X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3020 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We really liked our stay in this hostel, great value for money, convenient location and friendly staff. I will definitely stay there if I ever visit Prague again.


91%

O melhor café da manhã de hostel que já comi!!!! Muito bom!!!!!


83%

This hostel is a monster! Great staff always there for you, with lots of information. If i could choose , i would stay there again!


91%

Excellent hostel, good location and service. We don't have wifi in bedrooms (just in the common areas), but they are very comfortable.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very helpful staff. Need power points in rooms for charging phones/computers. It's the 21st century

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

If you want any sort of creature comforts then do not stay here. Besides its good location to the centre of town, my family and I were very disappointed with the lack of value for money. There was no tv in the room, free wifi was only available in the common area (which kept dropping out) and the private ensuite we booked and forked out extra for had no shower curtain, so the bathroom would get flooded. I have stayed in FAR nicer hostels in my days then this one!


60%

Very friendly, helpful staff and a generally good location within walking distance of the city centre (also great for Museumplein!). If you're a fan of wandering (we certainly were) it's a great idea to make your way there by foot; that way, you can get a real feel for the city. A couple of things which really let Stayokay down: very poor wifi connectivity above first floor, hostel is lacking in character, and VERY FEW power outlets :( BUT breakfast is free, so not all bad. May stay again.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate you give us feedback, thanks. You're right about the wifi connection, for now it's only available in the common areas (so not on the first floor or up). However, we're fixing that and at the end of the year we should have wifi in all the rooms as well. Also, we're doing renovations so we might get more character in your opinion soon. Hope you'll be back to check it out!

94%

Eles cobram €4,50 pela toalha! Quem for, leve uma :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Me ha gustado mucho.Esta genial porque esta muy céntrico.Las instalaciones estan bien y muy amplias y el personal muy amable.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Not really special - staffs were really helpful though


89%

is nice and fun


74%

Breakfast was good, beds were clean.staff was good but you can not use wi-fi in the rooms, and there is just one power socket in the rooms near the toilet.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're working on the wifi in the rooms, it should be available at the beginning of next year. Hope you'll come back to enjoy our hostel.

86%

Addetti alla reception molto gentili e disponibili per qualsiasi dubbio o curiosità. Posizione non proprio vicinissima alla piazza principale ma se si affitta una bici, che li dall ostello ti fanno un buon prezzo (11 euro 24 h) è tutto facilmente raggiungibile. Clima accogliente e molto internazionale e giovanile.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

L'ostello é molto carino e pulito. Alla reception sono stati veloci e simpatici. L'unico problema è che nella camera privata dove ho alloggiato non c'erano né asciugamani ne sapone/shampoo. Per il resto il mio soggiorno è stato più che puacevole.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The receptionists must study the Touristic areas in order to better inform their guests.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Too bad to hear you didn't get great advice. Perhaps you talked to a new employee, most of us know plenty of the city and fun things to do! We hope you found your way and we'll see you again some day.

91%

We really liked this hostel. The staff was really nice and helpful. We really appreciated their discount tickets on the attractions in the area, and breakfast included in the price was a major plus. The location is definitely within walking distance to the tourist sites as well. If your staying the weekend, I would recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comments, and yes we sell tickets to almost all museums and tours you can imagine :-)

83%

Best breakfast ever !

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very basic hostel - but great location. Atmosphere lacking as it is a massive hostel- mixed demographic. Good breakfast with nice view of the park. Need to pay for towels , safe & luggage storage. Also need to make up bed on arrival. Staff friendly & helpful. One of the better hostels that I have stayed in in Amsterdam - but not a patch on hostels in Germany , Portugal & Spain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear you like our location and helpful and friendly staff. We do actually have a 'Full service' package which includes making up your bed and a towel for € 6,50. As we are a hostel you are right you need to pay for a towel, a padlock and for luggage storage. It's € 4,50 for both a towel and a padlock and the lockers are only 0,20 cents an hour. These are all extra service, feel free to bring your own towel and padlock to save money. Txs for breakfast compliment

83%

Really great location, breakfast is actually worth it only downfalls: wifi only works in the lounge and the bathrooms needed a better cleaning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comments and we will keep an eye on the bathrooms. You can always come to reception to request some extra cleaning if needed, so we can solve any issue immediately.

100%

Very clean place. Good service. Fast check in & out. Good luggage storage facility.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review !

(137 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback