X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2768 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

brak mydła i ręczników

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is awesome, almost inside Vondelpark. The staff is really atencious, the common room is big and comfortable, the bar is good and offers beverages for a good price. The hostel sells tickets for almost all the attractions in Amsterdam with a discount. Just loved it!


89%

Zentrum sehr gut zu Fuß erreichbar.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very clean, efficient facilities; Not a friendly environment, just feels like a giant hotel with lots of young, wifi-addicted people.


94%

a localização é ótima. uma das entradas do Vondelpark fica em frente a entrada do hostel. É possível locar bike no próprio hostel, e tem vários lufares para trancar sua bike alugada. Não fica próximo ao burburinho do centro (redlight, praça Dam) mas fica próximo a outro burburinho que é muito bom também. o café da manhã tem variedade de pães, frios, sucos naturais e cereais. Os quartos são amplos, e cada quarto possui banheiros próprios. Leve seu cadeado para os lockers dos quartos !


71%

I just prefer smaller, more intimate hostels. This one was so big, it was hard to meet people! So if you're a single traveler, maybe try a different hostel. That being said, though, the staff were really friendly and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and clean.


74%

This was a good place to say, however it felt too much like a hotel and the vibes of the other patrons reflected this, it didnt have that close hostel vibe where people are willing to make new friends, other than that it was a good place.


80%

My friend and I had a good 3 night stay here. However, the first night, we had some interesting roommates who had made our room very, very dirty. But after night 1 they left, and all was well! Cool people, great breakfast, great location.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, easy to find and a great atmosphere with lots of young people! However rooms were stinking hot in summer not much air flow and staff were quite unfriendly both times I stayed there :/

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Breakfast buffet is the best part-- come hungry!!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Its very clean and comfortable. If.you are looking to interact with other people, not recomended. Its big and quite impersonal, So there is.little chance to meet people.Other.than.that it is very good.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Es un excelente hostal, me encantó.la ubicación es buena así no quede en el centro porque se puede llegar facilmente en transporte público, en bici o caminando. El desayuno buffet es muy bueno y variado. En las habitaciones podrían poner aire condicionado o por lo menos un ventilador, hizo muchísimo calor, también podrían poner más adaptadores (hay 3 en una habitación para 6 personas) y cambiar los lockers que hay en las habitaciones porque son super pequeños. Sólo hay wifi en las zonas comunes.


77%

Good location, right beside Vondelpark and close to Museumplein. Good sized breakfast included. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only in the social areas.


74%

This was once my favourite hostel. However, on my recent stay i hardly slept because it was so hot: the hostel has no aircon or Windows that open properly. I also woke up with ?flea bites, despite the place seeming to be amazingly clean. For €30 a night, you're better off splitting a hotel room with a friend in my opinion.... if you don't mind losing the kitchen facilities.


89%

Really big hostel so it's easy to meet people, had its own bar. Wifi doesn't always work in the room but is great in the Commons Area. Spacious rooms and lockers.


69%

Overall it was pretty good, only stayed for 2 days, but it was alright. They don't have enough outlets and the bathroom situation in the rooms is weird. But it's a nice bog hostel and pretty clean nice to have like locker things in the room, next to the bed. But there was a really rude guy who worked there, we rented bikes and when we came back to return them one of the keys was stuck, ( i got it out though ) and this guy just started yelling at us, guy was a major douche.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was ok but nothing spectacular, just very big. The room smelled damp, and its a bit far from Amsterdam's centre. It was also expesnsive for what I have paid in other places around Europe.


100%

Would have liked to have somewhere to have a cup of tea. It was very hot whilst we were there and could not open windows enough to cool the room off. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and friendly staff.


77%

Awesome location!! Only bad thing is they there wasn't air conditioning and it was the hottest hostel I have ever stayed in...super uncomfortable in the rooms and in the lounge because it was so hot! And the windows wouldn't open all the way. Good breakfast tho! The location makes up for any negative things tho. Also bathroom connected to room which was awesome.


(216 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback