X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3063 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

not enough plugs


77%

No wi-fi in room, and poor wi-fi in reception.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review! We only have Wifi in the lobby and in the bar, so that could be the reason.I hope you enjoyed your stay and our great city Amsterdam. Cheers! Ruben

89%

Overall a good experience. There are some gripes however. The mattress was too firm and i woke up with a backache. The WIFI signal in our room was extremely bad and I couldn't connect to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chunn. It's correct that there's a poor Wifi signal in the room. But this spring it will chance! We are installing Wifi access in the whole building, so you can be online whenever you want! Please come to the reception next time when your mattress is to firm, so we can help you immediatly. A good night's sleep is one of our main priorities! Cheers Ruben

57%

Hostel suits 18-20 y/o travellers. One or two very friendly staff members; one or two very unfriendly ones. Breakfast good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing! We get a lot of good reviews on our employees and we find customer service very important. Therefore I’m sorry to hear that some of our staff were unfriendly. I will discuss this with our staff. I hope you enjoyed our beautiful city! Have a nice evening. Ruben

100%

Endroit génial, imaginé à merveille pour les jeunes très bien situé à 3 minutes à pied de Leidseplein. Le personnel (à part la femme qui s'occupe des vélos - on dirait qu'elle travaille à contrecoeur sans sourire) est très sympathique, proche des voyageurs, parlent très bien anglais, prend le temps nécessaire aux explications et conseils,... Endroit à conseiller à 100%. Par contre, ce qui est dommage c'est la lampe de la sortie de secours dans les chambre qui reste allumée en permanence...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis fantastique! Mon collègue est toujours de bonne humeur , peut-être y avait quelque chose ce jour-là , je vais lui demander . Néanmoins , nous sommes très heureux que tout allait bien . Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt ! Avoir une bonne soirée . Ruben

86%

It's a very large hostel, so it has the atmosphere you'd expect - it doesn't have the family feel of a small hostel. That said, it was a good place to rest my head. Great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are happy that you had a good place to rest your head. We would like to see you next time. Ruben

66%

las camas son muy incomodas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience! Maybe our new comfort plus room is something for you. We hope to see you next time! Have a great evening. Ruben

89%

A lot better than what we have expected. I just wished that the wifi could be accessed from room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that your stay was better than you expected. We hope to see you again! Greets Ruben

69%

Das Hostel war einfach zu finden und die Lage ist auch schön. Die Mitarbeiter sind super freundlich und kompetent. Das Frühstück war aufgrund von Haaren nicht mein Fall, sonst ganz in Ordnung. Die Zimmer sind leider etwas veraltet und wir hatten etwas pech mit dem Bett. Oben fehlte ein Schutzgitter, sodass mein Freund die ganze Zeit Angst hatte raus zu fallen. Die Hygiene war wirklich unter aller sau. Das Bad war die ganze Zeit einfach nur ekelig und wurde nicht gereinigt.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there great to hear were able to find the hostel easily and you liked our location. Thanks for the compliments about our staff. They do know a lot about Amsterdam. We have our own in-house cleaning department and my sincere apologies if the bathrooms were not cleaned daily. We do normally clean daily. Next time please inform reception so we can pick it up straight away and make sure you stay is even better next time. Regards, Jesse

74%

I can't help but say that this is not the type of hostel I personally prefer staying it. For me it is pretty boring and more of a place where you want to stay when you are searching for quietness or a family friendly environment.


91%

I was very pleasantly surprised!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear, we love to surprise our guests in a positive way!

69%

20人部屋に滞在しました。 お部屋は割と清潔で、部屋に4つシャワーがついていたので良かったです! ただ、部屋にコンセント差し込みプラグが2つしかなかったのが、大変不便でした。

Owner Comment (Hide)
great to hear you liked our showers. You can always charge stuff @ reception.

94%

Good hostel, good breakfast :)


91%

No tiene wifi en los cuartos y las toallas son caras, solo se pueden comprar. El desayuno muy completo, el mejor que tuvimos. Lo recomendaría y volvería definitivamente.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and you would recommend us. You can bring your own towel or buy one from us for EUR 4,50 the same price as in a shop.

94%

Our stay was perfect! The only inconvenient was that the Internet is not available in te rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for great review.and yes we do only have Wifi @ the dowstairs area.

97%

Hostel perfeito, silencioso e café da manhã maravilhoso!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we love our breakfast as well. hope to see you again.

80%

Nice place, good facilities, met some fantastic people. Would definitely stay there if I'm in Amsterdam again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for great comments !

97%

Rien à redire, tout était très bien, personnel accueillant et serviable, chambre propre, spacieuse et confortable, petit déjeuner servi entre 7h30 et 10h très bon ! Merci encore, nous y reviendrons !

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour les compliments. Nous espérons vous revoir!

89%

Très bonne auberge de jeunesse, bien placé, bon petit déjeuner, chambre propre.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour les compliments sur notre bon emplacement, bon petit déjeuner, chambre propre.

83%

The location is good. And the area is quiet. I felt safe and the breakfast was amazing! Stayokay is very big and so it is not easy to meet people. I only met new friends in my room. Other than that it is a great place to spend few days and visit the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your great comments about our location, safety and our breakfast. Good to hear you met some friends in the room. We also have a walking tour leaving daily @ 10:40 to meet some people, or perhaps in our bar or pub-crawl?

(134 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback