X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3143 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

So disappointed. Have travelled A LOT all over the world since 2011 and decided to spend 2 nights in Amsterdam in a private room. Walls were made of plastic so you could hear everything. Very old fashioned decor just enough space for 2 single beds a wardrobe and that's it!! No towels no hand soap even. Lights didn't work in shower room and told they wouldn't be fixed til the next day. Shower was cold and powerless. NEVER again. So expensive for poor accom!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you had to have a cold shower, this is something that rarely happens, and if it does we always try to fix that problem straight away. It is true that our standard twin room does not include towels or soap, however this is available at the reception for a small price. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam nevertheless!

91%

Uno de los mejores hostales en los que he estado. Todo muy bien organizado, desayuno genial, limpieza muy bien y el personal era muy eficiente y amable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Siempre es agradable escuchar si alguien piensa que pertenecemos a uno de los mejores albergues;) Muchas gracias por los comentarios! Esperamos volver a verte! saludos Ruben

94%

Hostel muito organizado ! Local super agradável ambiente jovem ! O melhor café da manhã de hostel que eu já vi ! Muitas variedades e tudo ótimo !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Desireé! Uau que ótimo para ler que você esteve tão bem ao seu gosto. Obrigado e até breve! Boa noite Ruben

74%

you need to buy towels. there was another woman using my bed number.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Talita! I can imagine that it is very annoying when someone else uses your bed. You can report it at the reception and you will be helped, so you get the right bed;) It's true about the towels. We try to keep the price as low as possible and you can take the towels back home and enjoy it the rest of your life;) Thanks for your rating and I hope to see you another time! Cheers Ruben

71%

Since the building is a little old, the floor and the beds are really noisy. I stayed in a 12 beds room which was really big, but the worst thing is that they dont have any plugs next to the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The building has a nice atmosphere, but can sometimes be noisy because of the age and other walking people. You are totally right about the plugs and we want to improve this. This spring we will installing more plugs into the rooms, my apologize for not having them sooner. I hope you had a great stay and liked our city. Thanks for the review! Greets Ruben

100%

We were with a group of eight family members, aged between 17 and fifty. We all stayed in one room together. The beds and pillows were comfy. The breakfast was free and very good. The location was perfect and we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this fantastic rating! We are glad that you had a great time here! We love to see you next time. Regards Ruben

97%

Excellent location, close to public transport and main sites. Clean facilities, helpful staff. Room a bit small, but not a big problem.


91%

The hostel was clean and well run. The free breakfast was pretty good. It is located down a long empty street. We arrived at night and it felt a little creepy until we got to the end of the street and saw the well lit hostel. The hostel is very large (over 500 people) and at times it felt like a college student union. There is only wifi in the lobby, so the lobby is often full of college age kids silently typing on their computers. Also, don't forget to bring a towel or it will cost you 4 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review, really clear. I can imagine it was a little creepy at night even though it's a safe place. The Hostel is a bright spot in the darkness;) You are right about the WiFi, sorry for the inconvenience. This spring the WiFi will be available in all the rooms and not only in the lobby and bar. I hope to see you again! Thanks for the tip about the towel, it could be useful for other travelers! Have a great night! Ruben

100%

Gostei muito do hostel. Um dos melhores onde já me hospedei. Os quartos são limpos e espaçosos, os lockers grandes e seguros, o espaço de convivência é bem legal, inclusive com um bar que se integra a recepção. O wi-fi funcionou no meu quarto, mas não sei se funciona em todos. A localização é ótima, do lado da praça dos museus e a uns 10 minutos à pé do centro da cidade. O café da manhã está incluído e é bastante bom!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Bruno! Muito obrigado, eu tenho, portanto, nada a acrescentar;). Até a próxima! Greetings Ruben

63%

No tiene wifi en las habitaciones, en los cuartos faltan enchufes y no hay ascensores lo cual si vas a caminar y venir cansado 4 pisos por escaleras es bastante agotador

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cada vez que el subir y bajar escaleras no es muy divertido. En todos nuestros edificios es un ascensor , probablemente no han visto esto. Es cierto que los medios de WiFi y poder, nuestras disculpas . Esta primavera va a cambiar , así que espero volver a verte ! Gracias y buenas noches. Ruben

80%

O cafe da manha é maravilhoso! vale a pena! Mas não tem tomada suficiente para todo mundo nos quartos. Internet apenas na área comum! precisa melhorar isso ai!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado pelo café foi ótimo! Estamos muito satisfeitos com o seu feedback e também irá melhorar a WiFi então nesta primavera. É também disponível nos quartos e melhorará a ligação! Tenha uma boa noite!

69%

Up charges for everything. I think this place would be cool if I was 16. Not in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that we charge a small fee for some services. We try to keep these costs as low as possible. Please have a look in our location 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen' next time. Perhaps this fits more within your needs;) Have a great day! Ruben

91%

Very clean and functional hostel! Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily! Is one of the few hostels that includes breakfast in its price! I raccomend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Fabrizio! I will give this compliments to my colleagues from the cleaning and breakfast. Thanks for mention it! Ciao Ruben

91%

Great hostel, cool environment, nice bar, great breakfast, and good, calm location (near the park). Very easy to get there by bus from schiphol airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vanessa! Thanks for the review and great ratings. We are happy you had a great time here! See you next time;) Ruben

100%

Great hostel in a great central location. I was able to walk all over Amsterdam from the Stayokay Vondelpark. Clean room, great facilities. Remember to bring your own towel as they do not rent towels, though they do sell them for 4.5 euros. Staff was very helpful and informative.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! This is one reason why we love to work here, to make people happy! See you next time, Cheers!

83%

It feels like staying in a business office. Everything is modern and automatic but with a cost. WiFi is really slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There will be WiFi in the whole building this spring! The WiFi will remain free and the connection will only improve. We always try to give people the feeling they are on holiday at a place were they can relax and have fun. Sorry it didn't work out for you perfectly. Thanks for your review, hopefully we see you again! Greets Ruben.

100%

The hostel was ok, clean and in a nice place. But there were few plug for charging phones

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Serena, Thanks for your review and awesome rating. It's always possible to charge your devices at the reception. This is also more safe and handy. We hope to see you again soon! Greets Ruben

71%

not enough plugs


77%

No wi-fi in room, and poor wi-fi in reception.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review! We only have Wifi in the lobby and in the bar, so that could be the reason.I hope you enjoyed your stay and our great city Amsterdam. Cheers! Ruben

89%

Overall a good experience. There are some gripes however. The mattress was too firm and i woke up with a backache. The WIFI signal in our room was extremely bad and I couldn't connect to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chunn. It's correct that there's a poor Wifi signal in the room. But this spring it will chance! We are installing Wifi access in the whole building, so you can be online whenever you want! Please come to the reception next time when your mattress is to firm, so we can help you immediatly. A good night's sleep is one of our main priorities! Cheers Ruben

(139 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback