muy atento y amable, siempre con un buen sentido del humor ! El desayuno (siempre incluído) es magnífico teniendo en cuenta que es un hostel y no un hotel. Recomendación 100%

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we love humor! Great to see you back for a second time, hopefully visit three will follow !

86%

un personnel d'acceuil charmant et trés disponible il manque une cuisine commune pour préparer ses repas et les échelles pour les lits supperposé ne sont pas pratique ( j'en ai connu de plus facilement praticable ) la localisation est parfaite et les transport en commun trés proche ,c'est une trés bonne adresse

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments about our staff. And yes it is correct we do not have a guestkitchen, but feel free to bring some food and eat it in the lobby.

89%

There is no plugs for each bed, which is very bad for hostels. Wifi not in the rooms is another negative topic. Breakfast very good with many options, very well located, staff very kinldy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for breakfast compliments, Wifi is only in the common area's at this moment. We realize there is not many plugs in the rooms, so too everybody: feel free to charge your electronic devices at reception (free of charge of course.)

91%

This is a great hostel, very close to the museums and other amenities. So clean and our room was quite big also. We loved it!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much indeed !

94%

I came with a few friends and we were surprised by the excellent quality of the hostel. As students, on student budgets, we figured our choice of hostel would end up being poorer than expected but we were pleasantly surprised! Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark is an amazing hostel with great facilities. And the breakfast was awesome!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are happy we have exceeded your expectations!

86%

너무 좋았습니다.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was absolutely amazing. Very clean, safe, and the staff was very helpful, despite the language barrier. Breakfast was included in our price and very good! Location was great and beds were comfortable. Bunk beds weren't that hard to climb either! Had a nice toilet and shower in the room. Definitely recommend and will stay there again!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for nice comments. And yes all our rooms are ensuite (eg bathroom in the room).

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, i felt very comfortable there aswell especially in the lobby. It had a relaxed atmosphere and i highly recommend it to any age group and any amount of people.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you thank you thank you ! And yes our lobby is a great place to hang around and have something to eat or drink, talk with each other or with our Dutchies behind reception.

94%

The female dorm was nice and spacious. The included breakfast was nice. The showers were hot. Almost to big to meet others. They also have bike rentals.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for the great comments. We do not rent bike out ourselves, but we do work together with Green Budget Bikes, discount voucher available at reception.

51%

No atmosphere and no wifi in the rooms. Beds were uncomfortable and the price was way too high for what this place is worth. Good breakfast though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks you for the compliments about breakfast. We are working of WiFi in the rooms. At the moment there is wifi in the communual area's like our lobby and in the bar upstairs.

71%

Clean hostel with great buffet breakfast. Issues were that wifi was not available in the room, the common area was not a great place to meet other travellers as everyone was only there to use the wifi. This hostel says that it has a kitchen but it doesn't.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for the compliment about breakfast. We are improving wifi availebility in the hostel. I've checked our website but can't find where we mention we have a kitchen. If you can tell us where you've read this we will change this. We've got a bar where people can buy snacks and drinks, but no guestkitchen.

80%

네덜란드 스테이오케이 호스텔은 다들 좋슺니다. 방에콘센트없는거빼면 불편한거없엇습니다


89%

Free breakfast is amazing!! The staff are so kind and helpful and knowledgeable. It's also very clean and has great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thank you for the nice comments. And yes we have to agree; our staff can tell you lot's about Amsterdam. Hope to see you again.

77%

Thought it was very expensive, but overall a good hostel

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression. You were booked into a 6 bedded dorm , perhaps good to know for next time, we also have 10-20 bedded dorms, which is cheaper.

71%

The wifi is insufficient for a hostel of this size. Also the amount of plugs in the hostel are also very limited.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(186 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback