X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2403 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's expensive, as hostels in Amsterdam tend to be, but not terrible. The common area is nice. No WiFi in rooms. Biggest problem I had (and I definitely wasn't the only one) is with the lockers. Misleading system had people pushing the wrong button and having the locker still be available to the public. Luckily people were honest and gave my bag to the front desk instead of stealing it. You all really need to work on that program. Other than that, everything was fine... nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good that you liked our common area. We have chosen not to have Wi-Fi in the rooms. You find Wi-Fi in the lobby, bar, gameroom and breakfast room. Sorry to hear that you had some problems with the lockers. You can always ask our reception for help. The instructions are writen on the lockers. Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

89%

It's definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The place is huge and that mean you have a lot of opportunities to meet nice people. The happy ours at the bar are the best. Forget the reviews that put this hostel down. They have no clue!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your Great response and rating!!! Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and met nice people! We hope to see you some other time again! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

89%

Stayed here for 3 nights after trying to book another hostel down the road. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hostel was when i first arrived. The reception area was very clean and had a funky feel to it with the different coloured chairs and sofas. Security was good with key access doors at the front entrance and to the rooms. Staff were excellent at giving you directions or any other questions you had and the breakfast was buffet-style which was nice. Overall a pleasantly nice stay.


63%

its just fine


77%

Breakfast here is amazing, it's across from vondelpark so you can find your way back easy, it's also very clean. The place completely lacks atmosphere however, it's a bed factory hostel. The place is perfect if you're part of a group but would blow if you knew no one to start with..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the beautiful Vondelpark. Sorry to hear that you did not like our atmosphere. Could you maybe send us an e-mail to vondelpark@stayokay.com? To let us know were and what you would like to see different in the atmosphere. Did you also go to the bar to meet other travelers. We have a different bar-theme every night. Or the free walking tour? We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

97%

Looks like a good hotel, only with ensuites fitted with 4-8 beds. Very clean! And like others wrote before me, one of the best breakfasts EVER for hostel or even hotel! Even coffee makers serving cappuccinos and other hot beverages. You don't need to wash your dishes, and while you don't have the option to cook, cheap meals are served for lunch and dinner. Even beer! Staff is very polite and professional. Not easy for making friends, it's too large and sometimes feels like you're in a campus.


74%

In a cool location around the big galleries and next to a decent park. Breakfasts and wifi (in lobby) are free which was a bonus, albeit not spectacular. Room was clean. Would use again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Great that you liked our location, free breakfast and Wi-Fi. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

91%

Staff at hostel as well as bar are amazing. Location is one of the best you could find in Amsterdam as it's right on the Vondelpark—so beautiful! They have bikes for rent, which is convenient. This makes getting anywhere downtown extremely quick. Atmosphere in bar and chillout area is good. Great security, as with other St. Christopher's. I would highly recommend staying here as long as you're not looking for a hostel right in the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great response and rating! We are glad that you enjoyed our bar, atmosphere, bike rental and security! And yes, we have an awsome staff! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

91%

AWSOME location! really! great place! more like a 3 star hotel rather than a hostel. good breakfast too! sometime there may be a queue at the reception and its a shame that the usage of the computers is on a fee but still the location is ideal if you are up to going out in the city center! Thank you Stayokay!

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your Great review! What a wonderful compliment :) Did you know that the Wi-Fi is for free? We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and location! Let us know when you come back to visit! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

91%

Breakfast was really good! Staff was really nice and helpfull! A bit far from the center, but the Vondelpark next to it is quite nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff!! We are not only in the lovely Vondelpark. The museumplein (Vincent van Gogh, Rijksmuseum) is 5 min walk away. Also the bar area Leidseplein is at the end of our street. The public transport like the trams and buses to Dam and Central station are a few minutes walk from our hostel. Walking to the center is about 20 - 25 minutes. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

74%

The hostel was a bit far from the train station, but easy to get to with public transport. Elevators are off limits during certain times which is a bummer if you are carrying heavy bags and have to go up the stairs like we did. Also, there were only 3 outlets in the room for 6 girls to share... not a huge deal, but kinda inconvenient. Breakfast was decent and free so that was a plus, and the location was close to a lot of great places. I recommend the free walking tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast and location! Good to mention the Free walking tour! It is a great way to get to know Amsterdam and other guests from our hostel! The elevator in building A (were the breakfast is) has a sign up between 7.30 - 10.00 AM to use only when necesarry, since our breakfast staff needs it for the dishes. However, you can still use it. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

83%

hostels are generally very expensive in Amsterdam, so the price is ok. Towels and more sockets for cellphone charging would be nice.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyed the location of this hostel, which is in Vondelpark outside of the canals. Felt very safe here and the park is beautiful with people doing all sorts of activities around the park. The dorm rooms were huge and the bathrooms were a little run down, however, I enjoyed the bar downstairs, the bike rentals outside, and all of the people I met through staying here. If you're a backpacker looking for friends, definitely stay here!


86%

It is definitely a big and young hostel Helpful staff, convenient location, and good security. But the price is a little bit expensive for hostel, especially in weekend and no elevator in building A.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Good that you found the staff helpful! The price is similar to the prices from other hostels in Amsterdam. Our price is flexible based on availability and day. The elevator in building A is to the third floor, in case you are on the fourth floor you need to walk the last few stairs. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

80%

I liked the hostel because of its style, its location near the central station and public transportation and the park. The staff was nice and many services are available. The only thing that bothered me a little was that it was a bit noisy at night (I was in a bedroom just above the entrance where people chatter at night). Otherwise, I liked the big breakfast a lot and I enjoyed my time in the hostel and in the city.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you enjoyed the style of the hostel, location and staff!! Sorry to hear that the noise has kept you awake at night. We have the policy that the hostel and surrounding must be quiet after 10PM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Amsterdam! Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

80%

A quiet, nice and large hostel only 20 min. walk from the festivities downtown. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. One of the ladies was even nice enough to fold all my clothes for me when I did laundry! Lots of families and school groups here however. The common room was difficult, but not impossible, for a solo traveler to meet new people. Watch out for Happy Hour at the bar... Would definitely stay here again the next time I'm around!


66%

Hostel was very big so the atmosphere wasn't great. I was in a room with 17 year olds and there was nowhere to meet other people. But otherwise everything was ok.


97%

Phenomenal location, next to a park and minutes from the city action. Super friendly staff and happy hour every day at the bar!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awsome review! Wonderful that you enjoyed our location, staff and daily happy hour!! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

66%

Perfect location, big hostel, small rooms and beds. Overall a good place to stay if you are planing to be walking around amsterdam the whole day.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you liked our location. Next to walking in Amsterdam, you could also rent a bike with us ;) Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

89%

stayok was a great hostel, it was clean and safe and we met plenty of interesting people!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response and rating!! Staying in hostels is all about meeting intresting people :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hostel, safety and cleanliness! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

(1590 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback