X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2622 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

This hostel is not bad. Be aware that it's one of those chain major hostels, and it's huge. A lot of bug tour groups stayed there while I was there as a solo. It feels more like an army barracks than a hostel. The reason I say that is because no one really socializes outside their groups. The bar is small and not very many people go there. The common area is just people sitting and texting. If you try you can make some friends. Location is good (right in vondelpark). Staff are somewhat helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our location. Sometimes we have some groups staying with us. This does not happen very often, but we hope they didn't cause you any problems. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

100%

very friendly! they know what they are doing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you review and great ratings! We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

80%

Great location. Nice to have a bar in the common space but wasn't the most social atmosphere. A lot of people in the lobby on laptops. Other than that, everything was great


94%

There was just a couple of things that was missing in my opinion and that's related to the bathroom facilities. First I think it would be nice to have handsoap and a towel or paper towel by the sinks, and second I think there should be a chair or shelf or something like that in the shower "room" so we could put our stuff on it, like clothes and toiletries.


100%

Muy buena ubicación. El personal muy educado y atento. El desayuno muy completo.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente hostel. Muy cómodo y amplio. Muy buenas y cómodas las habitaciones. Y el desayuno muy completo. Está muy cerca de todo.


94%

Really nice hostel and good service!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

El hostel estaba bien, pero no hay conexión a wifi desde los dormitorios y en los espacios comunes no es muy buena... El desayuno sin embargo estaba bastante bueno y abundante...


94%

Very good and clean hostel. Staff is friendly, helpful and very patient. The rooms are nice and spacious and the breakfast is probably the best I've ever had at a hostel. The only thing I found a bit strange is the fact that the bathroom is practically in the room. Which means no waiting in line, but it also means lots of noise whenever people use the facilities or blow dry their hair. I was awake at 6 am every day. Overall a great hostel though!


97%

Foi uma estadia muito agradável. Do lado do Vondelpark, o hostel está próximo de algum dos principais pontos turísticos da cidade, embora esteja um pouco distante do centro - Red Light District, por exemplo. Os quartos estavam limpos, o café da manhã era excelente, com farta variedade e o staff foi sempre solícito e atencioso. Definitivamente ficaria novamente lá.


89%

Auberge très bien placée, propre, personnel à l'écoute, petit déjeuné très copieux


94%

Great hostel! Very big so not quite as personal as some I've been to, but nice! Great staff, rooms were good. Ended up being put in a 6-bed instead of 8, that was a plus! Shower and bathroom in the dorm were great. Nice downstairs area. Great location in Vondelpark. No wifi in rooms, but the area to sit in downstairs is very comfy. And the free breakfast was great, had way more stuff than I would have expected! Not a lot of plugs in the room (some beds had them, not mine), but more downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us. We appriciate all the kind words and hope to see you back some time! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

86%

Overall a fun stay here. No wifi in the rooms, which is a bit of a bummer. Also, you had to pay for the pool table and other games, which sucks. They had a good happy hour and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good too. Right next to a nice park and walking distance to a bunch of stuff in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The reason we don't have wifi in the rooms, is that we want to encourage people to come down to meet fellow travelers, make new friends and share stories and experiences. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

89%

The atmosphere of the hostel was favorable for groups of people, as I was alone, was kinda hard to interact with people. But this is a personal observation.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location was great, and the hostel sooooo nice! The staff was always really helpful and spoke perfect English. The only downside is that there wasn't a kitchen there, but the amazing breakfast made up for it :)


80%

There should be WIFI available at the rooms. Having to pay for locking the luggage is unfortunate.


80%

I hope you can expand the wi-fi to the entire building including rooms, at least for some minor charge if not for free. Trip planning is a major part of any trip and most comfortable in the own room. And please remove those horrible rubber sheets from the beds! Leave them for the British lads if necessary and save others from them.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We offer free wifi in the bar, lobby and other common areas. We choose to offer it there because we want people to meet fellow travelers and share stories and experiences. Of course you can also plan your trip while enjoying a beer for example. We haven't had many complains about the mattresses. We decided to use these because there are both comfy and hygienic. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

91%

This place is very nice :)


91%

The bike rental prices were great. The location superb (how often do you get the chance to stay IN vondel park?). And the staff were really helpful when we had to cancel one bed in our reservation. Would definitely recommend the Stayokay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate all the kind words! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

97%

I loved this place! Every one was great! It was clean and comfortable. Great location next to the park, really nice and helpful staff. Bathrooms and showers in the rooms. Breakfast was good. The only issue I had was there was a ton of young school kids who checked in and made getting breakfast a bit hectic but it wasn't too bad. I would definitely stay here again!


(166 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback