X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2991 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel was clean and well run. The free breakfast was pretty good. It is located down a long empty street. We arrived at night and it felt a little creepy until we got to the end of the street and saw the well lit hostel. The hostel is very large (over 500 people) and at times it felt like a college student union. There is only wifi in the lobby, so the lobby is often full of college age kids silently typing on their computers. Also, don't forget to bring a towel or it will cost you 4 euros.


80%

O cafe da manha é maravilhoso! vale a pena! Mas não tem tomada suficiente para todo mundo nos quartos. Internet apenas na área comum! precisa melhorar isso ai!


69%

Up charges for everything. I think this place would be cool if I was 16. Not in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that we charge a small fee for some services. We try to keep these costs as low as possible. Please have a look in our location 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen' next time. Perhaps this fits more within your needs;) Have a great day! Ruben

91%

Very clean and functional hostel! Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily! Is one of the few hostels that includes breakfast in its price! I raccomend it!


100%

Great hostel in a great central location. I was able to walk all over Amsterdam from the Stayokay Vondelpark. Clean room, great facilities. Remember to bring your own towel as they do not rent towels, though they do sell them for 4.5 euros. Staff was very helpful and informative.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! This is one reason why we love to work here, to make people happy! See you next time, Cheers!

83%

It feels like staying in a business office. Everything is modern and automatic but with a cost. WiFi is really slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There will be WiFi in the whole building this spring! The WiFi will remain free and the connection will only improve. We always try to give people the feeling they are on holiday at a place were they can relax and have fun. Sorry it didn't work out for you perfectly. Thanks for your review, hopefully we see you again! Greets Ruben.

100%

The hostel was ok, clean and in a nice place. But there were few plug for charging phones

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Serena, Thanks for your review and awesome rating. It's always possible to charge your devices at the reception. This is also more safe and handy. We hope to see you again soon! Greets Ruben

77%

No wi-fi in room, and poor wi-fi in reception.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review! We only have Wifi in the lobby and in the bar, so that could be the reason.I hope you enjoyed your stay and our great city Amsterdam. Cheers! Ruben

89%

Overall a good experience. There are some gripes however. The mattress was too firm and i woke up with a backache. The WIFI signal in our room was extremely bad and I couldn't connect to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chunn. It's correct that there's a poor Wifi signal in the room. But this spring it will chance! We are installing Wifi access in the whole building, so you can be online whenever you want! Please come to the reception next time when your mattress is to firm, so we can help you immediatly. A good night's sleep is one of our main priorities! Cheers Ruben

57%

Hostel suits 18-20 y/o travellers. One or two very friendly staff members; one or two very unfriendly ones. Breakfast good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing! We get a lot of good reviews on our employees and we find customer service very important. Therefore I’m sorry to hear that some of our staff were unfriendly. I will discuss this with our staff. I hope you enjoyed our beautiful city! Have a nice evening. Ruben

100%

Endroit génial, imaginé à merveille pour les jeunes très bien situé à 3 minutes à pied de Leidseplein. Le personnel (à part la femme qui s'occupe des vélos - on dirait qu'elle travaille à contrecoeur sans sourire) est très sympathique, proche des voyageurs, parlent très bien anglais, prend le temps nécessaire aux explications et conseils,... Endroit à conseiller à 100%. Par contre, ce qui est dommage c'est la lampe de la sortie de secours dans les chambre qui reste allumée en permanence...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis fantastique! Mon collègue est toujours de bonne humeur , peut-être y avait quelque chose ce jour-là , je vais lui demander . Néanmoins , nous sommes très heureux que tout allait bien . Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt ! Avoir une bonne soirée . Ruben

86%

It's a very large hostel, so it has the atmosphere you'd expect - it doesn't have the family feel of a small hostel. That said, it was a good place to rest my head. Great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are happy that you had a good place to rest your head. We would like to see you next time. Ruben

66%

las camas son muy incomodas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience! Maybe our new comfort plus room is something for you. We hope to see you next time! Have a great evening. Ruben

89%

A lot better than what we have expected. I just wished that the wifi could be accessed from room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that your stay was better than you expected. We hope to see you again! Greets Ruben

69%

Das Hostel war einfach zu finden und die Lage ist auch schön. Die Mitarbeiter sind super freundlich und kompetent. Das Frühstück war aufgrund von Haaren nicht mein Fall, sonst ganz in Ordnung. Die Zimmer sind leider etwas veraltet und wir hatten etwas pech mit dem Bett. Oben fehlte ein Schutzgitter, sodass mein Freund die ganze Zeit Angst hatte raus zu fallen. Die Hygiene war wirklich unter aller sau. Das Bad war die ganze Zeit einfach nur ekelig und wurde nicht gereinigt.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there great to hear were able to find the hostel easily and you liked our location. Thanks for the compliments about our staff. They do know a lot about Amsterdam. We have our own in-house cleaning department and my sincere apologies if the bathrooms were not cleaned daily. We do normally clean daily. Next time please inform reception so we can pick it up straight away and make sure you stay is even better next time. Regards, Jesse

91%

I was very pleasantly surprised!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear, we love to surprise our guests in a positive way!

69%

20人部屋に滞在しました。 お部屋は割と清潔で、部屋に4つシャワーがついていたので良かったです! ただ、部屋にコンセント差し込みプラグが2つしかなかったのが、大変不便でした。

Owner Comment (Hide)
great to hear you liked our showers. You can always charge stuff @ reception.

94%

Good hostel, good breakfast :)


91%

No tiene wifi en los cuartos y las toallas son caras, solo se pueden comprar. El desayuno muy completo, el mejor que tuvimos. Lo recomendaría y volvería definitivamente.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and you would recommend us. You can bring your own towel or buy one from us for EUR 4,50 the same price as in a shop.

94%

Our stay was perfect! The only inconvenient was that the Internet is not available in te rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for great review.and yes we do only have Wifi @ the dowstairs area.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(145 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback