X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3492 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

a big hostel, rooms are clean & comfortable far from train station but not far from city center no kitchen in the hostel, and no free luggage storage, but you can rent a locker there


89%

Good place, location in my opinion is very nice since I like that area of Amsterdam so much more than the area near the Central Station and the Red Light District. The hostel is very clean, quiet and staff is friendly. If you are looking to party and drink more, then you better book something near the red light district, there are several party hostels around.


91%

It's definitely a very good option to stay in Amsterdam. The staff was very kind. Breakfast was over the top!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A lovely place to stay. Its in a great area right next to vondelpark, everything you need very close by. Staff were friendly, free breakfast was great,get there early for it, you know what hostel magpies are like! the hostel does bike rental too. rooms were clean same with the bathroom. i would happily return here


80%

Our clean sheets had a bad brown stain on them. Not the best way to start our stay.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good experience! will choose this hostel again when i visit Amsterdam! :)

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay. Helpful, fun, and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Noting to add;) Great!!!! See you next time!

80%

Pretty great hostel, right near vondelpark. It is like a fort to get into have to go through two locked doors just to get to the lobby, is a challenge if you've had to much local produce! The breakfast is decent, cheese, meat, toast, juice and cereal etc. if you want to keep you bag locked up after or before you are in your room you have to pay which is average as you are at one of the more expensive hostels around. Staff are good though, very friendly and always willing to help!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review to read! haha the doors can be difficult sometimes, but we need to have this kind of security unfortunately;). Great you had a amazing time in Amsterdam! See you later!

86%

A very decent hostel in a beautiful location. Clean and cozy, awesome building! Its a big hostel so its tricky to socialize but however i was happy with my stay here :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the review! It's indeed a pretty big hostel but we have a cozy bar where you can socialize and have a good time;) I'm glad you were happy with your stay here, that's all we need. Have a great day!! Ciao

91%

The staff was incredibly helpful. We needed directions to various museums as well where to find things like the nearest ATM. Not only was the staff kind and patient amidst our barrage of questions, but hey knew their stuff too! They were able to help us every time.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great that they could help you with everything you needed! You're always welcome and we look forward to see you again! Cheers!

100%

Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review and rating! I will tell the staff about this;) Have a great day!!

83%

The hostel is in a good location, staff was nice. My only negative is that the rooms were a little dirty, and so were the showers in the rooms. We had trash left from previous guest all over the table our whole stay. And used bedsheets stayed on the floor for two days.....this might have been an isolated incident, but I'm not sure

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, It must be a isolated accident, because we clean the whole hostel and rooms every day with a big team. Please come to the reception next time when something feels not correct so we can fix it immediately. We always want to provide a clean room and a amazing stay therefore our apologize. We hope to see you another time;) Have a great day! Greetz Ruben

86%

Probably the best free hostel breakfast spread I've encountered. Love Vondelpark so location was trill

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you liked the breakfast so much and our location! See you again soon;) Ciao

97%

Stay okay was cool. The staff is really nice and knowledgable. Theu have activites posted all over the lobby and if you buy your ticket there you get a dicount! The bar crawl was really fun and you get a free t-shirt. Free breakfast every morning could be better, but hey it's free. Great location close to shopping, attractions, restaurants and tram and bus stops. Mattresses are comfy as well. I would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this rating and information. The pubcrawl is always fun, i'm glad you remember it still:p. It would be great if we see you again! Have a nice evening. Greetz

71%

Too big for my liking but the hostel was clean and the breakfast was great. The location is awesome if you want to be close to downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your opinion and rating. We hope to see you again! Have a great day

80%

It would be nice if there were some sort of paper towels/hand drying mechanism in the bathrooms! They ended up soaked by the middle of the day due to lack of this.


80%

stayed here for a week. the hostel is very big and hosted a lot of large groups (young school kids) while I was there. the dorms and bathrooms are cleaned daily so cleanliness is excellent but I can't say the atmosphere is the most social.


97%

Excellent location on the side of Vondelpark. Good security. Plenty of common areas & lots of room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and rating. We are happy that you were happy about everything! See you next time! Ciao

71%

Common area so good. Quite good bar. Excellent location. Excellent free breakfast. WiFi connection really BAD. NO kitchen. NO microwave. Only 2 plugs for six persons in the room. This place is oriented to the business of the bar/restaurant, it's not good for backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review and rating! Next time you can bring all your devices to the reception and we will charge it for you. I'm sorry we don't have a kitchen to cook or microwave, but I hope you found some good and cheap food at the Leidseplein or other street nearby! Have a great day!

74%

It's a massive hostel, that admits school groups and organised tours, so for us it wasn't a good choice. there was nothing wrong with the hostel per se, but it just didn't have a friendly homey hostely feeling. It was clean, good location, ok price for a private double room. But it's a budget hotel rather than a hostel. There was no feeling of community, now living room as such, no cooking together. It's fine if you're looking for a very basic hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thabks for your review! I hope you enjoyed our great city and found some delicious food somewhere else, instead of cooking. A lot of people here meet in our bar, I hope you didn't missed that?! We would like to see you again, have a great and safe trip! Cheers!

(2076 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback